Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610

Black & Decker Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610

The Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610 with SmartSelect Technology features an adjustable dial that automatically releases the perfect amount of steam when cleaning hardwood, laminate, tile, vinyl, stone or marble floor surfaces. It works perfectly fine with the delicate hardwoods and sealed hard floors. This vacuum steam mop is ready to tackle the dirtiest of hard floor surfaces, following a speedy 15-second warm-up. The Black & Decker Steam-Mop also automatically conserves steam when placed in its upright position for an environmentally-friendly way to obtain a sparkling clean appearance. You can safely shun the usage of harmful cleaning chemicals with this powerful floor steam mop that kills 99.9% of bacteria and germs. The Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610 also comes with a convenient 23-foot cord for effortless cleaning.
Average Customer Rating:
3.282 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation54%21 out of 39reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 13 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610

Do not buy this product

05/19/2012
By ,
Longview WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product 3 months ago and used it only 2-3 a month for my hardwood floors. So you would think that the handle would not snap like a toothpick after under 10 uses. The other thing that I noticed that it leaves streaks of where the mop was passed through...so you do not get a clean finish as you would expect. Very disappointed.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610

OK, but returning

08/01/2011
By ,
Colorado
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased this Black & Decker Steam Mop based upon customer reviews and the video available on the Black and Decker website. PROS: The unit looks nice, has a swivel head, is lightweight, easy to use, and I like the red to blue light feature showing that the unit is ready to use. CON: The results are disappointing, however. The steam only comes from 1 hole in the bottom of the unit. (Other favorably reviewed competitor's products have multiple steam outlets.) I have used the mop 3 times on my tile floors and each result is the same. The dirt from the floor gathers mainly on the top and bottom edges of the pad. It appears that the pad is simply saturated to where no more dirt can be picked up at these points. I tested this by walking on the freshly mopped floors with clean white socks. They showed signs of dirt on the socks right after I had steam mopped the floors. I bought this unit to clean and sanitize my floors. Unfortunately, after seeing my socks, I am not convinced the unit cleans my floors.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610

Awesome Steam Mop!

02/27/2012
By ,
So. Central Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose the Black & Decker model because it's lightweight, easy to assemble, has automatic steam (instead of pushbutton), an adjustable knob for each type floor you have and two reusable mop pads. It also has a freestanding head and a mat to place it on to permit cooling after use. It also gets in tight areas well due to it's pivoting head.
I tried a neighbor's steam mop out and immediately knew I had to have one. The one she owns, however, has the vaccuum feature on it but it was so heavy, my back hurt so bad the next day. due to arthritis. After reviewing all the ones available, I found the Black & Decker model to be the best suited for my needs. I use a Swivel Sweeper over the linoleum floors before steam mopping and my back isn't killing me the next day. It didn't leak or leave the floor wet. I'm a clean fanatic and I can assure you this is an excellent product.
It's a simple steam mop, but it does an awesome job, and is mid-price range and outranked some more popular but cheaper models available.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610

Well this may be an unfair review...

06/26/2011
By ,
Clearwater, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Going to return the product tomorrow. The tank is leaking. I used it once, and it just leaked. It DID clean better than my current steam mop. And the fact it stands alone is wonderful. Everything would be great if it didn't leak. So I'm undecided if I will exchange or just return. Interested if anyone else has had the same problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bentonville, AR
B&D Steam Mop Leakage
Posted 08/29/2011
Jengroomer,
The leakage issue on your B&D Steam Mop can most likely be addressed by removing the cap to the water reservoir and re-seating it tightly. Since the unit is used at an angle, it is critical that the cap is seated tightly to prevent leakage. It is relatively common for users to experience leakage when a thread is missed (cap not screwed on straight), or the cap is not screwed on tightly enough.
I hope this is helpful. Happy Steaming!
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610

Great mop for tile

06/27/2011
By ,
New Palestine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this steam mop. I finally feel like my ceramic tile is clean and I don't have to use cleaner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610

Not what I expected

07/03/2011
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Is small and light which I like. Holds about as much water as my Shark.
Not as much steam as I anticipated and since the pads simply stick to bottom of head they move around because the floor does not get very wet. Does not trap as much dirt as I had hoped.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Louisiana
disappointed
Posted 08/29/2011
I don't see how this can pick up much dirt since the only part of the cleaning pad that touches the floor is around the edges of the pad. I have only tried it once on... my hardwood floors but haven't tried it on tile or vinyl floors.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610

Steam floor cleaner

05/21/2011
By ,
Modesto, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second steam cleaner. The first didn't have washable pads so they were always dirty. The swivel head on this cleaner is wonderful for getting under furniture or in tight spaces. The steam begins in a matter of seconds. I recommend this because it is such a time saver.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+145points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610

Didn't Last

03/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought in November and broke by March. Not even used on a weekly basis. Started leaking water everywhere.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610

Excellent Value! Very Convenient!

07/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After comparing this item with a similarly-priced Shark, I decided to purchase the Black & Decker at a Walmart store in Destin, FL. Each time I use this steam mop, I pat myself on the back for a great decision! The dial feature allows me to manually change the steam setting, depending on the type of surface I am trying to clean. I also love the fact that the unit is ready to go in only about 15 seconds after turning it on. The self-standup feature is also great because I don't have to lean it up against nice cabinets when not in use.
All-in-all, a great item. I would highly recommend steam cleaning and the Black & Decker Steam Mop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610

You get what you pay for

08/19/2011
By ,
Richmond
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The is one product that you get what you pay for. The price was very reasonable compared to other steam mops. It is very light weight and easy to manuver with. Unfortunately, the reservoir that the water is held in is horrible. When I tilt the mop and push it back and fourth water wastes on the floor so I am mopping as I would be with a bucket and mop. When I received the mop from Walmart it was packed as if it were new but the reservoir had water in it as if it had been used.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610

VERY CONVENIENT

08/12/2011
By ,
Gaithersburg, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using my Black & Decker steam mop now for nearly 2 weeks. It's so convenient - heats up very quickly, no larger than a Swiffer wet mop, light weight, easy to store. I keep it handy to steam the high traffic areas of my home daily. I love the options for hard surfaces since we have hardwood and ceramic tile flooring. My floors always feel and look cleaner now, compared to damp mopping with floor cleaner. Since we have pets, I was always worried about keeping them off the floors after I'd mopped with chemicals. It's simple to assemble and use, great having the convenient storage pad to park it on and having 2 micro fiber pads. I just washed the first one in my washer and let it air dry. So far, I highly recommend this product. Since it's brand new I can't comment on the durability, but I hope with the proper care it will last a long time. In fact, I love this mop so much, I also ordered one for my daughter. My only problem would be the LONG wait for Walmart's ship-to-store time at nearly 2 weeks. I had originally seen this mop on display at our local store - I had actually gone to look at a different mop. When I went back the next day, this mop was sold out. We also checked another WalMart near us and it wasn't in stock.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610

Good product but has some short comings.

09/02/2011
By ,
Marina, California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the most part I like this product. I feel it's safe to use in my home that has dogs and cats in it. I only experience two set backs. One is that you can't put pressure on the handle for it snaps where the plastic part fits into the metal area and you have to order a replacement. Second is when you get to about a little more than 1/4 of water left in the reserve, it doesn't do a good job on the floor. I have to master to look at the water level and fill it. Besides these two issues, I like how it works and how easy it is to use...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610

Returned it! 2 thumbs down! :(

07/05/2011
By ,
DAVIE, FLORIDA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Here's the deal I have owned 3 steam mops and this one didn't clean at all!! The pad was totally white expect for the edge.... Tryed a different steam pad that fit and did the same thing! No good! The design was the only good thing and it is very sturdy but what good is a mop that doesnt clean? None.... I returned it....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
mesa, az
Worried about steam mop lifecycle
Posted 07/23/2011
Seems like quite a few people have had a chance to purchase different steam mops. It appears if not all; at least most brands breakdown or break after a short while leaving the buyer to consider purchasing a new one. Is there any steam mop that beats all others out by everlasting them or do they all break and fail repeatedly?
My wife's Bionaire mop broke the first time she used it (handle), and finally the item stopped creating steam after about 2 months use. We are only family of two with a dog. It would be great if these products actually work and last as long as a vacuum cleaner or maybe a year's time?
0points
Customer Avatar
Denham Springs, LA
Does the job for me
Posted 07/16/2011
This is the first steam mop I've ever owned so I have nothing to compare it to. I refused to buy the others because I was afraid of using them on my wood floors. This one is perfect for me because of the select a floor dial and it did a great job on my ceramic and wood. I was very please that it left almost no water residue on the wood and only a minimal amount on the ceramic which dried almost instantly. My only negative is that the handle is easily knocked over when in the locked upright position. For the price and the manner in which it cleaned, I can deal with the handle thing.
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 14 for Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610

Cleans well...no disappointments.

12/30/2011
By ,
Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted an economical steam cleaner for my small kitchen and equally small bathroom. I have been using a disposable pad cleaning system for the past few years, and had begun to feel that it really wasn't doing a great job. The Black and Decker model assembled quickly and performed beautifully...was shocked at the amount of dirt that had built up on my floor over time...it looked reasonably clean, but definitely wasn't!! Others have complained about the unit cleaning only around the perimeter of the pad...this was not my experience. Dirt was evenly distributed across the entire surface. When the pad became dirty, I removed it, rinsed it and squeezed it dry, and kept on cleaning.
A good value for the money...be patient with tough, stuck-on substances. I found that if I held the steamer over these tough areas, they were picked up within a couple of passes of the mop. If you are looking for an efficient, chemical-free means of cleaning your floors, this product may be the one for you. I will say that I purchased this product at WalMart primarily due to the great price and their generous return policy; I don't think that it will be going back though!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610

Good buy!

08/15/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clean floors in a flash. Takes very little water to do a good job. Handle comes off for compact storage. Comes with extra washable mop pad. Yes it's the typical basic plasitic construction but for my needs it's an excellent steam mop.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610

Epic Fail

08/05/2011
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited to get this steam mop.
I looked at all the choices that are out there. And, I picked this one.
Like others have said the pads only clean from the edges. This does not get my floor clean. It sure looks nice and has shooting steam and readiness lights, very fancy. But it is of no use if it does not actually clean. After being so disappointed with all other mops out there, I am left with one choice. I will throw this away. (I wouldn't sell it) And buy a quality professional mop and bucket from a restaurant supply store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610

Great features but needs other serious improvement

09/05/2011
By ,
Knoxville, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a mixed review because although it has great features, it is in serious need of improvements. Love that it is ready in 15 seconds and has a color change light that indicates when ready, the floor type selector knob is also awesome, it puts out a good amount of steam and gets the floor super clean without chemicals and dries in seconds, but the head is too floppy and gets stuck in the upright position when pulling it out from under furniture such as the kitchen table. A better cord would be 50 feet instead of 23 and the handle is too flimsy, we want lightweight but sturdy also, once all these improvements are made the price for value will be a great deal!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610

Good for light cleaning

05/16/2012
By ,
Orlando FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pro: assuming that the steam is hot enough to kill the germs, that is all the mop is good for.
Probable: might be good for linoleum and wood floor
Cons:
1) not good for cleaning tile. The bottom of the pad it flat, therefore it can't clean the grout.
2) I see steam, but when I touch the tile, it's cold. Not sure how it can kill the germs.
3) The pad is velcro to the bottom. The velcro holding part goes around the bottom. Thus only the section of the pad that touch the holder touches the ground. The middle of the pad stayed clean. This is 75% of the pad. So only 25% of the pad actually touches the floor.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610

Good, steam cleaner

07/15/2011
By ,
Daytona Beach Shores, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have used a shark, Better cleaning and has on off switch, only negative is the fill cap needs too be
carefully put on. Will not produce steam if not locked in position. Very happy with cleaning of tile floor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker Steam-Mop, SM1610

Great Product - wish I bought sooner!!

11/16/2011
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just moved into a new house. We have 2 girls under 4 and a yellow lab, so I am always cleaning up after someone! We are not germaphobes by any means, but with the kids, I want to keep the house not just clean but also to kill germs/bacertia - daycare sniffles, etc.
I have always used Swiffers, vacuums , etc but have seen steam cleaning a lot lately. I saw the assortment at Walmart. The Black and Decker version seemed to be a good value @ $80 and I liked the dial for floor types because we have tile in the bathrooms. I also know the Black and Decker brand.
The item is easy to use and even has a light to tell you when it is hot. Floors look clean and kids are healthy! Very happy with purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next