Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hard Candy Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer

Hard Candy Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer

Now, you can achieve the long-lasting, radiant look you want from your makeup by using Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer. Make this product the first step in your daily makeup routine, simply by applying this primer prior to putting on the rest of your makeup. Using Hard Candy Face Primer will help your foundation go on smoothly and last throughout the day without the need for reapplying or touching it up. Ideal for all skin types and skin tones, this illuminating primer will restore your skin's natural radiance all while giving you a soft glow. Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer can be worn alone or can be added to your current makeup routine.
Average Customer Rating:
3.65 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation70%14 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer

Best investment ever!

10/22/2011
By ,
Wichita, Ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have horrible skin, it's oily and have huge pores and break out often, so I bought this product hoping it would do what it says and it does!!! I will never put on my makeup with out it again! It's oily so at first I worried it would just break me out more but it didn't, since it is oily a very little goes a long way but it filled in my pores and made my foundation go on better, more even, and look more natural instead of caked on like it used to when trying to cover up blemishes. My foundation even caused more break outs too but since using this product I've noticed my skin clearing up! I think it's because it keeps my foundation from getting in my pores. It looks cute, it goes along way, it's not expensive at all, and I think for 8 dollars it works extremely good!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer

Love HC's Sheer Envy Perfecting Primer.

03/25/2013
By ,
UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a minimalist and not a fan of being overly done in my make-up, nor do I have the patience for it. But I like my skin to look great, as long as there's not too much fuss going into it. My complexion is mixed enough that I definitely don't feel comfortable walking out of the house without SOMEthing on my face...yet still won't commit to full-on make-up. ;-) Yeah...a dichotomy, I know!!
I tried HC's Sheer Envy Skin Perfecting Primer on a whim one day and have been hooked ever since. It's soft and airy feeling, and leaves my skin soft, touchable, and smooth. I use it by itself with my favorite loose powder, and still look 'done' when I leave the office in the afternoon.
The bonus is that I get compliments often on how natural I look, please what make-up do you use, etc....and people are always startled when I usually just answer with HC's primer & my powder.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer

hard candy primer

05/22/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product was so soft feeling and you only needed a little to cover your face. The only problem is i have sensitive skin and it made me breakout. But I have this problem with all drugstore face makeup. If you don't have sensitive skin it's a great product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer

Won't go another day without wearing it!

12/26/2011
By ,
Milford, Ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product a few months ago. I always wear foundation. The first time I purchased it, I wore it and then applied my liquid foundation on. It goes on very smoothly. Since it is a little oily, you only need a little bit. I bought my mother a bottle and she was never one to wear primer under her liquid foundation until now, she loves it too. Soo worth the $8. One tube lasts over a month & I use it every day in the morning time. Deffinitely reccomend it to anyone who wears liquid foundation.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer

excellent skin primer

07/26/2012
By ,
Ct.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Hard Candy skin primer. I use just a small dot in my hand and the coverage is fantastic. It makes applying makeup easier and long lasting. The tube lasts forever. The even nicer thing about it is that it is inexpensive yet feels very expensive, I definately would recommend this to any one of my friends.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer

Good Primer... but what's with the smell?

06/26/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like this product, but I'm not crazy. I've own several Hard Candy products, and love a majority of them, but this is one of the ones that I like the least. But it is a decent drugstore primer for it's price. It's slightly more liquid-y compared to the original formula.
There's this slight vinegar-y smell to it. Unlike the original prime formula from Hard Candy, it does indeed have a distinct smell to it. It barely faded away when applied and had that lingering smell of it throughout the day. (even my boyfriend smelled it!) When applied, it's really obnoxious. Unfortunately, due to this smell, I would not recommend this product, instead, I would recommend Hard Candy's Sheer Envy Primer (original one). It doesn't have a smell at all and has almost exact same smooth feel to it but it's thicker and more pasty.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer

The worst drugstore primer I have ever used.

02/24/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have very oily skin, so therefore, have to use a primer otherwise my foundation and concealer will not stay on. I bought this product because I had run out of my Rimmel primer in the white tube and I wanted to start using brands that do not test on animals. This primer worked very well for the first three weeks I was using it. It kept my foundation on and really gave my skin a more healthy appearance. But after that initial three weeks, it was like I was going through puberty all over again. I had breakouts galore on my face. And the worst part of that is the acne it caused was the kind that are really deep in the pores and hurt. I stopped using it to see if this primer was the culprit and it was. All in all, this product is garbage.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer
07/08/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this a few weeks ago because it was cheaper than the primer I usually use. I didn't notice much of a difference in my skin after I applied it. It does help my foundation stay on alot longer. It is oily, but once you rub it in, it goes away. It's okay, but, next time I'm going to buy the more expensive brand :)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer

Will toss this.

03/23/2014
By ,
Exeland, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product dried my skin out so much that I looked 20 years older within an hour of putting it on. I cannot recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer

Better than Botox and NO Side-Effects!!!

03/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product smooth's your face to feel soft and less wrinkled and dry-lined...especially the lines around your mouth and eyes. Makeup glides on and stays put all day. I bought 2 and I'm glad I did...I use it every day.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer

Sheer and Smooth

02/28/2014
By ,
Marion AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer goes on so smoothly. It doesn't have a color to it but it makes your foundation glide on better, and stay on better. I love the way it makes my skin feel even after I take of my makeup. This is a WONDERFUL primer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer

Great Primer

02/05/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great primer for the money. It works just as good as the ones that cost $30. A little goes a long way. I highly recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer
06/28/2011
By ,
Fargo
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this expecting the product to look something like the urban decay primer potions, but this was clear. I had high hopes for this because of the hype a friend gave me about it, but once it was on my face, it didn't like how it felt.. feels and is very oily. I used oil blotting sheets once it was on and rubbed in, and went through 5 sheets before there was not much oil left... GROSS! so it it is made in an oil free basis, I would think it would be better.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
-20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer

In love!

05/28/2013
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok, I am in love with this product. I have never worn primers until I bought this. I read about the Hard Candy concealer, and then I saw this primer in the store too and thought I'd give it a try. It's so perfect. It goes on so smoothly and also helps my foundation to go on better, too. I've been using it for about a week and it doesn't make me break out or look oily at all, and I work 10 hour days in a restaurant kitchen, so that says a lot! Even my boyfriend notices how soft my face is when he touches my cheek! Highly recommend! And it's a perfect price for the quality!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer

Awesome primer at awesome price!

08/11/2013
By ,
Rocklin, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't usually wear foundation (just SPF for me!) but somehow I managed to purchase this primer, and even sans foundation, it's AWESOME. It's really slick and kind of oily right out of the tube, so I was a little wary my first few applications thinking my face would turn into a slicky mess. But it sinks into your pores and fills, smooths and evens everything out beautifully, offering that softened appearance that's so very flattering. I use it daily and highly recommend it to comparable designer brands like Smashbox and UD.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer
05/28/2013
By ,
Connecticut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Personally, I didn't like this at all. I am new to using primer and this was my first try with using one. First and foremost--it's GREASY. IT's bad enough that us ladies have to deal with lots of trial and error finding a good foundation/cover up and putting this underneath it just makes things 10X worse ! I feel as if it makes my cover up feel a hundred pounds heavier on my face. To summarize this, it feels like I am putting petroleum jelly with glitter mixed in it on my face. Would I recommend this? Absolutely not.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer

Nothing special

06/05/2012
By ,
Richmond, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Makes my skin feel greasy and isn't quite "tinted" enough to be worn alone.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
UT
Clarification....
Posted 03/25/2013
...this is a Primer. Not make-up. Not even tinted moisturizer. Some people wear it under their foundation & powder. Others just wear it under their powder. It's not designed to be worn alone, although I have occasionally...but recognize it will not tint my skin...just smooth the overall look.
Just FYI.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer

Great alternative to expensive spa specialty store

07/20/2013
By ,
Rochester, Ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I asked a friend and she suggested this product. Previously I had been paying on average $30 for primer at salon/spa stores. The only issue I am finding is that it's not carried at all of the stores.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer

Quite good.

03/18/2012
By ,
Brentwood, California.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Smooth and easy to apply. Not as good as a high end primer but well worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer

Love the feel of it

04/15/2013
By ,
Northeast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Glide's on wonderful, smooth as silk, its not a thick cream, I use it everyday
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.