Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Philips Norelco Philips Norelco Do-it Yourself Hair Clipper, QC5530/40

Philips Norelco Philips Norelco Do-it Yourself Hair Clipper, QC5530/40

Average Customer Rating:
4.342 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation88%66 out of 75reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips Norelco Do-it Yourself Hair Clipper, QC5530/40

Great Hair Clipper

10/17/2011
By ,
OKC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Hair Clipper is awesome!
Easy to use, nice handling, robust and cuts the hair really easy and perfect!
The differences in the sizes are really good for a perfect hair cut!
And all this at an astonishing price!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Philips Norelco Do-it Yourself Hair Clipper, QC5530/40

Pretty good one-person do-it-yourself clipper

07/04/2011
By ,
Lebanon, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have pretty thick asian hair and this clipper and no problem cutting my hair. However, one thing that I didn't realized before purchasing was that there are actually 2 hair length covers as opposed to just one (one for short to medium length, another for medium for long length). Otherewise, the clipper is just as described. The head can turn 180 degrees for your hands' comfort so you can cut all sides yourself. I like the clipper overall. It is more expensive compared to clippers that do not turn, but worth it for the ease of use.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Philips Norelco Do-it Yourself Hair Clipper, QC5530/40
05/31/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Super light and easy to use, the roatating head really gets the tough to reach areas very easily. It clips quietly and clean and does an excellent job. It has great guards for longer cuts, but the spring loaded adjustable guard for shorter cuts is not very precise or accurate, and you get tired of holding your thumb on the guard. This is the only feature that was not well designed with the clippers, otherwise they are the best ones I have ever owned. If you don't need a close cut with a clipper guard, I would highly recommend these, or if you don't need any guards at all they are also great.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Philips Norelco Do-it Yourself Hair Clipper, QC5530/40

A very good and helpful product

05/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The clipper is easy to use. But be careful to use a long cumb at the first time, or your hair may be cutted too short.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Philips Norelco Do-it Yourself Hair Clipper, QC5530/40

Awesome Money Saving Device

10/28/2012
By ,
So. Cal.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just can't imagine how much time and money I'm saving by using this clipper instead of paying for haircuts every two weeks. After charging it up, it runs for a very long time, and the jack where you plug the charger in flashes to let you know when the battery is low. If you do run it completely down, you can always plug it in and use it with the cord. The swiveling cutting head is just amazing because cutting your own hair requires different positions for different parts of your head. So just a turn of the head, and off you go. Adjusting the length is a snap. I've often wondered how much hearing damage we suffer having our hair cut with loud clippers over our lifetimes... but this clipper is quiet enough to not cause concern. I couldn't be happier, and I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Philips Norelco Do-it Yourself Hair Clipper, QC5530/40

Great Value!

01/19/2012
By ,
Forest Hills, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great item for the money. It's easy to use, and almost impossible to mess up. The attachments are easy to put on/take off, and when used properly, definitely cut evenly and efficiently. The rotating head is perfect for around the ears, too. I never thought I'd find something this good for 40 bucks!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Philips Norelco Do-it Yourself Hair Clipper, QC5530/40
11/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good build and design. easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Philips Norelco Do-it Yourself Hair Clipper, QC5530/40
03/30/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second of these I have bought. I keep one at home and one in my RV. The first one was an earlier model and I preferred the height selection on that model however this one gives you more height steps. I particularly like the fact that the combs cannot flip off accidentallya s they do with the more traditional style clippers.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Philips Norelco Do-it Yourself Hair Clipper, QC5530/40

the water resistant feature is great

09/30/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to clean since it is washable, and very easy to use. The only concern is it came poorly packaged inside, so maybe it was returned by someone else...
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Philips Norelco Do-it Yourself Hair Clipper, QC5530/40

Same clipping, completely redesign

10/13/2012
By ,
SoCal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 20 year old clipper. I never bother to upgrade because clippers still looks the same. This one do what my old one does, and much more.
First of all, you can really cut your own hair with this one. I almost brought the other one that has a fixed 90 degree handle. But to use both your left hand and right hand the same way, you need 90 degree and 270 degree angles, if you know what I mean. This one can rotate to any angle with probably 22.5 degree resolution.
The power is more than adequate even though it's battery. It's also more environmental friendly NiMH battery when somebody is still selling NaCd types. Today's motors are more efficient. The cutting mechanism is more precisely made, with less metal. Other than sufficient power, the whole clipper is much more easy to control and handle precisely than the old ones, elephants in comparison.
I would have brought one long ago if they have a more conventional picture. I never thought it was a clipper. It is a 100% clipper. The hair guides look different but serves the same purpose, better. The cutting width is about the same as the conventional clippers. You can use it to trim without hair guides.
It's also a trimmer. The cutting "blade" can be lifted off and the trimmer "blade" can be snapped it at an instant. The trimmer head is a narrower and smaller version of the clipper head.
There are three adjustable hair guides, from 3 cm down to short beard. But I have the flowbee as the main cuttng tool. I need several inches of hair at the top to avoid them standing up in the morning. I always need a clipper/trimmer for the tapered end and the sides over the ears. For girls back length straight hair, you really need the robocut.
To get a straight line at the back, I use a long masking tape to mark the hair. It is very easy to trim off the hair not masked by the tape, using both left and right hand.
The icing of the cake are: it doesn't need oil, you can rinse it in water. (Now, can they redesignt he flowbee?)
I ordered in the evening, and got it the next afternoon, wow! Well worth the two dollar for shipping to home. At Walmart stores, their internet division is always at the very back of the store.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Philips Norelco Do-it Yourself Hair Clipper, QC5530/40

Awesome -Bang for the buck

10/01/2011
By ,
King of Prussia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got it yesterday. Very easy to use. High precision cut.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Philips Norelco Do-it Yourself Hair Clipper, QC5530/40
02/18/2013
By ,
midwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always had a normal medium length hair cut. I decided to try to cut my own hair with the expectation of screwing it it up. I was successful. l botched it up by not using the attachments as instructed. Anticipating this result, I continued to my PLAN B. This time I was semi-successful to cut it to a shorter length. My biggest challenge was to taper. By being OK with a shorter length(while being out of town away from my wife and friends) for a couple weeks, I was finally able to master this to my satisfaction. The bottom line to my experience is to not expect perfection the first time. Be patient. This clipper is easy to use for the amateur.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Philips Norelco Do-it Yourself Hair Clipper, QC5530/40

the clipper worked better than I expected.

03/12/2013
By ,
Kat, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The clipper performed better than I expected. I gave myself a #2 buzz and it cut all hair evenly with little effort or going back over the same spot numerous times. My wife did the fine trimming around ears and collar and all worked well. I put good on quality above because I have only used it once and don't know how durable it is yet. Hopefully it will perform like the first time for a long time.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Philips Norelco Do-it Yourself Hair Clipper, QC5530/40
06/05/2012
By ,
JT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! What a great product. I can cut my own hair & save money on haircuts. The hair clipper is so easy to use. And it does a great job! I would reccomend it to any man to try.
I give it all 5 stars!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Philips Norelco Do-it Yourself Hair Clipper, QC5530/40

A bit counterintuitive

06/11/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The device comes with two cutters and two spacers, and instructions which only became clear after I'd muddled through it once. A vid link would have been helpful.
I LOVE the thing, now!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Philips Norelco Do-it Yourself Hair Clipper, QC5530/40
02/22/2013
By ,
Soddy Daisy, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Philips Norelco Do-it Yourself Hair Clipper, QC5530/40

Great little trimmer.

03/17/2012
By ,
Greensburg, PA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With the two "comb" attachments it's rather easy to cut my own hair. Just a great little trimmer and a very reasonable price. I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Philips Norelco Do-it Yourself Hair Clipper, QC5530/40
05/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cheap price and a very good product. Easy to use and adjust you may not need the manual.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Philips Norelco Do-it Yourself Hair Clipper, QC5530/40
Based on the average of (58) ratings-only reviews
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5