Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Kodak Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 30X Optical Zoom 28-840mm Zoom Lens, 3.0" LCD Display, HD Movie

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Kodak Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 30X Optical Zoom 28-840mm Zoom Lens, 3.0" LCD Display, HD Movie

The Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP Ultra Zoom Camera gives the looks and feel of small DSLR without a big price tag. When inspiration strikes, whether in direct sunlight or sitting by a campfire, the Kodak EasyShare zoom digital camera jammed full of features makes it a breeze to capture what you see. The 30x optical zoom camera with Schneider-Kreuznach Variogon lens offers a dynamic range from 28mm for wide angle shots and zooms all the way to an insanely close 840mm to shoot the perfect telephoto. The Kodak 12MP digital camera comes preloaded with 16 scene modes that guide amateur photographers to shoot marvelous photographs with great ease. And thanks to Kodak's Share button and the world's only digital cameras with 3-step sharing, sharing those shots is simple. Just press Share on the Kodak EasyShare camera to e-mail to friends and to Kodak Pulse Digital Frame or upload to Kodak Gallery, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Flickr, Orkut, Yandex and KAIXIN001 sites.
Average Customer Rating:
4.396 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation85%73 out of 86reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 30X Optical Zoom 28-840mm Zoom Lens, 3.0" LCD Display, HD Movie

Great Price. Takes great long distance shots.

05/07/2012
By ,
Clemons, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a camera that would take long distance shots, I found it. This Kodak Z990 does the job. Easy to use. I would recommend this camera to anyone.P.S. The price was right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 30X Optical Zoom 28-840mm Zoom Lens, 3.0" LCD Display, HD Movie
06/20/2011
By ,
St. Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After having bad luck with a Canon and Nikon camera. They were too hard to understand and my pictures came blurry with action shots. I went with this one. So far I'm very happy. The pictures come clear and crispy. The video quality is excellent! I took it to a concert and was very impressed with the videos and pics. The zoom is excellent and the action pictures are great!
I'm glad I made a good choice!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Review 3 for Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 30X Optical Zoom 28-840mm Zoom Lens, 3.0" LCD Display, HD Movie

Darn Good Camera 30X optical zoom at this price...

12/18/2011
By ,
Glendora
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am no "the photo guy" of the family, but I dropped my other Kodak smaller point and shoot and broke it. The small compacts are good but many have limited optical zooms and well as everything have their limitations, looked and looked at the higher end compacts and found this.
My brother in-law tried to talk me out of Kodak (a Cannon guy) but I have always had a good experience with Kodak, and after comparing the apples to the apples and reading as many reviews as I could find I bought it, bought a class 10 16 mb card one hour house and car charger extra batts and a case, took pic's all last night probably 20 to 30 in video never changed batts and got some fine pics from someone that don't know much about taking picks other than to keep you finger from in front of the lens, will you have some blurry ones yea but then I believe everyone does and with all crossovers you can't use filters without adapters . but last night I would look in the view finder see this blurry object hold down the button look down again to see a great picture at night flash on or off... and for the money you won't find a crossover with all the stuff I still don’t know how to use this has...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 4 for Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 30X Optical Zoom 28-840mm Zoom Lens, 3.0" LCD Display, HD Movie

Not What I Expected

06/22/2011
By ,
Bakersfield, Ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this camera after reading many positive reviews. Most people were thrilled with their new camera so I was expecting the same. Unfortunately, I am very disappointed with Kodak on this camera. I have been a loyal customer since I was a teen and purchased my first Kodak. I have always been very happy with every camera as far back as my last Z612, which I still love it btw.
Here are the issues that are my main concern. First, as others have stated, the battery door feels very flimsy, almost like they are begging you to break it. Second, horrible blur for everyday use. Most of the pictures I take are of still objects. It seems that the best mode to avoid the blur for inanimate objects is the mode for objects in movement. Third, I have compared side by side with my z612 and have found that indoor color is extremely dull compared with my good 'ol stand by. Forth and lastly, the delay of waiting to take a new picture is longer than I am used to. Even when you tap the button that you are ready for the next picture, the camera is slow to prepare itself for the next snap. Also, this isn't a huge complaint though worthy of mentioning, it is somewhat heavy. My old camera takes better everyday shots and is far lighter. You would think that considering the weight, it would be a heftier performer.
On the positive side, the super macro mode is a wow factor. It blew me away as my little cam has never taken such crisp pictures with indoor low light. I used a tripod and normal light from the ceiling fan for some jewelry. The picture was crisp and clear. I also had very good luck with pictures of images outdoors in daylight.
I really expected more from this camera. If you are wanting to be able to snap crisp pictures with bright colors, you might want to look elsewhere. This camera did not deliver to my needs and is going back to walmart.
I will post the super macro ring and the average shot this camera displays.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 5 for Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 30X Optical Zoom 28-840mm Zoom Lens, 3.0" LCD Display, HD Movie

not consistent

06/11/2011
By ,
arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great for close ups of flowers but isn't consistent. the video picture and sound is choppy. sometimes blurres background sometimes doesn't. sometimes is awesome withe looking even 3d next pic is horrid. cant depend on taking a good shot. if you want awesome pics of flowers only this is the camera for you but if you need action of family find something else. i have a kodak p712 i have used and used and loved but this is not even comparable. great features but so many make it confusing. does take pics in dark with the sensor but are not clear and are grainy. needs tweeking... would upload some of the bad and all kinds of examples but will only let me do two. i get a good pic about 1 out of 10.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Review 6 for Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 30X Optical Zoom 28-840mm Zoom Lens, 3.0" LCD Display, HD Movie

So easy

05/24/2011
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am sooo not a pro at taking pictures. My older digital was a point and shoot though, and I wanted to be able to take some good shots of my kids at baseball and our soon-to-be-newborn girl. I ordered this camera after checking out a zillion reviews and visiting a store to hold this one and some competitors. This one felt more substantial in my hand, not cheap like the others.
And now that I own it, I find the specs were right. It does take amazing zoom pics and it really helps with low-light situations, because I have no idea what settings to change manually in that case, but the camera, in its easy mode, does it for me. I am so impressed, and highly recommend this camera.
The battery door takes some getting used to - it is a little snug, but I like that. I don't want it coming open easily. I do lke that I can buy batteries whenever I need them instead of the kind you have to charge. I carry an extra 4-pack of rechargeables and load them when I need.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+98points
Review 7 for Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 30X Optical Zoom 28-840mm Zoom Lens, 3.0" LCD Display, HD Movie

NICE CAMERA FOR YOUR SIMPLE SHOTS

10/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my camera now for two weeks and IM still learning how to use some of it. The pixels are great the zoom is fantastic! Love it Love it!!! Its easy to hold and not heavy like some of them. It takes fantastic shots in the sun or outdoors. I do wish the flash would be alittle bit stronger but that is ok.
It takes nice action shots and nice close ups. I would recommend anyone wanting a first time camera to buy this. Has great potenial and fun to use.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 8 for Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 30X Optical Zoom 28-840mm Zoom Lens, 3.0" LCD Display, HD Movie

Great for a DSLR wanna be

04/07/2012
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am not a picture pro by any chance, however what I can say this camera has the most bang for the WALMART Buck!!, 30X Zoom, 1080 video recording, Smart capture (Which I love), easy share button for FaceBook or other networking sites!, The view finder is a wonderful surprise! Great for those really sunny days , very user friendly controls and options.
Cons: Bothersome delay when trying to take another shot as preview mode always comes on before you can take another shot, you could miss opportunities to take another shot if needed rapidly. Neck strap is too thin and really hurts neck get a real one
Now some tips: The Red camera case it comes with is useless, no space for additional batteries skin tight for the camera, it also came with a no frills 8 GB class 4 memory card, now the biggest concern is the rechargable batteries are really not that good and drain rapidly, lasted me for only 40 picture before it ran out (Charged all night)
I ended buying some really good ansmann batteries 2850 Mah for 18 dollars on EBAY.. On the next outing I took 60 pictures and did not even phase these batteries were still full. Video looks nice, but did not buy it for that reason as I have a JVC Digital Video Camera for that, however nice to have and does take nice video. Hurry while they last as Kodak will or has stopped making cameras.
Camera for 179.00 is a best buy. Not perfect but takes awesome pictures!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 9 for Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 30X Optical Zoom 28-840mm Zoom Lens, 3.0" LCD Display, HD Movie

Great Camera

08/30/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i have taken awesome pictures with this camera and the price was great!
Shipping Was fast and here before it was quoted. All around great experience.
the only thing with the camera is that if you dont hold the camera perfectly still the picture wont be taken on some settings, tripod would help. there is no manual focus option on it as well which would help sometime when the camera doesnt want to focus on an object that is to close.
but besides that the hdr feature is awesome and there is so many settings you can play with you wont be disappointed. have already had many people ask about the camera since how good the pictures were.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 10 for Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 30X Optical Zoom 28-840mm Zoom Lens, 3.0" LCD Display, HD Movie

Very easy. Love all my pictures now.

09/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great camera for my use. I was in the market for a camera that would take baby pictures fast and capture good outside ones. It is everything I shopped so hard for. I had tried the Canon SX2101S and Olympus Stylus 7000. Neither one worked for me. After one day with Kodak Z990, I knew I had found what I was looking for. It is a little bulkier, but well worth the discomfort to get great pictures.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Review 11 for Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 30X Optical Zoom 28-840mm Zoom Lens, 3.0" LCD Display, HD Movie

...thank about that...

12/05/2011
By ,
arlington texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought the Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 and it is a very nice point and shoot camera ..
I have had a cannon sx30 and its good to but I think the Kodak Z990 is just as good there are a few things about the Kodak ..like its just a bit slower and a few other small things but its about the photos and price right? so go spend all that extra you got falling out of your pockits on a high price camera ...but remember Kodak was one of the first cameras ever made...they have been around for more then 100 years ...thank about that...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 12 for Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 30X Optical Zoom 28-840mm Zoom Lens, 3.0" LCD Display, HD Movie

WOW!!! This is a GREAT Camera!

08/20/2011
By ,
Delta, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want a camera that takes excellant pictures of your friends and family and also can "reach out and touch someone" for those great photos you can't get close enough to your subject on then this is the camera for you!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 13 for Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 30X Optical Zoom 28-840mm Zoom Lens, 3.0" LCD Display, HD Movie

Great camera, 110% recommended

02/05/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Kodak Z990 2 weeks ago, for my child first b-day, and let me tell you I’m amazed the pictures are great, the features of the camera are incredible, and the build quality is unsurpassed. Battery stamina is good about 5 to 6 hours of use without recharging it, great zoom, great pictures without a flash (up to 3200 iso), hd video feature is nice. The only flaws I found sometimes the controls won’t respond, but putting into account the price , features and picture quality that’s a minor issue. 110% recommended.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 14 for Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 30X Optical Zoom 28-840mm Zoom Lens, 3.0" LCD Display, HD Movie

Great purchase!

04/11/2012
By ,
Atlanta, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Great zoom. I am not a professional, so it is a great purchase and took really good pictures. Lightweight, and purfect buy!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 15 for Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 30X Optical Zoom 28-840mm Zoom Lens, 3.0" LCD Display, HD Movie

Excellent camera, totally worth the money

06/10/2011
By ,
Liverpool ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this camera for about 2 weeks now and I absolutely love it!
I am a professional photographer and I purchased this so that I have two cameras, the other one I have is the Kodak Z981 which is a great camera also. The main differences is the Z990 has the Automatic Panorama and longer focal length so this will be my main camera and the Z981 will be my backup.
The shutter speed on this Z990 is great, the picture quality is great and the auto panoramic mode is great! Everything is GREAT, GREAT, GREAT!
To clear up a few questions I have seen other people ask, the grip on the front does not turn in any way, but it does act as an excellent grip to hold onto the camera. Also, the Automatic panorama mode has 4 settings, left to right, right to left, up to down and down to up. You have 5 seconds to pan in the direction you set, and you can't move it to fast or you will get an error message. It may take a few times to "swing" it correct, but once you do, it works like a charm!
Please feel free to ask me any questions you may have about this camera, I recommend it 100%.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+48points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Florida
Active Toddler
Posted 04/11/2012
I am looking for a good camera to take professional like photos of my babies with. Is this camera fast enough to capture a photo of a very active toddler? I used to have a camera that did film and I loved to take photos of almost anything and I know I can get pictures of quality with the right camera.
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 03/30/2012
Hi, I am looking for a DSLR to mostly take pics of my family. I'm too intimidated by Canon and Nikon bc I have no professional knowledge. I'm looking for a DSLR that offers a high frames per second and most importantly one that I can operate a wireless clicker with. Can you please let me know if this camera offers that and if you are still happy with your purchase.
Thank you
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 16 for Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 30X Optical Zoom 28-840mm Zoom Lens, 3.0" LCD Display, HD Movie

Great

01/18/2012
By ,
WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really enjoying this camera. I sold my DSLR last summer because I realized I hadn't taken it out in 6 months, instead favoring my compact point and shoot because I wasn't having to drag around extra lenses. I was starting to feel limited by its lack of features and creative control, so I started researching bridge (superzoom, ultrazoom) cameras, and kept coming back to this one. It has many great features, some very functional, some just for fun. I must have gotten better batteries than some people because I don't have any battery life problems at all. On the first charge I got 400+ photos, and the battery level was only just under half. I did try and use the viewfinder when outdoors and put the screen on power save mode, so that probably helped. Pictures are very good, zoom is quick, focusing is fast. Many reviews indicated that it was slow, but I don't see it. It is longer between shots than some cameras, but holding the shutter button halfway down brings it back to ready mode.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 17 for Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 30X Optical Zoom 28-840mm Zoom Lens, 3.0" LCD Display, HD Movie

Greatly exceeds expectations!

06/02/2011
By ,
indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this camera to replace my Kodak z981 (still available, similar model). This camera blows the old one away!
The good:
1. The zoom is amazing!
2. Low light pictures are the best I have ever taken (this is my first camera with a CMOS
sensor).
3. The date stamp is automatic if you want it to be!!! Hallelujah! The date had to be individually added during editing with the z981 Kodak camera.
4. Everything is intuitive. It is just plain easy to use.
The bad:
1. The battery door is a vast improvement over the z981, but still a little tricky.
2. It still does not use a rechargeable lithium battery like competative Nikons and Canons use,
really my only complaint.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+95points
Review 18 for Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 30X Optical Zoom 28-840mm Zoom Lens, 3.0" LCD Display, HD Movie

Very fun camera! But a little disappointing.

05/04/2011
By ,
East TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have spent the last three weeks getting use to my new Kodak EasyShare z990. Overall it is a fun camera! But it seems that every fun new feature I find is met with the annoyance of another feature lost or not quite perfected to meet my expectations.
Things I like:
* Best low-light no-flash pictures I have ever seen from a digital camera.
* Good video image quality, decent video sound.
* Ability to take pictures while recording video is a nice feature! (Even if the images are lower quality and resolution.)
* Photobooth feature is so much fun!
* My 8 year old's favorite feature is automatic panorama
* decent battery life
Things I do not like:
* You cannot set your favorite "film effect" as default. ... Default setting has oversaturated color.
* You cannot turn off picture preview
* Several of my flower pictures have come out horrible. Petal edges blurred together, highlighted areas that my eye cannot even see become almost white, bad overall color representation.
* poor quality action shots (as compared to my kodak z1012)
Other comments:
* Larger, more descriptive icons look nice. But they also make it harder to navigate settings.
* Included charger is very slow. ... 7 hours and my batteries were only half charged!
* Several of the special new features want things to be a certain way. If their expectations are not met (example, if there is too much motion in the background) , it will not capture an image.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+91points
Review 19 for Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 30X Optical Zoom 28-840mm Zoom Lens, 3.0" LCD Display, HD Movie

excellent!

06/09/2011
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an awesome camera! There are so many options and settings available on Kodak z990. So far, I love mine! The photos I've taken thus far have been fabulous. The zoom capabilities are unbelievable. This is without a doubt the best camera I've ever had. Not to mention, what a bargain! Great price and fast, low cost shipping. However, I do believe the description provided by Walmart is a little misleading. This camera is not "DSLR". However, I was aware of this before purchasing the camera and I am 100% satisfied. I have read several reviews claiming the camera needs "firmware updates/ upgrades". So far, I have not encountered this issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 20 for Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 30X Optical Zoom 28-840mm Zoom Lens, 3.0" LCD Display, HD Movie

A bargain superzoom

05/17/2011
By ,
Dumont, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered online from Walmart (best price around) last Thursday after 5 pm and delivered to my doorstep by Fedex Ground Monday before 2 pm for a negligible shipping charge of $1.97.
It's been raining in the NYC Metro area since Sunday so I haven't had a chance to use the camera outdoors much and not at all in the sun. Here are 2 of the first pictures I took. The first one, of my dog in the yard, was taken with completely gray skies and no sun during a lull in the rainfall on "smart" mode with a flash, F 4.0 shutter speed 1/60.
Low light pics are really amazing with this camera. The second pic is of my family room taken at 8:34 pm in smart mode with no flash F 2.8, shutter speed 0.3 in a 13x20 room lit by only the light coming through the doorway from the kitchen and the TV. While I realize you wouldn't want to take pics of people at that shutter speed the potential seems amazing to me, with the room appearing as though it was 2 pm on a sunny day.
The other review here says you can't save settings when you shut off the camera but that is not completely true. If you shoot in PASM modes it will save your settings in those modes even if you switch modes or shut off the cameral. While it may not save settings in "scenes" and special features (like shooting fireworks or sunsets) those are preset anyway as soon as you dial to them.
I am no photo expert but the menus seem very intuitive and easy to navigate.
The main reason I bought this camera is that it gives me a lot of versatility with its zoom and low light capacity. I hate flash photography and I like a lot of sports and outdoor action shots of family and friends.
The zoom is 30X optical while in smart mode and another 5x when shooting in PASM modes (which allow you to override a host of presets that you can't do (except to shut off the flash) in smart mode. Though you cannot zoom manually, the toggle for the zoom is on a ring surrounding the shutter button and very easy to use without taking your eyes off the subject of your pictures. It responds instantly and does not require you to zoom in and out to get where you want like my old digital camera (Sony Cybershot DSC-S70).
Very little lag between pushing the shutter button and the pic being taken imo, especially in low light where you'd expect the camera to think about it for a while before shooting. As for complaints that you have to wait until the preview pic goes away you can easily overcome that by pushing the shutter button half way which clears the screen and allows you to take another pic right away.
One other thing. I would never buy a camera without a view finder in addition to the lcd screen and the z990, besides having a very bright 3" lcd which is excellent, has an EVR (electronic view finder) with all the same info you get on the lcd and which is very useful in bright sun when you cannot see the lcd. If you want to use the EVR instead you just hit a button to the top left of the lcd and the lcd turns off and the EVR on.
Though I am no expert at photography I have taken thousands of pics over the years with my trusty Konica Autospeed TC SLR and my Sony point and shoot. But from what I can see this new Kodak offering beats them by far. I really think I am going to enjoy this camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+171points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cheshire, MA.01225
RE:A abtgain superzoom
Posted 05/25/2011
Thank you for taking the time to reveiw this camera. Until I scrolled down and read your comments I was already to cancel my order. I am purchasing this just a few weeks before one of my daughters gets married and need time to learn to use it. I am now once again excited to get this camera.
Thanks patti
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 83 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next