Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kodak Kodak PlaySport Zx5 Black HD Video Camera, 2.0" LCD Display

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Kodak Kodak PlaySport Zx5 Black HD Video Camera, 2.0" LCD Display

With the Kodak PlaySport Zx5 Black HD Video Camera in your hands, you could be up for any challenge that comes your way while taking photographs. It's built to take on the most extreme lifestyles with an insanely tough design - we're talking shockproof, dustproof and waterproof to a depth of 10'. The camera's built-in image stabilization smoothes out even the roughest ride. So, whether you're carving up the mountain or pulling stunts in the skate park, quality images are assured. This video camera also enables on-camera editing, wherein you can trim recorded videos or turn a video frame into a picture. And what's more, with a simple touch of the share button, this 5MP video camera lets you share your photos with your dear ones through any of your favorite networking sites.
Average Customer Rating:
3.997 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(339 Reviews) 302
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
169
4 stars
90
3 stars
27
2 stars
16
1 star
37
Customer Recommendation82%277 out of 339reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
169
4 stars
90
3 stars
27
2 stars
16
1 star
37
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kodak PlaySport Zx5 Black HD Video Camera, 2.0" LCD Display

For the casual user

10/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First off....To get the "Walmart" price of $109...You must purchase this through their website...the order will then be submitted to your chosen local store where you will be able to pick it up if they have it in stock within a day.
Otherwise, you'll end up paying the $169 price they have in the store.
If you want a cheap camera with decent video quality then this is probably the purchase for you. It's very durable and feels good in your hand.
I have taken three videos so far and the quality is about right for the price. This HD is not the same quality as a blu ray movie you might watch. Unfortunately you have to buy a professional grade memory card (see related product below) to get a decent amount of HD video storage. the 16 GB card I bought only holds about 4 hours of HD video but less than that if you use 1080p hd video display for every video captured. You will also want to buy a professional grade memory card to keep your camera from going blurry with fast movement.
Once again, for the price of $109, this camera is worth it for the casual user that will pull it out for Holidays and the occasional vacation. If you want top quality, you should spend the extra money and get a regular handheld video camcorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
 
My Product Recommendations
PNY Professional 16 GB Class 10 Hi-Speed SDHC 20MB/s Flash Memory Card P-SDHC16G10-EF (Black)
4.9 out of 5(64)
 
 
 
 
 
+16points
Review 2 for Kodak PlaySport Zx5 Black HD Video Camera, 2.0" LCD Display

Great for on the go!

05/26/2011
By ,
LA, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first i was a little worried that i should have bought an ipod touch or iphone because people said that the picture or video quality would be the same. Its not the same, its MUCH BETTER. I go Disneyland alot and sometimes people ask you to take a picture of them and they dont come out as good on their phones.
I also use the waterproof feature alot, more then i thought i would. I get to take pictures and video when no one else can! I went to yosemite national park and was able to take video of yosemite falls and bridalveil falls while everyone else tried to keep their cameras from getting drenched!
I also drop it all the time, not intentionally im just a klutz, and it always works fine.
I LOVE this camera, i take it with me everywhere!
Pros: Functional, Durable
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+69points
Review 3 for Kodak PlaySport Zx5 Black HD Video Camera, 2.0" LCD Display

I LOVE THIS CAMERA!!

07/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read MANY reviews about certain memory cards not working for it, but I bought the 16GB Wintec Filemate card and I have had no problems whatsoever. With that card it takes over 4 hours of video and 10,000+ pictures if I'm not mistaken! I'm just as shocked as you are. Works AMAZING outside, and despite bad reviews on its inside performance it's really not that bad. Great in water, but fogs up in the shower haha. I haven't yet but I plan on making short videos after I get some good editing software. I'll write another review and tell everyone how that goes later! Video on it isn't pixelated either! That was my main concern when I bought it, and its worked out!
QUICK TIP:: Trying to use a flashlight in the nighttime doesnt work with this camera unless whatever you shine the light on is up close.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Vanguard Peking Series Weather Resistant Compact Digital Camera Bag - Peking 6B
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
+20points
Review 4 for Kodak PlaySport Zx5 Black HD Video Camera, 2.0" LCD Display

Nice little camera - lousy software and support

04/25/2011
By ,
Southlake, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is our first pocket video camera so I can't say how great it is compared to the competition however we have been thrilled with the video quality for $159. We are novice users just trying to videotape our daughters playing soccer and swimming in the pool. The problem with this camera is the software and it's support is absolutely lousy. My wife couldn't get it to operate properly. She called Kodak and all they can say is we can only help you install it on your pc not help you operate it. All she wanted to do was get it to run properly and upload some videos to You Tube. She says there are a lot of complaints online about the software and lousy customer service. I bought it for her based on early reviews as an alternative to the Flip camera (now out of business). Unfortunately I am now stuck with a great camera that won't let me download and edit the video's on my pc. All we wanted to do was post them on You Tube for family to view. Very Frustrating.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
America
don't buy this!
Posted 04/21/2012
I got this last year for my birthday, and from the very first second it was so confusing. When I'd plug it in to my computer, it would be charging, but it wouldn't upload any of the pictures. It's so slow too. I always have to wait like, a minute to delete a picture or look at the photo I just took. While I was at Disney World not too long ago, it wouldn't turn off, which drained the battery life. So I figured I could just take off my earring and hit the (very small) reset button. But it got so annoying doing it every second of the day, so i couldn't take any more pictures :( You'd be better off just getting the iPhone so you won't have to carry around an ipod, camera, and phone!
0points
Customer Avatar
Grants Pass OR
Alternate software....
Posted 09/23/2011
While you may be "Stuck" with this camera you can get free software to download ,and upload, your pics and vids.
you sound like you could use a easy program. Try going to Snapfiles , There are several freeware products there to download pictures and video, some even come with built in uploaders.
The site does check what's offered for virus's and such so it's safe downloading . Plus there are user revues and comments that may help you choose which one you'd like.
Hope this helps.
Leo
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Kodak PlaySport Zx5 Black HD Video Camera, 2.0" LCD Display

Great casual use HD video/stills waterproof camera

01/03/2013
By ,
Simpsonville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so happy to have this camera that is as big as a cell phone. We did not get our $ worth from our last video camera. It was too large to haul around. This camera needs a Class 4 SDHC card at the time you buy it. They come in 8, 16 or 32 GB. The camera is half price. Charge it up as soon as you get it. It takes about 4 hrs and the continuous use is around 4-5 hrs long. I also bought a case. The charger plug and usb plugs are included. The software automatically downloads from the camera and you can update it from there. The software also includes some photo editing tools like crop, straighten, brightness etc. I was so impressed that it could shoot in low light and even take photos of outdoor Christmas lights.
You can auto download to the web but I prefer to reduce the file sizes and make adjustments first.
I won't be taking underwater photos, there are plenty of examples on the web, but it is good to know you can take it to the beach or pool and not worry about damage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
 
My Product Recommendations
Sony 16GB SDHC Memory Card
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
LowePro Ridge 10 Compact Digital Camera Case, Black
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
Review 6 for Kodak PlaySport Zx5 Black HD Video Camera, 2.0" LCD Display

Great all-around out door camera

09/30/2011
By ,
Tulum
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great camera; I have taken underwater pictures & videos, from my swimming pool to the Caribbean. Excellent quality photos!! I found myself taking this camera ever ware with me, it’s about the same size as a blackberry. As far evening pictures go- this camera does not have a built in flash. However do not let that deter you! Providing there is enough back light you will still get a decent picture. I did have one issue and Wal-Mart did an exchange hassle free! I used my camera for 10 day straight at a beach resort. I was in the pool, on the beach & in the ocean. By day 5 the watertight doors became increasing harder to open. By the time I returned home I had to use the end of my fingernail clipper to open the two hatches. I don’t know why this occurred, perhaps the sand in the ocean, or even the salt water. I will tell you, during the time that I was playing & testing the camera in my swimming pool I never encountered that issue. Oh FYI my pool is salt water, but no sand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Kodak PlaySport Zx5 Black HD Video Camera, 2.0" LCD Display

Another great Kodak experience!

08/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I read the description for this camera, I knew it was for me. I have long been a fan of Kodak's simplistic approach. With a multitude of children running around, I don't have a lot of time to focus on being in the right setting mode, or making other adjustments. Also, my last two Kodak digital cameras served our family so well, until the inevitable drop down a flight of stairs to damage the opening for the battery section or the drop in the toilet and thus non-functional again no matter how long it was left in a bowl of rice! So, enter the new Zx5 and it's shockproof, waterproof and everything else proof ways! It's wonderful video quality, and still shot are fabulous! Easy to operate, easier to handle and delivers on it's Kodak tradition!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 8 for Kodak PlaySport Zx5 Black HD Video Camera, 2.0" LCD Display
12/29/2011
By ,
Bristol, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camcorder after I bought the samsung which died on me after a few days, I found this kodak camcorder, very easy to use, very clear videos and pictures and the sound very good. This is small enough to fit in your pocket and carry where ever you are. I just happened to have a memory card that fits with camcorder, but what a nice purchase I have to say. I know I'm going to use this at the beach it's waterproof enough to stand next to the water and not worry, Yes I would tell my family and friends about this, they would love it too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 9 for Kodak PlaySport Zx5 Black HD Video Camera, 2.0" LCD Display

Worked great for 6 weeks.

04/16/2012
By ,
Panama City, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's difficult to give an overall rating. It will depend on the outcome of my current issue. I'd say 4 stars if mine is replaced and 1 star if not, since it doesn't work.
Died two days ago, six weeks after pick up at my local walmart store. Satisfied with ease of use and quality of still pix and video recordings. Really good color and sharpness in all modes. My only major complaint is concerning short battery capacity when recording video, about 25-35 mins per charge, and the inability to change batteries because of the "built-in" battery.
It now doesn't function at all, no power up, no playback nor recording. I was simply viewing some videos that I had recorded, when I chose the video to view from the menu and pressed the play button, everything went dead, now nothing works. I'll contact my local store about replacement and come back here to report the outcome.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 10 for Kodak PlaySport Zx5 Black HD Video Camera, 2.0" LCD Display

Great Video

04/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pretty amazing... Using it in Iraq and Kuwait to take a couple HD videos.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 11 for Kodak PlaySport Zx5 Black HD Video Camera, 2.0" LCD Display

Really Like This Product

09/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a small, easy to use camera which I used primarily for video. I really like this camera and have used it even more than I thought. I have used it to document the contents of my house, to record scenery on vacation, to catch the perfect moments and when visiting grandchildren. I share my video with family and friends and I have found it very easy to download and export. I did some research ahead of my purchase and I would recomend this camera to any prospective buyer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 12 for Kodak PlaySport Zx5 Black HD Video Camera, 2.0" LCD Display

Great camera for a teen

11/07/2011
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this camera for my 13 year old son. He loves shooting videos and taking photos and this camera fits the bill. It's easy to use. Picture quality both video/stills is very good. Stabilization for video use is a really nice addition (we had a Flip before that didn't have this option).
It also is very sturdy and does allow shooting videos in water up to 10'. Haven't tried that yet but my son is looking forward to checking that option out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 13 for Kodak PlaySport Zx5 Black HD Video Camera, 2.0" LCD Display

Vacation MEMORIES LOST! What a piece of JUNK!

10/10/2011
By ,
Spring Hill, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Upon researching and going to the actual store to test, check and look up close at waterproof VC, I found the Kodak Playsport and loved it. The concept, design, and functions seemed ideal for what I was looking for. Walmart.com of course had the best prices as usual. I ordered it for same day pick up and the next day took it to the pool to test out before taking it on my cruise. It was wonderful! I followed all instructions about cleaning it with fresh water and towel dried. Upon taking it to my cruise and on the first day of use, it would not even turn on. Thinking it was the battery I charged it before our snorkeling excursion and was on my way. When we got there and were about to get in the water it did not turn on when I looked at the screen it was fogged in the corners. I CAN NOT tell you how angry I am with this VC and KODAK! I have no videos or pics and had to end up buying a cheap one time use camera which was not so cheap. Basically BEWARE of this VC and buy another model! OH and the manual has a small paragraph on page 25 that basically says that even though the VC is waterproof it may not work and its pretty much your problem. Seriously?!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 14 for Kodak PlaySport Zx5 Black HD Video Camera, 2.0" LCD Display

Not Worth the money

07/16/2011
By ,
Richmond, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got this camera in April. Froze up after one week usage. The user manual suggested pressing reset bottom with paper clip almost seemed like they knew it would happened quite often. The freezing up happens more and more often as time goes on. It gets really annoying re-setting the camera who it does happen. Last known issue was camera turned on own its own with black screen on. Camera got heated up and losing battery charge after. Contact Kodak support through their support phone number numerous times and no one answered. Online chatting function to reach technical support was unavailable. Not even sure whats the point having a link there. End up contacting tech support via email. Still waiting for their reply. Hoping to get full refund or replacement..... actually, not even sure i want the replacement. Would rather get my money back.
Pro: When it works... its actually very good camera. Quick on taking pictures one after another. Good video quality. Underwater footage was clear and sound recording quality was pretty decent and that is only if WORKS which most of the time it DOESN'T. Too bad there is no flash on-board.
Cons: Bad production to invest overall. Don't wait your money on it. If you got one, try to get rid of it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 15 for Kodak PlaySport Zx5 Black HD Video Camera, 2.0" LCD Display

Do not get!!!

12/14/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just got this. put my sd card in it wouldn't read it! Then it froze and wouldn't turn off!! Going to return this ASAP!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 16 for Kodak PlaySport Zx5 Black HD Video Camera, 2.0" LCD Display

Great camera for the beach

03/18/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After searching online and reading hundreds of reviews on waterproof pocket camcorders and exploring a waterproof case for my iPhone 4 I took a chance on the Zx5. Boy was I amazed! Although a larger screen would be nice for shooting underwater, this camera will not disappoint. The image quality is remarkable for both video and still images. When choosing the 720p at 60fps you get the smoothest image quality. After a week of daily use at the beach in Jamaica I found that the camera was a great choice. There is one thing that may prove to be an issue, I have noticed that the sliding latch locking mechanism that locks down the doors for both the memory card on one side and the USB and HDMI ports on the other side have begun to stick a bit. This is making it hard to open and close them. You certainly do not want these to come open while under water but if they require too much force to open and close I am concerned they may break. Beyond this I am very happy with this camera and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good quality waterproof pocket camcorder for a great price. I found it here at Walmart for $49.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Kodak PlaySport Zx5 Black HD Video Camera, 2.0" LCD Display

Wow....A Powerful little video camera

08/20/2011
By ,
Stubenville, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well I must say that this video camera exceeds all my expectations. This is not a video camera designed for the professional but for the "Average Joe" its a great video camera to capture those Family memories in high Def professional looking videos. I was a little hesitant regarding the "Waterproof" claim, but thought that they claim its waterproof, why not find out. So we took it with us on our recent vacation to Aruba with the intentions of capturing some underwater video while snorkling. Well the results were inpressive to say the least. This PlaySport took some excellent underwater HD videos as well as some very nice video on dry land. This little video camera is durable, inexpensive, packed with features and delivers some excellent quality HD videos. The most inpressive feature to me is the Anti-shake which I think works very well. This video camera does lack in the area of night video and indoor, whenever lighting can be a factor but overall I am very pleased with my purchase of this video camera. So if you are looking for an inexpensive video camera to capture your great family memroies in high def video.....this is the one for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 18 for Kodak PlaySport Zx5 Black HD Video Camera, 2.0" LCD Display

great price, great for action

04/23/2012
By ,
lv nv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had it about a week, I needed to get video of my son playing baseball. My daughter used it taking fun pictures underwater. Works great, clear picture even under water. I don't know if I got this exact model, mine is blue, says kodak playsport, and is waterproof. I got it on sale for 109$ at walmart store. Very, very easy to use and have posted video and pictures on facebook. Only small complaint is video is a little wobbly by hand, plan to use my tripod next ball game. Great value and of course Kodak can't be beat for quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 19 for Kodak PlaySport Zx5 Black HD Video Camera, 2.0" LCD Display

Easy to use quality camera

11/06/2011
By ,
Climax, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this camera for my 13yr old daughter. She loves it. It's easy to use,compact and takes quality pictures. I believe she had taken over 300 pictures during the first week after receiving this camera.
My mother, who is not electronically capable, was impressed with how simple this camera is to operate..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Kodak PlaySport Zx5 Black HD Video Camera, 2.0" LCD Display

Handy, but quality isn't to smart-phone standards

03/26/2013
By ,
Waterford, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First, this product was already opened and used once when I received it. There was a video of the inside of a Walmart store on the camera that was 26 months old. That aside, it operated fine.
There is not flash or LED. The battery life seems good (I never ran it down. I ended up returning it.) A 8Gb memory card showed 2 hours of space at 720p setting. The camera has a quality feel to it. Light is the key to quality of the pictures; the more light, the better the quality. When recording inside at dusk, the sky out my windows was purple. Shake control was good. When panning you have to do it very slow to look 'good,' like most cameras.
You can't beat this device for the size and unobtrusiveness for impromptu pictures. Power on, click, recording. I'd keep it if it was $50.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next