Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Learning Resources Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set

Learning Resources Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set

Spark imaginative play and inspire your little chef to cook up a good time with this Learning Resources Cooking Set. This bright, 10-piece set includes everything kids need to cook along with mom and dad. Designed for children ages 6 and up, it includes all of the staples that you would find in the kitchen including a pot, frying pan, a tea kettle and five utensils with easy-to-grip handles. This play cooking set has been awarded the Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Gold Seal.
Average Customer Rating:
4.676 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation95%35 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 9 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set

Stimulates imagination in the 'kitchen'

10/20/2014
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Pretend & Play cooking set is ideal for boys and girls age 3 and up and gives them a chance to ‘cook’ just like the grownups do. The set is well made and brightly colored in sturdy plastic with a tea kettle, frying pan with lid, and a 2-handled pot with lid. The lids fit firmly on the pots. It also comes with an assortment of kitchen gadgets such as a slotted spoon, spatula, masher, and ice cream scoop, all with firm-gripped handles. This pretend cooking set was tested out in a preschool that had a pretend kitchen which was ideal to play in, as the children took turns cooking and thinking of what they would cook next. They enjoyed the colorful pots & pans in yellow, blue and red. They had fun using the utensils, stirring the pots, flipping imaginary pancakes and eggs in the frying pans, serving pretend ice cream with the scoop and making tea. This set encourages children to use their imagination, creativity and coordination skills, while pretending to cook. I would recommend this cooking set to any aspiring chef over 3 years old for hours of fun.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set

Cute little cooking set

01/02/2015
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received the Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set in the mail recently and it really is cute. The set comes with ten pieces total including a tea kettle, frying pan with lid, two-handled pot with lid and five utensils. Everything is made from lightweight yet durable plastic. I see these toys lasting years and years. I have a five year old daughter and her hands are the perfect size to hold all the utensils and the cookware. This set goes great with her play kitchen and the food she already has fits great in the pots too. The pots have great bright and bold colors that are mostly the primary colors like yellow, green, blue, and red. My daughter has played with the set for a while now and has been a little rough on them by banging them around with the utensils and them falling off the kitchen set onto the tile and they are still doing great! These dishes will stand up against the toughest and roughest kids around! Trust me, you will NOT regret getting this cute pot, pan, and utensil set. Your kids will LOVE this set and enjoy them for years to come. Bottom line for this set is...GET IT!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set

Cheap plastic and dangerous

10/23/2014
By ,
Portsmouth, Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The cookware set is cute, but the plastic is cheap. The plastic is really too rigid to be a toy for a small child because it breaks too easily. When the spatula broke as shown in the picture a large chunk of it flew and almost hit me in the eye and this was from a toddler simply flexing the spatula as small children do sometimes with their toys. The piece that broke off had a point on it and jagged edges. The potato masher broke as well just from my son pressing it onto the carpeted floor like he was cooking and it broke and again shaper jagged pieces flew threw the air. Luckily no one has been hurt, but I have taken the utensils away from him. The pots and pans themselves are not bad at all.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set

Great Fun to learn about 'cooking' & serving

12/30/2014
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave these to my great-niece as a gift after Christmas. (She hadn't even taken off her coat yet - as you can see. She wanted to see what I had brought her.) When her mother removed the first plastic bag from the box (& still unopened) with some of the 'cooking' set inside, she said Whoa!. The picture on the box didn't surprise her much but she was excited when she actually saw the set. As you can see from the picture, she was too busy looking and playing with her new kitchen set to pay much attention to me. lol
She is already 'cooking' and using her 'food' and plates so now she has the pots & tea kettle as well as kitchen utensils to help in her 'cooking'. It is always exciting to see kids enjoying their gifts!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set

Nice Play Cooking Set

01/22/2015
By ,
Gonzales, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this little set. It is for ages 3 Plus. It includes 10 pieces total: Tea Kettle, Frying pan with lid, Two-handled pot with lid and 5 utensils with big-grip handles. My granddaughters had a blast playing with this. It is made of plastic and very durable, with bright primary colors.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set

Great Kids Cooking Set

10/23/2014
By ,
Delray Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the picture on the front of the box it looks like the cooking set would be fun for kids to play with. I liked the logo “Cook Up Some Fun”. This gives me the impression that my grandkids would like this too. I don’t remember utensils in other cooking sets that I grew up with and this is a nice touch. The utensils are a good size. The handles are big and sturdy. The only draw back is the utensils are bendy and I can see them possibly breaking as kids tend to play rough. I would have liked to have seen the same thickness as was on the handles or made as one whole piece but this wouldn’t keep me from buying. The pots are the right size to hold stuff to pretend cooking. I like being able to put water in the kettle. The colors are nice, bright and fun. The colors match the Pretend and Play Dish Set. Makes me think of them going together and my grandkids would enjoy both of these items. Since they are plastic easy to clean and sturdy enough to withstand the kid’s play. Also since they are plastic they can be taken outside without worrying they will break or rust if they are left out. The size is nice for the pots and utensils. The 3+ age suggestion is perfect. Especially since little kids like to imitate their parents. I definitely think kids would like playing with this cooking set. I had fun checking them out for the grandkids.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set

Sturdy toy cooking set

12/30/2014
By ,
phoenix, az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Pretend and Play Cooking Set is a brightly colored child's cooking set of red yellow and blue. Though marked for 3+ ages, the pieces are large enough not to be swallowed. The cooking set consists of a frying pan with a lid, a tea kettle, and a two-handled pot with a lid and 5 utensils. The utensils consist of a potato masher, a straining spoon, a spatula, a knife and a scoop. The product is made of a sturdy plastic. I banged pieces of the set into various objects and dropped some pieces on my tile floor. No chipping or breaking occurred. The set is a good toy for a large range of ages from 3 until children are no longer interested in playing house. I found this to be good for my almost 6 year old. The set is plastic and the child would need to be told not to play around the stove in the kitchen. It's a good, time-tested toy and would be enjoyed by many children.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Free sample received:Yes
Free sample received:Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set

Quality kids cooking set

12/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooking set is very well made. The utensils are sturdy and are made with bright colors. The pots and lids are sturdy too and have no sharp edges so they are safe for little ones. They are the perfect size for little hands. The tea pot is cute and colorful too.
Our 4 year old loves her new cooking set. She plays with it every day making food for her dolls and for us too. She put some of her candy in it for us.
I showed her how to stir with the spoon and how to mash pretend mashed potatoes, one of her favorite foods. The knife isn't too sharp, it won't cut skin but she feels like a big girl using her pretend knife.
I would recommend this play set for my friends because of it's quality. The bright colors make it fun and appealing for youngsters.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set

Adorable play cooking set!

12/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Learning Resources Pretend and Play Cooking Set! The set comes in an adorable yellow and blue color. The set comes with adorable utensils also. The utensils are a straining spoon, a scoop spoon, a spatula and a potato masher. There is a large pot and a fry skillet. When my granddaughter saw the cooking set, she was so excited! She loves to play like she is preparing food so l had to get this play cooking set for her. She took the skillet first and took some of her play doe and started to pretend to cook! The set is made of a very good quality plastic that is very sturdy and the edges are smooth so it is safe for a child to play with. I highly recommend this play cooking set. My Granddaughter loves it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set

Delightful Retro Toy Set

01/02/2015
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This sweet little toy cooking set has a great retro vibe to it; reminds me so much of the type of toys I'd buy for my kids back in the "olden days"... you know, before everyone went crazy for electronics. No batteries, chargers, wifi, or internet connection needed-- just good old fashioned fun through use of your imagination! :-)
This ten-piece set is made of good quality plastic in bright primary colors that kids love. All the handles and smaller parts are VERY securely attached. I twisted and tugged at everything pretty hard to check everything out, and I don't think there's any chance a child could easily break a handle off. It's well made. The five utensils have small but chunky handles, as do the pots, that are just the perfect size for little hands to grip easily. While the packaging says it's designed for children ages 6 and up, I find the set perfectly suitable for younger children, and fun for them too. The little tea kettle is super cute. It's lid flips up just the way an old time real stovetop tea kettle does.
I'm deligating this toy set to the bathtub when my little ones visit. They love filling things with liquid and then pouring it out, and this is the perfect toy for that!
I can certainly see why this play cooking set was awarded the Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Gold Seal. It's a fun, simple, quality toy that stimulates a child's imagination.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set

Love playing pretend!

01/03/2015
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My four year old loves playing with her kitchen set so anything that I can find to go with it is always good. Got the pot and pan and she is in there everyday pretending to cook something up. I really love how they are thick and hard plastic. They are made very well. If it makes it pasted my daughter after a day then you know it's made well. I would recommend it for a gift for a child any day. Your child will be cooking up something everyday for you to try, just like mine!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set

My little chef.......

12/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Learning Resources is really good with these little cute sets. This is a good start to your little imaginative chef. It has a kettle which kinda sorta isn't a usual kitchen toy. I've seen a couple but not as a super stand out piece as with this set. Don't get me wrong. It's very cute. It's just that wasn't normally a basic kitchen appliance/cookware/utensil etc. Know what I mean? I do see that are more trendy & modern & more used in regular society than long ago. It was something my granny & her parents used daily. I see them used a lot now on tv. It's made its necessity comeback. I personally would've expected another sauce pot or so. The set also has a spatula, slotted spoon, ladle, large knife & even a potato masher. Also another not so universal utensil I've seen in other toy cookery sets. I do love the versatility these two items present. Kinda sorta breaking the traditional mode of what's put in a toy set as this. Now, the pots are so adorable. The have handles that mimics Mommy's & Daddy's pot set. Very grown up right? Lol! Let's not forget the tops to the pots. So great. The set as a whole is colorfully inviting, sturdy & expansive to a regular pot set. They utensils & handles are wide but small enough to fit our little culinary geniuses perfectly without being heavy. Nowadays, these types of sets are becoming obsolete due to the Junior Master Chefs competition on Fox. Those little babies can range from ages 8-13. Quite of few of them have been quoted as having been cooking since age 3 which the recommended age of this play set. So, this keeps them open, inquisitive & innocent for as long as it lasts. And that, I love. I don't want them to grow up to fast. It's good if they start young learning to cook or developing possible future interests. I just prefer their imaginative wide open innocent mind of being a kid. Though I also love those little mini chefs in tv. I definitely recommend this set because of its mental possibilities of a child. The basic learning properties I think it gives are identifying kitchen utensils & different colors along with interest in introducing them to cooking. The price point is pretty good with this set. Around $17-$20 or so Pretty average & doable. All I all, I do recommend this set. Both parent & child should like it. Now, go stir up something. ;-)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Learning Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set

Little ones will love these

06/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pretend cooking play set is one of the better ones on the market,it is not the cheap flimsy plastic that either bends or breaks when the kids are playing with them,there are so many more of these Little Resources play sets to choose from on line, to add to the pan and pot set in this set.
The tea kettle is too cute and I have to say that the utensils that are with this set are safe and the handles are larger than other ones and easier for the little ones to hold onto,and I am not sure why....but little ones love to watch and imitate whoever is doing the cooking in the kitchen.
Great product... lots of fun....highly recommend it!!!
Product Attributes:
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set

Fun, cute, and practical...

06/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A value minded toy for your infant or toddler to follow along what the parents use when going through daily life. Our daughter saw this at the library and we knew it would be a hit for her to mess around with. Safe and made of not so easily cracked or shattering type of plastic, I feel safe leaving her to play unattended.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set

great imagination cooking set

10/18/2014
By ,
Titusville, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The box has great color to catch the customers eye. The contents are beautigully arranged on the back side of the box so you know exactly what you are purchasing.the colors are bright and eye catching. The age appropriateness of the enclosed toys is plainly visible on the out side of the box.I didn't like all the plastic bags you had to go through to get to the enclosed toys. Two bags would have sufficed. One large bag for the larger pieces with the smaller pieces in a separate bag inside the larger bag. I like that the toys are not made with a ridged plastic. The plastic seems a little softer so they won't break easy if dropped. The handles of the toys are large enough for small children to grasp. The lid for the skillet and larger pot could use the same lid. Eliminated one of them and make a measuring cup instead. Overall I like the play set and I believe a child would have many hours playing with them. I could see the customer looking for companion toys to go with the cooking set...like plates, cups, cutlery, even fake foods.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set

Great Low Priced Toy

10/19/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Pretend & Play cooking set is sturdy and safe as well as age appropriate for 3 year olds and up. Ideally when combined with the Pretend and Play dish set, it equals hours of fun.
The box clearly states the items should be washed before use. This is simply to remove the slight oil film from the manufacturing process but it is important to get it done before children have a chance to handle the pieces.
The 8 year old enjoyed the set more than the youngest child but it was likely due to being able to identify the utensils with those seen in the kitchen. It was fun to convert an upside-down cardboard box into a make believe stove and cook up their favorite imaginary foods once the smaller children absorbed the concept of pretending.
All the parts are flexible enough to survive the roughness of the older children and the accidental misuse of the younger ones. The bright, cheery color combinations are a great invitation to excitement and will hopefully encourage them to assist in kitchen tasks later on.
The different colored knobs and handles add greatly to the visual appreciation. The firm attachment of these various parts gives peace of mind to parents.
A person on a tight budget can easily afford this set as opposed to the high dollar toys and can be confident it will provide activity long after the battery operated ones are cast aside.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set

Cooking Play Set for Child

10/16/2014
By ,
Adirondack Mtns, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, the pieces in this set were MUCH smaller than I imagined, but I suppose they would probably fit well on a child-sized stove. What would be the learning features? It's pretty much for children imitating mom or dad cooking; it would not teach them to cook.
That being said, the plastic used to make these items is really very thick; not that thin, brittle plastic that a lot of play cooking pans/utensils are made from nowadays. The handles on the pans and on the utensils are small enough to fit a child's hand comfortably; the colors are bright (red, yellow, blue). There is an awful lot of plastic used to bag up the items inside the box, probably more than is really needed, seeing as it has the warning to "keep plastic away from children".
My granddaughter who will be 3 in December I think will really enjoy playing with this, as she has a play kitchen and loves to use it. The price for this item is really worth it, as it has 2 pans with covers, a tea kettle, and 5 cooking utensils (a "knife", a spoon, a spatula, a potato masher, and a spoon with holes), so there is really lot of items in this set. Pieces are put together well and even with tugging on those parts that may come off they did not; very sturdy.
I would definitely recommend this to a friend or anyone looking for a child's play cooking set. Great value for the price, and should stand up to quite a few years of play.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set

Amazing Cooking Set

01/15/2015
By ,
Ellsworth, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing........wish I had this cooking set as a child.....This set is also a good learning tool.
The set has 10 pieces, fry pan with lid, kettle with lid, tea pot, and 5 cooking utensils. This helps them to identify and learn the correct names for the pieces they are playing with. They are in
bright colors of Red, Blue and yellow. The lids are a good fit for the fry pan and kettle, they are
easy to get on and off. They used imagination, with some play dough and made green peas and yellow french fries for their lunch.
Not only is the set a great learning tool. Because of the quality in the workmanship, this toy will be around for awhile. They have some flexibility making them durable to the high use they will
receive. They are not made of a hard plastic that tends to break easily. There are no sharp edges. This is a cooking set that all little kids dream about. As a Spark Reviewer representative
I received this product to analyze. I picked up and played daily with each piece before I made my decision. I do not hesitate at all to give this item a 5 star rating and
recommend highly.
Note: I do not have a camera or an IPod to take pictures or videos....
Product Attributes:
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set

Cute Kitchen Play Set

03/21/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set is visually appealing for children. It is made of brightly colored and sturdy plastic. It includes some great pieces that look like the real thing. My 3-year old niece especially likes the tea kettle. She likes to boil her water for tea or hot chocolate. This is a great set for children who like to role play as if they are working in the kitchen preparing meals. It has been a big hit in our toy room.
Product Attributes:
Learning Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Learning Resources Pretend & Play Cooking Set

Good simple pretend cookset

12/30/2013
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a LOT of toys in our house, but our 2 year old LOVES playing with our toy kitchen. She needed some new pots and pans though, so we got this for her. It's nice. The plastic is sturdy. The utensils are all different. The 2 pots each have lids. I can fit 3-4 fake plastic food toys in the big pot for making pretend soup. The tea kettle is cute. It's nice that its an actual tea kettle, and not just a tea pot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next