Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Kenney Cordless Thermal Blackout Roman Shade, Chocolate

Generic Kenney Cordless Thermal Blackout Roman Shade, Chocolate

Conserve energy in your home with the Kenney Cordless Thermal Blackout Roman Shade. When fully extended, this shade can block out virtually all bright light. A deep chocolate color adds warmth to your decor.
Average Customer Rating:
3.815 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation74%20 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 20 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kenney Cordless Thermal Blackout Roman Shade, Chocolate

Awesome shades!

10/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had bought other roman shades that were not blackout and they just felt cheap and were very wrinkled, but instructions said not to iron. These felt very substantial - and best of all not a single wrinkle right out of the box! They have a very clean look. I absolutely love them - I just wish there were more color options! The hanging instructions are pretty vuague as far as the measurements required to use the "hybrid" method (hardware inside mount, but material on the outside of the window), but I eventually got it and they look great and are truly blackout! In my opinion, they're on the expensive side, but even the cheap ones only save $15 and look lousy, so if you're going to spend money on shades go for it and get the good ones!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kenney Cordless Thermal Blackout Roman Shade, Chocolate
10/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aside from it arriving in the wrong color, I was pleasantly surprised by this shade. I kept it anyway because the color worked even though it wasn't what I ordered (didn't feel like dealing with a return). It was easy to install and it's a nice heavy fabric so it really does block out most light. It has made a huge difference in the temperature of the room. I love that there is no cord since it is in the nursery (and it takes about 10 seconds to raise and lower). Much better than other roman shades I've ordered elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kenney Cordless Thermal Blackout Roman Shade, Chocolate

good for blackout, but hard to open and close

07/01/2011
By ,
Chicago, Il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This truely is a blackout blind. We have ours mounted on the inside of the window, so the only light that comes in is just around the edges. I was wondering how a roman shade could be 'cordless' and how well that would work... it's very difficult and slow to open and close, which I kind of suspected would be the case. The main function of this blind for us is to black out our boys' bedroom, so that they don't get up at 5 a.m., so it meets that expectation! :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kenney Cordless Thermal Blackout Roman Shade, Chocolate

Perfect for a child's bedroom

09/07/2011
By ,
Syracuse, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for blackout roman shades that would be safe enough to put in an active child's bedroom and this was pretty close to what I wanted. The shades do a great job keeping the room dark at nap time. The only negative is that they are a bit of a pain to open compared to the pull-string type. However, these are safer for children so I would definitely recommend them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kenney Cordless Thermal Blackout Roman Shade, Chocolate

Good value!

04/04/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These shades work as advertised and do darken the room. They are a good alternative to more expensive Roman shades sold at the big box home improvement stores and department stores, which in most cases require a custom order. They were easy to install, two screws for each bracket and then the blind header snaps into the bracket and locks with a clip. There is a paper template included to mark the bracket positions on the wall for mounting on the outside of the window frame. You will need some tape or tacks to hold it up and an assistant to help with the install will be welcome.
The only odd feature of these blinds is the wand mechanism to raise and lower. It requires attaching the wand to the spring roller at the top of the shade then bending the spring down to make the rod vertical. The wand is then twisted to turn the roller spring and raise lower the shade. The odd part is that the wand is always under tension, and the clip to secure the wand to the wall keeps the wand from turning and the blind to quickly drop. I wish it was designed more like the wand on a mini blind where it is not always under tension- seems like a better design could have been done. Overall, these serve the purpose, look decent and are reasonably priced. The widest width available is 35", my windows are 35" so it barely covered with minimal overlap, there should be a 36" width and larger sizes offered to accomodate bigger windows.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kenney Cordless Thermal Blackout Roman Shade, Chocolate

not what I expected

12/06/2013
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
was expecting the cordless blinds that are raised and lowered and hold position, these have to be rolled up and the wand snapped into a wall bracket to keep it from unravelling
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kenney Cordless Thermal Blackout Roman Shade, Chocolate

Really blocks out the light!!!

05/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband works nights and sleeps during the day. We tried other black out products to no avail. These black out Roman shades really work. My husband sleeps peacefully without being woken up by the light creeping in. The price was great! I compared the price to other black out shades and the price was almost triple!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kenney Cordless Thermal Blackout Roman Shade, Chocolate

Great product for the price!!!

05/17/2012
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These blinds work well and are easy to install. The cordless feature is kind of a pain to open...you have to twist a rod, keeping constant tension on it, and this takes about 10 seconds per blind. However, they are safer (with children) and they look very nice. They truly do block out all light, but with the inside mount you will still see some light coming through the sides. Definitely worth the money. Not super great quality but very good considering the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kenney Cordless Thermal Blackout Roman Shade, Chocolate

Very nice. Good quality.

07/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hoping they are as functional as they are attractive.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kenney Cordless Thermal Blackout Roman Shade, Chocolate

Good

04/19/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought these for my sons' rooms - I didn't want to spend alot of money, but I wanted it to look nice. They actually look pretty decent and you can't beat the price. My teenage son likes that they keep the sun out on weekend mornings! The only down side is it takes a little time to roll them up, but it's really no big deal. Overall, they look very nice!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kenney Cordless Thermal Blackout Roman Shade, Chocolate

We returned this shade right away

06/14/2012
By ,
San Francisco, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We ended up returning this shade about 10 minutes after hanging it up. Poor quality and the kids room had more light in with this shade than with regular blinds. Another downside to this shade is that it only pulled halfway up! So you will have a dark room regardless of what you want. We returned it for a refund right away.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kenney Cordless Thermal Blackout Roman Shade, Chocolate

Great looking shade.

11/22/2013
By ,
Southeast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great looking shade. I was pleased at the price of this item. It looks great and fits my door well. Comparable shades are much more expensive but do not look much different. Overall a great buy. I must add I am using this for a door and do not plan on raising this shade. Therefore I did not add the twist handle as instructed. So I can't comment on how easy or difficult it is to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kenney Cordless Thermal Blackout Roman Shade, Chocolate

cheap and look that way

05/09/2012
By ,
Madisonville, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We opened the box of the first of three and looked at it. It was cheaply made and looked cheap. My husband put one up just to see if it looked bettter up. It didnt. He took it down. We placed it in the box and took all of them back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kenney Cordless Thermal Blackout Roman Shade, Chocolate

Very dark shade

03/15/2013
By ,
clarion Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this shade for my husband who works nights. Even mid-day it keeps our bedroom dark. It is well made and looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kenney Cordless Thermal Blackout Roman Shade, Chocolate

good product at a good price

02/11/2013
By ,
Grand rapids, mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This does in fact block 99% of the light and can make the room pitch black. My only complaint is how it was packaged because it caused some creases which need to be ironed out. Besides that, it does have a unique way of rolling them up (with a wand like vinyl blinds) but i'm not sure if i like it yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kenney Cordless Thermal Blackout Roman Shade, Chocolate

Not a blackout shade

11/23/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The shade looks nice and was well constructed. Hanging instructions were clear.
Only one major problem - this shade did not blackout sunlight around the edges. I'm returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kenney Cordless Thermal Blackout Roman Shade, Chocolate

disappointed

07/22/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the roll up wand was a complete pain,
the blinds stuck out too far from the window
the mesh in the back kept getting stuck.
I had to return them.. awful...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kenney Cordless Thermal Blackout Roman Shade, Chocolate

Liked the previous one better

11/14/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item was a replacement for the previous one I bought a couple years ago as that one broke. The new one I just received is not as nice as the old one. Material is cheaper looking. A little disappointed as I have 2 side by side and you can see the difference.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kenney Cordless Thermal Blackout Roman Shade, Chocolate
05/26/2013
By ,
Maine
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Keeps light out but the handle is the WORST! It is so difficult to use and you need to use two hands. Next time, I would spend more money to get a user friendly shade.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kenney Cordless Thermal Blackout Roman Shade, Chocolate

perfect

12/21/2012
By ,
boston,ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beautiful but installation is a tad difficult.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next