Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Better Homes and Gardens Better Homes and Gardens Interior Eggshell / Satin Paint, 1 Gal

Better Homes and Gardens Better Homes and Gardens Interior Eggshell / Satin Paint, 1 Gal

Refresh your home with Better Homes and Gardens Interior Eggshell / Satin Paint. This high-quality latex paint will give you years of enjoyment. It dries quickly for added convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
2.1 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
0
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation40%4 out of 10reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
0
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Better Homes and Gardens Interior Eggshell / Satin Paint, 1 Gal

Good budgegt paint

04/02/2011
By ,
NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a painting and cleaning contractor. I like that I can grab this stuff at 4:30am if I need to. Today I needed to paint the kitchen in a rental unit and be done before 8:30am. I grabbed a gallon of this in white to repaint the kitchen. No problems whatsoever. Very low odor. Rental units always need to be painted when someone moves out. If a tenant has been in for 5 years, this type of lower end paint needs to be redone. They all do. Not many rental units will be done in 15 year paint. Not the ideal choice for an owner to choose for long term, but that's not what this is for...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Better Homes and Gardens Interior Eggshell / Satin Paint, 1 Gal

Yuck. Wish I had read the reviews first

07/20/2011
By ,
Midwest
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this at Walmart to paint over our daughters' white walls with a soft pink (faded hydrangea is the actual color name). We've done plenty of painting in our house, so we know what extra bad paint is like -- it's just like this kind. We're returning it for a refund today as it does have a satisfaction guarantee, which is nice. The paint did not go on easy, and we use high quality brushes. The coverage was also poor -- we figured it would take 3 coats (and we're just painting over white!). With the extra amount of paint you would need (think extra coat), you should use something else. We live in a small town so have limited local choices -- but I'd rather drive 20 miles and pick up something higher quality; it would save time in the long run.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Better Homes and Gardens Interior Eggshell / Satin Paint, 1 Gal

Worst paint EVER

04/12/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was a total waste of money and time. Two coats over another light color....splotchy and it's like spreading cold butter. AWFUL paint. Don't waste your time. Three days of painting and it's still not done.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Better Homes and Gardens Interior Eggshell / Satin Paint, 1 Gal

NOOO!

03/26/2011
By ,
Baltimore, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this product! I purchased this paint to paint over a light brown bedroom in my new house. The first coat, which somehow took a whole gallon looked terrible. I bought another gallon hoping that would be the fix, NOPE! It took 3 gallons to cover a light brown paint, that in the other bedroom took ONLY ONE gallon of the Giliden (sp?) paint! Definitely NOT worth the money, I learned my lesson not to cheap out with paint!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Huntersville, NC
BHG Eggshell/Satin Paint
Posted 07/04/2011
We used this paint throughout our entire 3200 square foot home. The WM associate matched our color selections from another paint line perfectly. The paint performed as well as any paint with the exception of a paint in the 40-50 range. I don't know of a paint that covers in 1 coat all need 2 coats--even if 1 coat looks good, put a second coat on and see the difference. I painted over red, brown, green and sand colors. I did use a zinsser primer over the red only. What I did learn after painting our home was that the type of roller and brush made a big difference in the outcome of the paint. About 1/2 way through I replaced my brushes with Purdy and bought the better grade roller. This made painting easier and the paint went on very easy.
As far as the tape pulling up the paint. That happens with every paint brand no exceptions I know b/c I have lived through that experience. The paint pulling off is related to the elastic nature of eggshell, semi gloss and gloss paint--its what gives paint washability. The best way to minimize the "pull" is to remove the tape at an 90 degree angle so it essentially cuts the paint --do this almost immediately after painting. Paint seepage under the tape can be minimized by using FROG tape or using faux finish glaze over the tape edge.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Better Homes and Gardens Interior Eggshell / Satin Paint, 1 Gal
09/29/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this to paint my daughter's bedroom. Started with a primer first to cover the purple that was on the walls already and needed just two coats of the BHG paint. Dried quickly so I didn't have to wait forever to apply the 2nd coat. And it was low odor so I didn't worry about my daughter sleeping in her room after the painting was done and dried.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Better Homes and Gardens Interior Eggshell / Satin Paint, 1 Gal

Good value

10/17/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
just painted a bathroom with this and I thought it was fine. covered in one coat and it had no odor like paint normally does. At $22 bucks, it's a better deal than $34 stuff I bought at Lowe's the previous weekend for my other bathroom.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Better Homes and Gardens Interior Eggshell / Satin Paint, 1 Gal

NEVER AGAIN!!!!

07/19/2011
By ,
Upstate, New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst paint I have ever used. It is very watery and does not cover well at all. I would NOT use this paint even if it was free! You need to stop and stir the paint often because it separates quickly. It goes on thin, doesn't cover well at all. Also, it is watery and runs easily. I will never, ever use this paint again. I will tell everyone I know to never buy this paint. Complete waste of my time and money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Better Homes and Gardens Interior Eggshell / Satin Paint, 1 Gal

HORRIBLE paint!

09/09/2011
By ,
Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very runny and watery. I used to purchase Kilz paint at Walmart- it was great paint and a great value. When I went to purchase more, I found it was no longer carried and mistakenly bought this mess instead. Will absolutely never purchase it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Better Homes and Gardens Interior Eggshell / Satin Paint, 1 Gal

Awful

07/17/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This paint is truly awful. It is sticky and has no coverage, even over white primer. Trying to locate the receipt, this mess is going back. Spend your money elsewhere. This is a major downgrade from the Dutchboy paint they used to carry.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Better Homes and Gardens Interior Eggshell / Satin Paint, 1 Gal
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5