Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Glidden Glidden High Endurance Plus Interior Eggshell/Satin, White, 1 Gallon

Glidden Glidden High Endurance Plus Interior Eggshell/Satin, White, 1 Gallon

Average Customer Rating:
2.474 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation37%7 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 14 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Glidden High Endurance Plus Interior Eggshell/Satin, White, 1 Gallon

"Best Quality - Maximum Coverage"... not really

09/27/2013
By ,
Miami, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So due to my short amount of time and need to pick up a few groceries items at the same time I decided to pick up some paint from Walmart (against my own better judgment no less) because I wouldn't have enough time to go pick up my usual paint from Lowes. Looking in the aisles of the paint department I found Glidden "High Endurance Plus - Paint and Primer." It was not the cheapest gallon of paint that the store carried, when shaken it didn't slosh around like it was just a gallon of water and the price point was very comparable to the paint that I would have otherwise purchased had I had some extra time so I decided to go for it.
I was painting over a wall which had a color that was a couple shades darker (I’ve attached a photo in which the unpainted border against the ceiling can be seen) than the color I picked up from Walmart so I figured that with the paint and primer in one, a good coating with a well loaded roller and two coats of paint I would be just fine.
The first thing I noticed was that getting the paint onto the roller itself seemed strange. As you are rolling the paint roller back and forth on the paint tray, the paint seems very thick, a bit strange I thought, and it required a bit more time to ensure the paint was even on the roller, but I thought it was going to be amazing once I got it on the wall… maybe I wouldn’t even need a second coat :) So before placing the roller on the wall I decided to grab a ballpoint pen and make a marking on the wall to see just how great this seemingly very thick on the roller, paint was going to cover since one of the main claims on the gallon of paint from Glidden is that they provide “Maximum” coverage.
I also attached a picture after that first coat had about an hour to dry of the marking that I made on the wall.
I did two coats of paint on the entire wall and the bottom color still shows through… I gave up on the entire wall. The “test” area now became a problem because it was obviously VERY visible. I have applied 6 or 7 coats just on the mark, and I can STILL see the word TEST bleeding through when the room’s lights are all on. I tried taking a picture of it but it doesn’t show well in the picture for me to provide it… but in person it’s still visible. Instructions state to give it about 4 hours between coats, and I gave it 3 between the first and second coat, 2 more hours before the third coat and after that I just kept throwing more coats on it when the paint seemed pretty dry to the touch hoping that the word would finally disappear... to no avail as of yet.
Needless to say… If you are painting a dirty wall, over a dark color, trying to paint with a dark color, a wall that your kids attacked with crayons and markers, or anything besides a bare drywall that’s been primed, DO NOT expect this paint to leave you satisfied with your purchase or efforts to DIY (Do It Yourself).
I happened to also be painting a different wall (using lighter colors with not that much difference between the original color and the new one I was changing it for) for which I took out a gallon of my usual paint that I knew had just enough paint left over in it to cover the entire wall. The paint was Valspar Ultra, (I’ve been a Valspar paints user for a long time and am always happy with the results). I decided to give it a test with the ballpoint pen as well. The paint goes onto the roller much smoother… and after just a single coat, not even a thickly applied coat… just a regular coat… there was absolutely NO sign of where I had written with the ballpoint pen, and that wall was finished without the need for a second coat. Valspar paint is usually around $5 more than the Glidden paint. (These are the prices in my area, and comparing it with Lowes prices which is where I usually purchase paint, meaning that it may be a little different in your area, and also depending on what store you would be purchasing paint from). The good news however is that fairly often, Valspar will have $5 off the gallons of paint (little inconvenient since it’s a mail-in rebate) which is why I originally stated that the price points were comparable.
In conclusion, spend the little extra money to save yourself some time and frustration, or expect to apply three, four, or maybe even more coats with this paint to get real coverage (which may end up being more expensive since you will waste more paint). Glidden’s claims are completely absurd. I do not work for Lowes, or for Valspar, but since I was so frustrated by this paint I wanted to give full information and a comparison with a different paint that I normally use and am satisfied with.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Glidden High Endurance Plus Interior Eggshell/Satin, White, 1 Gallon

Paint isn't scrubbable or durable

03/05/2014
By ,
Decatur, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had previously purchased Glidden Exterior Paint -N- Primer in one at Walmart, the coverage (usually only one coat), scrubbable and durability was awesome. I wanted to use this paint inside, but was told I wouldn't be able to stand the smell inside of an exterior paint, so I purchased the interior paint -n- primer in one. I have no problem with its coverge at all. The paint covers very well, but when you need to wipe dirt off of it, it leaves a very glossy shiny mark on the wall where you wiped. And, all I used was a damp sponge with water on it only. It did clean off nicely, but you can tell everywhere you wipe. There is something wrong with a satin paint that you can't wipe off. My house had previously been painted by the prior owner with flat paint that showed all the dirt and stains and definitely wasn't washable. So, I hired a professional painter to re-paint almost the whole inside of the house with the Glidden Interior paint -n- primer in one paint that still isn't washable and am out about $1,000.00. Don't use this paint if you need to have washable walls because the paint definitely isn't washable.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Glidden High Endurance Plus Interior Eggshell/Satin, White, 1 Gallon
08/28/2013
By ,
Lexington, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With trepidation I purchased this paint for a bathroom. I say trepidation because I have always bought Olympic or Valspar from a home improvement store. However, being disappointed in the last paint I bought there, I thought I'd try Wal-Mart. I purchased the Glidden High Endurance Plus Interior Eggshell/Satin which has paint and primer. I was extremely surprised but overjoyed with the consistency of the paint (staying on the roller and brush and not dripping off) and the coverage it provided. I only had to use one coat and it looks excellent. I've used paints that advertise they cover in one coat but they never do. This one actually did. The color I was painting over was fairly close to the new paint color but even so, other paints in similar circumstances still didn't cover this well. I will definitely go to the same brand next time I want to paint.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Glidden High Endurance Plus Interior Eggshell/Satin, White, 1 Gallon

A definite must! will be doing all our rooms!

01/22/2014
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We moved in to an entire house of teddy bear brown! The rooms are 13 x 13 so I didn't want to spend a lot of time priming etc. So we tried this paint. I used a very light almost pastel lavender and it covered that yucky darkish/yellowish brown no problem. One coat no worries. Dried in less than 4 hours! It was amazing to have the room painted in a day! I just did diagonal strokes then a layer up and down, and I still have a quarter of a gallon left. I was expecting to do a minimum of two coats, but was pleasantly surprised! We will definitely be doing the rest of the house with this paint as well! Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Glidden High Endurance Plus Interior Eggshell/Satin, White, 1 Gallon

Horrible Paint

08/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This paint is total garbage. It is very very thin and doesn't cover well. It took me 3 coats to cover over my beige trim. I had to put it on extremely carefully as it was almost as thin as water
I usually purchase my paint at the local big box hardware store and have really gotten used to their quality. Never had a problem with their coverage and usually covers in one coat for nearly the same price!
Do yourself a favor and don't buy this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Glidden High Endurance Plus Interior Eggshell/Satin, White, 1 Gallon

Excellent One-Coat Paint

06/24/2013
By ,
Gray, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Glidden High Endurance Paint at Wal-Mart instead of visiting Lowes to purchase my usual brand (which doesn't actually cover in one-coat as advertised). I could not believe that the Glidden covered in one coat; I have two gallon cans left over. Make sure that you are using the correct roller type--semi-smooth for use with eggshell paint.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Glidden High Endurance Plus Interior Eggshell/Satin, White, 1 Gallon

Covered Well

12/04/2013
By ,
Southeast Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the past we've used various paint brands. I've read reviews on different paints and they all have good and bad ratings. Last week we used Glidden High Endurance Plus paint + primer in our family room and are happy with the results. The family room is basically 18 X 20 with 8' walls and has a hickory wood trim about 3' from the floor. Above the trim was a light cream color and below the trim was a dark orange (looked better than it sounds). We bought three gallons of the Glidden 2 in 1 paint and have 3/4 gallon left over. We didn't do the ceiling. The paint is thicker than we expected, but evidently it's supposed to be. It went on fast and easy. It didn't cover the orange completely on the first coat but we didn't expect it to. Second coat went on quicker than the first coat, covered very well and the room looks great. We're happy with the end result. We don't know about the durability yet, but because the paint is thick we expect it to hold up well. Our kitchen is next on the to-do list, and we now plan to use Glidden 2 in 1 in there, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Glidden High Endurance Plus Interior Eggshell/Satin, White, 1 Gallon

Didn't meet my expectations of Paint + Primer

03/10/2013
By ,
So. Cal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I you're thinking that a paint with primer included will do the job in one coat, well then guess again. Using a deep red color, I attempted to cover both a light blue semi-gloss and flat painted surface in one coat. Applied a second coat, still streaked. Only after a third coat was I satisfied with the overall finish.
Selling this paint sure is a great way for Walmart to generate additional paint sales needed to complete your job.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Glidden High Endurance Plus Interior Eggshell/Satin, White, 1 Gallon

This stuff is awful

03/02/2014
By ,
Greenville SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Scrubbable? Not. I have kids, and desperately needed to cover up their artwork with something more washable than the cheap stuff my landlord put on the walls. All went well at first. There was some bleed through on one coat but I wasn't terribly worried about it. Then my daughter struck again, this time with a dried up marker she found somewhere. I figured a damp paper towel with a little cleanser would cure it... and boy did it ever! I wiped and it took a big chunk of paint with it. Then half of the wall peeled off. That was NOT what i had in mind when I thought I'd get the marker off the wall. Good thing i have some extra but I'm going to have to redo this whole project with sanding, paint and primer AGAIN but this time with different paint.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Glidden High Endurance Plus Interior Eggshell/Satin, White, 1 Gallon

great paint!

08/14/2013
By ,
aurora,il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i decided to paint my son's room a light blue since it was dark tan from the previous tenants....people who expect ANY paint&primer-in-one to cover completely with one coat are going to be disappointed! i've used high end paint&primer-in-one before and it didn't cover in one coat on white walls so having the light blue cover dark tan walls in 2 simple coats was a great result for me! i recommend putting on your first wall coat, then doing edges with a brush(gives your first coat time to dry a bit) then repeating the process.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Glidden High Endurance Plus Interior Eggshell/Satin, White, 1 Gallon

Horrible paint

01/20/2014
By ,
Lansing, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This pain is absolute junk compared to other paints. High priced, low-end paint about sums it up. Worst paint I ever used in my life. For being a 2 in 1 paint, it required a second coat to cover an eggshell colored room. So my guess is they are skmping on the primer. Next room we're going to Menards to get a decent paint!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Glidden High Endurance Plus Interior Eggshell/Satin, White, 1 Gallon

Definitely not worth the money

07/01/2013
By ,
St. Louis, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had not-so-great luck with the base Glidden paint, but was promised this was a better paint so I decided to try it as I was looking for lower cost paint with a nice color. I didn't believe the "one-coat coverage", which was a good thing because it took 2 coats of paint. As someone else mentioned, it peels off with the lightest scratch, or rubbing against the walls. With putting my house on the market to sell I have had more than enough spots to touch up and fear even more when potential buyers walk through the house. Will definitely be returning to Lowes or Menards for my future paint purchases!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Glidden High Endurance Plus Interior Eggshell/Satin, White, 1 Gallon

Love this

06/24/2013
By ,
Baton Rouge
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked through many samples before I decided on getting this paint. Mine is actually the Martha Stewart line that the associate told me was this paint made by Glidden. The label on my paint confirmed it. I am not sure why others did not like this but wow, I got the best looking ivory paint which of course was lighter than my walls and very impressed at the quality. It has transformed my living area and all can say is that it is looking very Pottery Barn around my place. Thanks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Glidden High Endurance Plus Interior Eggshell/Satin, White, 1 Gallon

just horrible

07/14/2013
By ,
akron, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is like painting with water... it not only does not cover in one coat but can still see through on the third, spending a little more money will actually be saving time and money
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Glidden High Endurance Plus Interior Eggshell/Satin, White, 1 Gallon

Not good to use over a sanded laminate product

04/05/2013
By ,
Mesa, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I sanded with 220 grit a laminate, brown wood entertainment center. It took 3-4 coats to get it looking decent, but the paint comes off so easily with any scratch. I recommend using Kilz instead. I have had much better luck with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
USA
?
Posted 11/02/2013
I don't think that this paint is for furniture. Most furniture is either varnished, stained, or laminated and this will not work for that, even on bare wood you would need to prime it first with a stand alone primer. this paint is for painting walls and trim that has already been primed or painted.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Glidden High Endurance Plus Interior Eggshell/Satin, White, 1 Gallon

This paint is awful!

10/01/2013
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was trying to paint over a very light color and new wood wainscoting and this paint would not cover it at all. It was like painting with water. It looked like thinned glue when applying then dried clear, its like I didn't paint at all.. Very disappointed for the high price of this item.. I wouldn't put it on even the $10.00 self..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Glidden High Endurance Plus Interior Eggshell/Satin, White, 1 Gallon
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
2.3 out of 5
2.3 out of 5