Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Rug Doctor Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner

Rug Doctor Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner

Your friends and family will wonder where you got that beautiful, clean new carpet — that's the deep-cleaning power of Rug Doctor carpet cleaners. And now. thanks to the all-new Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3, the ultimate home carpet cleaning system just got better! The Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Rug Cleaner gives you true professional carpet cleaning results. The efficient one-pass rug cleaning system eliminates repetitive back and forth motion, and the large 3.9-gallon recovery tank means less refilling and emptying. The Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Rug Cleaner includes one 40oz bottle of Oxy-Steam cleaner.
Average Customer Rating:
4.299 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation88%59 out of 67reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 102 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner

Wow. Really Impressed.

12/20/2011
By ,
Jacksonville, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just moved back into a house I had rented out. and man were the carpets trashed. Had a professional company come out and clean and the carpets looked good the first day, but after that the stains came back.
I cleaned half my carpet a week ago and the stains are still gone. Stains that have been here over a year are gone. WOW...
Simple to use and alot better then every other cleaner i have ever wasted money on. Even though this was a little more money than some it works 1,000% better than any oreck or hoover i have ever owned.
Only issue i have is it uses water fast, but that maybe me more user error since i was moving really slow since the carpets are so dirty.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner

Very tough and powerful carpet cleaner

07/31/2012
By ,
Superior, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this as a replacement for a Hoover SteamVac 77 - the Hoover lasted two weeks then began to leak water from the accessory hose.
The Rug Doctor is a commercial grade product, it's supposed to be the very same unit you can rent from almost any hardware store. The just color it blue so you don't try to rent it out yourself.
The rug doctor is designed to clean when it's going BACKWARDS (I read the manual last night) - the water jet is in the rear, the brushes are in the middle, and the vacuum is in the front. This is so you don't walk over the wet carpet.
I had just cleaned the carpet with my Hoover MaxExtract / SteamVac 77 on Saturday night - on Sunday evening, it broke. On Monday night, I returned the Hoover and purchased the Rug Doctor - and just for kicks ran it over the carpet again.
I'm amazed at how much more dirt the Rug Doctor sucked from the carpet - just 48 hours after using the Hoover on it. It even sucked out small pieces of gravel I hadn't even realized were in the carpet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner

Easy to use and does a great job

08/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a husband, 4 cats, and WHITE carpet -- the carpet was purchased prior to getting 4 cats.
Needless to say, I really need my own carpet cleaner. My Bissell Pro Heat worked okay for three cleanings and then wouldn't clean and couldn't be fixed. I was a little afraid of this big Rug Doctor being to heavy for me - I'm 73 years old but in pretty good shape. I had my son use it first and when I saw how easy and lightweight it was I did the second room myself. Carpet looks fabulous!!! I'm so VERY PLEASED with the Rug Doctor. And the cleaning products-- Rug Doctor 2X Pet and Rug Doctor Platinum Urine Eliminator are terrific. I'm so glad I bought the Rug Doctor. Worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner

stunned

06/22/2014
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this product on my carpeting, I haven't cleaned my carpets in excess of a year, since I burned up my $250 Bissel cleaner. I went over an area in my carpet that was soiled by soda pop. My Bissel didn't touch it, and had multiple cleanngs with the Bissel over the area. It had been in the carpet in a wide area for 3 years. I could shoot my kid! Anyway I took ONE sweep with this machine over the area, and soda pop GONE! I mean GONE! I was stunned. I have a large shedding dog and every time I used my Bissel I always had trouble with DOG hair clogging the machine. I didn't have the problem with the rug Doctor. I would never WASTE the several hundred dollars on the cheaper rug machines after using this product. If you can't afford to buy a rug doctor, then rent one, you will be surprised!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner

Awesome design!

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this product for my Property Management company with over 200 units. It paid for itself on the first use bringing dirty, spotted, white Berber carpet back to like new! Not too heavy and quite compact. Buy it and try it! You must go slow over heavily soiled carpet to get it clean!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner

Outstanding appliance

12/22/2011
By ,
Honolulu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always wanted one of these commercial carpet cleaners, I have rented them in the past but it's nice to have one on hand so you can clean one room at a time, let it dry, then do another room the next day. You can clean rugs too, and there's also an upholstery wand you can use to clean the carpet in your car, or your sofa. This cleaner is so easy to use, there is a huge 3 gallon tank, a super long power cord, and this package already came with the cleaning chemical. Call me weird, but it's quite satisfying to see how filthy the water is when you drain it out, it's so nice to walk barefoot on super-clean carpet. This machine is not going to remove really stubborn, deep-down stains, you'll have to scrub those out by hand if they will even come out at all. It's louder than a vacuum cleaner, and quite powerful, but it's easy to use and you don't need a lot of muscle to maneuver it around.
I'm very happy with this carpet cleaner, it's quite small and the handle folds down so you can store it anywhere. Don't let your neighbors see you using it, or they'll want to borrow it, LOL.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner

Easier to use than I expected

08/30/2014
By ,
Reedsburg, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This carpet cleaner is very easy to set up and use. I thought it would be a lot more difficult but was pleasantly surprised. It is easy to maneuver and does a very good job. I have some spots on my carpet that are hard to get out and I will need to go over them again. Overall, it does a great job and I would not hesitate to recommend it to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner

Awesome

04/09/2011
By ,
Avondale, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 3 cats, a dog, and a child on the way. Needless to say, I figured I would go all in on a good steam cleaner especially after we had bought 2 others for $200 and both have broken since. I have to tell you, after one use, this thing was fantastic. It sucked up things in one swoop that usually took 5 or 6 passes with my old steam cleaner. I was able to do my entire basement in 30 minutes vs 1 and a half hours because I only needed to do one or 2 passes with each cleaning stride. This thing is the real deal I promise you. I told my wife that it was the best $398 I ever spent and I totally mean it. It may sound weird, but I actually found it fun to clean my carpet. That is how good this thing is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+247points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner
10/29/2011
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have lived in apartment complexes for 50 years in four states, and I have shampooed my carpet every 3 to 4 months.
I recently moved to a new, larger apartment with a thick, fabulous-looking carpet, and I decided to investigate purchasing a carpet-shampooing machine.
I visited several online vendors for rug-shampooing machines. I inquired with the manufacturer first and was disuaded because of price. Bizrate.com listed the Rug Doctor Pro 3 with Walmart for a discount of $300. Walmart stated the machine was in stock and could ship it free to the Walmart store in Houston, Texas, that I frequent in just two days, and would send an e-mail to me when the machine arrived in Houston.
I am very pleased with the Rug Doctor Pro 3, and it performs just as advertised. The fact that the Rug Doctor Pro 3 was awarded a Good Housekeeping Seal confirmed my decision to purchase the machine from Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner

NOT as good as the commercial models I've rented!!

05/27/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this machine about a month ago and I was very disappointed with it. My biggest complaint is that while the commercial models that I have rented in the past have brushes that constantly vibrate this one only scrubs the carpets while the cleaner is being dispensed. With the commercial ones I would normally make a pass while adding cleaner and then make another pass to scrub and vacuum up the remaining water. Repeating as necessary. With this machine you have to be dispensing fluid for the brushes to scrub so if you go back over a strip of carpet with the brushes going you're just adding more water. Speaking of water, with my carpet, which is a short plush piled carpet, I find that only about 20% of the water is recovered even if I go back over it a second time with just the vacuum running. The commercial version did a much better job of water recovery. That being said, this is still a decent machine and does a great job of scrubbing out stains but since most of the water stays in the carpet I don't know if I'm really cleaning it as much as just scrubbing the stains and letting all the dirty water sink into the padding.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+127points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Superior, WI
Posted 08/06/2012
First, go faster - if you have thicker carpet, you need to go faster to prevent over-saturating the carpet.
Second, you can shut off the water flow and still use the brushes - simply pop off the quick connect on the back of the machine (The brass fitting just above the wheels). Now, when you push the red button the brush will run but no water will come out. Don't worry, it has a valve in it and won't allow water out. Be careful reattaching the hose - the pump will have pressurized the line and it will spray you if you dont wait a little bit before reattaching it.
This quick connect is to attach the optional upholstery or hard floor kit, and with either of those kits the pump runs continuously with a valve in the handle that stops water flow - so popping the quick connect doesn't make the pump do anything it wouldn't be doing anyway (running with no outlet) if you had the upholstery kit.
Be SURE you still have water in the tank even though you're not putting any on the floor - you will damage the pump if you run it dry.
+5points
Customer Avatar
Wilkes-Barre
comment about the brushes
Posted 05/20/2012
The cleaner is despensed only when the brushes are vibrating. You are not correct with your comparison. The cleaner works the way the commercial one dones. I just used it and went to compare what you just said and you are incorrect. The machine that you purchased is the same and works the same as the commercial one you rented. As far as the water not all returning, take into consideration that not all the water will return. Your carpet will be some what wet. The commercial one works just like the one you purchased from reading your note.
+14points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner

LOVE THIS MACHINE

09/17/2011
By ,
Cabot, Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Between my parents and I we've own both the the other brands. While they are good products they don't compare to a Rug Doctor clean.
I recently invested in the Mightly Pro because my folks own several rentals that I've been cleaning and I knew the cost would pay for it's self in no time with rental savings. Plus it's nice to have on hand when the urge hits to clean the carpets late at night. No time limit, I can clean a room and a week later clean another. Or in my case, my shampooer no longer dispenanced soap, so when I did the bathroom I had to do the hallway, then I saw how dirty the carpets were and I had to do the livingroom, lol.
This week I took it over and did a heavy use area at the folks house. When we get around to it, their living room is next, well maybe the 2 rentals and then the living room. It's nice to have choices.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner

Quit Before 1 Week

09/06/2014
By ,
Wisconsin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The quality of these must have taken a sharp downturn in the last year. My brand new rug doctor will not come on at all - leaving my shampoo job half finished.
It seemed to do a good job before the failure.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner

Best of the carpet cleaners

06/15/2011
By ,
York, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've tried many other carpet cleaning machines and have always been so unhappy with their performance. This machine is 5 stars all the way. Yes it is a bit more money but worth every penny, it cleans in one swipe, is dependable and built to last.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+106points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner

The mighty pro max 3 is so excellent

04/21/2012
By ,
Fort Worth, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one for my sister!! When someone in Your family realizes what you have, they're constantly borrowing it. Walmart sells them cheaper than anyone! Site to store is your best option. My other recommendation is to get the floor attachment and hand attachment. Walmart doesn't carry but you can get them online from rugdoctor.com. As you can tell, I absolutely love the mighty pro max 3 and highly recommend it to everyone that needs a easy and efficient way to clean your carpets and floors. The hand attachment allows you to clean upholestly in your home and in your car, motor home, basically whatever you want! It's a great investment. Get yours now!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/16/2013
Floor attachment??? I checked the website you gave and there is an upholstery attachment. What floor attachment do you speak of?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner

Worth the money.

03/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After wearing out 2 Bissel machines, I tried the Rug Dr. It's SO much better! Cleans better and leaves carpet dryer than the Bissel. Wish I bought it years ago! Very happy with this purchase. Miss the on-board attachments, but they can be purchased separately and I plan to do so.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner

the best

08/30/2013
By ,
CHESTER COUNTY ,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love my rug doctor. ive had it for years. i have a dog, cat, kids and adults in my house. this machine has kept my beige berber carpet clean for years. ive used everything to clean them with also.lysol, pinesol, lestoil, tide, febreeze, fabuloso. when the carpet is really dirty i use a spray bottle and mist the high trafiic areas with a little ammonia and hot water mixed with a couple drops dawn dish liquid to pre treat it first. after a couple of passes everything is gone. when im done i go over it one more time with clean water and mist the carpet lightly with fabric softener mixed with water. whole house smells good for days after. if you cant get your carpet clean with this machine its probably time to think about getting new carpet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner

Great Product

12/01/2011
By ,
JENKS, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WORTH EVERY DIME. IF YOU'VE EVER USED THE RENTED VERSION, THIS WORKS JUST AS WELL AND HAVING IT AVAILABLE 24 HOURS A DAY IS PRICELESS IF YOU HAVE PETS AND DOGS. THERE ARE NO NEGATIVES TO THIS UNIT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner
01/26/2012
By ,
Rice, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've gone through two home machines in the past two years and they just don't hold up. The cost of the Rug Doctor with it's 5 year warranty cost me less than the two previous machines combined and will last much much longer.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner

This thing rocks!

04/09/2012
By ,
Charleston, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best carpet cleaner I have had. We have three dogs and I am constantly using a the rug shampooer. I got sick and tired of buying the cheapo rug shampooer every six months to a year and after having this for a few weeks, I am certain it will last quite a bit longer and probably end up saving me money as I will not have to keep replacing it. This leaves my carpets far cleaner than the other cleaners I have had in the past. If you are thinking about buying this one - I would say definately do it!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner

Built very well. Industrial type quality

12/06/2013
By ,
Lexington KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent machine. Wish it had an on/off switch instead of turns on when you plug in but other than that very happy with my choice. It is easy to use and easy to set up and break down when done
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1 2 3 Next