Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Better Homes and Gardens Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

Better Homes and Gardens Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

The Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver is a beautiful mix of fashion and function as this storage unit maximizes what would otherwise be unusable space around your toilet. This piece features three shelves, giving you plenty of room for towels, toiletries and more. Sturdy and attractive, the Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver is a great way to dress up your bathroom or add some needed storage space at a minimal expense.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%45 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 59 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

It multi-tasks!

03/20/2013
By ,
Bremerton, Wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know this is supposed to be for the bathrooms, but I bought it for the kitchen. After assembly, which was fairly easy, I broke off the front of the bottom shelf on purpose and ran short curtains to cover the toilet space which actually holds a trashcan for recycling, and just zip tied the bar back in place. The shelves hold half and gallon jars for "fancy" dry pasta storage as well as a heavy ceramic cookie jar and canisters for flour, sugar and coffee. While I was worried it wouldn't be sturdy enough to do the job I had in mind for it, it actually works PERFECTLY! Not a bit wobbly with those adjustable feet pointing it tipped back towards the wall. Looks really sophisticated in the kitchen and NO ONE believes it's a bathroom shelf until I move the curtain and show off the bottom half.
Value got four stars cause I personally think it's a little over priced for what it is, but that's typical for this brand.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

I Love the {Hawthorne Products},(Oil-Rudded *****)

07/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thank - You !...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

Perfect for Small Bathrooms

11/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a very small bathroom and needed extra storage. This storage unit worked perfectly, plus I added matching items in the bathroom to make is beautiful. Brand new bathroom remodeled decorated in Red/Brown/Beige/White with this bronzed storage unit and matching toilet paper holder and 3 shelf stand for books and bath items looks adorable. Way to go Walmart!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

Excellent value

02/23/2012
By ,
Western NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear assembly instructions, though the side bars rattle a bit as they are not firmly secured. Looks far more expensive than it is. I particularly like the adjustable feet. I'd rather not screw it to the wall, so I have the front feet longer than the back ones to keep the entire unit slightly tilted back. It's pretty stable that way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

Good for what we needed

06/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Space Saver is attractive and does what we need it to. Nothing fancy. It is sturdier than I thought it would be, but highly recommended securing it to a wall. I think it would eventually topple over if you don't have it secured, especially with children. It was easy enough to put together, just read and follow the directions, which had pictures, so be sure to use. Some of the pieces didn't line up completely even, but no big deal and not noticeable unless you look for it. If you want a high end product this will probably disappoint. I feel for the money, it's a good value at less than $40.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

Works great for my bathroom

05/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed an inexpensive shelf unit for my bathroom that was different from the ho-hum, boring kind you typically find in a big-box store. The style matches other items in my home (mail/letter holder, dining room set, key holder, spice rack) - I just love metal scroll work!
I used ship-to-store and it arrived several days earlier than I expected. Got it home, took it out of the box, and had it put together in no time. Once I had it together and attached to the wall, it's sturdy and looks great in my bathroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

Just what I wanted!

06/01/2013
By ,
Monticello, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good price, compared to others I seen online. The oil rubbed bronze color is exactly what I was looking for and matched well with my decor. Assembly was super easy as the parts are labeled and the instructions easy to follow. My only problem was the anchoring it to the wall, the anchors pulled out of the wall before I could even get the screw in. But I have hollow walls so this was no fault of the product. I would just recommend using different anchors if you have thin walls. I just adjusted the screw in feet to make it stable and not tip forward. I do wish the selves were a little deeper front to back, but it works. Overall, extremely happy with my purchase. Also, I paid for ship to home, and it arrived a day earlier than excepted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

good value

06/17/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy to assemble. once in place looks much nicer than others at the same price. recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

A very good product

09/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This amazing
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

Better than expected

07/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This looks so much nicer in our small bathroom than I thought it would. A few baskets and some rolled towels have really made our tiny bathroom very spa-like! We purchased the other BH&G oil-rubbed items, a white waffel shower curtain with matching oil-rubbed hooks and for under $400, our bathroom is brand new!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

More for decoration then storage

10/05/2012
By ,
Alabama
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased 3 of these, 1 for each bathroom, to have additional storage since we lack a linen closet. I was looking for something that would be a pretty addition to the rooms, but that would also hold towels in a minimal amount of space. While this item is very pretty and looks great in each of my bathrooms, there is very little storage room on it. You cannot fit a folded towel on any of the shelves. So I decided to roll my towels, but I can still fit very few on it. FORGET fitting a beach towel or bath sheet towel on it. They were fairly easy to assemble and by the 3rd one I didn't even need directions anymore. It comes with mollies so you can mount it to the wall and make it more sturdy if you want to, and it has adjustable feet if your floors aren't perfectly even. I didn't mount mine to the walls and they are still sturdy enough to be in my kids bathroom. If you need STORAGE space in your bathroom, I wouldn't go with this item. But if you are looking for something more decorative rather than functional, this is a great item for that purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

Nice but some flaws

06/04/2012
By ,
moses lake, wa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like the style, and this is one of very few of this finish. I think that it is a bit over priced for what it is made of, but BHG brand tend to be. I recommend using the anchors because it is a bit wobbly without them. Also, make sure to have Goo Gone or something to that effect because the assembly stickers do not come off clean. Also the instructions are a bit off, but you don't need a PhD to figure it out.
I selected yes that I would recommend it, but it's really a maybe.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

Simply Marvelous

03/19/2012
By ,
Fab Lane!
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this space saver. I just recently re-decorated my 2nd bathroom to give it a mild "face lift." Buying this space saver was an excellent idea. It was easy to put together/strong/sturdy/even better in person...
If your thinking about purchasing don't hesitate. The price is excellent. I could have done w/o the extra shipping/tax charge as my whole purchase totaled $55+. Anywho all around I am happy w/this purchase...
Tah-Tah 4now (MM)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

Not So Great, Not so Sturdy, But Does the Job.

02/18/2014
By ,
PG, MD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
A Little Flimsy and shaky whenever You touch it or try to take something off of it, With all the open spaces its got You can't place small items on it, I had to support the bottoms, backs and sides with cardboard boxes to prevent My items from falling off/through, So its not a buy and use as is item, but with the right brains & skills You can make it work for You. The Legs could've been Built a little stronger/wider so that it has a strong Base/Support so its not so wobbly, but You get what You pay for. I wouldn't say its a Great Product, I wouldn't say its a Bad Product either.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

Looks abit more expensive than it is

06/10/2012
By ,
Palm springs,Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this and would have given it 5 stars except it isn't quite true to the wall and the instruction could have been cleare. That said , it is up and looks very nice. It is a good value since similar units average $20-40 more.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver, Oil-Rubbed Bronze
06/22/2012
By ,
Big Creek, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bronze shelf made my bathroom looked awesome and I love all the shelves for storage. I added some baskets to make even more storage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

Pain in the butt to put together, but does the job

06/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item was a bit of a pain in the butt to put together, but it looks nice and does the job I needed it for in our bathroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

pretty lil thing!

06/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love how it looks once i set it up with the whole bathroom make over. Easy to set up too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

Lovely

12/18/2012
By ,
Santa Rosa, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best addition to a bathroom that is limited on space it is amazing what you can do with wasted space in the Loo. I think that I should have gotten this ages ago when we moved in to this townhouse it took my boyfriend and I not that long to put it together it was simple this has a wall mount as well but since we rent there will be no mounting it to the wall. I am happy with it also we know now that I our bathroom is built in an angle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hawthorne Place SpaceSaver, Oil-Rubbed Bronze

Very good for the price

10/29/2012
By ,
Chico, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I put this together all by myself. No help from my husband. There are quite a few parts but the instructions are easy and the same screws are used in 95% of the parts. You don't have to worry about putting the wrong screws in the wrong place. It comes with an Allen wrench but I used a better one we already had which made it easier.. The one it comes with ends up hurting your hands.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1 2 3 Next