Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Meade Meade TE278W Wireless Indoor/Outdoor Thermometer with Atomic Clock

Meade Meade TE278W Wireless Indoor/Outdoor Thermometer with Atomic Clock

The Meade TE278W Wireless Indoor/Outdoor Thermometer automatically sets the time to the US atomic clock. It features a dual crescendo time alarm with a snooze function. You can choose between 12 and 24-hour time formats. The large LCD screen of the Meade wireless thermometer displays indoor and outdoor temperature readings, month, date, and day of the week. The thermometer has easy-to-access front-mounted controls for mode, memory, dual crescendo alarm, and channel functions. This atomic clock thermometer can be wall mounted or set on a desktop.
Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation70%21 out of 30reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Meade TE278W Wireless Indoor/Outdoor Thermometer with Atomic Clock

Great indoor/outdoor thermometer so far

10/19/2011
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Meade wireless indoor/outdoor thermometer is working fine for us. We have had it several weeks now and no trouble so far. We followed the set-up instructions carefully and would recommend anyone purchasing this item to do likewise. You do not have to install lithium batteries but we did because the instructions advised that if your temperatures regularly go below freezing in the winter your batteries will last longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Meade TE278W Wireless Indoor/Outdoor Thermometer with Atomic Clock

good overall product does a good job

03/19/2012
By ,
Dover, DE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality product for the money. has all you need for reading temps inside and out. the only thing i didnt like was the outside sensor had only one hole to mount it on a screw or nail I think it really could use an extra strap or something to keep it stable and possibly from falling off I get some heavy winds at times. I put a cable strap on it and mounted to an outside porch post.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Meade TE278W Wireless Indoor/Outdoor Thermometer with Atomic Clock
07/14/2011
By ,
Clearwater, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Didn't read the entire directions, so kept losing the outside temp readout. Works great since following the directions!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Meade TE278W Wireless Indoor/Outdoor Thermometer with Atomic Clock

Easy to set up and use

07/13/2011
By ,
Auburn, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up and use.
The only challenge is finding a place for the remote unit that is shaded all day.
Other than that it is a fantastic value and works perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Meade TE278W Wireless Indoor/Outdoor Thermometer with Atomic Clock

Would not receive remote signal. Returning.

07/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Followed directions to the letter. Tried changing channels. Even called Meade and talked to a rep. I was doing everything right and still no outside temp display or atomic clock. Time, date and clock were fine and the unit looks nice but returning it today. Might try another one if they have it in stock at the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Meade TE278W Wireless Indoor/Outdoor Thermometer with Atomic Clock

price was right.

07/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
just what I wanted. Price was right.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Meade TE278W Wireless Indoor/Outdoor Thermometer with Atomic Clock

Does what it says.....

07/07/2014
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Real easy to set up. Very accurate. Like the min max feature. I have the sensor about 60 feet away and have no problem with the relay. I bought this for our fifth wheel, but use it at the house when not traveling. Don't know about it's durability. Only had it a week. Looks sturdy enough for travel and light abuse.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Meade TE278W Wireless Indoor/Outdoor Thermometer with Atomic Clock

Good, but range seems somewhat short

03/26/2014
By ,
Lady Lake, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am mostly satisfied with my purchase. The price was certainly right but the range of the wireless module seems to be very short. I have had to reset it several times in the last few days because it lost its signal. I have now moved it closer to the module and it seems to be working fine. One other matter that is not too great an issue but perhaps could be fixed. When I set the clock for the Eastern Time Zone the Atomic Clock overnight changed it to the Atlantic Time Zone. To rectify this I simply changed the time zone to AT. This may have something to do with daylight saving time. Not sure. All in all a good product thus far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Meade TE278W Wireless Indoor/Outdoor Thermometer with Atomic Clock

Great way to check the temp before heading out

01/08/2012
By ,
Mt. Pleasant, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Meade TE278W works great... I put the outdoor sensor on the north side of the garage in the interior door casing. It makes it so much easier to check the temperature before heading out on a bike ride or a run. Before I had to log on to the Weather Channel and wait for commercials, etc. Very happy with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Meade TE278W Wireless Indoor/Outdoor Thermometer with Atomic Clock

Perfect. Exactly what I was looking for

09/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We live way outside of town in the shadow of the mountain, and not able to get a good reading on the temps for our area. This works for me. This product was very easy to assemble, and the price was reasonable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/16/2014
The product requires no assembly other than the insertion of batteries.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Meade TE278W Wireless Indoor/Outdoor Thermometer with Atomic Clock

Good Product

04/18/2014
By ,
Ocean Isle Beach
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once I called up the instructions on the Website I was able to follow the directions and install an outdoor thermometer that is working for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Meade TE278W Wireless Indoor/Outdoor Thermometer with Atomic Clock

so far so good

04/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The atomic clock needed to be manually set. Otherwise, this item is working as advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Meade TE278W Wireless Indoor/Outdoor Thermometer with Atomic Clock
08/06/2011
By ,
Ga.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The outdoor sensor stopped working after a couple of days, had to return to local store.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Meade TE278W Wireless Indoor/Outdoor Thermometer with Atomic Clock

Worthless!

09/30/2013
By ,
Santa Clarita
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
To begin with, I noticed when I had the outdoor sensor and the main unit next to each other, the temperatures were different by about 2 degrees. No biggie, but the next issue I ran I ran into was a deal breaker. After about 10 minutes of use, the outdoor temp shut down. The display would only show two small dashes. I did a reset, reinstalled the batteries, and even tried different channels...but to no avail. The outdoor temp would shut off in about 5 to ten minutes. I will be returning this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Meade TE278W Wireless Indoor/Outdoor Thermometer with Atomic Clock
10/17/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Couldn't get the remote signal to stay constant unless pointed DIRECTLY at the base through a window. just being pointed in the general direction or through a wall didn't work. Works well now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Meade TE278W Wireless Indoor/Outdoor Thermometer with Atomic Clock
09/30/2011
By ,
Aransas Pass, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works as expected. No problems so far. Very satisfied with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Meade TE278W Wireless Indoor/Outdoor Thermometer with Atomic Clock

Very good product.

10/28/2011
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item exceeded my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Meade TE278W Wireless Indoor/Outdoor Thermometer with Atomic Clock

Limited range, small display. Not a great choice.

08/02/2012
By ,
New York, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After many years of excellent results with an Oregon Scientific wireless thermometer (which finally failed), we bought this Meade unit as a replacement. It was, however, not satisfactory. The indoor unit was not able to receive readings from the outdoor unit even though it was less than 20 feet away. Plus, the display is quite small, easily readable only when standing nearby. We returned it and don't recommend it to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Meade TE278W Wireless Indoor/Outdoor Thermometer with Atomic Clock

Only thing not great about this product....

09/27/2012
By ,
North County San Diego
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The one drawback of this product is that the remote sensor has four pesky tiny screws to remove the battery compartment cover instead of the much easier snap-in cover that doesn't require this time and effort and the possibility of losing one of the tiny screws ---annoying ! Other than that the unit seems to function well and the atomic clock is a benefit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Meade TE278W Wireless Indoor/Outdoor Thermometer with Atomic Clock
07/23/2012
By ,
Ruston, La
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THe Thermometer is very nice looking and works well. However I have it about 40 feet from the outdoor sensor and the thermometer keeps dropping the signal. When I set it to seek, it finds the signal. This happens 3-4 times a day. Little disappointing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1 2 Next