Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today

Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today

Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation95%20 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 9 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today

Ringbound not a hardcover

12/19/2012
By ,
Buffalo, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This recipe book has AMAZING recipes, as I am sure everyone all ready knows. It is pretty much every girls first cookbook. I tried to buy this cookbook on Amazon.com and it mentioned that it was a ring bound edition. On Walmart site, it stated that the cookbook was in hardcover. This is false. It is ringbound as well. Ringbound recipes do not hold up well. The pages are flimsy and they always get mangled after only a few months use. I returned it, and will keep my eye out for another Betty Crocker Big Cookbook in the Hardcover format. It is usually more expensive, but a hardcover book will last much longer and is worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today

Excellent new edition!

10/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been a huge Betty Crocker fan my whole life. The Betty Crocker Cookbook was the the one cookbook in my home growing up and I loved to look through it and learn about all the delicious possibilities. As I grew older I started collecting vintage Betty Crocker cookbooks and I still refer back to them and their clear and accessible recipes for the home cook.
So, I was very interested to see the new 11th edition of the Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today, with all the classic recipes mixed with new ones. This new Betty Crocker Cookbook edition has many extras that are a big help in perfecting your cooking and baking techniques. I loved the "Learn to Make" additions, which give detailed explanations for popular recipes and compare in photos more or less successful versions of a recipe, while teaching how to achieve the perfect result. Now I know why my chocolate chip cookies are always flat -- the butter was too soft and the cookie sheet too hot. Many of the recipes have been updated from the originals and are now labeled as Lower Calorie, Fast, New Twist, etc., for convenience.
I was excited to see current recipes like No-Knead Artisan Bread, which has several variations. An interesting new chapter was "Do It Yourself" where they give information on eating local, canning, making your own spice mixes and more. I'm definitely making some Chai Mix (an Indian tea with milk and spices), to have on hand. I was glad to see sections on Slow Cooker Suppers and 20 Minutes or Less meals included in Betty Crocker Cookbook. There is also lots of variety from the old stand-bys, like the eleven types of deviled eggs or eight sweet and savory spreads for bread offer.
One aspect of the Betty Crocker Cookbook that stood out to me was the frequent addition of recipes from cultures all around the world. I really appreciated having easy access to many of our family's ethnic favorites, while giving us the opportunity to try out new ones, like Cajun Chicken or Moroccan Chickpeas. There is even a full section on Vegetarian Cooking with beautiful photos and excellent information and recipes to assist in incorporating vegetarianism into your lifestyle (even if just occasionally).
Betty Crocker sure is keeping up with the times! And it's not just a cookbook, but it's more like an excellent course on gaining greater cooking skills.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today
10/01/2012
By ,
Elk Grove, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Betty Crocker Cookbook! My original cookbook was lost in a move and I was lost without this book. Walmart provided quick delivery service so I didn't have too go long without the cookbook. I picked it up in the store and was treated extremely well. The cashier was very helpful and friendly.
Thank you Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today

Wonderful Cookbook

11/23/2011
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mother bought me my Betty Crocker Cookbook when I got married 31 years ago and use it all the time. Great cookbook. I'm buying one for my daughters now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today

Not a hardcover book

12/19/2013
By ,
Jersey
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Well I can't say I was not warned by another reviewer. The cookbook does come in a binder format rather than a hardcover as the description calls for, but when you wait till the last minute to go Xmas shopping, beggars can't be choosy. The rating I gave it was based solely based on the product's poor description. There are advantages to both styles. I just like to know what I truly am getting before it arrives.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today

Excellent quality - layout great, durable pages

01/08/2014
By ,
Kansas City MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are looking forward to effective use of it and it's exciting, easy to use recipes. Our last edition of this same book lasted 57 years and got so dog-eared, it was in need of this wonderful upgrade.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today

EXCELLENT BOOK FOR BOTH BEGINNER AND PROFESIONAL.

01/06/2014
By ,
SLATINGTON , PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT BOOK-- IT HAS ALOT OF THE RECIPES I USED WHEN I WAS HEAD CHEF AT TRAINER'S RESTAURANT--USE IT TO HELP JOG MY MEMORY WHEN COOKING FOR FRIENDS AND MYSELF.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today

Great Cookbook to have handy

01/06/2014
By ,
Pewaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this cookbook more than anything else! I can find recipes quickly & it's so organized.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today

Wedding shower gift for my beloved granddaughter

09/29/2013
By ,
Dubuque, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using a Betty Crocker cookbook for all my married life. I bought my first Betty Crocker Picture Cook book in 1956 for my Hope Chest. When 1975 rolled around, my original book was falling apart at the spine, so I bought a new hard-bound book - which is still in excellent condition. I like that it lays flat to any chosen page!
This is a wonderful book for a beginner cook, as well as for a seasoned cook.
If I could change anything, I would I have bought a hard-bound book, like the 1975 edition for my granddaughter, as it is stronger and easier to open.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today
05/29/2013
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Growing up in the 60/70s I would always be in the kitchen with my mom helping her cook/bake. She would always pull out Betty to refer. Now today 2013 my mom(78) still has her original hardcover betty crocker book circa 1953. rubberbanded and duct taped together which my sistes are fighting over. As the youngest, I decied to get my own copy. This one is now the only cookbook in my kitchen. All the tried and true recipes are there and some new favorites from the breakfast/brunch section. I like all the pictures of the different veggies/cuts of meat etc. It is wonderful and I would have paid more than the $18 plus for this book. A must have for every cook new and old
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today

Nice cook book

12/16/2013
By ,
Bonners ferry Idaho
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really have not had a chance to use this cook book yet but just from glancing through it I would say it has all that I need or want in a cook book. I used the have one just like it and it got lost in the move to another state...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today

Great cook book for beginners or longtime cooks..

11/22/2013
By ,
Loon Lake WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great vauel for the price and wonderful recipes and great pictures all kinds of information...I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today

Great price for great cookbook

10/27/2011
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a wedding gift, so I really didn't get to try any of the recipes or look at it, but it looked wonderful from the outside!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today

Great selection of recipes

08/10/2013
By ,
Fairfield, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This cookbook has many great selections. It has difficult for me to read the fine print and
many of the pages stuck together where they were bound in the book. The pages were thin
and many would tear when carefully tried to separate them.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today

100% Satisfied

12/01/2012
By ,
Citrus Heights
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two, one for each son who now live outside the home. I have had my Betty Crocker Cookbook from when I got married in 1975 and wouldn't part with it but after seeing their's, I have decided to purchase one for myself as well. It is more modern and up to date with new recipe's in each catagory. The price is great and I know it will last me the rest of my lifetime.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today

Cookbook

06/17/2013
By ,
Brea, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once I found out where I was supposed to pick up my on line order, everything was great. good customer service.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today

The best cookbook available

10/26/2012
By ,
Northfield, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had my Mother's old Betty Crocker cookbook. It must have been at least 75 years old, and really worn out. This new addition is really excellent. There is so much more detailed cooking information included as well. If you cook a lot, like I do, this well really help you, and you will not have to refer to other cookbooks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today

.

04/10/2013
By ,
Tulsa, Okla.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A very nice cookbook and a good value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today

Excellent Books for novice or experienced.

12/21/2011
By ,
Brighton, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I learned to cook with the Orginal copy of Betty Crocker. Therefore - I am starting my granddaughter out with a copy and also my grandson got a copy. If you can read you always succeed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5