Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for StarTech StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch

StarTech StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch

The StarTech 2 Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch with its auto-sensing technology lets you switch between HDMI devices. You can share a display between two consumer electronic devices or computers to save on expenses without compromising on quality or convenience. Enjoy pictures with high-quality and resolution. Featuring a primary and secondary HDMI input port, this StarTech 2 Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch automatically selects the priority of incoming video signals for display. Even when signal from the primary port is lost, the automatic HDMI switch makes use of the signal from the secondary HDMI port to facilitate uninterrupted display. The choice of automatic and manual switching helps you have complete control over incoming signals. The easy-to-use front panel buttons allow you to toggle between video sources. Being HDCP compliant, the StarTech. com HDMI switch ensures that your high-quality digital content remains protected throughout the transfer process.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation85%33 out of 39reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 32 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch

This unit does everything it said it would.

12/15/2012
By ,
Salina Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Opened the box, plugged it in and it works great!
This unit is totally automatic selecting which device is active.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch

Works well, and does not need external power.

06/23/2011
By ,
Upstate, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ran out of HDMI ports on my TV. I decided to get this switch to share a port between my PS3 and my OnLive Microconsole. It came with a short HDMI cable to put between the TV and this switch. I connected the OnLive microconsole on port 2 and the PS3 on port. It automatically switches to the PS3 when is on, when i power off the PS3 it automatically switch back to the microconsole. Just like I wanted.
It does not need an external AC adapter, and it comes with the required short HDMI cable.
The only issue I have with it is the blue LED it is sooo bright it illuminates the entire back of the TV. I didn't like that, so I just put it face down and problem solve. I got it from here because it was the cheapest place I found online, even cheaper than the site with the eggs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch

So far, so good

12/08/2013
By ,
colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only been using this little HDMI switch for a few days. So far, it is working great. Just plug the HDMI cables from your two HDMI input devices (in my case, it was the bluray, and cable box) into the "IN" ports and then plug the HDMI output cable that goes to the output device (for me, it's the TV) into the "OUT" port. That's it. The switch derives it's power from the HDMI cables to light the indicator LEDS, and enable the internal electronic switch (so no need for a power connection to it). Push a button on the face to switch between the two input devices. Pretty easy.
The switch is tiny, and will fit anywhere that is convenient, but the LEDs are bright. I have it behind my equipment cabinet so that the light from the LEDS doesn't distract when room is darkened to watch a movie or something.
Anyway, this switch works well, and I recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch

you get what you pay for

08/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first connected my Cable & the PS3 I thought to my self....this item was really a good buy. But after 5 minutes of watching the TV, the switch device stopped working. I disconnected the device and reconnected the cables & worked again, but it stopped working after a few minutes.
Dont buy this device....for a little more you can get a better deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch

Best $25 I ever spent!

08/26/2011
By ,
Yorktown, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So I searched every where for a product that would be able to support my xbox and cable for my tv. My tv has only one hdmi port. This porduct was not only simple but it came with its own hdmi cable so that it can be inserted in the tv hdmi port. There is a primary and secondary port for this product. I put my xbox as the primary and cable secondary. So whenever I want to jump on the xbox all I have to do is turn it on. If I want to go back to cable I just turn off the xbox and instantly goes back to the secondary port, cable. Awesome product. So simple. So efficient. So affordable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch

Works for me!

08/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an HD tv with only one HDMI port. Now I have 2 ports! One for cable and one for Roku. Now I can watch Netflix! Easy to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch

Need a 2nd HDMI input for your home theater...

04/25/2011
By ,
Punta Gorda, FL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
...well look no further. The StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch is exactly what your looking for, Easy to install and use. With plug and play and no download disks, this dual HDMI input single output makes it easy for novice users as well as audio/videophiles.
You won't find a more inexpensive solution that provides optimum results for the money anywhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch

Product Warning

04/12/2013
By ,
Valparaiso IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The switch was a very good value and it works very well, just as advertised. However a buyer should be aware of one thing. If you have Dish Network as your TV provider, this would not be a good idea to buy. The Dish receiver has a screen saver that is on when the unit is off. Therefore the video signal is always on and won't let the switch do its job. Even if you press the manual button, the unit returns to the dish receiver. Dish tech department offered no help with the problem at all. I now use the switch to go between two different Blue ray players. It works fine now that the screen saver is gone from the hookup.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch

Doesn't switch between devices automatically

03/19/2014
By ,
Austin, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you have a Time Warner Cable DVR, it will not switch automatically between this device and another. probably because the DVR is always "on".
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch

Quick, simple solution

06/23/2014
By ,
Magnolia, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Too many HD devices and too few HDMI inputs? This worked perfectly right out of the box! Great price, great function.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch

Works as stated

03/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At first I thought there was a glitch with the HDMI switch but after disconnecting and reconnecting it the switch worked as advertised. I only needed a 2 port switch for my Dish receiver and DVD player. Works automatically without having to manually switch from one device to the other
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch

works

01/22/2014
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this works as expected
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch

So far so good!!!

01/13/2014
By ,
NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't want to spend to much on a HDMI switch box but I was not sure if this less expensive one would work as good. So far it has worked great. It's really small and very plastic feeling but it works well and that's all that matters. I do recommend.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch

switch works great

02/23/2012
By ,
Visalia,CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my tv has one hdmi input and i needed one more .i got this switch and it works as advertised,no more changing cables
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch

Perfect...just as described.

11/11/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect...just as described plus it comes with an additional short HDMI cable to allow quick and easy hookup without having to buy anything else. The perfect solution to a HDTV that only has 1 or 2 HDMI inputs when all your gear needs access to those ports.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch

Device Worked Great, BUT...

10/21/2011
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The StarTech does its job okay, but the auto-turn-on feature of my Blu Ray player kept telling the StarTech I wanted it to switch to it, when I did not. The problem was solved when I put a surge protector switch between the Blu Ray and the power supply to it. Now, whenever I want to used the Blue Ray, I just turn on the surge protector switch and the StarTech switch automatically activates it. This works fine for me because I always use the surge protector switches for entertainment appliances anyway so they cannot draw energy when not in use. Bottom line, the StarTech works excellent as advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch

Works great and as expected.

03/05/2014
By ,
Lees Summit, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly as advertised. Switches automatically between two HDMI inputs. Unit is powered by the HDMI cables. Indicator lights are bright and unit should be placed so that they would not interfere with program viewing in a dark room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch

Switch works as advertised.

06/16/2013
By ,
Marietta, Ga. 30066
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this switch to hook up the DVD Player and the Roku to the same port in my TV. My TV only has 2 HDMI Ports and my other port is for Dish Satellite. It saves plugging and unplugging to hook up between the Roku and DVD Player. It came with a short HDMI Cable. Overstock had another short 12 inch HDMI cable. Works as well as direct hookup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch

good product so far

02/26/2014
By ,
US
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a simple way to support multiple HDMI inputs to my TV and didn't want to spend a lot on the solution. Also an A-B switch is very inconvenient. This auto-switch function works great!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch

Works as stated no problems so far

05/27/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
using on a TV with only one HDMI port and I use my TV on the secondary port. This way when I power up my BlueRay it automatically switches. I have to wait for BlueRay to power up and connect ti the internet which takes but not to bad. When I turn off my Blueray it automatically goes back to TV. Only issues I have noticed is a couple of times I had to restart my Blueray to get it to switch correctly but only happened twice so far. Small device so space is not an issue
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next