Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for KuulAire KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 600 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Grey PACKA77

KuulAire KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 600 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Grey PACKA77

The KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooler Unit, PACKA77 is one of most efficient and environmentally friendly ways to keep cool, indoors or out! You can rely on the PACKA77 KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit for all your cooling needs during those hot summer months. This PACKA77 KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit is extremely powerful and cools with no harmful refrigerants. Its large airflow capacity allows for superior cooling that can cover up to 600 square feet and can lower the temperature 10 to 25 degrees. Evaporative coolers differ from air conditioners and work most effectively in dry climates. Super portable and easy to move with its heavy-duty casters, the KuulAire Portable Cooler with 600 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity comes complete with a one-year manufacturer's warranty for added peace of mind.
Average Customer Rating:
3.885 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation73%19 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 600 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Grey PACKA77

STURDY?? Not so much...

05/18/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have purchased 3 different model Kuul-Aire products and each one of them have arrived damaged. 2 of these units being from a different retailer. This damage always being in the interior tank area and usually where the pumps have been over tightened to the VERY thin plastic body. These are not cheap units! Returning is a major ordeal so I have repaired the cracks myself by applying silicone. I recently purchased this monster unit, and at $700 I expected to receive a product in good condition. SAME DAMAGE WAS FOUND IN THE TANK and I am now waiting for yet another silicone repair to dry before I can use the unit. This damage is very obviously caused during assembly. I have contacted Kuul-Aire directly, with NO return calls from phone or email, so this is the very last item I will buy made by them. Save your money and the hassle. There are other units on the market, lower priced, better constructed and perform just as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Packaging
Posted 06/25/2012
We apologize that your experience with us has not been satsafictory. We have participated in shipping testing and have received recommendations on how we can improve the shipping packaging.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 600 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Grey PACKA77

Cost-effective cooling

04/17/2012
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit is quite big in size and sits in my master bedroom near the window. The unit is light weight and has large wheels that allow moving it anywhere in the house where cooling is needed. The remote control works at around 12 ft distance without trouble. The unit is completely assembled.
No water leakages at all. The unit has a peculiar smell of plastics that is somewhat annoying but I assume it will go away over time. The cooling is strong enough to keep a large room cool during hot summer days.
The durability is yet to be seen, so cant say anything.
The label on the unit reads "Made in China".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 600 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Grey PACKA77

Not enough bang for the bucks

06/29/2011
By ,
Birmingham, Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is overpriced. For the quality of cool air it should not cost this much. Plus it is a big hassle to fill it with water twice a day.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Product Suggestion
Posted 06/25/2012
We have smaller models that may be more of an economical fit for what you're looking for: KA44, KA45
0points
Customer Avatar
Ashland, OR
Birmingham is too humid for evaporative cooling
Posted 08/12/2011
Evaporative coolers will not work properly in humid environments. They need hot, dry air to work. Hot, dry passing over the wet pads causes the moister to evaporate. It is the evaporation that causes the air temperature to drop 15 to 25 degrees. in environments such as yours the aiir has too much moister to cause enough evaporation to cool the air. Evaporative coolers are intended to be used in desert enviornments such as the Southwest US & parts of West coast where humidity runs around 10 to 20% during the summer months. Hope that helps explain why your cooler isn't working so well. We Use the same model on our deck & it drops the temperature 25 degrees.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 600 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Grey PACKA77

great cooler

08/15/2013
By ,
Cottonport, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first one received was damaged but Walmart was great as always on the return. I then reordered and was successful.
The cooler works as described. It is not an air conditioner but an evaporative cooler. It does work in Louisiana with high humidity. It will not cool my entire workshop down but I use as a "spot cooler" blowing towards me. The unit will cool the ambient air but some 8 - 9 degrees in 80% humidity which works for me. I can't wait to see how it does when the humidity drops.
--- highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 600 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Grey PACKA77

Does a good job in Texas Heat

08/28/2013
By ,
East TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Use this on our patio in Texas. works very well. Some reviews say it works poorly on humid days, I will say that for us it works great, period.
On more humid days I notice less of a chill sitting in front of it but I am comfortable enough to sit on the patio and watch TV or eat a meal while it's 95+ degrees outside. on dryer days it is almost cold sitting in front of it.
Airflow is enough that you don't have to be sitting 6 feet in front of it to feel the effects.
I would recommend very highly. we ordered online and had it delivered to our home for literally 1/3 of what local retailer wanted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 600 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Grey PACKA77

beat summer heat...hopefully

05/03/2012
By ,
Prescott, AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Easy setup. Expensive but maybe worth it if it works here in the SW. Read complaint about smell and, indeed, it does smell at 1st setup...suspiciously like "urine". Cleaned pads and, voila, greatly reduced "urine" smell. Not made in the USA. Your conclusion!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Winchester, CA
Quick Fix
Posted 09/05/2012
Regarding the "urine" smell. Try rinsing the pads with a mixture of vinegar and water. This should "kill" any odors.
0points
Customer Avatar
Evaporative Pads
Posted 06/25/2012
The smell you noticed is part of the manufacturing process for the evaporative pads. This is elimitated after about a week of use.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 600 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Grey PACKA77

works well!

05/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up and use. I took out the filters and hosed them off before I used them. The video of how to take out the filters neglects to show the 17 screws you have to undo. I used it in Dallas when it was 90 degrees and it worked!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 600 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Grey PACKA77

Couldn't ask for more!

09/09/2013
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very skeptical because the price was so low ($200 AND on clearance!)
Boy, was I WRONG!!
Simply plug in, add water.....COLD air with strong breeze!
Gave this as a gift to my parents and they love it so far!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 600 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Grey PACKA77

Easy to use and move

08/30/2013
By ,
apple valley, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great deal for the clearance price.
Easy to use. Easy to move.
Rinsing the pads before using reduces the "new" smell. Have 2 units. Rinsed one but not the other. With use smell also disappeared
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 600 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Grey PACKA77

Arrived Broken

04/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the reviews and quite a few cited damage from shipping. I decided to take a chance. That was a mistake. It arrived busted up. Returned for refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 600 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Grey PACKA77

Love it so much..bought a 2nd one!!!!

08/29/2013
By ,
Cypress, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These retail $650-$700... When they went on clearance for $200 we bought a second one and several family members and friends jumped on it as well and bought one....great product if you live in Texas!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 600 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Grey PACKA77

Great cool unit

07/15/2013
By ,
Garland, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Received the package on time - open the box and see two small dent, but that is ok. Put the water in and it can cool down my room in 2-5 degree. Air blow out very strong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 600 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Grey PACKA77

Exactly What I wanted

09/04/2013
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After much review, and a forgetful buying approach delayed by poor reviews, did I decide months later when it was evident the Arizona heat had won once again did I decide on this KuulAire Evap Cooler. I grew up with a swap cooler and knew exactly what to expect, so after reading many horrible reviews and manufacture specs, and comparing against real swap coolers CFMs, did I know what to look for. I purchased this because my house has central A/C, however my add-on office with a 1970 White Westinghouse A/C does not---and was just as expensive to run as the house A/C. With two computers in the office @ 900 watt supplies they contributed at least 8 degrees F of heat to the room and this mini-swamp essentially negates that. If you logically consider the air movement in your house, crack a window for escape, and experiment where to place this, you can leave it on the low setting and finagle a modest 8 degree F drop(from indoor temp). I also at times appreciate the 60ish percent humidity (58% outside Monsoons) for the body. I also recommend the AcuRite Digital Weather Station, Model:02038W, to keep tabs on its performance.
Running at full speed, 2nd setting, this only consumes 220 Watts of power, not much considering that's 3 x 80 watt bulbs. Also the controls are touch and remote is included. Replace a few lights in your house with LED or CFLs and you got yourself a free cooler air.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 600 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Grey PACKA77

Fulfills expectations of name

09/23/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Definitely not for the southern coastal areas. I bought it because some reviews said it was being used in the south and it worked. It does not work in the south. I am in Houston and if you are anywhere with similar humidity go away now. However, I will say that this would be perfect for any dry areas. It is large and a bit noisy. It will not make you deaf but you will definitely have to speak a little louder. Filling is easy but if you roll it anywhere you will splash. It has a remote, wheels and hose attachment. It is capable of affecting a larger area than 600 sq. ft. It is large but with size comes effectiveness.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 600 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Grey PACKA77

Just a water cooler

10/02/2013
By ,
New Orleans
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I needed to cool down a master bedroom add on 350 sq feet. The ac air is not flowing much so at night its get really stuffy. So I read the reviews thinking this would work and it does not put out cold air. It works pretty much like a blower. So I had to return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 600 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Grey PACKA77

KuulAire

09/19/2013
By ,
Dripping Springs, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Use this in my garage in Central Texas and it works well for what it is. The unit does a nice job of keeping me cool, but don't expect it to work like the AC in your house. Expect it to do a nice job of keeping a medium sized room cool, but nold AC cold and you'll be happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 600 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Grey PACKA77
09/19/2013
By ,
Fullerton, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saw this great deal on Walmart. Had originally purchased elsewhere for double the price. Have been using these cooling units for the whole summer and they work great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 600 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Grey PACKA77

Outdoor

09/15/2013
By ,
Sacramento, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doesn't specify that it's an out door cooler. But the box says it is. It's ginormous, loud, and doesn't cool. It's a TAD bit cooler than a fan. Returned !
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 600 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Grey PACKA77

Cool product

09/25/2013
By ,
South Eastern Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceptional all around service and delivery.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 600 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Grey PACKA77

For the price of 200 dollars this is a great value

09/16/2013
By ,
Baytown ,tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value, works just as advertised..would recommend to anyone,wsh I had bought two.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next