Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for KuulAire KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 350 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Silver PACKA50

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

KuulAire KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 350 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Silver PACKA50

The KuulAire PACKA50 350 Square Foot Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit is an efficient and environmentally friendly way to keep cool. The KuulAire five-gallon portable air cooler works with no harmful refrigerants or chemicals and uses no high amperage compressors or ducting. It runs on standard 110V electricity and tap water for pennies a day. This evaporative cooler uses a fan to move air through a water-soaked rigid media, which provides an all-natural cooling technique that can cool an area up to 350 square feet and can lower the temperature up to 25 degrees. Evaporative coolers differ from air conditioners and work most effectively in dry climates. The unit requires no assembly or installation and is completely portable. It also comes equipped with a timer that allows you to set the time for an automatic shut off. This evaporative air cooler comes with heavy-duty casters so you can easily move it around your home or office.
Average Customer Rating:
2.9 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation45%9 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 350 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Silver PACKA50

Not Very Good

06/13/2011
By ,
Silver City, NM
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I live in Silver City, NM. Summers are warm and dry and the traditional form of cooling is with an evaporative cooler (usually semi-permanently installed, and blowing outside air thru the cooler into the house). I live in a travel trailer, not more than 350 square feet and I only wanted to cool the front (living area) half. Unfortunately, this unit performed only marginally. It did cool, but not much. I tried with only a little fresh air ventilation (open windows) and with a lot. It didn't make much difference; although with only a little fresh air ventilation, the inside air eventually got warm and humid.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+54points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Use of flow control valve
Posted 06/25/2012
This unit has a flow control valve which controls how much water is flowing over the pads. For dryer climates you'll need to turn the dial to maximum. Start with the water adjustment dial set in the middle of minimum and maximum. Move dial toward minimum waterflow for additional cooling in humid conditions. Move dial toward maximum waterflow for additional cooling in dry conditions.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 350 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Silver PACKA50

Wasn't what I wanted

06/10/2011
By ,
Indiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ordering this cooling unit was a mistake on my part. As I usually read the fine print on all purchases I make, I did not on this particular item - I was hot and needed cool air - Let me say it DOES do what it says it will, however it puts so much humidity in the air it's almost unbearable. It cools by pouring water into the unit, which when it evaporates creates a very, very high amount of humidity. It's now in our shed. The product itself works wonderful, took less than 5 minutes to get it set up, buttons controls are easy to see and understand, but after using it for 1 week, there's no way to lower the humidty. Might be better suited for an outside building of some sort - garage or pole barn. I wouldn't recommend you put this in your house.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+55points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ventilation and Flow Control Valve
Posted 06/25/2012
Evaporative cooling introduces mosture into the air, so you need to be careful to allow the air to circulate. Place back side of unit near a slightly opened window or door. For optimal circulation and improved cooling, a window or door on the opposite side of the room should be left slightly open. This unit also has a flow control valve which controls how much water is flowing over the pads. Start with the water adjustment dial set in the middle of minimum and maximum. Move dial toward minimum waterflow for additional cooling in humid conditions. Move dial toward maximum waterflow for additional cooling in dry conditions. We would recommend that you turn the flow control value to minimum.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 350 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Silver PACKA50

Had to return

09/30/2011
By ,
Palm Springs, California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Used it outdoor for 2 weeks hoping to get rid of the awful smell of metal and plastic it omitted. Moved it in to get some cool air for a small bedroom. It failed in both occasions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+28points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Smaller units work well with small spaces
Posted 06/25/2012
Sorry that you were not satisfied with your purchase. We wouldn't recommend using the larger units such as the KA50, KA55, and KA77 in small rooms.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 350 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Silver PACKA50

JUNK

06/09/2011
By ,
NEW YORK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THIS ITEM IS JUNK, ITS A GLORIFIED FAN, IT IS HORRIBLE AND NOT WORTH THE MONEY.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+36points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
BEAUMONT TX
Timothy
Posted 08/11/2013
yes it suppose to be vented outside I see them all the time in refineries, there just for temporary use, or you maybe can use it in your garage when the door is raised up, the back should be facing outside, not intended for plugging in house going to take a nap, no
t made for that!!!!!!!!!!
0points
Customer Avatar
3412
Received a Silver unit that leaked
Posted 07/18/2011
Very disappointed, not only is the unit a silver color rather then beige, which I could have lived with it leaked from the one rear caster area. Now I have to dry out my carpeting and it didn't seem very effective at cooling the air after being on in a small living room for three hours on an 80s degree day. I would not recommend it. I am returning it as defective!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 350 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Silver PACKA50

a lot to spend for poor construction.

09/16/2012
By ,
Reno, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This upper half is mounted incorrectly from the factory and the unit leaks. I spent a lot of money for poor quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 6 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 350 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Silver PACKA50

LEAKING!!!!!!!!!!!

06/17/2012
By ,
Denver CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
3 and 4 years ago, I owned two of these and after the bottom cracked (my accident moving it over doorways), I purchased a 2nd that leaked, after a couple of months, for no apparent reason. Unfortunately, I did NOT purchase a protection plan for the 2nd one, sooooooooo, $500 down the drain. NEVER -NEVER NEVER NEVER buy this unit. You need to have it fairly close to you to cool you off in a large NOT TOO HOT room.
I would NEVER recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 350 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Silver PACKA50

Great but not the Best!

02/14/2013
By ,
Houston TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product is great if you are right in front of it. any other place you don't feel the air and it doesn't cool the room down.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 350 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Silver PACKA50

A siutable substitute

06/10/2013
By ,
Riverside, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I subscribed to a electric providers program that cuts off the AC compressor for a couple of hours during times of high consumption. Given the alterative of having no AC in a HOT dry climate, this unit works as intented. What else can you ask for.
Well, one could ask for the unit to be a bit more quiet. Even with the blower on low, it is quite noisy but with all the materials the air has to go through, I suppose noise is a byproduct. Better to have noise than have the unit not perform.
Looking at the manufacturers'web site, I didn't find this model. So, one can expect the newer models may be quieter, but for $30 less I guess I'll live with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 350 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Silver PACKA50

Great fan but not cool.

07/29/2012
By ,
Billings, MT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After living with evaporative cooling for 14 years in the Mojave Desert, I had high hopes for this unit. But it didn't cool my apartment in Billings, Montana. The fan is very powerful, so at first I thought it was cooling. Then I left for a couple of hours, and when I walked back in it was much hotter than before. I bought an 8000 BTU portable air conditioner instead, and it actually works to cool my apartment. Too bad the KuulAire didn't cool, since it's truly portable, with no need to vent to the outside. That's what I wanted, but I guess you can't have everything!
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 10 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 350 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Silver PACKA50
09/07/2012
By ,
Pampa, TX.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have had my packa55 3 months now and it is by far the best investment i have made yet. my unit runs 24 hrs a day on med speed and does a great job. there is a lot of calcium in our water but with my buying a chemical called MK-47 which i can buy from Port-a-cool i have no worries about my unit clogging up. mk-47 seems a little pricy but well worth the money. it is a once a month chemical that works really well.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 350 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Silver PACKA50

Works great!

07/02/2012
By ,
Bennett, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only problem I had with it was it was supposed to be beige and it was silver when it was delivered. My house is a whole lot cooler. I purchased 2 so I could have one at each end of the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 12 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 350 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Silver PACKA50

Great 'swamp cooler'!

05/18/2013
By ,
Stockton, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what it is supposed to. Right out of the box, just fill the water reservoir, place it near a partially open window and you will have cool air in minutes. We live in Stockton, CA and the summers get HOT...this is a perfect alternative to the grossly high electric bills from using the central air.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 350 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Silver PACKA50
06/14/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read other reviews before purchasing my Kuulaire unit. People in humid climates didn't like it. Those in dry climates did. I live in Colorado. This is considered a semi-arid state. Very dry! And I do like it very much. It makes our house comfortable even when the temperature is in the 90s.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 350 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Silver PACKA50

it works

08/12/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My mom liked it. She said its better than nothing. She almost 60 but said the wheels make it easy for her to roll from room to room when need be. Shipping took forever (a few wks) but Walmart has no control over that.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 350 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Silver PACKA50
06/29/2013
By ,
virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
works great as a fan but I can buy a fan for a lot less than I paid for this item, I put it in my bedroom and it did not cool the room. also, 5 gallons a day of water going into my bedroom does not sound healthy to me
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 350 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Silver PACKA50

WILL ONLY COOL A REALLY SMALL RM

06/03/2013
By ,
FATETTEVILL TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THE ROOM I TRIED TO COOL WAS 8X10 IT NEVER COOLED THE ROOM JUST BLEW
AIR EVEN AFTER I ADDED SEVERAL TRAYS OF ICE. I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH
THIS PRODUCT TOOK IT BACK TO WALMART THE NEXT DAY.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 350 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Silver PACKA50
03/12/2013
By ,
2526 n marion
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not actually used the product, but am so glad i was able to find it at a great price, so i can have it in the summer when i will really need it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 18 for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 350 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Silver PACKA50
05/20/2013
By ,
auburn, wa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I opened it up it was broken
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 350 Sq. Ft. Cooling Capacity, Silver PACKA50
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5