Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for GE General Electric 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LP

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

GE General Electric 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LP

This General Electric 65-pint Dehumidifier features soft touch controls and a washable air filter. You'll appreciate the front-removable bucket and high performance of this GE portable dehumidifier. With 3 fan speeds, this home dehumidifier efficiently removes moisture from the air and keeps your home free from dampness or mold growth. You can easily operate the unit with its soft-touch control panel. The General Electric dehumidifier in light gray finish is built-in with an eco-friendly R-410A refrigerant. You can cut-down on your electricity bill as it consumes little voltage for excellent noise-free operation. A water-full indicator lamp and a long power cord add even more of the unique functionality that you enjoy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation91%41 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for General Electric 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LP

Unit didn't work as expected

06/13/2011
By ,
Mpls, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this after Consumer Reports rated a similar model (ADER65LN) as a "best buy" and I had difficulty finding that model.
I reviewed the manual and plugged this unit in two days after getting it by mail. The unit stated the current humidity level was 80%, so I set the humidistat at 50% and selected the highest fan setting. 36 hours later it was down a whopping 5% to 75%. I could tell there was some water that had come out of the hose. There was also some water in the bucket, despite the fact that the hose was supposed to drain all the water. But the bucket wasn't full. I had done laundry on the day I plugged it in, but given the capacity and the high fan setting, didn't think it unreasonable to see this attain a 55-60% humidity level in 36 hours.
I unplugged the unit and tried it again on another day I did NOT do laundry - again, there was minimal change in the humidity level over 24 hours. I'll be returning this as soon as I can get it boxed up and back to a store.
Dehumidifiers in general seem to be problematic these days. I had one that lasted one season, and this is my second attempt in the last 45 days to get a working, energy-efficient dehumidifier.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mpls, MN
Update to initial review
Posted 09/20/2011
After returning the unit I originally purchased in June, I ordered another one in July and started using it July 14, 2011. This one worked! July was very hot and wet here in Minneapolis, and this unit did work well to quickly dry out my basement. The downside - my electric bill for that period was more than three times my usual amount (it cost me more to dehumidify my basement than it cost my sister to air condition her 1000 square foot house for the same period). August here was much milder and drier. Even so, my electric bill for that period was just over two times my usual amount. So take the "energy star" rating with a grain of salt. One other pet peeve - even though I hooked up a drain hose, the bucket continued to fill, requiring me to empty it often.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for General Electric 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LP

Died after 2 seasons use.

11/11/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did a good job for 2 winter season. Now it's dead and service would run $400-$500. Pretty expensive for a disposable unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 3 for General Electric 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LP

Good While It Lasted

04/10/2012
By ,
Cumming, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I put the unit in service in late May 2011. It worked well, pulling a lot of water out of the air for our 1700 sq. ft. basement, ours set up to discharge through a hose to a drain sump. Set at 45% RH, it ran steady for the first 24 hours, then cycled on and off as expected. It was quiet and efficient, lowering our electric bill substantially from past years when we were using an old Kenmore that failed after 11 years. I placed this GE back into service on March 25, 2012, expecting it to work well again, but it ran full time for days, not producing any condensate. The compressor runs, the coil is not froze up and the filter is clean. It seems that the refrigerant has leaked out. I turned to the GE Consumer Relations department after the seller would not take the unit back under terms of the warrany. GE is giving me credit good for the purchase of a new replacement after they receive the plug with five inches of cord cut from the unit, the purchase receipt and the nameplate also cut from the malfunctioning product. From research I have done, many of these units fail after only one to two seasons of service. I will buy an extended warranty on the replacement, something I rarely do for new appliances or electronics.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for General Electric 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LP
06/19/2011
By ,
Nebraska
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kind of loud but tolerable if you use low fan speed; in a basement would be more tolerable. Owner's manual is very vague.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 5 for General Electric 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LP

Ok if you don't mind the Noise

10/19/2011
By ,
Williamsport, Pa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This unit work good but if your going to use this in a basement that has a lot of square ft to cover buy a bigger one.It runs way to much and is very noisy.I bought a bigger one and different brand and it does the job.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Soleus Energy Star 70-Pint Dehumidifier DP1-70-03A
4.3 out of 5(50)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
Review 6 for General Electric 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LP

It works but uses a lot of energy.

09/29/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a replacement for the same dehumidifier that quit after 8 months. GE honored the warranty with no problems. Dehumidifying a closed 30x15 room costs $22 in electricity per month (according to a plug in usage meter). I had hoped for more efficiency. The unit is relatively quiet compared to other humidifiers I have had and makes no noise when it isn't dehumidifying. The calibration of the hygrometer on the unit is not close to true. I have had 5 units of different brands over the past 10 years. This is one of the better ones but it isn't great. I wish someone made a great one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 7 for General Electric 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LP

So far so good

01/12/2012
By ,
Downingtown PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This unit replaced a 50 pint GE that failed under warranty. So far it appears to be performing well. However, based on previous poor experience with portable dehumidifiers, I do not expect it to last long and so purchased the extended warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for General Electric 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LP

Works Great

04/08/2012
By ,
Cypress, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit works great although the hygrometer that it uses to cut on and off could use a bit more tweaking. It was tested against two other independent hygrometers throughout the house and it reads a bit higher than the others... this in itself is not a big deal, other than it causes the machine to kick-on and off all the time. Maybe the reading is being taken right above the bucket that collects the water, but either way, it runs for 15 minutes then cuts off... 30 minutes later it comes back on. Its a design flaw that could be remedied quickly by just moving the sensor.
Its a great product and I recommend it for a medium to small sized house. We noticed that the Air Conditioner came on less and that our clothing no longer had a musty smell to it. We live on the gulf coast where humidity is rather high and it's nice to have clothing that still smells fresh after sitting a week in a closet. We also noticed less allergens as the drier air keeps the mold spores down to a bare minimum.
We just got our electric bill and did not notice any negligible increase...in fact I think it went down because of the A/C running less. Someone mentioned earlier that its like running a 60w light bulb and I think thats pretty accurate.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for General Electric 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LP

Good Unit

07/11/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only used it or a week but appears to work fine in my damp Hamptons beach house basement. It's quiet with basicaly zero compressor noise but the accuracy of the humisidtat is suspect since my portable humidity meter was reading about 10-15% lower than the ADEW65LP. No problem, I set the ADEW65LP to 60% and got the 50% I was looking for. Auto start feature is a nice too.
Too bad it was $20 less today.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 10 for General Electric 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LP

Possibly a returned item!

09/28/2011
By ,
Joliet, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Received the dehumidifier on 09/24/2011, hooked up on 09/25/2011, went to check on it on 09/27/2011. There was a fine white powder in the air. I had to use a fan to clear the basement. I contacted GE and was told that they have never heard of this and to return it to Wal-mart. I was able to get the same model at our local store ($10.00) more. While unpacking the new one, it was obviously packed differently than the previous one. Zip ties etc. So far this one is working!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for General Electric 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LP

Works just like I expected

06/19/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The dehumidifier works about like I expected. I have had it about 6 weeks. It replaced a Danby which quit working. I have had 2 Danby dehumidifiers in the last 5 years. They just quit dehumidifying so I decided to try a General Electric product. So far it is working great. The GE is noisier than the Danby but it does seem to be doing a little better job of keeping the area dehumidified. I use it in a downstairs living area that consists of a laundry room, bath room, bedroom and hall, approximately 450 sq feet. We live right on the coast so humidity is a problem particularly in the spring and fall while we are not running the heater or air conditioner very much. So far, I would recommend it. I would have given it 5 stars if it were a little quieter. I have it installed with a drain and run it continuously since it was installed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 12 for General Electric 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LP

Powerful, yet quiet!

09/08/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good dehumidifier unit that runs very quietly. The fan seems to run constantly. I had to raise the humidity target level on the unit so it would not run 24/7. I placed this unit in my basement and ran it on "constant" mode and it brought my humidity level to 50% which is the lowest I have ever seen it in 24 hours (from 90% humidity).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for General Electric 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LP

Does a great job removing humidity

07/25/2011
By ,
New Castle,De
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The onboard humidity indicator reads 10% higher then the actual room humidity,measuring with an accurate humidity meter.
When the fan shuts off,the humidity sensor picks up moisture from inside the unit,and the unit restarts in approx. 1 to 2 minutes later.
When measured,the actual room humidty only rose 1 percent,but the unit thinks it rose 5%.
I believe the fan shutting off,and the location of the humidity sensor is causing this problem.
If this unit had a remote humidy sensor,similar to the thermostats on some mini split systems,it's operation would be perfected. The only other thing to do would be to constantly run the fan,or relocate the humidity sensor to outside the unit,so it won't be affected by moisture from the refrigeration coil or water bucket.
I use the hose connection to drain my unit,and it still short cycles.
I tried to talk to a technician at GE,but they only have customer service people,who you hope will pass on the info,to their engineering dept.
I hope this review doesn't sound too technical,but I work on heating and a/c equipment for a living.
Maybe a GE engineer will read this review and improve the design.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 14 for General Electric 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LP

Nice dehumidifier .... but noisy

10/19/2011
By ,
Morris, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my 2nd dehumidifer. My 1st on was a LG 30 pint LD301EL which I purchased at Home Depot. It worked great. I returned it after using it for 2 months because I felt I needed a larger one so I purchased this one.
So I will compared the LG 30 pint vs this GE 65 pint ...
1) I think the LG was quieter even with the LG fan at high and the GE fan at low. Maybe because the 30 pint needs less cooling than the 65 pint but the noise was quiet a difference. The GE is quiet loud on turbo fan. You will need to have it on low if your in the same room and it might still be too loud.
2) Both seems to dehumidify just as quickly. The GE has a larger bucket - 17 pints vs 13. The GE bucket slides back in easier than the LG.
3) The GE has a window and red ball float to see the water level which made it easier to know how much water is in the bucket. I didn't have to pull out the bucket to see the water level or wait until the unit shut off to know when it was full. The LG didnt have a window. Both has the ability to connect a hose to drain continuously.
4) Both shuts off when it reaches the humidity level you set and restarts when it goes back up. Both has auto restart it case of power failure. A nice feature with the LG is the 2/4 hour timer. It would shut off after 2 or 4 hour whichever it is set for and restart after the 2 or 4 hrs continuously. The GE only shuts off 2 or 4 hrs. It doesn't restart again.
5) The LG unit had a GFI plug which I thought was great. The GE only had a regular 3 prong plug.
6) The GE gives you a reading of the room humidity but I dont know how accurate it is. LG doesn't.
I know comparing a 30 pint to a 65 pint is not the same. The only reason I kept the GE is that I read it was better to buy a larger one for efficiency. Also, the reliability of dehumidifiers are horrible. Walmart has a very cheap extended warranty for only $28 for an additional 3 yrs after the manufacturers warranty. Home Depot was $100 for 4 yrs. So the overall cost was cheaper for the GE than the LG and the GE is a larger dehumidifier. If Walmart had the LG model, I would have purchased the LG.
The noise was the main factor why I like the LG over the GE otherwise the GE is the better unit
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for General Electric 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LP

great buy

02/24/2012
By ,
illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this dehumidifier because we had condensation on our windows so bad that it was starting to have mold on the window sils. After two days of running this machine we have no water on the windows ,no mold ,and the house is alot more comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for General Electric 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LP
08/11/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just recently received the dehumidifier and have not used it long. However, it seems to work as advertised. Having purchased it in July and it being rather hot and humid this year, I'm glad I purchased the 65 pint unit, because it fills the tank rather quickly ( in 2 - 3 hours) under humid conditions. I use it in a 600 sq. ft. basement and it does increase the temperature and it makes noise when run at any setting: low, med or high. I believe that that the noise and temperature output are within reason given what the unit is designed to do.
I did look at some units in some major home improvement stores and considering the features of the G.E. unit and its cost, I feel like I got a good value. Time will tell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 17 for General Electric 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LP

So Far So Good!

10/20/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a new homeowner it seems like everywhere you turn you have to spend more money. I thought spending more than $200 for a dehimidifier was nuts but turns out it's the going rate for its size. After WAY TOO MUCH time and energy spent on trying to choose the right one we bought our GE. We have about a 280 square foot unfinished space and we basically have to dump the water once a day (we've had it running for two weeks). We haven't bothered with the pump/hose connection. Seems to be working well and definitely feels cooler...and I thought a 65-pinter was going to be much larger than we needed! I'm learning....
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 18 for General Electric 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LP

Excellent appliance but.........

05/29/2011
By ,
N.E. Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would give this product 4 1/2 stars. Not 5 stars? Why? The sensitivity of the humidistat is not accurate. I want my area to be approximately 50% humidity. To achieve this I have to put the units setting at 60% and sometimes at 65%. The reason: if I set it at the desired 50% the unit will draw the humidity down to the 50% and in fact lower but, the unit will never shut off. It will 'kick off' so to speak but the fan will continue to run.....cool air comes out of unit indicating the unit is not needing to take out any more moisture. After talking with the GE people I have finally figured out how to make the unit run without the fun constantly on (see above). Also, make sure there is plenty of room/clearance on all sides of the unit. My 'lower level'(basement) is finished so with hallways and rooms this does not allow for the 'openness' these type of appliances need. I have it placed now so there is plenty of room on ALL SIDES. Other than this complaint I've written the unit does the job and does it well. The lower level is markedly improved, humidity wise.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+54points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Western NYS
Issue solved.
Posted 06/07/2012
I just purchased the newer model 65LQ, and found the same issues with the humistat and fan. Thank you for solving the fan issue and I will see if the 60 setting lowers the humidity enough for me.
0points
Customer Avatar
glen rock, nj
Powerful dehumidifier for finished basement
Posted 06/02/2011
My basement is about 550 sq feet (includes a office space, family room, and laundry room). Turned it on and within 3 hours, it had filled the bucket already! My 8 year old dehumidifier broke so we had to buy a new one. After much research and reading other people's comments, we purchased the GE 65 pint. It looks good and works great.
I like the 3 fan speed feature and auto defrost!
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 19 for General Electric 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LP

It works

12/04/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I paid a little extra and got this model since it got good reviews in Consumer Reports magazine. Some people (reader reviewers there) didn't like it. So far it has been working fine (1 1/2 months). The humidity level seems to vary at bit from the set level. It does eventually turn itself off. The bucket to catch the water seems small and has to be checked on every few days unless you can route a drain hose (I couldn't). I hope I never crack the bucket because it feels a little cheap. Noise is not an issue for me since it is in a obscure room in the basement. I don't hear it unless I am next door to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for General Electric 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LP

I bought two of these dehumidifiers.

01/16/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought two of these dehumidifers, for two seperate basements, based on a Consumer Reports review of them being very good and efficient. They were recommended by C.R. Although, C.R. did say that they have been replaced with a newer model, these models worked very well. I would have bought the newer model if Walmart had sold it. I have had the two of them for a 2 weeks now, 1 is up and running, the other hasn't been set up yet. I can say the one that is up and running, is really getting the water out of a basement! I am shocked! Good thing there is an auto off switch for when the container is full! Perhaps I will buy a hose and let it drain, as it continues to get the mositure out of the air. At this point I AM HAPPY WITH IT'S PERFORMANCE.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1 2 3 Next