Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for GE General Electric 50-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW50LP

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

GE General Electric 50-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW50LP

The General Electric ADEW50LP Dehumidifier works right out of the box and is easy to setup. It helps you regulate the moisture level in the ambient air and engineers the conditions ideal for human comfort. The 50-Pint GE dehumidifier is ENERGY STAR and helps you save on power bills. It features an intuitive interface for added convenience it works with little or no noise. A light flashes as the bucket reaches it capacity and the unit comes with a washable air filter for easy maintenance. The electric dehumidifier fits in blends in well with the most decors without being obtrusive. You can effortlessly move the high-performance dehumidifier from room to room thanks to the castor wheels. Other thoughtful additions include soft-touch control panel, three fan speeds and the convenient front-removable bucket.
Average Customer Rating:
4.397 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation89%51 out of 57reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for General Electric 50-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW50LP

Excellent product so far

07/02/2011
By ,
Gainesville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This model is the same as the GE ADER50LN as reviewed and recommended by Consumer Reports. It is used in a basement approximately 600 ft. and does a really good job of taking the humidity down from about 70% to 45% during the summer months in Georgia. Seems to take about 3 - 4 hours to achieve that level on the low fan setting. (Has Low, Medium, and High setting) I have to empty the water at least twice a day so I will be utilizing the external nozzle option once I get a drain setup. It has been running constantly for at least 2 weeks now and I've had no issues. It does switch off automatically once its achieved the set humidity level. While it is running it shows the CURRENT humidity level so you can see where you started and monitor its progress. The filter is easy to remove and clean. The unit is fairly quiet on low. On high it is too loud for TV watching in the same room but moves A LOT of air. The humidity indicator is pretty accurate. I have the unit set on 45% humidity and my external thermometer/humidity indicator ranges from 42% to 48% during the course of the day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+63points
Review 2 for General Electric 50-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW50LP

Easy and Efficient

05/31/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, getting it out of the box was a snap. Second, all I had to do was to remove a few taped areas, and I was ready to go with no further set-up of any sort. Third, I plugged it in and adjusted the digital display to "CO" for continous operation. That was it!
The rotating wheels are very good and easy to roll. Another big plus is that it does not come with a remote. Any remote controlled machine has its own tricky difficulties. This machine is simple press-n-go. I know some people have complained about it being too noisy. This machine has a motor and a fan. Of course, it produces some noise. It is doing what it is supposed to do. The noise is quite acceptable.
Some have complained that the water bucket is tricky and difficult to empty it out fully. All one has to do is pull it out, take it to a sink, and empty it. I do not see any difficulty with that. Still, others have complained that this machine is always rotating its fan and never stopping even when it is not in dehumidifying cycle. That happens when the machine is defrosting itself. It has a self-defrosting cycle. In addition, some have complained that the hose does not fit the outlet. It does not come with a hose. So, they likely hooked up a wrong sized hose. I, myself, enjoy looking at how much water is sucked-up. For that reason, instead of hooking up a hose I prefer to manually empty the bucket.
This machine works great. In the first 12 hours of operation it sucked-up about two gallons of water. I love everything about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+120points
Review 3 for General Electric 50-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW50LP

Great dehumidifier!

06/23/2011
By ,
Fremont, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dehumidifier is great! My previous one was on its last legs (it was 20 years old) and I finally broke down and bought a new one. I was not disappointed. It is very simple to get started...open box, plug in, turn on...what could be easier than that? I also like that you can set the desired humidity level. This is a great unit!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+41points
Review 4 for General Electric 50-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW50LP
06/23/2011
By ,
Long Island
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I keep this unit in my basement and run it everyday in the summer months. It runs very quietly. I like that the bucket that collects the water has a handle which makes it easier to carry when emptying. It is suppose to shut off when the bucket is removed from the unit, but mine does not do this. Minor annoyance.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 5 for General Electric 50-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW50LP

Easy and works perfectly

06/06/2011
By ,
Finger Lakes, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1- Open box
2- Remove tape
3- Plug in
4- Wait 24 hours
5- Empty 1.5-2 gallons of water
I have since hooked up the hose and it continues to work perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+50points
Review 6 for General Electric 50-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW50LP

Thought I'd save on A/C but this costs $$ to run

07/23/2011
By ,
Dallas TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I live in TX and have allergies, so I had been contemplating getting a dehumidifier for some time to reduce mildew and mold growth. I did a lot of research and chose this one. We set it on 45% in a very hot July and the thing never shut off except when the bucket was full (2-3 x per 24 hrs, as expected). At 45% it certainly DID make our 1400 sf house more comfortable, and I was hoping we might be saving on our electric bill if the A/C didn't have to work so hard.
Boy, was I wrong. I went out to read my smart meter two days ago and calculated that we had been using close to 85 kwh a day since getting the dehumidifier as compared to 45 kwh per day in the most recent billing period. I am going to pass out when we get our next bill, sure to be over $300. We have now raised the setting to 50% but it is noticeably less comfortable in the house than at 45%. Granted, the avg high this July is 3 degrees higher than the avg high was this June (101 vs 98), but that should not make a huge diff in A/C use (we keep our temp set at 80), so I have to assign the increased energy consumption to the dehumidifier.
In addition, I do find it kind of loud, even on the lowest setting...but I know noise tolerance is relative and I cannot compare it to other products. I'd say it's about as loud as a pedestal floor fan on medium speed. We have it in the center of our cottage-style home, and we have to turn the TV up ;-)
That said, it certainly does what is designed to do--it dehumidifies at the promised rate. I guess I was naive to think that it could SAVE on energy bills by reducing the load on our A/C system--because it uses SOOOOO much energy all by itself. If all that is not an issue to you and you need to dry out a damp basement on a short term basis, it functions perfectly fine. For constant use, it is a real energy hog (and that's probably not just GE--it's probably any dehumidifier).
Below I indicate that I would recommend to a friend, but it would be with all of the above caveats so they understand what they are in for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 7 for General Electric 50-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW50LP

Meets expectations

06/22/2011
By ,
Topeka, Kansas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It gets noisier as times goes by -- something about the plastic shell resonates more than it should. A couple of cents worth of insulation installed at the factory would cure the problem. I purchased a 30 pint model of this same brand 4 years ago and it no longer did the job, thus, this purchase. Hope this one lasts longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 8 for General Electric 50-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW50LP

Faulty right out of the box

04/03/2012
By ,
Eastern PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this dehumidifier last month to replace a 65pt GE model that failed last year just after the year warranty expired. This unit is much noisier in regular operation than the prior model we had. In addition, every time the compressor would kick in there was a loud screech sound that could be heard on the next level of the house. It only lasted a second but would do it every single time the compressor engaged. I'm done with GE. Bought the 50pt Frigidaire unit to replace it. Been in use a week now, much quieter in normal operation. I will review that one seperately after it's been in use longer. Note: Neither was a stocked unit this time of year but I ordered on-line from Walmart w/ $.99 shipping and had them in 2-3 days! Returns can be made at local store if necessary.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for General Electric 50-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW50LP

>>>>BUYER BEWARE<<<<

01/27/2012
By ,
Dayton, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For 3-4 months these units work great.
BUT THEN even with extremely careful use in a climate controlled, unfinished basement...
I owned THREE of the previous model with the exact same features and specifications (except the Energy Efficiency Rating was a bit higher on the previous model) and FOUR of this model.
On the three previous models one FAILED in two months, and the remaining two FAILED within 9 months. Apparently, there is a MAJOR PROBLEM with the design, parts, and/or assembly that allows the refrigerant to slowly leak from the system. Thus, after a few months (typically) the coils start to slowly frost over lightly when the compressor activates, decreasing moisture removal. Quickly, the problem worsens. Soon, the unit is CONSTANTLY frosting over, defrosting itself, frosting over, defrosting, etc when activated by the humidistat.
On the four of the current model... One was Dead On Arrival. One, the compressor would never engage (even when set on Continuous). And, the remaining two began the constant cycling between frosting over and defrosting after only 4 or 5 months of use.
In addition, on these two units the metal framing that holds the coils rusted EXTREMELY QUICKLY to the point that the water receptacle is now discolored bright red-orange AND chunks of rusted metal appear in collection bucket daily AND small rust flakes are expelled with the air from the top of the unit.
Definitely NOT what one would expect from a dehumidifier that costs between $150.00-$200.00 PER UNIT.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for General Electric 50-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW50LP

Good While It Lasted

10/13/2011
By ,
North Carolina
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought the unit a year and a half ago and it performed flawlessly until this week. It is plugged into a dedicated, dehumidifier-only circuit, and now the unit trips the circuit breaker after running less than 10 seconds. So there is an electrical problem and the unit must be replaced less than one year past the warranty. I don't feel I got my money's worth. My prior unit lasted more than 20 years before it gave out.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 11 for General Electric 50-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW50LP

Exactly what I was looking for

09/29/2011
By ,
Byron, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My fiance and I got this dehumidifier as a housewarming gift and it has met and exceeded my expectations. Our house was built in the mid 1960's and it's helped tremendously keep things dry and eliminate that "basement" smell. We do have to turn it off if we are watching TV as it's semi loud when running, but that is expected and the noise isn't excessive or unbearable by any means. I empty it manually because I am always curious to see how long it takes to fill up on a given day or time. We couldn't be happier with this product and the Energy Star was an added bonus too as I am in the process of replacing as many appliances large and small with HE/Energy Star appliances. We've owned this product 4 months and no problems yet!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for General Electric 50-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW50LP

Gets rid of the dampness quickly.

07/31/2011
By ,
Waynesville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We opted for home delivery which was delivered to the day and in excellent condition.
We went with this model because of it's high rating from Consumer Reports and that it appeared to meet our needs.
The dehumidifier works like a charm at ridding the damp, musty smell in our lower level very quickly. We keep the fan on "low" for a couple of hours in the AM and the humidity level will read between 55 and 60, which is about right for our comfort. It is a little noisy, which is why we run it when we are not down there. It does put out a fair amount of heat when running but that quickly disapates once the machine is turned off. All in all we are very pleased with the product and our experience with Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for General Electric 50-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW50LP
07/10/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
unit does a good job and is fairly quiet. My only complaint is although the bucket is front mounted it is tricky to empty and I end up getting water on my floor instead of the sink.
If you remove the bucket before the unit has filled and shut off, you will get water dripping onto the pastic bottom where the bucket fits in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 14 for General Electric 50-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW50LP
03/22/2012
By ,
Camden, Tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When we first got this dehumidifier I loved it . It worked great. I had no complaint with that. But as soon as the warranty was out it died. We were advised by a repairman that the cost would be to great to fix it. So it worked fine for a year and a half. That isn't very long. So no I would think long and hard before I purchased this. Now I'm looking for another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for General Electric 50-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW50LP

Reliable dehumidifier

05/22/2011
By ,
New Hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works efficiently, effectively and quietly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 16 for General Electric 50-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW50LP

Great except for a few things

07/30/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The dehumidifier works great at removing moisture from the air. The only two items I do not like is the noisiness of it and emptying the container is sloppy. The position of the empty hole is poor and does not pour neetly. But like I said at least it works well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 17 for General Electric 50-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW50LP

Does The Job

10/23/2011
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just bought my second one, very happy with the performance. Since I use them in the basement I use a garden hose to the sump pump. I especially like the feature that they turn back on automatically at the same settings after a power failure, as I don't go into the basement everyday and I have a tendency to forget about them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for General Electric 50-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW50LP

Cleared The Air!

07/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this appliance in my finished basement. It's doing a great job. My basement is 1100 sq ft. I have a 2nd kitchen in the basement; i've had problems in the past with mold and mildew growing on the cabinets. There was also a musty mildew odor. Not only has this dehumidifier reduced the moisture in the air, it has "cleared" the air as well. The odor is gone and the air is "fresher".
I run the dehumidifier 4 hrs in the morning and 4 hrs at night. That seems to be adequate in bringing the humidity down to 40%.
The dehumidifier does have a compressor and a fan; so, it does make noise. If it bothers you, just run it when you are not at home, or run it on "low".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for General Electric 50-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW50LP

Great!

08/20/2011
By ,
Williamsburg, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The water tank is easy to remove and replace. The unit works excellent! I would buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for General Electric 50-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW50LP

Great Product for a Basement setting!

09/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine sucks up water in a humid environment great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1 2 3 Next