Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nikon Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Nikon Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video

Zoom your world with the high-powered closeness of this classy Nikon Coolpix P50012.1MP black digital camera. The outstanding Nikkor 36x optical zoom lens breaks boundaries with the incredible power to shoot closer and wider than ever before, with superior clarity. The convenient anti-reflection coating on the lens and faster continuous shots make this digital camera with HD video a maximum performer. This trendy Nikon black camera records scenic videos in 1080p full-HD format in crystal clear clarity. Note: Memory card not included. Purchase of a memory card is highly recommended.
Average Customer Rating:
4.016 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(258 Reviews) 250
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
126
4 stars
73
3 stars
17
2 stars
21
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation81%208 out of 258reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
126
4 stars
73
3 stars
17
2 stars
21
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video

I'm not a pro and love this camera.

10/14/2011
By ,
South East Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm 55 and a little challenged at photography terms etc, but I do have common sense. I unpacked the camera, loaded the battery/card and started shooting. A few have not turned out so well due to my trying out the amazing and different options, but that’s a learning curve for sure. I just went out and took pictures of the full moon this morning and am amazed that I captured the craters in textured detail. I posted a few pictures here. I also love the tilt lens. This is great for things like the moon shots using a tripod. It takes out the least movement and makes a great picture. I used the timer which is easy, but at 55, I am a little shaker than I once was. I love this camera. I've taken pet pictures, garden, flowers and gatherings inside the house and all turned out amazing. I didn't even need a flash inside with the right settings and my home tends to be on the dark side. Battery life has been good, but keep in mind with a huge auto lens that adjust with the battery power, the more you use it the more drain,. I bought two extra batteries and a charger for an upcoming trip from another site that isn't Nikon brand, but all reviews gave them 5 stars. I love this camera; it has a lot of bells and whistles, but you have to feel comfy just playing with them and figuring it out. Hey, that’s what is great about digital. You aren't wasting film or money on developing. Just go out and have fun! Don't take yourself too seriously at first and practice different things and I think you will love it. I will suggest writing down what settings you used for say the first 5 on a flower, and then change settings and see what it does.... experiments don't work if you can't look back. There may even be a feature for this but haven’t gotten around to it yet. Good Luck!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
Love the P500
Posted 07/31/2012
The only problem I have had with this camera, is I could not get a shot of the moon that showed the craters. It is just a blob of white light. Do you have any suggestions? Maybe I was not using the right shot mode.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video
11/18/2011
By ,
Alexis, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As an amature hobby photographer who wants to take very clear photos, I spent a lot of time on research before buying my latest camera. After reading about a hundred camera reviews, I was leaning toward a Nikon D3100 which came with the 18-55 mm zoom lens or the Canon EOS Rebel T3 with a similar size lens.
Next I Started thinking about what exactly I do with my cameras. Almost every picture I take is taken outside, and many at a distance. Living in a rural area I take thousands of pictures of barns, combines, tractors and wildlife.
The standard lens that came with these cameras would rarely get used. I would need a longer lens for the pictures I take. The wildlife pictures I take, deer, birds, squirrels and horses are normally taken quickly and at a distance.
Next I started reading the reviews on the longer lenses, 55-200 mm and 55-300 mm. Most of the reviews were positive but I read a few from photographers who broke their lens in a short period of time. I thought I was the only person who had ever done that when I scratched a four month old lens two years ago. Then I thought, do I want to spend $1,000 or more on a camera and lens that is a little too technical for me and I may break the lens?
To make a long story a little shorter, I found this Nikon Coolpix P 500 with a 36X zoom lens for about half the price of the cameras I was interested in. I ordered this camera and have used it for over a month now. It is quick and easy to use and takes really clear pictures. With my previous camera I would take good pictures but I would delete a high percentage of the pictures because they were not as clear as I expected. So far, with thie P 500 I have been deleting very few pictures. This camera is easy to use, takes pictures I can enter in contests and pictures for shows and displays. Would I buy it again? If I only had a few hundred dollars to spend, yes I would.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 3 for Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video

exceptional camera for someone wanting to upgrade.

11/03/2011
By ,
Osburn,Id
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After receiveing the camera, we took a little while to learn some of the features. Then that same day we took our 3 girls (ages 9-12) out to take our own school pics with the fall colors as a background. All I can say is WOW! I couldn't beleive the quality of the pics. They are right up there with some professional pics we have had taken. As we were headed home down the river the sun was just setting, so we stopped and put the camera on the sunset mode. A deffinite postcard pic for Idaho as the sunset was reflected off the river. I have been telling all my friends and family about it. So happy I upgraded to this camera!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 4 for Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video

Great Camera

06/06/2011
By ,
West Virgina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera is awesome....the only 3 downside reviews I saw were dead wrong....battery life is as good or better than any....flash is killer for such a small unit, shot an un lit room at night and the flash lit the entire room evenly w/o harsh shadows, exposure was perfect. Some complain of low light capabilities, with a tripod no problem. That is to be expected with a lens equiv. to 810mm. 36x opitical and 4x digital is incredible. Looking for a great camera at a good price this is it....AND 1080P HD video...it has it all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+119points
Review 5 for Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video

Great Camera and Great price

07/10/2011
By ,
Beaverton, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for quite a while for a camera with good zoom and handy features. I had 2 cameras in mind. Sony HX100V and Nikon P500. Both camera's go head to head but Sony has much better features like 3D support and good features for night time shooting. Since I already had an DSLR which is also Nikon, I decided to go with the one which was cheapest. I'm amazed at the quality of pics it take though it has only 12.1 MP. Night time pics were also great. Easy to use and a lot of features for my use. I would totally recommend this camera for anyone who is a beginner or even works for someone with some shooting experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+56points
Review 6 for Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video

Sold my Nikon DSLR for this camera, love love it!

10/01/2011
By ,
Sheboygan, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera is great!!! I had a Nikon D60 that I sold since I have purchased this camera. I no longer carry a camera, flash, 70x300mm lens and the bag the Nikon P500 does it all and reaches a lot further that my zoom lens. The P500 does more than I even thought it would and cant say enough great things about it. You must read the owners manual to understand everything that this camera can do. You will not be disappointed with this camera the photos or the 1080HD video. This will be my fourth Nikon and I bring it everywhere, I just cant put it down!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+50points
Review 7 for Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video
07/12/2011
By ,
ocean grove NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent features for the price. Especially the 36X zoom. Best of all it is a Nikon.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+37points
Review 8 for Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video

GREAT CAMERA

10/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only thing that is HORRIBLE about this camera is that you need the usb cables to charge it and I forgot them went I went on vacation. I went to walmart in the middle of the night to get adapters and they don't work it has to be the usb cord from the manufacturer. Other than that I haven't been disappointed with the camera it takes great pictures. My kids do a lot of sports and sometimes I am sitting in the bleachers at a football game and I need that zoom. I love the fact action shoot ability it looks like a mini movie. Much easier to use than the Canon power shot with 35 zoom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 9 for Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video

I LOVE this camera!

10/23/2011
By ,
Western Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's easy to use and takes really great pictures. The zoom is great. No fooling with changing lenses.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 10 for Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video

Great camera with great features!

12/13/2011
By ,
Hazel, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just recently purchased this camera and so far it has exceeded my expectations! The features are very high-tech and professional, there are so many settings for the user to choose from to get the best photo, takes great pictures, even at high zoom. Auto controls are easy for a beginner to use, but overall this camera would suit someone who is really serious about photography. Nikons are just really good cameras all around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video
11/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great camera..no problems with it,,recommend it ,,,i love this camera..my friends are all impressed with the quality of the photo's...thanks
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 12 for Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video

LOVE it

12/07/2011
By ,
Staten Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crisp, Clear, Nikon lens is so superior
Low light pics are 100% better than any other camera I have
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video
10/21/2011
By ,
Clifton Park, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great camera for the price. Like the rechargeable battery, longer lasting than AA or AAA. Great zoom and many modes to select. Like the movable display screen. Makes viewing easy especially outdoors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 14 for Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video

Love the camera.

11/01/2011
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only down side is I do not like the lens cap being attached to the neck strap. Awkward location.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Toledo, OH
Didn't find the lens cap to be an issue...
Posted 12/04/2011
I have this camera and LOVE it! I didn't connect my lens cap to the neck strap, I connected it to the little silver metal thing that the neck straps attaches to and it works just fine for me that way. There's enough room on the metal bar for both the lens cap cord and the neck strap cord. I do forget to take the lens cap off sometimes when I turn the camera on because it doesn't pop off on it's on but that's just a matter of me needing to get used to this camera's features.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video

Dont waste your money

12/23/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros:It really looks good,alot of bells and whistles and the zoom is super.i also love the pull out screens
cons:if you dont care about the end result this is good camera it wont even take good sports shots,cnet also said pics are soft (thats being nice),for the price and the name of the product you expected more.8out of 10 blurred.not very forgiving to beginners that might shake occasionally and doesnt want to play with different settings.Believe me there is a lot of settings to chose from but i dont think it beneficial.i finally settled to canon powershot 40 sx WOW.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Review 16 for Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video

Very nice for price

12/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera meets all my expectation and takes really good pictures of my kids ball games.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 17 for Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video

easy to use

03/12/2012
By ,
Rochelle,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very impressed with the quality and ease of use
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video

Buy something else.

10/19/2011
By ,
Southport, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The camers is great except for one feature............when zoomed to max in the Optical Zoom
mode, the pictures are blurry. It's a stablization problem, when the button is pressed "half way"
it never can seem to focus properly..............you hear this buzzing sound like it wants to focus,
but it never does. I purchased this camera to take close up wildlife pictures, my old Sony does better with a 15X optical zoom............glad i didn't sell the Sony.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-13points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Toledo, OH
Could it be a defective camera??
Posted 12/04/2011
I have and LOVE this camera and I have not experienced what you have with the fully extended zoom/stabilization problem. My photos are not blurry at all.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video
01/11/2012
By ,
Central Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I photograph birds in central Pennsylvania and have used a 12X Sony and most recently a Panasonic Lumix 18X. This Nikon 36X takes comparable quality pictures. The zoom is the reason I bought this model and I really like it so far. At full zoom I have trouble finding small birds but once the stabilizer kicks in all is well. I doubt I will use the movie mode much so I can't comment on it's performance.. Taking low light pictures is a problem but this was the case with my previous cameras. I approve of the control and function locations and the instruction disc should have me using the manual settings that may help with the lighting problem.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video

Disappointed

10/16/2011
By ,
Stony Point NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was disappointed in the general image quality of photos. Colors did not look realistic either. I had to remove the battery to turn it off after making adjustments to the exposure compensation. It would not go off even after the 3 minute time lapse. Even when using a tripod with the VR turned off images were still unsatisfactory. Will be returning camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-14points
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1 2 Next