Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%66 out of 70reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

So glad that I chose the 17 day diet!

04/21/2012
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am on day 6 of the 17 day diet (cycle 1) and I have already lost 4 1/2 lbs. My son is on day 5 and he has lost 7 lbs. This is a great diet if you love veggies, fruits, and lean meats. You CAN'T cheat on this diet or it will not work. You can't do it 75% of the time and expect to have results. The book is written in a simple, easy to follow format. It does not lecture you and it is not full of medical terms and statistics. It differs from Atkins in that the foods are easy to prepare and realistic for normal, everyday people. There are no fancy foods/meals that you have to prepare. This diet includes everyday foods that you can buy in your local Walmart. There are no expensive drinks or bars to buy. The only downside to this diet that I have found is that I have had a constant headache. The first 2 days were the hardest for me, but each day is better and I am thrilled with the weight loss so far. I am never hungry and at the end of the day, I feel great about my accomplishment. I am so thankful that I found this book!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

17 Day Diet Book

05/19/2011
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Much cheaper online than in store, almost $9.00 less. The book is straight forward as far as your food selection. I am on day 4 of cycle 2 and have lost 7.4 lbs. I have stuck to the diet to the tee and have exercised Mon-Fri for least 17 minutes, really about 30 minutes. Some of the food choices are hard to find but if you look around at all the local grocery stores, including Walmart, most are readily available. The hardest thing is the hot lemon water first thing in the morning, but who can't drink a cup of something yucky??? I also am not a water lover, but find that if I pour my 56 oz. in a pitcher each morning, it's gone by the end of the day. I love green tea, so that was already in place. The only part of the book I found off was telling you to eat you fruit no later than 2:00 and then having fruit in your evening snack menu? I set out to lose 20 lbs so I feel within by the end of the fourth 17 day cycles it is obtainable. Unlike Atkins you can't eat whatever kind of protein you want. It's all lean, low fat, and plenty to choose from. Unlike weight watchers all you have to count is your 2 fruits and your 2 probiotics (yogurt, cottage cheese, etc). This is not like Atkins, Weight Watchers, etc, it's just good eating habits.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Islamabad,Pak
Very helpful
Posted 05/21/2012
I really appreciate this book because it provides guidance to people about dieting. It contain all the information and duration for dieting. After reading this book people may really diet in appropriate manner without any health fear.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

This book delivers!

08/27/2011
By ,
St.Louis, Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are serious about losing some weight and are ready to ditch the junk food and pastries, then this healthy eating plan will work for you. Dr. Moreno tells us in an easy-to-read format how to rev up our body's metabolism in the first 17 days with lean protein, lots of different veggies, low sugar fruits, yogurt, and heart-friendly fats. Another key component is 8 glasses of water each day. I really believe this was a big factor in my weight loss. I lost 11 pounds in the first 13 days of the diet and everything I ate was good, nutritious food. He simplifies the plan even more by listing sample meals for the 17 day cycles, so if you don't have the time or feel comfortable in planning what to eat at each meal, it is all there for you. I have to admit that I was really skeptical when I started the diet, but I am a believer! The added bonus is that you know you are getting healthier each day. I am looking forward to the next cycles when I will add even more foods to my diet until there will be nothing off-limits except the large bag of potato chips and gallon of ice-cream in front of the tv... :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

Love the book

04/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this book. My husband and I have been on the diet for 15 days and he has already lost 14lbs and I have lost 9lbs. It is easy to follow and no weird foods to eat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

Great Jump Start

04/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been trying to lose a lot of weight for a long long time. I heard about this book because a couple of people I know lost about 20lbs in a month after following this diet. I decided to give it a try. I am on day 11 of the accelerate (first cycle) of the diet and I have lost almost 17lbs already. I can't tell you how much better I feel. I am eating all healthy foods, have more energy and am already fitting into smaller clothes!! It's far from easy during this first cycle, very limited food choices, mostly lean protein, fruits, veggies, yogurt/cottage cheese... but after losing so much weight initially I didn't want to stop. After the first 17 days you can add more of a variety which I am really looking forward to. Good Luck
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

AMAZING DIET!!!

06/23/2011
By ,
Green Bay, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am down 31lbs since Feb! If you are looking for something to help you lose weight this book is it!!!!!! You have to want to lose weight and follow the book and it will work!
It works it really works! Everything you eat and when you eat it is science. He really knows his stuff! Give it a chance you wont be sorry. I lost 4 pants sizes!! and I am happy as can be!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

Useful

05/24/2011
By ,
Lead, SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have recommended this book to a friend already and will again. I am using the weight loss plan and so far have lost 8 lbs. in 2 weeks. I feel great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

really works

04/15/2012
By ,
lebanon,mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not one to go on fad diets but I was at my wits end and heard from someone that they lost 35 lbs on this diet. I decided reluctantly to give it a try. The very first day I lost a lb. After one week I was down by 8lbs. It is so easy to follow and you don't need to ever go hungry, I look forward to the scales now and trust me I had been at a 2 month plateau before this. I am just in the first phase but if it works for me then I am sure it will work for anyone. Definatly worth the money if you want to drop some weight fast. 4 more friends have gone on this diet after seeing how well it works for me. I couldnt be more satisfied with a purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

Great Recipes, realistic advice!

04/14/2011
By ,
Cypress, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is wonderful. I have already prepared many of the recipes - taco salad, tzatziki veggie dip, turkey burgers, Greek omelet, and more - and have not yet been disappointed. I am amazed at how delicious everything is because it's all so healthy. Dr. M also gives little simple daily tips and tricks that could help anyone underweight, overweight or just right. I only had a couple pounds to lose when I purchased this book - which are long gone now, thank you very much - but mostly wanted some ideas to help keep my family healthy while also teaching my kids that eating right and responsibly can be tasty and fun. I couldn't be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

Works great

04/13/2011
By ,
Flint,MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I stated this diet, and lost 8 lbs in the first week.
It wasn't hard to stick to at first, but I had a tough time around day 6 or 7, but I soldiered on. It is all about being active and changing your eating habits, You eat fresh food instead of processed, and the book is full of tips. You go in 17 day cycles. You also learn that you can have the things you like as long as you eat it in moderation.
It is full of recipes, and even has ethnic versions. If you fall off, you just get right back on. I found that I did not crave sugar or carbs, while I was in the first phase, I just started to get a little tired of trying to figure out different ways to make chicken.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

Loving it so much

05/02/2011
By ,
dover, de
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really recommend this book to anyone who has a collection of dvd workouts and diet books collecting dust. I really love the way the information is given brief, simple and very effective. Lost 4 lbs in one week and just got thru reading section one only. You just have to have it! And I do a simple 30 minute workout, low impact due to the fact that the 17 minute workout DVD is SOLD out wherever it is being sold. But the diet still works...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

Good Diet Book

04/30/2011
By ,
Corydon, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As the book says, you can do anything for 17 days. I just started this and have lost a little over 3 pounds in 1 week. A friend has lost 14..she's in the second stage. And a friend of hers lost 30+. It's a very healthy, doable diet. The style of writing is very casual so you don't feel like you are being lectured about your weight. In fact he's very encouraging and funny at times. Give it a try...it might work for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

17 day diet

04/26/2011
By ,
circleville, ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works, my wife and I are on the second phase and Ihave lost 14 lbs. Great recipe ideas and more food than I can eat. Very easy to stick with the program, provided you have some willpower to stay away from fast food. You must cook and eat what Dr. Moreno tells you to and you will be surprised at how much better you will feel and look. Just Do It
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

Great Book

05/13/2011
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is amazing. I lost 8lbs in 7 days. If you follow it exactly you will get big results. So glad I purchased this book. Price was cheap and quick deliver to my home. Received in 2 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

The 17th Day Diet works!

05/03/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started this diet nine days ago and I have already lost 7 lbs. It is easy to follow and is safe. Nothing unrealistic is asked and this can be followed long term as a lifestyle change.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results
06/15/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is exactly what I was hoping for. I lost 5 pounds in the first week and I only had 10 pounds to lose overall. You have to stick to the plan exactly in order for it to really work, but if you do it really does work. I'm also a vegetarian so I subsitute fake meat for the meats suggested in the book and that works fine as well. I'm not much for fad diets, but I like this one. The book has some helpful recepies in the back, too, if you want to get creative.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

It really works.

01/20/2013
By ,
Beaufort, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 17 Day Diet is a very easy diet to follow. It really works. You only have to think "I can do anything for 17 days" and the next thing you know you are down to your desired weight. I had originally borrowed the book from a friend. She wanted her copy back so I bought one of my own for a reference. My mom wants me to get her a copy for her birthday present. If you've tried adkins and it worked for you but you couldn't stand not being able to eat fruit or dairy this is the diet for you.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

Great weight loss book

08/08/2011
By ,
fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This plan is easy. The food choices are greatly varied, so you can pick what you like. I am not a big fan of yogurt, but with the fruit am able to eat it. The diet is broken down into 4 sets of 17 days. To me that was good. I knew I could go 17 days. I will admit at times I feel hungry,but nothing I can't overcome.Lost 6 lbs the 1st week. Going on the second week now and I feel great. You also build up on the exercise too. I would reccomend this book.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

Can't Believe How Fast You Lose Weight!!!

05/01/2011
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished my first 17 Days on this diet. I've lost 10 pounds in 17 Days......Started phase 2 today for another 17 Days. Can't wait to see how many pounds I lose during this phase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

GREAT BOOK!

08/25/2011
By ,
north carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its only been a week since I started the 17 day diet and I have already lost 5 pounds and I am never hungry!! FINALLY something that works for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1 2 3 Next