Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Coleman Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

The Coleman instant tent, 8-person is Coleman's easiest tent to set up. In fact, this 14' x 8' instant tent can go from packed up to set up in just one minute. The secret is an innovative one-piece design with poles that are pre-attached to the Coleman family tent. This means there is really no assembly required and no parts to misplace.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation90%57 out of 63reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 91 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

I was not happy with this tent

08/08/2011
By ,
Maine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
this tent was harder to put up then a regular tent I didn't feel it was worth the money
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
then a regular tent?
Posted 04/24/2012
for 1 person 8man is more difficult to erect THAN a regular tent,with 2 people this tent goes up in 1/10th the time of conventional dome or cabin tent.in most cases setting up a 50lb. tent usually requires more than 1 person and the circumstances of why 1 person is setting up an 8-person tent alone isnt applicable to review.this "irregular" tent is a revolution!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Best Tent on the Market

08/23/2012
By ,
Lumberport, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Watched the video to see just how easy it was to set up this tent. My husband and I were both amazed and decided we had to buy this tent. We're both in our early 40's and have two toddlers ages 2 and 3, and so the easier it is to set up camp, the better! Well let me tell you, this tent is just as easy to set up as it shows in the video! My mom and step-dad were setting their tent up at the same time we started setting ours up. (They didn't have a Coleman Instant Tent). Our tent was up and we were putting our sleeping gear inside the tent, and they were still putting their poles through their tent. LOL. My mom was being sarcastic and telling us that we had a "senior citizen tent" LOL OK OK let her have her laugh :) The next night, we had a very bad thunderstorm with high winds and heavy downpours. I was worried our tent would be soaked, but it was not! There was a small puddle just inside the door, and at first I thought it had leaked, but soon found that someone didn't zip the bottom of the door completely and that's how the water got on the floor. There was no water anywhere else. The walls weren't wet or damp feeling at all. We didn't even have the tent staked down.. although I wouldn't advise that (our tent could have blown away), I just wanted to add that for a thorough review. I would have given the tent 5 stars for Meeting my Expectations, however, I was a little disappointed with the size. We had a queen size air mattress in the tent, and it literally took up half the tent and touched the walls at both the foot and head of the mattress. There was room enough I guess. We also had our 2 year old's sleep n play yard in the tent and there was still room enough to get in and out of the tent easily. I guess I just like LOTS of room. Would be nice if Coleman would make a 14' x 20' instant tent :) That's what it would take to meet my expectations, but other than that, this tent is AWESOME. Take down of the tent was just as easy once we figured out which direction to fold the poles. It's simply the reverse of the way you put it up. We collapsed the tent and folded the tent around the poles, and put it right back in the SAME bag it came out of without any problems at all. Once home from our camping trip, my mom decided she was going to set her tent up in the yard so she could sweep the floor out from our last camping trip. She tried to set it up without staking it first and it wouldn't work LOL She called my husband and asked "do you know where I can get one of those "Senior Citizens Tents"? LOL Looks like my mom is going to order a Coleman Instant Tent now! Who got the last laugh??
Thanks Coleman!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lumberport, WV
Posted 08/24/2012
I just wanted to add, that while we did not have any problems with the tent during the heavy thunderstorm we had while camping, that does not mean the tent is waterproof. I see there are a few reviews where people had leakage during rain. It could be that we were camped under a lot of trees? I'm not sure, but we're heading out for another camping trip next weekend. If we have rain, I'll be sure and return to enter my experience with our Coleman Instant Tent.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Great

09/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent is great, easy set up/take down. It is large and can stand up to the rain. The only thing I didn't like was the zipper to get into the tent. It took two hands to get the zipper going. We had rain and it did not leak..we did scotch gard it before going.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

This tent still needs improvement

06/19/2012
By ,
New York
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This tent goes up and comes down quickly, although not 1 minute, more like 5 minutes. My main complaint about this tent is water getting in. Last year when I bought this tent I had a few leaks which I corrected with a tarp. I just got back from a camping trip and had another problem with water in my tent. The front door must be closed perfectly and covered with the tarp or else water will pool up at the bottom of the door and leak in. This feat is very hard to accomplish from the inside and so leaks are inevitable. As noted before air circulation with the windows buttoned up and a tarp (you really really need a tarp) is non existent . I would hope that Coleman would improve this tent by designing a rain fly that keeps the water off the tent and away from the windows and door. This would eliminate the leaks through the tent and allow for ventilation during rains. I further feel that Coleman should realize that such a rain fly should be included. The rain fly that Coleman now offers is inadequate for this job and is a $40.00 option.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Great tent BUT NOT WATERPROOF

08/21/2013
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I borrowed this tent from my brother-in-law for a two-day music festival with outdoor camping. The tent was extremely easily to put up and take down, which is always lovely. It is sturdy. It slept three adults very comfortably, and could have easily housed four. BUT, we caught some bad weather with high winds and rain for about 2-3 hours. The tent was staked and didn't move an inch. HOWEVER, within thirty minutes of wet weather, water started to form inside the roof of the tent, and then the sides became completely soaked. Even after the rain stopped, we continued to have water dripping from the top of the tent and EVERYTHING inside got soaked. That being said-- I will continue to use this tent because of how large, sturdy, and convenient it is, BUT I will bring a tarp or two to cover the roof and sides in case of rain. I never leave reviews on items, but I just want to warn future purchasers to not expect this tent to be waterproof and to bring tarps or extra cover in case of rain. Everything will get soaked. Nonetheless, it is a great tent.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Valley Station
Waterproof
Posted 12/27/2013
Most tents claim to be waterproof, but I've never bought a truly waterproof tent. However, they do sell a treatment that comes in a spray can for waterproof tents that helps. Nikwax Tent and Gear Solarproof Waterproofing Spray. I hope this helps!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

BEST TENT...HANDS DOWN!

09/30/2013
By ,
Austin, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this tent, after ALOT of research, because we had returned a different brand of tent when it collapsed on top of us at 4am(25 mph wind) and broke a fiberglass rod.
THIS TENT IS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! The IMMEDIATE value comes along with the ease of putting it up. From taking it out of the bag to putting in the last stake...10 minutes! This was only the 2nd time we have erected a tent and we felt like BOSSES!
We were camping on the Texas coast...and we DID upgrade to bigger stakes, but this tent withstood 35 mph winds like a CHAMP, all night long the 1st night. (wind tapered off after that)The second night, it rained cats and dogs! NOT ONE WET SPOT IN THE TENT! We were IMPRESSED!
Two things I could say would make this tent BETTER...an electric cord port.(BUT...I wouldnt trade water resistance!) and when you unzip the windows (I didnt mention there are PLENTY of windows for good air circulation!) there arent any ties to secure them so that they dont flap in the wind all night.I will buy clips to secure these before we head out again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Good tent - be careful of dimensions however

12/02/2013
By ,
Houston
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good tent and is worth the money. I personally purchased this tent to replace an exact similar tent (so I was thinking) as a part that broke could not be replaced. This part broke because of improper setup and was entirely my fault :( - yes I broke it....
Anyway, be aware that Coleman had 2 sizes - a 12x8 and a 12x9 and they are both marketed as "8 person instant tent". I originally had a 12x9. I bought a 12x8 (I did not know) instead and was disappointed strictly from the standpoint that two queen beds no longer fit side by side towards the rear of the tent. This is a completely personal preference.
My solution: I used the new tent part to fix the old tent. So I am back in business. Please be aware of this "size" change. I believe the older 8 person tents used to be 12x9 and now they are 12x8. Minor inconvenience? For me it was.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Delived everything promised and more !

09/15/2013
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did my homework, read every review, studied all brands, and choose the Coleman as they have a history of quality products. I paid a few $$$ more ordering from Walmart because I believed IF there was a problem I could get it resolved quickly. By myself it took about 5 minutes first time setting it up. I went Ludington State Park, Michigan, which is all sugar sand, the stakes held fine. I got 2 cans of water repellent and drowned the whole tent and rain fly for extra insurance. First night it stormed with 30mph winds. NO LEAKS or problems the whole week I was there. For all of the negative reviews I have read I offer this... It is a $200.00 Tent, not a nuclear storm shelter, nor the Holiday Inn.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

EXCELLENT, 2nd to none!

06/01/2011
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not written a review until now b/c I wanted to wait and see how it performed after multiple uses. I can ASSURE you this tent is 5 stars and then some. It literally goes up in less than a minute. You set it on the ground, let it fall open, slide out the poles, slide up the poles and voila, you are done! It goes down just as easy. As far as rain, we have endured a HEAVY rain in the mountains with wind and we did not have a drop. Though it does not have a rain fly, all of the seams are taped and so nothing can get through. You will not regret buying this AT ALL. As parents of 3 children, the need to get our site set up and get on to the fun was imperative when we started camping. We get to our site, find people trying to get their tents up, get unloaded, get our tent up and the rest of our site before others even get their tent finished. Every single time we have gone out we get multiple campers stop by to inquire about the tent because they see how easy we have it ;) If you are thinking about camping and worrying it will be too much work, stop thinking about it, buy this tent and start enjoying!! Coleman definitely has a winner with this tent!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+110points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

One great tent to own

06/12/2011
By ,
Anoka MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did my homework before buying this tent. I needed a tent I could set up rather quickly. I wanted quality as well as convience. I found both in this product. I am not sure if others know but there is a difference in the instant 8 over the instant 9. One is 14 X 8 the other is 14 x 10. The 14 x 10 has 2 doors while the 14 x 8 has the one T door. For myself, the 14 x 8 is perfect. I am able to set up and tear down this tent by myself. I have tested it for rain and perfect, no leaks at all. I do quite a bit of camping since I am retired. Family as well as backpacking. This tent is excellent for family camping. The last time I took my granddaughter camping before I could get my then current tent up it began to rain. A nice tent but took some time to totally have set up. That was a problem indeed. That problem will not be one ever again with this great tent. Coleman, I give you a 5 for this design.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

best tent ever

03/07/2011
By ,
haverhill ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we had bought this tent last year and i have to say its the best tent i have ever owned
we open this tent at the campground and even without previous experience we had this set up in about 2 minutes
this tent had enough room for our two queen size air beds plus lots of extra room
if you want to make camping much more enjoyable buy this tent
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+115points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Recommended

04/09/2014
By ,
Washington State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camping 4-6 times a year in the Pacific Peninsula Washington. (no leak)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

This tent is awesome!

04/07/2014
By ,
Humble, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First time using this tent the weather turned and my kids and I stayed dry during the downpour. I love this tent!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Does what it says on the tin.

03/28/2014
By ,
Greensburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what we were looking for and it went up in a little more than a minute between two adults the very first time. It came with a small hole at the peak of the roof, and one of the loops used for the divider was missing. Customer service was awesome about replacing the tent. One star off for expectations as it was not perfect out of the box and one off for durability due to the hole. Otherwise, once the new one gets here, it's very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Best tent yet

03/28/2014
By ,
Central Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set tent up in garage for a trial run. We LOVE it, and the dogs love it too. Ordered rainfly to go with it. So excited for summer camping. Just buy it and go have fun.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

No problem, even in the dark!

03/16/2014
By ,
Cuba, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used this tent for the first time this weekend. We arrived at our campsite after dark, and this tent was so easy to set up. Literally a total of 10 clicks to pull out the extensions of the poles and it was done. Tons of room inside, even after putting up our queen size air mattress for all of our other stuff. Zippers all seem heavy duty, with a double overlap on the zipper on the entrance door. Temperature went down to 38 degrees and we had a small heater plugged in and it stayed nice and toasty. Great deal for the money!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

An exceptional product.

03/25/2014
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I sat it up outside in our yard and the wind started blowing about 40 mph. It held up very well and when it rained, there were no leaks. It is well built and will serve our needs for many years. Thank you!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

BEST tent ever !!!

04/08/2011
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top quality. One person will set up and take down it. We love this tent. Tent keeps warmth, while using heater and outside is only 41F.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per month
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Best instant tent

03/27/2014
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best camping tent ever. Easy and very quick to set up just as described.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

An Outstanding Tent! GREAT Design and Top Quality!

03/22/2011
By ,
Marietta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for something that sets up fast specifically and I have always liked Coleman products. With gear like this you will never spend an hour or two setting up when you arrive at camp again. When I arrive I want to set up and go and this is not only fast but I love the tent just on its own for all other features. This tent literally sets up in 1 minute. I have set it up alone in less than 5. Take down is almost as easy and far easier than any tent I have ever owned. It is a great design all around, extremely well made. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TENT!!! It is worth every penny!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1 2 3 Next