Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Coleman Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

The Coleman instant tent, 8-person is Coleman's easiest tent to set up. In fact, this 14' x 8' instant tent can go from packed up to set up in just one minute. The secret is an innovative one-piece design with poles that are pre-attached to the Coleman family tent. This means there is really no assembly required and no parts to misplace.
Average Customer Rating:
4.437 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation90%64 out of 71reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 102 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent
This review is fromColeman 8 Person Double Hub Instant Cabin Tent.

Fast set up.

09/22/2014
By ,
Iowa, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally a tent that is quick to put up and bring down. It's pretty roomy and although I probably would not want to actually put 8 people in there, you could squeeze them in. But in reality this would be great for a family of 4 and all their junk - let's just be honest! It has two "rooms" or at least a divider that you can make the large space into two areas. And it's kind of long and skinny shaped- rather than a large square.
We watched a video on youtube on how to put the tent up and bring it down before doing it so we didn't have to read directions and that was pretty much all we needed to do, it was very simple. I would have had difficulty doing it alone though because I am very short. I needed someone taller like my husband to help in all actuality. Really he could have just done it without me I guess. But with two people it goes faster because you can work from opposite sides. Packing it up is simple too, but takes slightly longer because you have to get it back in the bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Best tent I've ever had!

08/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I love this tent! It takes (realistically) about 5 minutes to set up or take down - without wind a single person could do this on his or her own. (With wind, I suggest getting better stakes.) We didn't choose to buy the rain fly, but this tent stood up to rain storms pretty well. It's huge, perfect for glamping, but collapses down to fit in my hatchback very nicely. The tent fits our queen sized inflatable mattress, two chairs and a little table (we had to eat inside during one of the rain storms) pretty comfortably. This tent has been on about 5 camping trips with us (one trip was a 2 week long, 4 location camping road trip) and it's held up very well.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Best tent I have ever purchased

06/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely love this tent! I have had many tents in my life and this was the best yet. We took it out of the bag, looked over the legs to see which ones extend, which don't. My husband grabbed an opposite corner from me, extended out the legs and up it went... probably took us a whole 5-10 minutes because it was our first time setup.
This is the right tent if its 2 of you and you want comfort and room to move. 2 queen air mattresses in this tent and you have very little walk room. I can see a twin and a queen in this and not have to worry about tripping over beds.
It was breezy first time camping out, winds around 15mph and it was not even noticeable in the tent.
I read a review about not having ties to hold the windows when unzipped. this tent was designed to have a "pocket" between the screen and the window flap for it to roll down and rest in between.
This tent also had to zipped pockets on the ceiling so you can bring in electrical cords into the tent (I don't remember reading that in the description) so I was tickled pink over that!
I did buy the rainfly (found one on amazon for a good price) only because I don't like bright sun at 7am (extra layer, means a little more shading) and NO TENT is waterproof, no matter what it says. That is about impossible.. water resistant yes, not waterproof.. so if it rained, I wanted the extra protection. Also helps keep the tent a little cleaner when it has that extra layer of protection. I would recommend this tent to anyone!
Tear down was just as fast, and yes, we did get it to fit back in the original bag! My husband bet me we would not be able to get it in there. :) So he owes me a dinner yet. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Simplicity at its finest

05/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to setup and just as easy to take down. Brilliant work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Excellent Product

04/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are senior citizens and we were able to set up our very first pop up tent in minutes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Easy to set up and take down

04/23/2014
By ,
Columbus, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for Bonnaroo, so I haven't camped in it yet. I'll update after the festival to reflect camping in it.
I chose this tent because it said it could be set up in 1 minute. It is not too far off. I have set it up twice. The first time, my husband and I did it together. From unboxing to complete set up was about 4 minutes. (But most of that was unpackaging.) The second time, I set it up by myself. That took about 10 minutes. (I do not recommend doing this without assistance.)
The inside is very roomy, and the windows are really big, and when they're all open, its roomy and breezy in there. The door goes from floor to ceiling on one end of the tent. There are some little pockets to hold stuff sewn to the inside. It comes with a "wall" to divide it in to two rooms, but I think its a little unnecessary.
Its heavy. Probably 30-40 lbs. The stakes that come with it are sort of flimsy and a little short, so I don't think they'd hold up on a windy day. I bought some heavy duty 9 inch stakes.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

SMALL

04/19/2014
By ,
brooklyn ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
first time camping! we went to the KOA poconos. It snowed, and rained on us so we had to buy a heater. The tent perspires. at first i thought it was rain coming in but it wasnt. It holds well it was very windy, and the snow wasnt bad but the rain was and not one leak. We DID NOT HAVE THE RAINFLY! NO WATER GOT IN. You have to be gentle men, my husband thought he had to be hercules and broke the right pole from the fabric. {thinking about taking it back to small} It was 4 of us my husband is 6 5 im 5 6 we had 2 five yr olds. we used 2 queen matteress we were right on top of each other. we fit only two bags in there. and small heater, yes its camping but we were staying a week, the quality is top of the line, but we need more space and the rainfly should come with it. ($50 by itself) so the acual tent cost $250. THEY NEED TO FIX THE DOOR RAIN COMES IN WHEN U OPEN IT, HORRIBLE WHEN U SETTING UP IN THE RAIN BUT IT WAS QUICK SET UP, THE TENT DIDNT EVEN GET WET IN THE INSIDE WHILE WE SET IT UP. IT GOT WET WHEN WE HAD TO OPEN THE DOOR TO SET UP THE AIREMATTRESS AND PUT THE BAG INSIDE. WE ONLY SLEPT IN IT ONE NIGHT TO COLD EVEN WITH HEATER... WE STOOD 5 NIGHTS
I PUT IT TOGETHER BY MYSELF WITH NO PROBLEM CARRIED IT UP AND DOWN TWO FLIGHTS NO PROBLEM IM 26 AND NOT IN GOOD SHAPE!!!!!!!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Not for areas with wind.

04/18/2014
By ,
Central Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tent 1/24/14. I used it the 1st weekend and was very happy. The next month I used it and a corner roof pole button broke causing difficulty taking it down. It was windy (as usual for Texas) and I had problems getting it set up. I called the company and was told the warranty was no good due to natural causes. It cost more for shipping than the pole. So I ordered a replacement pole. The third time I put it up I used duct tape to keep the prior roof pole extended. The wind kicked up again that weekend and 2 more poles malfunctioned making it impossible to pack away. I will buy the replacement poles fix the tent and hopefully sell it. I am extremely active with Boy Scouts of America which means I camp 2-3 times a month. This tent is the correct size the vents on top are nice. It would be a good year round tent as long as there is no wind. I won't buy another Coleman tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Recommended

04/09/2014
By ,
Washington State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camping 4-6 times a year in the Pacific Peninsula Washington. (no leak)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

This tent is awesome!

04/07/2014
By ,
Humble, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First time using this tent the weather turned and my kids and I stayed dry during the downpour. I love this tent!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Does what it says on the tin.

03/28/2014
By ,
Greensburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what we were looking for and it went up in a little more than a minute between two adults the very first time. It came with a small hole at the peak of the roof, and one of the loops used for the divider was missing. Customer service was awesome about replacing the tent. One star off for expectations as it was not perfect out of the box and one off for durability due to the hole. Otherwise, once the new one gets here, it's very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Best tent yet

03/28/2014
By ,
Central Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set tent up in garage for a trial run. We LOVE it, and the dogs love it too. Ordered rainfly to go with it. So excited for summer camping. Just buy it and go have fun.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Best instant tent

03/27/2014
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best camping tent ever. Easy and very quick to set up just as described.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

An exceptional product.

03/25/2014
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I sat it up outside in our yard and the wind started blowing about 40 mph. It held up very well and when it rained, there were no leaks. It is well built and will serve our needs for many years. Thank you!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Haven't used is as yet

03/18/2014
By ,
Sumter, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because a friend on mine brought a 6 person version of this on a hunting trip back in October 2013. I was impressed with his, and expect similar results with mine. The only complaint I have, so far, is that the rainfly did not come as part of the tent and had to be ordered as a separate order.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Great instant tent

03/17/2014
By ,
Rock hill, sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used ours this weekend for the first time. We actually did not read the directions just to see if it was as easy as the Coleman site claims. It was very easy! Just unpack , pull poles and tent is up. Took us less than a minute to set up and take down. A great investment!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

No problem, even in the dark!

03/16/2014
By ,
Cuba, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used this tent for the first time this weekend. We arrived at our campsite after dark, and this tent was so easy to set up. Literally a total of 10 clicks to pull out the extensions of the poles and it was done. Tons of room inside, even after putting up our queen size air mattress for all of our other stuff. Zippers all seem heavy duty, with a double overlap on the zipper on the entrance door. Temperature went down to 38 degrees and we had a small heater plugged in and it stayed nice and toasty. Great deal for the money!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

FANTASTIC

03/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE BEST!!! HANDS DOWN. GET OUT AND GET ONE RIGHT NOW. YOU WONT BE SORRY.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

very ez. to set up.

03/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purched this tent on 02/21/2014 . On 03/08/2014 after only useing it only three times one of the bolts in the legs at the point of piviot broke. My family liked the tent very well so did I . Just wish it was a little more durable. Went though a rain storm with no leeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman 8 Person Instant Cabin Tent

Nice product

02/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bigger than we thought! Like the Coleman brand. ... no poles to mess with!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next