Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Coleman Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

The Coleman Instant 6 Cabin Tent makes the task of putting up the camping tent a breeze. This 6-person tent requires no assembly because the poles are pre-attached to the tent. The Coleman instant tent is made of fabric two times thicker than standard tent fabric. With a fully tapped tent seam, this Coleman instant tent sets up in less than 60 seconds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.345 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation92%77 out of 84reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 101 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent
This review is fromColeman Instant Cabin Tent, 6 Person.

Great tent for the price

02/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love everything about it , but it needs a power outlet
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Sturdy and easy

08/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was able to set it up by my self. Very roomy, big windows. The only thing that made me consider the Ozark trails version was the ground level vent.
Great cabin style tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Fantastic Value and Easy Setup

08/12/2014
By ,
Spring City, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I previously had an Ozark Trail 8 person tent but wanted to downsize. This tent is great for two people although as others have said, 6 people is a stretch.
I went camping with my new tent two weekends in a row. I had a queen size inflatable mattress which left a good amount of room for supplies. The key is the height of this tent as you can stand in it and plenty of ventilation. Along with the window screens there ventilation areas along the ground as wall as expandable vents in the roof. It rained two nights in a row and despite not having any rain canopy the tent stayed dry inside.
Setup literally took a minute and a half once i realized i had to extend the poles until they clicked. Taking it down was not as easy and I would recommend unzipping the window flaps to allow air to escape to tightly pack it back in the carry bad.
This is a great value for anyone who enjoys camping and doesn't want to spend a half hour setting up a tent. You literally lay the ground cover, unpack, extend the legs and stake it down and you are setup and ready to enjoy your camping trip.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Great tent for families beginning to camp.

08/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is definitely a great buy! It really is a tent that assembles in four clicks, which is ideal when you have three boys running around excited to start their camping adventure. We bought the tent online two weeks ago and have already used it at three campsites. Packing it up is as easy as assembling it, but make sure to unzip the windows to roll it up and pack away.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Coleman 6-person Instant Tent - Best Tent Ever.

08/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent is excellent. I had the larger version and downsized after 5 years. This tent goes up in less than a minute as advertised. It rained the first night I had it up and was completely dry inside. I would recommend the extra fly in case you need to get in or out during rain.
Takedown was just as easy as setup. The bag is big enough to easily fit the tent in once you open and then try to re-pack the tent.
I would consider this the best tent I have ever had and I have been a Scout leader camping for 14 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Not suitable for RAIN!

08/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After reading all the reviews on here about this tent, I felt pretty good about the possibilities. I though, "Nah," people must be kidding about the water coming in the tent. It is absolutely true. My first night in the tent, it poured down rain. Then I felt rain come in from the very top, plus rain was coming through the window seams. Also, there was a hole in my brand new tent, so I took the tent back to Walmart, no questions asked. Which the hole let less rain in than the top. I was so hoping that this would be a good tent for the family. I had one of the worst nights of my life. Good thing I was on a cot, but it still pooled up on the bottom, and dripped onto my cot. DO NOT BUY THIS TENT. Even with the rain fly, I doubt the windows will keep you dry. Setup and take down are easy, other than that this is a horrible tent. Buy at own risk, you may just have a very long night.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Good but small and leaks

07/08/2014
By ,
Pinetop, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is smaller than I anticipated. For a 6 person tent they must all be tiny persons. Two queen mattresses pretty much take up the whole floor. Buy the optional rain fly direct from Coleman and use a tarp over the top until Coleman finally ships yours. The roof vents are a nice touch in warm weather but leak when it rains. But it goes up and down really quickly and stores in the provided bag. To compress out all the air for storage, leave the roof vents open and the zipper across the bottom of the door unzipped. The vertical zipper has a problem making it around the upper corner of the door if the tent is securely anchored. Try to use the door with just opening the bottom zipper and using the vertical to just below the upper corner.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Great for moving camp

06/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the tent for a weeklong wagon train trek in the North Dakota prairie. The tent passed with flying colors. Set up, take down was wonderful. We had a driving rain storm and the only water was that driven in through the top vent that faced the storm. I believe several of my fellow campers will be purchasing this tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

good tent

06/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the ventilation, color ,and floor layout.
Will test it in the rain and wind.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Size of tent

05/27/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We love this tent. Was easy to set up and yes in 1 minute or less but when they say it is a 6 person tent, they must be talking about little people. When you get a blow up mattress in there, no way 6 people could sleep in it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Excellent

05/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use seems to be built well excellent delivery
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Very easy to set up and take down

04/07/2014
By ,
Phoenix AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up and take down This is the best tent I have ever had! Love it for the lazy days at the Lake
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Don't Hesitate

03/28/2014
By ,
Central Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic tent. Ordered rainfly to go with it. Order this tent and go have fun.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PA
rain fly
Posted 04/03/2014
Where did you purchase the rainfly from? If you got it from walmart can you post the item number? I could only find it on colemans website.
THANKS!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Easy Setup- Nice Tent

03/15/2014
By ,
Frisco,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent was used over the weekend. Setup was a snap. I had myself and my two boys in the tent. We could have easily fit two more people in the tent. Very roomy. The tent also has zippered pouches inside for misc items. Furthermore the zip down panels make for easy ventilation and air flow. The tent also has an overhead clip for a lantern. If you are looking for an easy setup, nice tent, this is the one to buy
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Great Price and Easy Setup

03/06/2014
By ,
Ft Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great priced tent here at Walmart. Cheaper then anywhere else and free shipping. It was so simple to put up. I did it alone. It is very roomy which we were lookimg for. We wanted to have space in it to put ALL our stuf. You can spread out in it and and be comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Great tent for family of 5

02/19/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to set up, great storage bag, is light weight, make sure to purchase a rain fly since this tent does not have one
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Very much an Instant Tent!!

11/15/2013
By ,
Chandler AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is definitely an Instant Tent. We set it up at midnight when we got to the site but make sure you get 2 if you have more 2 people sleeping in it. There were 2 adults and 1 medium size dog and only reason we had enough room is we slept on cots and there was storage under the cots. You can fit 6 people if they are about 3-4' tall but no way 3 or more adults will fit in the tent unless you like being "VERY VERY" cozy. My experience with 6 person tents was anticipated already as in this case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Wonderful family tent with one drawback.

11/07/2013
By ,
Lake Mary, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this tent in July of 2012. I took my 2 kids, ages 9 and 14, camping for their first time in Gatlinburg, TN for 5 days. My sister lives about 2 hours away and I had borrowed her tent and some other camping gear for the trip. Murphy's Law, or just my life, it poured from the day we arrived in Gatlinburg, till the day we left. My sisters old Ozark tent leaked so bad the first night that everything in the tent got soaked, including us, our pillows, sleeping bags, clothes bags, shoes. The Ozark air mattresses she let me borrow all had holes, so we ended up sleeping in 1 inch of water by the morning. Great first camping experience for my kids. Yay.
So, the next day I head in to the local WalMart. I had to buy everything new and chose this Coleman tent for a few reasons. First, it's size, cost and the ease of set up. Second, I spent my childhood camping with my family of 7 in a thick canvas 10 person Coleman tent. My dad spent hours waterproofing that huge tent, but that thing was a beast. It withstood a tornado in Illinois, so I was familiar with the brand. I know Coleman makes quality products, Ozark may be cheaper, but I have found, you get what you pay for with their products.
So with this tent, the set up was as easy as stated. My daughter and I were able to put it up in less than 5 minutes. My son and daughter could have done it. I would say its a 4 person tent, not 6, especially with air mattresses or any bags. I liked the interior size, I am 5' 9" and my 14 year old daughter is 5' 8", my son is only 4 ft., but it didn't feel cramped at all, and it was tall and I didn't have be constantly bent over trying to get dressed, or put my shoes on, or straighten up the beds in the morning, like with typical sloping dome tents.
I was a little worried because, as I said, it was raining when I took it out of the box, it was raining when we put it up, and we had 4 more days to camp, so I could not waterproof it, and it rained the whole time, pretty much non-stop from sunup to sundown, with maybe a total of 12 hours when it would slow to a drizzle that was spread out over the 4 days. Otherwise, it was raining. Two out of the four other nights we camped, we had bad thunderstorms, and then it was pouring with high winds for several hours, to the point my kids were a little scarred and I thought we may need to make a run for the car and motel. Needless to say, this tent with no waterproofing, stayed relatively dry. Yes, the weird uncovered air vents at the top leaked, as the other reviews have said, so the next morning we just staked a blue tarp over the top to keep the rain out there, which worked great. What I can say after that is the seams leaked a little, and there was condensation, as you always have if there is any moisture and a temperature difference between night and day, but after the first night, we stayed relatively dry and comfortable.
The one thing I DO NOT like about this tent is storing it. When we broke camp to leave Gatlinburg, it was still raining. The tent was easy enough to get down, but getting it wrapped up and small enough to fit in back in the bag was almost impossible. I was really hoping this was just due to the rain, and maybe my frustration, but when we back to my sisters, I opened the tent to let it completely dry out. It was just as difficult at my sisters to try to get it small enough to fit in the bag, but I managed, and packed it back up to head home to FL.
A tip for other's with leak problems, ALL tents leak, somehow, somewhere, someday, they do, either out of the box or eventually. It is so worth the $5 to get the Coleman Seam Sealer and I bought 2 cans of Silicone Water-Guard spray for about $4 each all at Walmart, and when we got home to Florida, I treated the tent. I let it cure for 3 days and then went to pack it back up. This tent does not fit well in the bag. Not matter how I tried to follow the directions, or roll it, fold it, flatten it, etc... I could just barely get it small enough to fit back in the bag and every time I do, I worry that the tent is going to be damaged due to how tight the bag is between the top pole lock and end of the poles, of which there is a warning in the instructions. I feel If you have to put a warning not to store the tent to tightly, then you already know your bad is too small! Make a larger storage bag!
Other than that, the tent is decent quality for the price, and with a little sealing, I think it will last my family for quite a few years.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Coleman 6 Man Instant tent

10/29/2013
By ,
Dallas TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 10x14 8-man tent(Colman Instant tent) is nice and big---this 6 man 10x9 tent I bought is not really a 6-man tent----maybe they spelled it incorrectly 6-mice tent. It is a little small but ok if you go camping for two nights and only use it as a place to sleep!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman 6-person Instant Cabin Tent

Great Purchase

10/15/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coleman 6 person tent was wonderful. It did exactly go up in just less than 5 minutes.
It was tall so we could stand in it. Lots of extra pockets inside near exit where one can put their car keys, phone, etc... Just great! We loved it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next