Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail Men's Tyrell Hiking Boots

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail Men's Tyrell Hiking Boots

Average Customer Rating:
3.303 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
34
Customer Recommendation64%70 out of 109reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
34
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ozark Trail Men's Tyrell Hiking Boots

Great boot for $20

12/04/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a low priced hiking boot and found it at Walmart. Most leather hiking boots are well over $100, this boot looks and feels the same. Great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Ozark Trail Men's Tyrell Hiking Boots

junkiest "hiking boot" ever purchased

06/27/2011
By ,
granbury, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought these for a week long camp in oklahoma on a saturday. By wednesday (4 days later) both heels had collapsed. on thursday one of the shoes split open on the bottom. friday afternoon the other one did the same thing. These are not built for any type of hiking whatsoever. strongly recommend that you spend 80 to 90 dollars and get a quality hiking boot.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for Ozark Trail Men's Tyrell Hiking Boots

Garbage

10/28/2012
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
These Shoes are Garbage wore them for 10 days and they started to fall apart on the inside .the lining that is glued under the thin insole separated from the hollow sole.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Ozark Trail Men's Tyrell Hiking Boots

Dissapointed, unsatisfied customer

03/18/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had these hiking boots for less than a month, and the heels are falling apart! Not acceptable. My heals started hurting so I took a boot off, peeled back the insole, and discovered that the heel was a collapsing, empty gridword of rubber! The insole hardly compensated for the pressure of simple walking, much less the labor of hiking or anything else.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 5 for Ozark Trail Men's Tyrell Hiking Boots

Great value, but could easily be improved

06/01/2011
By ,
Owego, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is hard to find shoes in the "hiker" style like this nowadays that aren't full-on hiking boots.
These shoes are incredibly comfortable, and I buy them every few months, as the last time I tried spending extra on shoes, I paid more than double the price and only got an extra month or two.
My current pair is degrading faster than previous pairs unfortunately. The shoes have three main deficiencies:
1) As others have said, the laces tend to come untied. I fixed this with some DIY paracord laces that I swap from pair to pair.
2) The rear fabric gets torn up, the typical failure mode of these shoes. However, almost no shoe I have ever worn has done much better in this regard, even my fancy composite-toe Hush Puppies ESD safety shoes. Improving my lacing technique (lock lacing) has helped this greatly.
3) The sole has air chambers inside - initially this improves comfort, but there are decorative grooves in the sole (nonfunctional - on the sides far away from the treads) that provide early failure points. My current pair has failed far earlier than normal here. Once the air chamber has ruptured like this, the sole provides far less support and tends to collapse. Signs that this has happened are a "hissing" sound with every step and your feet getting soaked from below if you step in a puddle. I'm hoping that some Shoe Goo can fix this issue, and on future pairs, prevent it by filling in the decorative grooves.
So yes - "out of the box" these shoes are fairly dismal, but most if not all of their problems can be fixed economically, and for far less than the price difference between them and shoes that don't need fixes.
If I am able to edit the review later, I will post a photo of the typical sole failure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+41points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Owego, NY
Update
Posted 09/14/2011
So far, any attempt to reinforce the sides of the soles has failed. It turns out the flaw is more fundamental.
Instead of the soles being a hollow rubber chamber, it seems that they are hollow, and the top of the chamber is NOT rubber, but some sort of cardboard material immediately below the cushion. Once this cardboard material wears or comes separated from the side of the shoe - game over, the soles rapidly collapse.
There seems to be no easy way to fix this. It is impossible to lift up the cardboard to fill the hollow area with any material without destroying it. I am now trying to find an alternative to this shoe.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Ozark Trail Men's Tyrell Hiking Boots

Great !!

03/14/2011
By ,
Upstate NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these for my husband 3 months ago. He assumed I paid a lot more for them and thinks they are great boots. He's worn them 3- 4 times a week for many hours at time and is very pleased. I am back to buy another pair for my son - and I am still not telling them I only paid $20!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 7 for Ozark Trail Men's Tyrell Hiking Boots

Excellent value

03/06/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought a pair of these several years ago in advance of a hiking trip. They have been very comfortable and have held up very well. I don't understand how people would spend so much more for what doesn't have to be expensive. I only take these out periodically, but probably several hundred days total over the past few years. And only recently has the waterproofing stopped working. While I know I can get special spray for that, at this price, I'm going to pull out my American card, be lazy with it, and just give them away and buy a new pair. At $20, why not?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Review 8 for Ozark Trail Men's Tyrell Hiking Boots

I spent $20 and got a shoe that isn't worth $5

06/27/2012
By ,
Kewanee, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm working in large fields in the midwest that are overgrown with grass, weeds, and vegetation. My old Columbia boots wore out and since I knew my job was going to take a toll on any boot I wore I opted for the cheapest thing I could find. Unfortunately, it was these. After only 3 days here is what I've found: The rubber on the bottom of the shoe is almost entirely superficial. Small twigs regularly poke right through the sole and lodge there. You can imagine just how wonderful that feels. There is zero cushioning in this shoe and I mean zero. The tongue is too short and is made out of squishy material so the laces ride up and untie even if they're in double knots. Heat goes into the boot, but it does not come out, which I suppose could be construed as a positive in cold climates. All in all I'd say that these "boots" are better off as kindling for your camp fire than wearing to get to your campsite.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Ozark Trail Men's Tyrell Hiking Boots

Don´t buy this product

03/14/2011
By ,
Miami
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The sole of the shoe took off in less than two months. The glue that produced very bad
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Shoe breaks down
Posted 03/21/2012
I bought these shoes for the price. They broke down in less than 2 months. I walk a lot and expecet a shoe to at least take the distances I walk every day. The left shoe has collapsed in the back heel area and the right as well. The soles crack accross the ball of the toe area and wear out quickly.
0points
Customer Avatar
augusta ga
not satisfied at all
Posted 12/24/2011
i buy a pair of these boots every november as i have for the last 10 yrs they usually last till june/july of the next year this year i bought a pair @6-7th of nov. on the 15th of december the arch support stabbed me in the foot i took my boot off and the steel arch support came out with my foot.. i know im hard on shoes but come on for ten yrs they last just fine and this year they fall apart almost immediately.. think they maybe trading quality for material cost was wondering why they were $10 cheaper this year very disappointed
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for Ozark Trail Men's Tyrell Hiking Boots

Heel-Cup / Insole Issues

09/26/2011
By ,
Juneau, AK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I wore these boots for a couple of days and stopped for awhile because the left one felt odd - I assumed I just needed to tighten the laces. I used them again later and realized the left book's heel-cup had collapsed in on one side. Some pieces of cardboard stuffed into the void helped, but then the right boot's heel-cup is now failing down the center.
My everyday sneekers from Costco cost a bit less than these boots, and they've held up quite well. I plan on taking these boots back to Wal-Mart, although I don't have the receipt anymore. Hopefully someone at Wal-Mart will read this and forward it to Ozark Trail.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 01/01/2012
I too had the same issue with 3 different pairs of these. You get what you pay for I guess....after the 3rd pair I just took my $20 and went to a work boot store and bought some CAT boots and they have held up fine, but cost $95
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Ozark Trail Men's Tyrell Hiking Boots

Terrible hiking shoes

01/22/2012
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got two pair of these hiking shoes, which felt fine at first but kept hurting my feet. I felt inside under the insoles and there was basically nothing there except holes! These were causing midsoles to collapse! I push my thumbnail under the insoles, and feel it through the bottom outsoles of the shoes! Thank goodness I didn't step a nail or anything else dangerous, as it would have gone right through the soles!
The bottom line is that there is nothing under the insoles for my feet to set on, except air.
The shoes are totally worthess. I'm taking them back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 12 for Ozark Trail Men's Tyrell Hiking Boots

Terrible for what they are designed for.

07/08/2011
By ,
San Jose, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought these shoes for a hiking trip I was taking in June. I wore them the week before my trip and I thought they were good, but I was walking on normal ground. When I went on my trip, the first trail I took, which was a very easy, very little ascent or descent, the insoles and reinforcing bar under the insoles ripped apart from the rest of the shoe. I had them for a total of 2 weeks and couldn't use them for what they were intended for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 13 for Ozark Trail Men's Tyrell Hiking Boots

Cheap, but no value

03/08/2013
By ,
Santa Clara, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Horrible pair I ever owned
1)Lace comes loose every 15-20 mins, you will spend most of your time on trail tying laces
2)After couple of uses, I can hear a hissing sound from one of the two shoes everytime I set my weight on it. If I set that foot in the smallest water puddle, it sucks water inside and completely dampens my feet and sock. It has become a water magnet since then. Threw them away.
It is not a $200 Asolo, so, when I bought it I thought, whats the worst that can happen: I loose 20 bucks and I did. spend a little more money and get a good shoe.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Review 14 for Ozark Trail Men's Tyrell Hiking Boots

Sole Breaks in 3 Months

03/02/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The sole/heel of these shoes broke in approximately 3 months. The laces do not stay tied either. Do not buy these shoes.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
+4points
Review 15 for Ozark Trail Men's Tyrell Hiking Boots

SAVE YOUR MONEY, DO NOT BUY THESE BOOTS

09/06/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Made the mistake of not paying for value. Used these boots and after ONE DAY of hiking, the entire bottom of these boots began to collapse, my feet hurt so bad. Good luck one of my fellow hikers had a pair of Keen sandals to wear on the next days hike. Save your $20 and buy a better boot, or if you buy these, do not wear them for actual hiking, they will fail you.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Review 16 for Ozark Trail Men's Tyrell Hiking Boots

rev214

01/23/2012
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are great shoes. I can't imagine the expensive brands being any better, except for more serious water proofing, and make the tongue fully gusseted instead of gusseted just part way up. That would allow the foot to sink a couple more inches in mud or water and stay dry inside.
I am a heavy person and have hiked with them in rough terrain enough to know that I will get
my money's worth many times over.
Someone complained the laces tend to get loose. An old hiker's trick solves that. Double twist the laces when you twist them together; then double loop the bow tie. If confused, just ask someone in an outdoor shop to show you the technique...just pretend interest in their $300 dollar fancy shoes and they will show ya!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 17 for Ozark Trail Men's Tyrell Hiking Boots

Well below standards

05/30/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a pair and within three weeks had to exchange them because the sole on the right hiking boot blew out. The replacement pair lasted only two weeks before the sole started caving in on itself. No more Ozark brand footwear for me. Wouldn't even recommend it to someone I don't like
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Ozark Trail Men's Tyrell Hiking Boots

waste of good money

07/05/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
8 days is all they lasted, right sole fell apart just like others who have bought this poor excuse of a shoe. Save your money, these shoes are 100% useless. I wish I would have read these reviews before purchasing them. If I could rate them lower than "1", I would have.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 19 for Ozark Trail Men's Tyrell Hiking Boots

Lasted ~6 months

11/25/2012
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've noticed that most of the positive reviews are from people marking ownership as 2-7 weeks, which really isn't enough time to judge - not by much. I liked these boots, I really did. I wore them about 60% of the time, split across another pair or two of other shoes. The problem really is that they don't last, as so many other reviewers have mentioned. After 3-4 months I noticed the right boot had developed a lumpiness above where the shoe bends while walking. At around the 6 month mark it failed completely.
While I am hard on my shoes, I usually expect a little longer out of a pair of shoes, especially if they are sharing the load with other pairs.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Ozark Trail Men's Tyrell Hiking Boots

Shoe Lemon

05/19/2011
By ,
Cincinnati
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had these shoes for only a couple of days when the area under the heel started th collapse, after only an week they were unwearable and there were visible holes through the bottom. these shoes are priced on the cheap but are still not worth the money. I think Ill spend a little more for something I can actually wear. Buyer Beware!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next