Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Sundome 2-Person Dome Tent

Coleman Coleman Sundome 2-Person Dome Tent

A must-have for anyone who goes on frequent camping trips, the Coleman Sundome 2-Person Dome Tent can conveniently accommodate two people at a time. Designed with the exclusive WeatherTec system, this Sundome tent keeps you safe from the elements. With leak-free seams and waterproof floors, this 2-person tent ensures to keep you dry when it rains. On the other hand, the strong, wind-responsive frame resists wind. With adjustable Variflo ventilation, this Coleman tent lets you have control over the airflow inside the tent. The vent window ensures complete privacy, whereas the door makes for convenient entry and exit. The continuous pole sleeves, InstaClip attachments, and the pin-and-ring design make it easy to set up this camping tent. The dome structure of this Coleman Sundome 2-Person Dome Tent makes for convenient portability, while enabling quick and easy setup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation79%11 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 18 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Sundome 2-Person Dome Tent

not exactly what we expected

03/16/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When we got the tent, we were happy to see that the picture on the outside of the carrying case (sans rainfly) showed at least one of the side windows as a half-window (it doesn't go all the way from side seam to side seam), which, along with the rainfly that completely covers the windows, wouldn't seem too bad as far as heat retention and wind. However, the actual tent has full width open mesh windows on both short sides (only the back window is zipper-closeable), which you can't tell based on the product picture and description online. There's also an approx. 18"x4" 'ground vent' mesh opening at the back bottom which only has an open fly over it (no zipper, no way to close it off). There’s really nothing to keep rain from splashing up through there, and it looks like you’d have cold air coming in right at your lumbar region. The design for the rainfly support pole is kind of a pain - you need an extra set of hands to hold the rainfly in place while you get it attached or it keeps sliding off to one side or another, frustrating at best if you’re setting it up alone, but I see this to be impossible in any kind of wind. We were looking for a three-season tent, but this one is definitely summer only, which I guess the Sundome name kind of alludes to.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Sundome 2-Person Dome Tent

Great first tent

10/25/2013
By ,
Northern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my very first tent and camping experience, and the tent was used for a five day retreat in Southern California in mild weather. The tent is a good size for one person using a folding 4- inch thick sleeping pad, although given the choice again, I probably would have bought the 7x7 for a little more room, since I had a carry-on size suitcase and bags with me which did not leave much floor space, and as a tall person it was a challenge to stretch out to dress in the tent. Also the sides slope in and reduce some usable space around the edges. This tent does not provide outside space for storing items. The tent was comfortable and was high enough to hang a lantern from the top. One night was especially breezy and cold and I used a blanket over the open mesh top areas which are covered by the rainfly but still allow cold air to enter. Overall it did a great job for the purpose.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Sundome 2-Person Dome Tent

Great tent!

06/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this a few months ago and I have already used it about 4 or 5 times. Me and my boyfriend go camping as much as possible with friends. It's held up in bad winds (barely budged) and held out through a lot of rain without leaks. If you sleep in it with another person, you will be a little close (not too bad). My boyfriend is 6'2" and fits comfortably without having to scrunch up at all, plus we can fit all our gear in here pretty much! We used an air mattress last time we camped, which was a queen size that was one of the tall air mattresses, which did make the tent puff out at the bottom so next time we would probably use one of the shorter ones. Other than that, it is a must have for campers who want something durable and not crazy expensive!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman Sundome 2-Person Dome Tent

kept dry through thunderstorm

07/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought for my son who is going on a week long wilderness camp this summer. tried it out prior over the july 4th weekend. we set it up dry on thur afternoon, it thunderstormed like crazy thur night and continuously rained hard until sat morning. tent remained dry the entire time but we did place a tarp underneath when set up. Worked Great!
Only negative I would say is space is small. you could sleep two inside with no gear but it is really better for one person with gear.
Set up is easy, just 2 poles for tent plus 1 for rain fly and my 12 year old can do it himself. Tent easily goes back into carrying bag for storage.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Sundome 2-Person Dome Tent

Great Little Tent

06/20/2012
By ,
Fort Worth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great tent for primitive camping. Lightweight and easy to set-up. Fit 2 people (6'3" and 5'5") comfortably on 2 twin size air mattresses that were 72.5" long by 23" wide. The tent has 2 pockets inside, one on each end of the tent. Used seam sealer to waterproof the seams and it withstood a heavy spray down from the water hose. This is my second Coleman tent purchase in 10 years and I highly recommend this brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Sundome 2-Person Dome Tent

Super Tent for camping

10/12/2012
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little tent, claims it fits 2 people but it would be tight, however for one person it is perfect, fits a single air mattress and still has extra floor space. You could sit up & move around ( I am 6'1") without jambing your head into the roof. Very rain proof, camped at the 7000 foot level in Rocky Mountains and hit a all night rainstorm, tent kept me dry. This tent folds up into a very very compact size and is EZ for one to put up. I think this is a super tent for the money..Ron/Colorado
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Sundome 2-Person Dome Tent

Excellent tent for the price

08/13/2013
By ,
Brier, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this little Coleman tent for my 15 yr old son. Coleman calls it a 2 person tent, but it is more suited to one person. He had plenty of room for a single air mattress and his gear. First night out we got caught in a torential downpour with thunder and lightning. He stayed reasonably dry, there was a bit of water under the air mattress, even with a tarp under the tent (really recommended, even if it doesn't rain the tarp will keep the tent clean) Sides of the tent and rainfly were very water resistant. Went together easily (instructions sewn into the bag :) and actually fit easily BACK into the bag when we broke camp. Overall a great little tent for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Sundome 2-Person Dome Tent

Great tent for all levels of camping

03/18/2014
By ,
Ocala, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coleman products are always a good value for the price. Have been a Coleman customer/user for years. This tent sold at a good price. It was easy to set up. During our recent torrential rains, the inside stayed remarkable dry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Sundome 2-Person Dome Tent

Good Tent (great tent)

10/05/2012
By ,
alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it is a real good tent just the same with all tents try not to touch the side or water will come in it was very comfy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Sundome 2-Person Dome Tent

A Whopper 7lbs tent!

04/20/2013
By ,
Sunnyvale, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've been camping in a dirt cheap $20 ultralight tent( 2lbs 8 oz) for about 30 overnights during the last 2 yrs and it was made of super light polyester taffeta that was finally falling apart. Not finding the same model for cheap online, I decided to look up some more cheap, small tents. Then I saw the relatively high ratings for this 2 person Coleman Sundome, so seeing the competitive price, I didn't think much and bought it.
Pros: Price is good. Construction and materials are decent quality. Dome height is good for a big guy and I can sit up fully.
Cons: This weighs like a tonne! Yikes! 6 lbs 15 oz, quiverring on 7lbs 0oz says my digital tournament fish scale! The poles along are half if not more of the weight. Roomy is relative. You can squeeze two small people in this but not their gear, or just one big guy like me. And the limited rainfly sort of precludes rainy conditions with water blowing in semi-sideways. Tent setup has part pole-sleeves and part clips. Why didn't just use clips all the way and make it 3 times faster to setup (like in the rain).
Clearly, this isn't a backpacking tent unless you're hiking a really short distance from the car to your campsite. I have a full 3 person/4 season tent with aluminum poles I got online for just a little more that has full rainfly that weighs in at 5 lbs 8 ozs, nearly a pound and a half lighter. And the rainfly includes a vestibule and it's not much more expensive. Also, it's clear that it's not a technologically superior tent. Even the low-end tents at Walmart from Ozark Trail and moving to clipped attachment to the poles as opposed to sleeves, and they are also incorporating fuller rainflies. This Coleman is last generation in design and is still slower to setup, uses taped seams and heavy, single layer, material to block water penetration when 2 thinner layers is far superior and prevents condensation effects getting inner layers wet (problematic on cold, moist nights). So I can only surmise, the high ratings for this tent are due to positive confirmation bias of the buyers who don't know enough and don't camp enough in different conditions to know what is good versus what weighs a tonne is just average. They give this high ratings probably because everyone else is giving it high ratings and they don't want to feel foolish for buying this tent.
Well, I think the construction is good and the price is good. Those get this two stars. But other than that, I don't see much value for the weight and the design. Luckily, this is Walmart and I'm not out much money, like I would be buying a similar tent from some Really Expensive Incorporated 3-letter outdoor company. I may keep it for the kids who don't know any better and give this tent for them to haul on longer backpack trips as punishment for a bad test score or too much video gaming at home. LOL!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Sundome 2-Person Dome Tent

Great tent

11/23/2013
By ,
Central Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent is just what I was looking for. Large enough for an adult with some room left over for gear. Two adults in this tent would be a tight fit. Appears well made and has good ventilation. Easy setup and take down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Sundome 2-Person Dome Tent

hard to set up .Not what I had expectid but it"ok

11/12/2012
By ,
Victoria ks.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Had a tent some wears back was lots easyer to put up.And was larger.It will be ok.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Coleman Sundome 2-Person Dome Tent
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5