Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Handycam DCR-SX85 Silver, Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

Sony Sony Handycam DCR-SX85 Silver, Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

The Sony Handycam digital camcorder features a 3.0" touch-screen LCD (230K), a built-in LED video light, as well as a professional-quality Carl Zeiss Vario-Tessar lens. This lens delivers sharp, high-resolution images and powerful 70x extended zoom that lets you capture extremely tight shots, even from far away on this sony flash memory camcorder.
Average Customer Rating:
3.191 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation48%10 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 18 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX85 Silver, Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

Great Camcorder/Lousy Digital Camera!

05/07/2011
By ,
Kansas City, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought this hoping to be able to use it as a recorder and a camera. As a recorder, it works great. The zoom is awesome. The internal memory ensures ample memory. The battery lasts a long time before needing recharged. The touch screen is pretty handy. It's easy to use. I'm still tinkering w/ the computer program that comes with it that allows you to edit your recordings, but what I've been able to figure out thus far...it's neat.
However, when using it in the camera feature, the pictures are very, very grainy. This was so disappointing because I really like the rest of the product. Honestly, the pictures are just so poor they just aren't usable.
All this to say, if you are looking for a great digital recorder...you won't be disappointed. If you were hoping to utilize it as a camera as well.....this is NOT the product for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX85 Silver, Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD
05/29/2011
By ,
New Smyrna Beach, Fl.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
THE SIZE IS GREAT, EASY TO HOLD AN CARRY. THE PICTURE QUALITY WAS VERY GOOD, SO MUCH FOR THE GOOD POINTS. I WAS NOT HAPPY WITH THE VIEWING SCREEN IN BRIGHT SUNLIGHT. NO MATTER HOW YOU TILTED IT YOU CAN't SEE WHAT YOUR FILMING. I KNOW THAT'S THE THING NOWDAYS WITH PHONES AND CAMERAS. I WISH SONY WOULD HAVE PUT A PEEP WINDOW ON THE CAMCORDER ALSO SO YOU CAN REALLY SEE WHAT YOU'RE LOOKING AT. THE CAMCORDER IS SLOW TO REFOCUS WHEN YOU MOVE FROM ONE SCENE TO ANOTHER. ONE THING TO KEEP IN MIND, IF YOU ARE USING THE ZOOM ON ONE SHOT AN STOP FILMING AN START TO FILM AGAIN ON A CLOSER SUBJECT THE CAMERA IS STILL ON ZOOM. AS LONG AS YOU REMEMBER TO CHANGE IT BACK YOU WILL BE OK. I GUESS I THOUGHT IT WOULD RESET IT SELF. MOVING FROM SITE TO SITE IT WAS EASY TO FORGET TO MAKE THE CHANGE FOR THE ZOOM. SPEAKING OF THE 70X ZOOM , YOU REALLY NEED A TRIPOD IF YOU GO THE MAX. I BOUGHT A SMALL 6 INCH TRIPOD WHICH ALSO WORKED LIKE A HANDLE. THAT PROVED TO BE HELPFUL.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX85 Silver, Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

Great camera but.... come on sony!!!!

05/17/2011
By ,
middle of nowhere texas population 999
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i purchased this camera after searching several stores in my area. this seemed to be the better camera for my money. i have taken several videos with it that have turned out pretty good. quality depends on the lighting conditions and things like that but thats any camera.
i ALMOST returned this camera. here is the reason why...
i loaded the videos onto my pc which without the sony software is a pain. if you just insert the memory card or camera into the pc to import the files they are hidden in an off the wall titled folder and are slightly hard to find. i finally got them loaded and they wouldnt play!!! i contact sony. the format is MPEG-2 for the videos. basically they told me windows media player doesnt support this format (they dont have the codec required) and that i HAD to use THEIR software to import or play the videos. i couldnt believe that! i said well then whats the point of buying a camera to shoot videos if you cant send them to your family because they need special software just to view it. seems like a valid point right? he didnt have any answer. i asked how to get the codecs for media player and he said to contact microsoft for them. so i said ok ill do that. he then tells me that its recommended i use THEIR software again. again REALLY? so i go to microsofts page. well if you dont have windows vista home premium or a windows 7 pc the MPEG-2 format isnt supported. you have to purchase an add on like power dvd or windvd ect... price ranging from 14-99 dollars!!! luckily i had one of these titles that i received free with another pc so i loaded it. videos played perfectly with windows media player after installing power dvd.
i was going to return it because at first it seemed to be a huge hassel just to load and play back any video i recorded and sending to family was going to be just as difficult. i didnt return the camera because after loading power dvd i was able to open and edit the files on my pc without needing the sony software. once you figure out where the files are hidden its pretty easy to get them off the memory card/internal memory.i know the few family and friends i will be sending it to have the required programs to view it as well. so for me it eliminated the hassel.
if your not real tech savy id pass on this camera but if you read all that and went no problem then by all means buy it! i actually love it after getting the playback issues resolved.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX85 Silver, Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

Great camcorder

04/20/2011
By ,
Apple Creek, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally was going to buy a Flip camera but saw this one at the store & really liked its features. I liked the zoom options & the steady feature so I can take it on hikes to video my dogs having a good time in the woods. The feature I really like, though, is the on board USB port. Very handy. It's easy to download videos to my computer as well as the options to delete the scenes on the camera after downloading. Overall, I love this camera!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX85 Silver, Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

Overall Good

10/08/2012
By ,
Upstate NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this to replace a High-8 Hitachi because I was having difficulty transferring videos of soccer games direct to DVD. The transfer is still not instantaneous, but much quicker than transferring to VHS tapes! The camcorder is small, lightweight, easy to use, and packed with features. I find a neck/chest mounted monopole better than a tripod for this unit because it is so light, and the view screen is closer to my eyes. This Camcorder has a FAST zoom which is good for following sports action, but I've had some trouble because the zoom control is exactly backwards from the Hitachi. My bad I think, not the camera's. The only other problem is the very busy and sometimes obscure menu grouping. Color and detail are good for either SP or HD recording and there appears to be ample recording space on the internal memory. The removable card will allow you too increase that substantially, or keep photos separate from the internal memory.
The only other problem is that Wal-Mart doesn't carry replacement batteries. I wound up having to buy them on e-Bay which left me tied to a power cord for several weeks to ensure not running out of battery until they arrived. The battery supplied will last about 40 to 50 minutes with heavy zooming. I purchased 2 larger batteries with chargers so I don't have to have the camera plugged in to charge.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX85 Silver, Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

sony camcorder

04/17/2011
By ,
wv
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The features are great on this camcorder and you have to play with it to get it set the way you want. Instructions not that great. The only reason I returned this was due to the poor video when you play it back. Objects are blurry and doesn't focus quick enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX85 Silver, Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

Half way disspointed

10/25/2012
By ,
Saugus
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
THIS IS A GREAT CAMERA FOR VIDEO . . BUT SAME AS BELOW . . THE PICTURE CAPTURE QUALITY IS VERY GRAINY . . THAT'S WHERE IT WAS DISAPPOINTING BECAUSE I WANTED A CAMCORDER THAT COULD DO BOTH . . ALL THOUGH SONY DOES MAKE EXCELLENT ELECTRONICS . . I WAS NOT HAPPY WITH THIS ONE . . I AM NOW SELLING IT ON CRAIGSLIST TO GET MY MONEY BACK AND TO BUY A NEWER ONE . . WITH BOTH GREAT VIDEO AND PICTURE CAPTURE . . THE VIDEO IS GREAT BUT NOT SO GREAT WITH JUST PICTURES . .
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX85 Silver, Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

Excellent except in bright sunlight

11/06/2012
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very impressed with this camera except when trying to see what I'm filming in bright sunlight. Unfortunately the screen reflects my own face back at me rather than what I'm filming. Must be a way around that ... some non-reflective coating or something? Other than that, zoom is fantastic, video is crisp and clear, sound is good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX85 Silver, Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

Very Bad

05/10/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have seen better results from $20 cameras you can find in the toy section. I took It back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX85 Silver, Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

Great camera for the price.

12/07/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this camera for the past year twice a month excellent camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX85 Silver, Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

Functions are to difficult to get to

08/28/2012
By ,
Bellingham, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The digital focus is useless and the manual focus is not really manual also the night vision is very poor but besides that everything else is OK. Overall though I am not impressed with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX85 Silver, Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD
11/07/2011
By ,
Hamburg, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price & great product - works perfectly
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX85 Silver, Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD
11/26/2011
By ,
grantsville md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sony Handycam DCR-SX85 Silver, Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
2.6 out of 5
2.6 out of 5