Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Handycam DCR-SX45 Blue, Standard Definition Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony Handycam DCR-SX45 Blue, Standard Definition Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

The Sony Handycam DCR-SX45 features a 3.0" touch-screen LCD (230K), a built-in LED video light, as well as a professional-quality Carl Zeiss Vario-Tessar lens. This lens delivers sharp, high-resolution images and powerful 70x extended zoom that lets you capture extremely tight shots, even from far away.  
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation72%23 out of 32reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX45 Blue, Standard Definition Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

Awesome I love it!!

07/29/2011
By ,
Gravette, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this for well over a month now and this has been the best investment for the price. I got more than I paid for. I love the 70X zoom and the best Carl Z lens is a plus. The still photo mode is really nice and recording is excellent. The built in USB is a big plus. I would recommend this to anyone that is a beginner to advanced.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 2 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX45 Blue, Standard Definition Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

So far,"VERY PLEASED"!!!

06/08/2011
By ,
Cleveland,TX.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just bought this Sony Handycam SX45,and I love it so far.I read alot of reviews on here & other places,and most were good.So,I wanted a new one.This is a great camera for people who want one for special events or just to have fun videoing family,kds & regu;ar stuff.I read some reviews where people didn't like it,but I think if your looking for a profesional video camera,you can spend thousands of dollars.This is a "Great"camera for capturing those great moments.Just work with it and I think you will be very pleased with it.Also,"VERY" good for the price.Hope this helps who reads reviews like I do before purchasing.Oh,and the 70x optical zoom works great!!! I also reccomend you buy at east a 4GB SDHC card for it or up to a 32GB.Good luck and have fun with it,I am.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Review 3 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX45 Blue, Standard Definition Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

Great Camera and Great Features

06/16/2012
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this camera about 2 months ago. I use it to make you-tube beauty videos. The zoom is absolutely amazing. I LOVE that it has auto focus and comes in handy. People say it is shaky but i have had no trouble filming when i move around. I also like that it has a light great for lighting up a shot in low light. It does amazing in low light and if there is something light behind you it dims it and lights up the darker and balances the light. It has many features in the menu that are great, although i don't like that it does not have time laps. Another thing I like about it is you can cut out parts of the video on the camera before you even edit anything. A major set back is the format of the video. It is not compatible with a Mac and you can't upload the videos to windows movie maker because they are formatted differently. The pictures are fine though. If you upload the video straight to you tube a 12 min. video takes 7 hours to upload and you can edit it on you tube. But it is worth the good video quality. So over all I would recommend you get this camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 4 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX45 Blue, Standard Definition Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

Pretty Good

10/10/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this camera because of the birth of my baby. My digital camera broke and liked the idea of having a camcorder & camera in one. I am pleased so far with the camcorder, it's pretty easy to use. The camera is attractive, but VERY small. Other reviews explained this and they were right! However it will get the job done, the size isn't a big drawback. I am not pleased with the quality of the still pictures. The images have a "grainy" look. I am no photographer, as I said I am using this for family photos and such, so I don't expect perfect, but I am not pleased with the quality of the pictures. As a bundle, I believe it is a decent value with the card, tripod, and cam. I would recommend this product for camcorder only, not camera. I will be purchasing another camera for still shots.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jacksonville, Al
Ok, But Not The Best
Posted 04/20/2013
Camera is awkward if you have large hands. LCD screen is worthless outside in the sunlight. This itself makes it impossible to know what you are filming. The USB is built into the camera which is ok....but why did Sony even bother doing that when you have to plug in a extension to connect to computer. Color is faded compared to Canon Brands. Next time I will invest a little more money and upgrade to a Canon.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX45 Blue, Standard Definition Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

Exactly What I Was Looking For

04/12/2011
By ,
Madison, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a small flash drive camera with a good zoom. I need the zoom becuase I take my camera in the woods when I go hunting and often take long range video of cool wildlife I see when sitting in my stand. I needed the flash because I wanted to be able to share video easier. My last camera was a Sony with those miniDV tapes...I loved my old camera and zoom, but to share video I had to "capture" from the tape...very laborious and unfun.
So far I'm really happy. I wish there was an optical viewfinder but I might as well forget those, as it is clear nobody is every going to put them on consumer video cameras anymore, pluse it saves cost and space to not have it. There are some flimsy little plastic parts, like the little door that covers the place to connect the charger. The built in lens covers also worry me they are very light-weight plastic and the mechanism that opens and closes them must be fragile..but only time will tell.
What I am most happy with is the ability to share video. At first I was frustrated becuase I was hoping I could simply "drag and drop" videos off the camera like I do for .jpeg files on a still camera. Well you can...but they are huge files even for a very short video. And if I double click on the mpeg2 files from with my computer, it opens in media player...it plays the video but no sound (problem with codecs for media player) so it seemed the ability to share easily wasn't going to be so easy. That is what I thought until I opened the included software that comes with the camera (built right into the camera so you don't need to install it on your computer!).
There is a built-in feature to upload to youtube or facebook and it worked like a charm. Once I uploaded the video to youtube, I was able to e-mail the link to everyone, worked great!!
The built in USB cable is a terrific feature, I don't have to remember to bring a cable with me, if I have the camera and find a computer..I can upload just like that!!
So far so good. Only time will tell on the plastic parts.
Oh and picture quality is great for my purposes. I don't own a fancy TV...don't care about HD. I'm more worried about sharing with everyone and the ability to have a good picture and tell what is going on. To be honest as soon as I opened the camera I set the video quality to the lowest possible so it would make the smallest video files for sharing. So I don't even know how good the video gets, but it looks great at low quality for my purposes. I'm sure the highest settings will easily be comparable to my miniDV. I figure I want people to see the antlers on the buck out in the field...I don't need them to see the deer's eyelashes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+89points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Stamford, CT
Questions for you big66
Posted 02/28/2012
I was thinking about getting this cam for my stand too. I want to film the shot so my question to you is:
What type of mount do you use for your cam on the tree?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX45 Blue, Standard Definition Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

Ultimately great value for the price

07/24/2011
By ,
Petoskey, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this to take on vacation, was pretty satisfied.
The image quality is one of the better I've seen - not perfect but what really is? The 70x zoom is awesome. Works great in picture mode too. Very glad for the image stabilization. Battery life lasts for a full day of filming. On screen menus are decent, definitely workable. Easy hook up to computers and tvs.
Perfect for the whip out and take video moments.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Review 7 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX45 Blue, Standard Definition Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

Awesome

04/23/2011
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldn't have found better quality for the price, already plan to purchase another as a christmas gift!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 8 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX45 Blue, Standard Definition Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

Very Nice!

07/18/2011
By ,
The Great Northwest
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This a very good camera. The only thing I'm not crazy about, is when taking videos outdoors on a sunny day, you can sometimes see your own reflection on the screen instead of the subject you are videoing. It's almost like looking in a mirror and that isn't so good. Other than that, it's a very cool camera. I LOVE the 70x zoom!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 9 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX45 Blue, Standard Definition Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

Appearance is Deceiving!

06/14/2012
By ,
MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this to film outside. To make a long story short, the viewscreen reflects so badly I cannot see what I am filming. The focus goes in & out leaving things blurry. I had high hopes with this one and it is still ok for indoors but not for what I need it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sony Handycam
Posted 06/26/2012
I also bought this camera for filming outdoors. I can't see anything that I'm filming. All I can see if my reflection and whatever is behind me. Camera is great for indoors, but not at all for outdoors. Unless anyone can tell me how to fix this camera, it is going to be for sale!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX45 Blue, Standard Definition Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD
05/22/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like that the cam is 2 in 1. I bought it just for that reason. Better than carrying 2 cams around with me. The only proboem I have and hope that someone can help me is that for night recordings and taking pictures at night outside. Inside picutres also that are in low lighting comes out fuzzy and very dark. Any suggestions anyone on taking outside night pics, inside pics, and videos outside at night? Thanks!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/26/2012
try using the led light?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX45 Blue, Standard Definition Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD
10/23/2012
By ,
Clarksburg,WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't had this camera for very long and haven't gotten to use it a whole lot but I love it so far. I haven't transferred any video yet but the sound quality seems fine from the playback mode. I've taken several still pictures with it. The outdoor pictures have all turned out well but the indoor ones not so much. Which for me is fine because I bought it for the video but I love the fact that I can take pictures from any of my videos (which turn out good). This feature is awesome to have and saves me from having to switch back and forth from two different cameras.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 12 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX45 Blue, Standard Definition Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

Works great right out of the box. Easy to use.

04/19/2012
By ,
Wa. State
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easiest video cam I have used. Takes great video and playback is a breeze. Recommend use of a tripod for long zoom shots. I got it for quick easy videos while traveling and I am very pleased so far. I travel by motorcycle, so size and weight were a big concideration. This unit is so light, you almost forget you are holding it. I would reccomend this cam for those that like to take videos but don't want to spend a lot of time on a learning curve. Sound recording is also very good and clear.
Glad I decided to get the Sony SX45 w/ 70x zoom.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 13 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX45 Blue, Standard Definition Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

OK for the price

12/11/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a good entry level camcorder for the budget minded person. Menus are easy to follow and it works very well. Do not expect high resolution video becasue it is not designed to produce high resolution video. It is designed to produce high quality video comparable to the old analog televisions (the ones used prior to High Definition TV). There is only so much the great Carl Zeiss lens can do with a 1/8" 720 X 480 resolution imaging element. It is nice that it has automatic as well as manual settings for things such as exposure, white balance, and focus. Spot focusing and spot metering are also available which makes this a great camera for a video/photography student.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 14 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX45 Blue, Standard Definition Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

Not what I hoped.

09/16/2012
By ,
Tennessee
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Used inside under moderate light and outside during bright sunlight. Outside the screen was nearly impossible to see. Photos were grainy outside and inside. Camera is small, which is good but makes it difficult to use controls and I don't have large hands. Attached USB is good. Good included software.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 15 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX45 Blue, Standard Definition Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

Great camera!

08/01/2011
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome zoom, lightweight easy to use, Daughter loves it for Youtube.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 16 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX45 Blue, Standard Definition Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

Nice, compact & easy to hold

08/01/2012
By ,
Eagle pass , Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camera for my 14yr old. She hasn't really used it yet because it doesn't have a memory card. I thought it had an internal memory but it doesn't. So when you buy this camera buy a memory card with it. Otherwise, seems pretty durable and looks really nice. It's easy to work and to handle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Review 17 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX45 Blue, Standard Definition Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

sony handycam dcrsx45

07/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i just received it and its a great little video cam so easy to used i really liked sheila from wisconsin.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 18 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX45 Blue, Standard Definition Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

NOT for easily transferring data with the SD card

12/24/2012
By ,
OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I simply wanted a camcorder to shoot quick videos and put them on my computer. The thing I absolutely hate about this, is the fact that I can't simply put my SD card in my laptop. It asks me to reformat the SD card, which means I'd lose everything I recorded. I have to plug in the camcorder, which is still handy via the built in USB cord but it drives me insane. I've never had this trouble before with simple digital cameras. I am no camcorder expert and I'm sure this is great for everyone else, and the 4-5 star reviews shows, but it's just not for me. It feels like Sony only wants me to use Sony products or else I'll hit some kind of ridiculous wall. I never liked Sony and this just proves how I feel even further. I'll be taking back the camcorder and probably the SD card too just in spite of the trouble I've had. One last thing that has frustrated me, and it was not a good sign, was the fact that I couldn't see right away what the megapixels were on the built in camera for still pictures and it was even difficult to find out if this was HD or 720p. I had to look up several sources just to find out what the stupid camera quality was. Why isn't this stuff in the manual, let alone on box for Pete's sake????!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX45 Blue, Standard Definition Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD

Great for new baby

01/02/2013
By ,
ATL, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camcorder after a recommendation from another mom. I wanted something to capture my new baby's special moments. It's not difficult to use and easy to get started. I have enjoyed this purchase. I also didn't feel like I needed all the extra bells and whistles that some of the other recorders came with. For my purposes, I find this to be an excellent value, clear picture, and simple. The photo part isn't great but isn't so important for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Sony Handycam DCR-SX45 Blue, Standard Definition Compact Camcorder, 70x Zoom, 3" LCD
07/31/2012
By ,
Idaho
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great Camera, the Zoom is AWESOME and pic/vid clarity is way above expectations!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-29points
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next