Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nine Stars Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Nine Stars Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Keep your kitchen neat and clean and your trash and recycling sorted with the Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can. This 18.5 gallon stainless steel trash can is perfect for any kitchen, office or busy restaurant. The lid of this touch-free trash can opens automatically and stays open when your hands are detected, preventing cross-contamination from germs. A divided base on the touchless trash can offers one side for recyclables, and one side for trash. Includes manual button in front allows users to keep lid open, and this touch-free trash can is powered by four "D" batteries (not included) 1-year warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.594 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(123 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
38
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation97%118 out of 122reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 128 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
38
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Nice product..great value.

12/05/2012
By ,
Cincinnati
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Trash can is just the right size for my small kitchen. Although listed as 18.5 gallons total, it seems to hold just as much refuse as two separate 10 gallon containers. The auto open/close feature works flawlessly. The only problem with the appearance is the stickers indicating "recycle" and "trash" were not placed accurately. Their uneven placement makes me crazy. I can not speak to this item's durability. I have owned it for only a month or so. Potential problems could arise with the plastic construction of the bottom of the unit and the rings that hold the trash bags in place. I dropped a wine bottle into the recycle side of the unit and it bounced off the bottom reminding me to place items more delicately. The plastic rings seem rather lightly constructed. Time will tell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

WE LOVE IT!!!

04/13/2012
By ,
Temecula, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We’ve been trying to find a nice looking and functional two-bin, trash + recycle can for a few months now. All of the others we’ve found have been much more expensive and very bulky looking. This bin looks fantastic in our kitchen and we absolutely LOVE the germ-free/ hands-free lid! The only complaint that we have is that there’s a small dent in the top/center, right underneath the lid. However, the dent is barely noticeable and is due to a screw in the design and not damage from packaging or shipping. I have included pictures for those of you who’re concerned about the dent. We recently replaced all of our kitchen appliances with new stainless ones and I can tell you that three of them had to be returned due to dents. I consider myself pretty picky, and this dent is not bad at all. I didn’t want to rate this item a perfect 5 because of the small dent, but it’s definitely a solid 4.75. Overall, we are very satisfied with this trash bin and would highly recommend it. I hope this helps =)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Good product, could use a few modifications...

11/25/2013
By ,
Des Plaines, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this combo can based on other people's reviews on here and other websites.
SIZE:
It is a good size - not to big or to small.
AUTOMATED OPEN/CLOSE:
The automated open function is handy when your hands are full or dirty. I have it placed at the end of my kitchen island that I walk by often, and he sensor picks up when I walk by and the can opens and closes a lot when I don't want it to. If you plan to have this in a corner that you don't walk by frequently - that is my suggestion.
APPEARANCE:
I'm also not crazy about the recycling and garbage stickers on the outside of the can - I think it would have been better placed on top. But I do like the stainless steel look - it matches all my other appliances.
DURABILITY:
Loading the bags can be a challenge, but after a few times I have a system that works. The bag holders seem cheaply made and I wish they were made out of a little bit sturdier plastic. I am scared these may crack at some point - and I'm not sure if they sell replacements? I need to look into that.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Love it except the stickers

01/13/2014
By ,
Woodbridge, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I decided to get this because it was exactly what we needed, in our price range, and the majority of the reviews are good. I'm glad I did! The lid doesn't open when we walk by like some people claim, it's easy to change the bags, and the way the bags go in hides them which is nice. The ONLY complaint I have (other than my toddler being obsessed with it, but that was with our old one too LOL) is the stickers on the front. Some people said they moved them to inside the lid, but they were stuck on ours VERY well and I would rather have the sticker that's meant to be there then the glue holding the stickers catching everything and looking dirty. I also did not have any dings on ours and while it is semi-thin metal, you get what you pay for. If you want it to look like a $300 trash can, buy a $300 trash can. (Actually, I think this one looks like it cost more than it does.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Large Trash can - Does the Job - A little Big

10/28/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was so excited to finally get a dual trash that a) did not cost $200 b) was big enough to hold more than 1 days worth of trash 2) sturdy enough to not break in 2 months. I got all three, and the trash can is much bigger than it appears, I was almost worried it was too big but I made it work. It holds a good amount of recycables and trash and it is sturdy. The automatic cover is a little annoying because it takes 4 Double D batteries and they do not provide the batteries. For this amount of money, you would think you would get at least that. Either way, I agree that it is sensitive and will open sometimes when you are just walking by, but other than that it is kind of cool. Takes some getting used to, but overall more sanitary to have that option. My trash can had a small (very small) dent, so just be careful to check it when it arrives. I am happy with my purchase overall and would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Great space saver

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This trash can keeps our house tidy and helps us help the environment by making recycling easier. The automatic lid opener works great. My only compliant is that it requires a lot of size "D" batteries to keep it going. I was only able to purchase this on Walmart's online store and I suggest they carry it at an actual store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Great trash can!

01/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This trash/recycle can fits great in our home. We were able to consolidate two cans into one in a sleek, easy to use unit. It looks very high tech and the automatic sensor works well. You don't have to bother touching or stepping on anything which helps to keep the outside clean. It seals very well so there no smell that omits from it and the inner cans are a perfect size.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Better than expected

01/23/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like other reviewers, I was worried it would not be large enough to hold garbage, I don't like the idea of taking out the trash every couple days. It holds more than I thought, not as much as my old one but the dual recycle side makes it worth it. I have not yet tried to remove the stickers, they don't bother me as much as I thought they would. No dents, perfect condition. Not too large for my small kitchen, bands that hold the garbage bags seem sturdy enough, top isn't too heavy since you need to take the top off to remove the full trash bags. Sensor is not too sensitive for me, in fact, I have to brush my hand in front of the sensor before it will open. I don't find it going through batteries too quickly. So far I am very happy with my purchase. No complaints as of yet.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

great for convenience

02/28/2014
By ,
Reno, Nv.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I was making 10 trips a day out to the recycle bin...this is a great alternative.
Though, I'm not prone to use the electronic sensor & I just leave it open most of the time, it's a nice feature when you want it.
The 2 sections are quite roomy & it's an attractive look.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Great solution for sorting recycling

07/20/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After a month of use, I'm still happy. Our area just instituted mandatory recycling for all items, so we needed a reasonably attractive solution to sort recycling in the kitchen, and do not have room to put multiple trash bins inside the cupboard, out of sight.
The motion sensor opening feature is responsive and reliable. In order to change the bags, the substantial lid must be removed, and there are plastic rings that the top of the two bags wrap around and are tucked inside, which is a little bit of a hassle, but necessary to keep the bags from showing on the outside. For this reason, I still keep a trash can under the sink for smelly items that I want to take outside daily, so I don't have to empty this trash can every day.
The two triangular stickers on the front are easily removable, and I put them on the inside lid instead, since I don't care for the look of them on the outside.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Fantastic

02/10/2014
By ,
austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We really love this trashcan. It's quite large so make sure you have room. Like others, we removed the stickers and put them on the inside of the lid. Came in thick foam so no dents. Looks great and would definitely recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Great value Great price

03/23/2014
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value Great price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Awesome for separating garbage

03/13/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The lid works great. I was worried that it would be triggered by changing lighting too much. But it really has a great sensor that really only opens when you are standing in front of it. It's nice to be able to empty garbage without opening a lid. I really like it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Attractive and sturdy

03/14/2014
By ,
Apple Valley, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The motion sensor is SO convennient
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Great price

01/20/2014
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great buy for a great price. Large enough to hold plenty before emptying as well!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Its OK

09/12/2011
By ,
Long Island NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love the way this trash can looks. Its looks very nice and its roomy but I gave it a 3star because if I walk too close by it goes up and I just wish it had removable hard linners, like my last trash can had, that I could take out for emptying and easy cleaning. I hate having to use plastic bags in the recycle bin because it defeats the purpose of less waste. Overall it's nice eye candy for the kitchen.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Some great features, some failures

08/13/2012
By ,
St. Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the appearance and the size is great too. I purchased it because I wanted to make sure there was enough capacity, and there definitely is. I had planned on removing the stickers, but they help the kids and guests put stuff in the right place, so for now, they will stay. I was hoping they were easily removable b/c I think it would look nicer if they were on the lid or inside of the lid - I had planned on moving them, but I couldn't remove them without destroying them.
The motion sensor is a joke, it works when you don't want it to and doesn't when you do. I basically have to press the button any time I want it to open. I would prefer it be a foot pedal to open so I didn't have to touch it with my hands.
For the cost though, I can complain too much. It is a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Terrific for the recycling family

09/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love the convenience of having a recycling bin right next to the trash bin. They could be larger capacity bins, but we no longer have recycling items on the countertops. The sensor works well, is not overly sensitive and is much better than any foot pedal might be. The look is sleek and once you remove the stickers (which come off easily) it is perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

sturdy and (mostly) stylish

02/11/2014
By ,
Marysville wa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We like pretty much everything about the can except the 2 stickers on the front- they are large and tacky looking- but aren't meant to be removed- so it is going to be a hassle to get them off...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Great looking can with two good size compartments.

02/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After searching for a double compartment trash can for awhile now. I finally decided on this one. It was the largest double one I could find and a really good price. I was a little concerned if it would be too small for my family of five but it worked out fine! Easy to change bags without mess.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next