Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nine Stars Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Nine Stars Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Keep your kitchen neat and clean and your trash and recycling sorted with the Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can. This 18.5 gallon stainless steel trash can is perfect for any kitchen, office or busy restaurant. The lid of this touch-free trash can opens automatically and stays open when your hands are detected, preventing cross-contamination from germs. A divided base on the touchless trash can offers one side for recyclables, and one side for trash. Includes manual button in front allows users to keep lid open, and this touch-free trash can is powered by four "D" batteries (not included) 1-year warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.486 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(146 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
90
4 stars
47
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation94%137 out of 145reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 142 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
90
4 stars
47
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Nice product..great value.

12/05/2012
By ,
Cincinnati
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Trash can is just the right size for my small kitchen. Although listed as 18.5 gallons total, it seems to hold just as much refuse as two separate 10 gallon containers. The auto open/close feature works flawlessly. The only problem with the appearance is the stickers indicating "recycle" and "trash" were not placed accurately. Their uneven placement makes me crazy. I can not speak to this item's durability. I have owned it for only a month or so. Potential problems could arise with the plastic construction of the bottom of the unit and the rings that hold the trash bags in place. I dropped a wine bottle into the recycle side of the unit and it bounced off the bottom reminding me to place items more delicately. The plastic rings seem rather lightly constructed. Time will tell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

WE LOVE IT!!!

04/13/2012
By ,
Temecula, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We’ve been trying to find a nice looking and functional two-bin, trash + recycle can for a few months now. All of the others we’ve found have been much more expensive and very bulky looking. This bin looks fantastic in our kitchen and we absolutely LOVE the germ-free/ hands-free lid! The only complaint that we have is that there’s a small dent in the top/center, right underneath the lid. However, the dent is barely noticeable and is due to a screw in the design and not damage from packaging or shipping. I have included pictures for those of you who’re concerned about the dent. We recently replaced all of our kitchen appliances with new stainless ones and I can tell you that three of them had to be returned due to dents. I consider myself pretty picky, and this dent is not bad at all. I didn’t want to rate this item a perfect 5 because of the small dent, but it’s definitely a solid 4.75. Overall, we are very satisfied with this trash bin and would highly recommend it. I hope this helps =)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Good product, could use a few modifications...

11/25/2013
By ,
Des Plaines, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this combo can based on other people's reviews on here and other websites.
SIZE:
It is a good size - not to big or to small.
AUTOMATED OPEN/CLOSE:
The automated open function is handy when your hands are full or dirty. I have it placed at the end of my kitchen island that I walk by often, and he sensor picks up when I walk by and the can opens and closes a lot when I don't want it to. If you plan to have this in a corner that you don't walk by frequently - that is my suggestion.
APPEARANCE:
I'm also not crazy about the recycling and garbage stickers on the outside of the can - I think it would have been better placed on top. But I do like the stainless steel look - it matches all my other appliances.
DURABILITY:
Loading the bags can be a challenge, but after a few times I have a system that works. The bag holders seem cheaply made and I wish they were made out of a little bit sturdier plastic. I am scared these may crack at some point - and I'm not sure if they sell replacements? I need to look into that.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Large Trash can - Does the Job - A little Big

10/28/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was so excited to finally get a dual trash that a) did not cost $200 b) was big enough to hold more than 1 days worth of trash 2) sturdy enough to not break in 2 months. I got all three, and the trash can is much bigger than it appears, I was almost worried it was too big but I made it work. It holds a good amount of recycables and trash and it is sturdy. The automatic cover is a little annoying because it takes 4 Double D batteries and they do not provide the batteries. For this amount of money, you would think you would get at least that. Either way, I agree that it is sensitive and will open sometimes when you are just walking by, but other than that it is kind of cool. Takes some getting used to, but overall more sanitary to have that option. My trash can had a small (very small) dent, so just be careful to check it when it arrives. I am happy with my purchase overall and would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Great can for recycling

06/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this garbage can online about a month ago. It is a great value for a nice looking can that has both regular garbage and recycling. The automatic opening lid works well and the liners are easy to replace. I thought it may be smaller on the inside and not hold as much because of the two separate compartments. However, I was wrong. It really holds a lot of garbage and recycle material and we don't have to change the garbage bags any more frequently than we did regular garbage cans with only one compartment. The only reason why I rated the appearance lower was because of the stickers on the outside of the can. It takes away from the beauty of the can and you can't really remove them. They should have put the stickers on the lid or better yet, on the inside of the lid.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Love it except the stickers

01/13/2014
By ,
Woodbridge, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I decided to get this because it was exactly what we needed, in our price range, and the majority of the reviews are good. I'm glad I did! The lid doesn't open when we walk by like some people claim, it's easy to change the bags, and the way the bags go in hides them which is nice. The ONLY complaint I have (other than my toddler being obsessed with it, but that was with our old one too LOL) is the stickers on the front. Some people said they moved them to inside the lid, but they were stuck on ours VERY well and I would rather have the sticker that's meant to be there then the glue holding the stickers catching everything and looking dirty. I also did not have any dings on ours and while it is semi-thin metal, you get what you pay for. If you want it to look like a $300 trash can, buy a $300 trash can. (Actually, I think this one looks like it cost more than it does.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Poor Design Caused Failure

10/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The can started making a clack clack clack sound after a year. I'm an engineer so I try to fix everything. I took it apart and found the plastic posts that hold the motor down are too small and two of them cracked.
I took a hot glue gun, glued them back on, and then added alot more plastic.
This can will not survive regular daily use for more than a year or two because these posts cannot withstand the repeated strain.
Nine Stars needs to add about 4 cents more plastic to the post mold and it would last far longer. As it is , its engineered to fail.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Great solution for sorting recycling

07/20/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After a month of use, I'm still happy. Our area just instituted mandatory recycling for all items, so we needed a reasonably attractive solution to sort recycling in the kitchen, and do not have room to put multiple trash bins inside the cupboard, out of sight.
The motion sensor opening feature is responsive and reliable. In order to change the bags, the substantial lid must be removed, and there are plastic rings that the top of the two bags wrap around and are tucked inside, which is a little bit of a hassle, but necessary to keep the bags from showing on the outside. For this reason, I still keep a trash can under the sink for smelly items that I want to take outside daily, so I don't have to empty this trash can every day.
The two triangular stickers on the front are easily removable, and I put them on the inside lid instead, since I don't care for the look of them on the outside.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Great all in one!

09/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compartments for each side are enough for our family. I took the stickers off and they came off easy no sticky residue to scrape off. I received it with no dents. It doesn't open when I walk by it only when you walk really close to it. Works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Love this Trashcan! You won't regret buying this!

05/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my very first review ever. But I have to write a review on this trashcan that I've had now for over a year. I absolutely love it still after all of this time. The only issue that I had when I first got this was getting the piece off to put the batteries in. That was somewhat of a challenge. I am still on my first set of batteries, but there are only two people living in the house as kids have flown the nest. I love being able to just wave my hand and it opens. I really like that I have both my recyclables and trash in the same unit. Sometimes I wave my hand over other trashcans forgetting that they aren't like mine and won't open that way. . .lol!!! I'd recommend this trashcan to anyone. Very convenient and works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Its OK

09/12/2011
By ,
Long Island NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love the way this trash can looks. Its looks very nice and its roomy but I gave it a 3star because if I walk too close by it goes up and I just wish it had removable hard linners, like my last trash can had, that I could take out for emptying and easy cleaning. I hate having to use plastic bags in the recycle bin because it defeats the purpose of less waste. Overall it's nice eye candy for the kitchen.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Stylish, wish the stickers could come off.

07/12/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Stylish. Automatic opening is good when your hands are full, or greasy/mucky from cooking.
Cons: Automatically closes after a short time, so it'll close on your hand if you're trying to scrape off a plate for too long or something. The stickers don't easily come off, it'd look nicer without them. Replacing bags can be a bit of a chore, if you want to hide them. It opens and closes sometimes if you're too close to it, so you don't want it too close to your cooking area if it's going to be kept in the kitchen.
Overall it's nice. It actually holds a lot without being TOO big. Just be aware if you're in a smallish living space, it's fairly big and it'll open and close when you reach over it or near it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Compact but functional

10/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product, although a bit expensive for something that stores garbage, is exactly what I was looking for. It is a stylish single unit that is split to store half trash and half recycle. It is a good sized kitchen trash/recycle for a single person someone who does not produce a lot of waste. The motion sensor lid feature is great for when you have messy hands.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Great product

10/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
Really nice looking
Big enough ,
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

love this trash can. would buy again!

10/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is just what i was looking for. It needs 4 d cell batteries which could be costly...only time will tell. it can be opened manually too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Some great features, some failures

08/13/2012
By ,
St. Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the appearance and the size is great too. I purchased it because I wanted to make sure there was enough capacity, and there definitely is. I had planned on removing the stickers, but they help the kids and guests put stuff in the right place, so for now, they will stay. I was hoping they were easily removable b/c I think it would look nicer if they were on the lid or inside of the lid - I had planned on moving them, but I couldn't remove them without destroying them.
The motion sensor is a joke, it works when you don't want it to and doesn't when you do. I basically have to press the button any time I want it to open. I would prefer it be a foot pedal to open so I didn't have to touch it with my hands.
For the cost though, I can complain too much. It is a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Terrific for the recycling family

09/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love the convenience of having a recycling bin right next to the trash bin. They could be larger capacity bins, but we no longer have recycling items on the countertops. The sensor works well, is not overly sensitive and is much better than any foot pedal might be. The look is sleek and once you remove the stickers (which come off easily) it is perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

My whole family loves this!

09/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works very well and has ample room for both recycling and trash. I shopped around and this product give the best functionality and was less expensive then other products in its class.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Way too sensitive, unable to adjust

08/31/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall this unit looks decent. I have it placed in my kitchen however anytime someone passes by the garbage opens. There should be some way to customize the sensitivity so every passer by doesn't set the machine off. There is also no option to plug the unit in so you have no choice but to use batteries. The trash and recycling capacity are small, I got 8 gallon bags and I think if you can find 9 gallon bags those would work well, but you'll be emptying the trash almost daily. I got some rechargeable batteries off of another website and it seems to be doing just fine. unfortunately I'm not sure I'll be keeping this product, seemed like a great idea at first though.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nine Stars 18.5-Gallon Motion Sensor Recycle Unit and Trash Can, Stainless Steel

Great just wish it was bigger

09/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is perfect for what I needed I just wish it had a larger trash side or the whole thing was larger in general, my trash fills up too quickly. Overall great though and I am happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 114 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next