Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nine Stars Nine Stars 8.7-Gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can, White

Nine Stars Nine Stars 8.7-Gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can, White

The Nine Stars Motion Sensor Trash Can in an 8.7-Gallon size is designed to be a modern and convenient receptacle for you garbage. The white touchless trash can is powered by four D batteries and features an automatic lid that opens and remains open when your hands are detected, which helps prevent cross-contamination from germs. The automatic trash can features a lid that automatically closes three seconds after your hands move away and a manual button in the front that allows the lid to stay open. The white touchless trash can has a divided base that allows you to separate trash from recycling materials. The plastic body of this automatic trash can is durable and easy to clean for your convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%17 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 10 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nine Stars 8.7-Gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can, White

I LOVE this thing!

07/08/2012
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a foster mom to 0-2 year olds and changing endless dirty diapers, I had finally given up on all diaper pails. I decided to purchase this because I figured, if this didn't work out, at least I could still use it as just a garbage can but it is working wonderfully as a diaper pail! I was worried at first because the lid stays open for so many seconds (not many) and thought the dirty diaper odor might sneak out, but it doesn't so long as I use scented garbage bags. If fact, it even holds in the smell MUCH better than the worthless diaper genie I just replaced. I can even change this one indoors, haha =) Not to mention there are open and close buttons to use manually if I need to use them. Another feature I really love is the plastic ring insert the bag wraps around to keep it from slipping inside the can without it showing on the outside. I would highly recommend this as a diaper pail (and of course garbage can) for any mommies (or daddies) out there with the same hope to find something better for the nursery. It's incredibly sanitary, easy to use, convenient and honestly worth every penny. PLUS Now my little ones think I have super powers =)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nine Stars 8.7-Gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can, White

Perfect!

01/12/2012
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this little guy for about a month now and I love it! It's just perfect in every way. I love this trash can because it gives the kitchen a nice, polished look. I was looking around for a touchless trash can, but I didn't want a stainless steel one because nothing in my kitchen is stainless steel - all the appliances are white so I wanted a white trash can to match. The problem is there really aren't many white touchless trash cans out there. Then I came upon this one and it looked promising, but I was a little worried because of the size. Previously we were using a regular 13 gallon trash can and I was worried the 8.7 gallon would be too small, but I ordered it anyway and I'm quite glad I did! It's the perfect size - the height is about the same as a typical 13 gallon, it's just a little narrower, but it's definitely not something noticeable (it doesn't look like a SMALL trash can). We probably do replace the bag a bit more often than we did with the larger one, but not enough to be an inconvenience (and it's actually probably better this way because then it won't start to smell). It functions perfectly and I have no complaints about the infrared sensor or how it opens/closes. The bags are easy to replace as well and the ring inside makes it nice because the edges of the bag are hidden inside the lid. In the product description it says you can use either 8 or 10 gallon trash bags. I use the 8 gallon ones because I haven't been able to find any bags in the 10 gallon size. You could probably even use 13 gallon bags and they'd work just fine because the ring would hold it in place. Anyway, it looks great, works perfectly, and it's pretty cool technology also. Highly, highly recommended!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nine Stars 8.7-Gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can, White

Cute white automatic trashcan

02/09/2014
By ,
Washington, DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This trashcan says 8 gallons or so, but I am using my 13 gallon bags. At first I was scared that it would be to small, but it is not. Its a decent size and has a nice profile in my modest kitchen. Does take 3 D batteries which are not included, so i could offer a better review when I see how long they last. But it is a good basic hands free trashcan at a reasonable price. I am keeping it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nine Stars 8.7-Gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can, White

Excellent trash can. White in color and just what

11/02/2011
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent trash can. White in color and just what the wife was looking for. We like it better than the iTouch can.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nine Stars 8.7-Gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can, White

good product

06/18/2014
By ,
Radcliff, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because I need a slim trash can. Love that I don't have to touch anything to open this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nine Stars 8.7-Gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can, White

So glad I chose this!

08/09/2012
By ,
Sidney, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just like another reviewer, I too wanted white because I have white appliances and ultimately will upgrade, however I wanted them to match now! I also thought going from a 13 gallon to this size would be blatantly obvious so I too was impressed when this can sat a little taller than my previous one. I am still using 13 gallon bags which are pretty much full when I change them and really I think I change them as often as my last trash can too! I'm so glad I went with this one based off of another review! My kids are also way more helpful in throwing things away too! My husband loves the look of it also! I will probably never go back to another standard trash can again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nine Stars 8.7-Gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can, White

This product was the talk of Easter.

04/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally purchased this trash can because I needed one for a small space. I highly recommend this product! This is a little sad to say but this trash can was the talk of our Easter. As guest threw away their items they were impressed with the hands free motion detector. It was also great for me because I was preparing the meal and had to throw out dirty meat wrappers without touching the lid - and it kept in the smell until I took it outside.
So now I'm going to see if they have a bigger version for my parents and my grandmother.
And one of my best friends wants one for her baby shower to use as a diaper genie.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nine Stars 8.7-Gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can, White

Love these Wastebaskets

02/27/2012
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased 2 of these wastebaskets at Christmas (1 for daughter and 1 for son). They absolutely love these. They can have one thing in one hand and trash in the other and now they don't have to put down whatever is in the free hand to open the lid, etc. A great item. They are battery operated (not included) and should last up to 10,000 opens automatically. Our son and daughter are very satisfied with the product and highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nine Stars 8.7-Gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can, White

Great!

04/22/2014
By ,
ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nine Stars 8.7-Gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can, White

Nine Stars 8.7-Gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can, Whi

02/20/2014
By ,
Virginia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a good trash can if you can keep the top operating without any problems. I just through one away that the top had quit working about a year ago. Tossed the top in the garbage and used the old can.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nine Stars 8.7-Gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can, White

Love, love, love this product !

02/07/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this product to anyone ! It is well worth the money.....not expensive at all !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nine Stars 8.7-Gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can, White

Out of box failure

10/01/2013
By ,
new york
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This garbage can goes great with my kitchen decor and the size is just right not too small or large but right out of the box the motor to the automatic lid opener was bad . I'm being sent another hopefully that one works , I like using new gadgets and not having to step on something or touch the lib would be great if it works !
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nine Stars 8.7-Gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can, White
11/12/2012
By ,
Mineral Bluff, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the idea that you do not have to touch the lid to open the can. The can is just the right size. It holds a tall garbage bag just right. The top of the bag can fold down over the top ridge so when the very top of the garbage can is placed on top the bag is not visible from the outside. The product is very easy to clean. We have had the produce for about one month. I am very, very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nine Stars 8.7-Gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can, White
11/20/2012
By ,
tampa, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a white trash can to go with my brand new kitchen, I am not a fan of stainless steel, searching the local stores and on the web I was beginning to think one did not exist, until I found this can, I love it, very attractive, easy to use and the size was great. And of course it gets lots of attention from our guest.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nine Stars 8.7-Gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can, White

Great can, needed alterations to make dog proof.

11/29/2012
By ,
Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks great in my kitchen which has white appliances. Bought to keep dog, terrier mix, out of trash. And weighs about 18 pounds, and he was able to knock it over and get lid off. We put 30 pound weights in bottom of can, and problem solved. Dog is still trying to break into can, but so far he hasn't succeeded.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nine Stars 8.7-Gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can, White

Love this trash can!

05/31/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this to use for diapers. It's great! We use scented bags and that's all I can smell with the lid closed. When it opens there's a moment of stink but that's to be expected. Try this, you won't be sorry!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nine Stars 8.7-Gallon Motion Sensor Trash Can, White

This is very good product

08/05/2012
By ,
Natick, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got it for myself and for my mom - we both love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.