Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dyson Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Hand and Stick Multi-Floor Vacuum Cleaner

Dyson Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Hand and Stick Multi-Floor Vacuum Cleaner

The Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Multi-Floor vacuum is a cordless vacuum cleaner for multiple floor types including carpet, ceramic, vinyl and wood. It features super-fine anti-static carbon fiber brushes to help clean hard floors and rotating nylon brushes to deep clean the carpet. This cordless vacuum cleaner features the Root Cyclone patented technology that maintains the suction power and sucks the dust out of the air. The detachable long-reach wand and a motorized cleaner head are convenient and easy to operate. A 22.2V lithium-ion battery charges thrice as quick as others and releases charge evenly. Powered by the Dyson digital motor, the Dyson digital slim vacuum features dual power mode. While one mode offers 15 minutes of continuous suction, the other offers six minutes on MAX power deal with difficult tasks. You can use this multi floor vacuum inside your car too.
Average Customer Rating:
4.551 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(927 Reviews) 893
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
674
4 stars
177
3 stars
21
2 stars
23
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation92%854 out of 926reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 42 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
674
4 stars
177
3 stars
21
2 stars
23
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Hand and Stick Multi-Floor Vacuum Cleaner

Best $250 I ever spent

12/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a Dyson user for about 10 years now, I knew that this would be worth the extra expense over the competition. After receiving the vacuum, I'm even more pleased. It does exactly what I expected it to do and couldn't be easier to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Hand and Stick Multi-Floor Vacuum Cleaner

I would & have recommended to a friend

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great cordless for quick cleans. The battery doesn't last much more than 15 minutes but it has an easy on/off trigger so you only turn it on when you want it to clean, not from point A to point B. I have an 8,000 sq ft home. This isn't used to clean the main part of my floors. But it is fabulous for cleaning up Cheerios from my toddler and under the kitchen table and around after a meal. It's light weight so great for sweeping the stairs. It's a small enough head to sweep around the toilets and flat enough to go under furniture my regular sweeper would never reach. It pivots beautiful which makes fast clean-ups even faster. I have long hair, so I do have to cut hairs off off the sweeper brush every week or so. But I have to do this on all sweepers that have a rotating brush. I have one, but am searching for a good Black Friday deal to add another.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Hand and Stick Multi-Floor Vacuum Cleaner

Great product but could be better

02/10/2014
By ,
Richmond, BC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good design! Great product! Gets the job done! It will get a five star rating if it could be recharged standing alone against a wall near a power supply. This product is not designed to stand alone. It is top heavy and the powered multi-head tool is pivoted. Without hanging it up or laying it flat on the floor, it just won't stay put. I live in a small, rented accommodation. There isn't much room to hang things on the wall. To drill holes on the wall to hang things definitely is not a good idea in my situation. Presently, I recharge it laying flat on the floor near a power supply near my bed. That is not convenient. Must I dismantle it every time to recharge it so that I won't accidentally step on it? Dyson! Please improve the design so that this product can stand up by itself without falling.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Hand and Stick Multi-Floor Vacuum Cleaner

Started off STRONG but ran out of gas

01/03/2014
By ,
Washington, DC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased the DC35 in late January 2013. I did not open it until April 2013 (home renovations completed late April). This vacuum was GREAT!!!!!! It worked as promised just as strong as an upright if not better. I was so impressed, I won't lie.. I used it daily for about 2 weeks. I was so happy with it I used it every day even though I didn't need to. I soon purchased an different brand upright because I purchased large area rugs in changing my decor, so I didn't use the Dyson handheld much anymore. I kept it in my bedroom as a sort of personal vacuum. After 7 months, I am sad to report it just didn't keep up the greatness. I used this vacuum once every 2 weeks or so in the last 4 months if that often. In the past month, the vacuum won't stay on for longer than a minute. I am forced to release the trigger and pull it again; I have to pull the trigger several times to vacuum one 8X10 rug. It won't even pick up bits of paper that have found its way to the floor. It barely pulls the dust that accumulates under the area rug. This vacuum was not worth the $300+ I paid. Its not worth the $260 that it is on sale for a year later. My first impression really had me considering buying the more expensive upright, however now I am glad I went with a different brand upright.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
From DysonProductExpert06/23/2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your review of DC35.

DC35 features the Dyson digital motor which does not lose power over time. As long as the machine is maintained per the user guide and the filter is cleaned regularly, we would not expect the machine to lose any cleaning power.

We are also happy to assist with any issues you may be experiencing with your machine. Please feel free to email us askdysonUS@dyson.com and we will be in touch.

Best wishes,
Joe
Dyson Customer ServiceDyson-EN_US
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Hand and Stick Multi-Floor Vacuum Cleaner

Very impressive technology at any price

01/11/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK, so first - don't let the price scare you. If you've owned a hand-held portable vacuum from anyone else in the past, you already know you wasted your money on those ones. Didn't you.
We bought it to do our stairs, it does an excellent job of that and still has plenty of power when that job is done. This thing runs even on "max" (sort of a turbo button) for more than 10 minutes on the battery - even running the included brush attachment. Easily enough to take care of most things you'd do with a portable mini-vacuum. It comes with a nice wall-mount/recharge bracket which is easy to mount, and easy to stick the vacuum into for charging. The charger itself does auto-shutoff when the battery is fully charged. It's got the bagless design that the Dyson full sized has, which is awesome to say the least. It has a washable filter.
Short story, if you need a portable vacuum and you've got the money, I don't believe you'll find a better piece of hardware and technology at any price. Get one.
PS: WalMart.com had the best price around.
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Hand and Stick Multi-Floor Vacuum Cleaner

Waste of money

05/06/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this Dyson DC35 when it first came out for $299.00. I needed a vacuum for quick cleaning and spot pick up. After using the Dyson a few times I have decided to comment on how mad and disappointed I am! I have listed a few of my issues; the battery will only last for a short time, to use you must press the trigger the total time during vacuuming, every time I use it - the battery went dead (only 6 minutes on full power), I checked into a new battery ...$75.00, very noisy, charger is always drawing electricity - not very "Green", 3½ hours to charge back up, exhaust air blows into my face, very poor suction, can't stand the vacuum upright and small dirt capacity. This Dyson is not worth the $299.00, I would not recommend this model ...waste of money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+132points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Dallas
Buy a swifter
Posted 03/30/2014
I love Dyson but this is really a waste of money. It's awkward to handle. Love the picture of the woman holding it up in the air to clean something. Lol. It needs to be cleaned constantly and you have to hold the trigger to run it. My swiffer does a much better job for practically nothing. Don't bother
0points
Customer Avatar
Eugene
I AGREE!
Posted 08/29/2012
This is the most expensive piece of junk EVER! Not only everything this person listed is TRUE... the thing wont pick up ANYTHING the size bigger than a crumb... so if you have children this thing is a COMPLETE waste of money... I was so disappointed in this product!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Hand and Stick Multi-Floor Vacuum Cleaner

Loving it!

08/16/2011
By ,
Milwaukee WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was concerned about the battery life after reading all th reviews bit I have a dyson for my main vacuum and have been very pleased with it. I bought this as a substitute for my Dustbuster which had stopped working. It has been perfect. With two labs we have endless battles with dog hair. It not only has great suction but I have never had the battery die before I was finished. I use it to quickly go over the hardwood floors in the kitchen, living room and dining room and the battery lasts just fine. It is not a substitute for a full vacuum on carpeting but it cleans my stairs well and does a fine job on the hard floors. It's definitely pricey but it does the job and if it proves to be durable will be worth the additional cost. It also has a smaller brush and gets into places my bigger vacuum won't easily reach including under furniture.
Pros: Suction, Ease of Use, Size & Weight, can be used like a dustbuster
Cons: price
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Hand and Stick Multi-Floor Vacuum Cleaner

Repair service is a joke!

03/12/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dyson repair service is horrible. They have had our vacuum for over 5 weeks. They keep giving us the run-around, say they will call us back but never call back. We have contacted them 15 times in the last 3 weeks to try and get answers/ our issues resolved. Every single time they tell us it's the repair facilities fault and they will email them.
They supposedly finished repairs on it a week ago but we found out Thursday they will not ship to an Air Force Base in the United States. We never have any problems getting anything delivered here, so we insisted they ship it here. Customer service agent said she would email the repair facility and tell them it was okay to ship it. Call back following Monday, they still haven't shipped it. Same story.
If I ever get my vacuum back I am returning it and getting another brand. If you are thinking of buying one, if you are military, I highly suggest getting another brand. If you are not military I highly suggest you get another brand. While it may be a great vacuum when it actually works, if you ever have to get it serviced, their repair time turn around is ridiculous and they care nothing about the people who spend $600 for one of their vacuums.
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Hand and Stick Multi-Floor Vacuum Cleaner

We're a two Dyson family now!

06/04/2011
By ,
Wyoming MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this vacuum!! We have the bigger Dyson and when this one came out, my husband wanted it right away! Works beautifully and has all the suction of it's bigger sibling!
The only problem I have is the trigger; it would be so much better if you didn't have to hold it in. Maybe a click and lock trigger.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Hand and Stick Multi-Floor Vacuum Cleaner

Great, but limited

10/20/2014
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We needed to supplement our other two vacuum cleaners with something that could do the stairs and get cobwebs around the ceiling. This DC35 is the first version of his hand held and it is wonderful, but has a very limited run time. With the trigger on off we can get the stairs done on one charge. The extension gets up to the ceiling without having to stand on anything. Also great for getting under furniture and picking up the little jobs.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Hand and Stick Multi-Floor Vacuum Cleaner
05/27/2011
By ,
swburbs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the only problem is the battery lasts only about 10 minutes on full power b-4 you have to recharge it---beside that it does the job---
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Hand and Stick Multi-Floor Vacuum Cleaner

Awesome cordless vac!

09/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've been eying this for a few years, but I've never had good luck with cordless vacuums. They just don't have enough suction. We bought the big Dyson Ball vacuum earlier this year and love it, so when Walmart had a sale on the Dyson DC35 Digital Slim plus lots of free attachments, we had to buy it. It has fantastic suction power!! The battery is a short 25 minutes, but that seems like a long time when using this for spot cleaning, so I wouldn't be concerned about that. This is just perfect for scouring the house to clean the little messes that our toddler and our cats leave behind. The unit I got is that deep Dyson purple, not the blue shown in the picture, but I like that better as it matches the Dyson Ball we have.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Hand and Stick Multi-Floor Vacuum Cleaner

Only picks up the smallest particles of dirt

06/12/2011
By ,
Burleson, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It looks cool. It's expensive. As far as I can tell it sounds as if it has a lot of suction. However, I haven't been able to sweep up anything larger than sand. I have to sweep my floors with a broom and dust pan then follow up with the Dyson to get that last little bit. I could have picked up a small sweeper for a fraction of the price that would have served the same purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Hand and Stick Multi-Floor Vacuum Cleaner

convenient in some cases disappointing in others

01/16/2012
By ,
Omaha, NE
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought the digital slim to replace my regular vacuum. I have an extra large area rug and the rest of my house is hard wood floor. For most tasks around the house the digital slim is really nice, for carpet the digital slim is far less than adequate. The rollers get caught and/or have a hard time rolling smoothly over carpeting and for that reason the product is not a great alternative to a regular size vacuum.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Hand and Stick Multi-Floor Vacuum Cleaner

Awful

10/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I hated this dyson and returned it to walnart and got a Hoover linx. The dyson would not pick up much and to have to constantly hold down the button was a pain! Hoover linx is half the price but 3x the machine!
Recommends this product? No
From DysonProductExpert10/15/2014
Hi there, this is Joe with Dyson. Thank you for your review of the DC35. DC35 features two power modes, including MAX power for tougher jobs. The power button is designed to be ergonomic and conserve battery power in between cleaning tasks. Other cordless vacuums may claim a longer run time, but they loose power almost immediately after powering on. Our fade-free lithium ion battery technology ensures 13 minutes of constant suction with the DC35.

I understand you have returned the machine, however; we would like to learn more about your experience. Please consider sending us an email directly to askdysonUS@dyson.com and we will be in touch.

Best wishes,

Joe
Dyson Customer ServiceDyson-EN_US
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Hand and Stick Multi-Floor Vacuum Cleaner
01/17/2012
By ,
Dawsonville, GA USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Dyson - I also own The Dyson Animal, which is an upright. My house has wooden floors except the bathrooms that have tile. I should mention that I've got 4 dogs and 3 cats so I'm no stranger to animal hair. I wanted a cordless handheld for those quick pickups when I didn't feel like pulling out The Animal.
The Dyson DC35 has been a great additional to my cleaning tools. I've mounted the wall bracket, which also serves as the charger in my utility room so the vacuum is always on charge when not in use. The specs say the charge lasts 15 minutes, but I've never had it run out of power. The bracket also nicely stores the included tools.
The DC35 has plenty of power for my needs and I'm often amazed how much dirt and hair the unit picks up. I'm constantly using the unit around the kitty litter boxes, the dog food bowls, and the kitchen floor and around the fireplace. The motorized floor tool works great on the wood floor and the tile, but not as well on the area rugs. However, when it's time to vacuum the rugs I pull out my big gun - The Animal.
Do I like the DC35 - yes. Am I glad I bought it - yes. If it disappeared tomorrow would I go buy another one - yes. All in all a great little unit for the job it was designed to do.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Hand and Stick Multi-Floor Vacuum Cleaner
02/19/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My biggest problem with this vacuum is that there's no on/off switch. You have to hold in the power switch the entire time you are using it. Also, because of the "felt" strip on the bottom, it does not work well on short-pile carpet/rugs. I am returning this vacuum - it cost too much to keep with these problems.
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Hand and Stick Multi-Floor Vacuum Cleaner

Incentive to Vacuum right here!

05/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ladies, if you are looking for a way to inspire your husband or boyfriend to vacuum the floors without excessive provocation, BUY HIM THIS. Not does this vacuum work extremely well, but it also just plain looks cool--feels like you are vacuuming in the future... I literally have been unable to stop vacuuming my house since I got it--its that much fun to use, and its easy. They are a little expensive, but the attention to detail, smart engineering, and quality of construction are evident. You will not be disappointed and neither will he!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Hand and Stick Multi-Floor Vacuum Cleaner

Lightweight and great suction

12/01/2011
By ,
Rochester Hills, MI.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read quite a few reviews on this product before my purchase. This product rocks on all aspects of the functionality for a handy vacuum. It gets the edges with the edger better than any product I have had over the years. The walls and ceiling are no problem to get to and I do not have to reach like other products. If you are on the short side though (5'3") or less it may be a problem for you. Since the first couple of times using the Dyson DC35, I have had enough battery life to accomplish the task at hand. I just empty the canister into the waste basket and continue on if it gets full while using. I rarely give any product a 5 star but this one is very close to me changing it to that. One hold back is that sometimes (not always) you have to pull the dirt out of the canister if you get it to full.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Hand and Stick Multi-Floor Vacuum Cleaner

powerful vacuum

06/02/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this vacuum. My only complaint is a short battery life, but that's in exchange for powerful suction. One battery is good for around the house. Just keep it charged. It's a handy-dandy, lightweight little item.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NC
Nice!
Posted 07/14/2011
I absolutley love this vaccum, it's lightweight, powerful and fun to operate, the one complaint i do have is you cannot find the filters for it. I even went on the Dyson website and for 2 months now they've been out of stock! If anyone knows where i can find one HELP!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 115 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next