Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Boss Audio Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Boss Audio Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

The Boss Audio 612UA In-Dash Media Receiver can play MP3 tracks from other media players and iPods. The device comes with an SD memory card port for storing media files conveniently. You can also play files from other media devices on this MP3 compatible solid state receiver with a USB port and a front-panel AUX input. Furthermore, the unit features a PLL-synthesized tuner with 30 preset stations. The control panel on this USB/SD AM/FM stereo receiver features an active black mask display with backlit control buttons for easy operation. With the ID3-Tag display, you can identify the title, track number, artist and genre of audio files. The balance and fader controls, along with separate bass and treble settings, let you enjoy great digital music. This digital media AM/FM receiver features a quartz digital clock as well.
Average Customer Rating:
3.882 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(272 Reviews) 229
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
111
4 stars
92
3 stars
25
2 stars
14
1 star
30
Customer Recommendation82%222 out of 271reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
97 Questions | 195 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
111
4 stars
92
3 stars
25
2 stars
14
1 star
30
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

No more cassettes OR CDs, powerful, OEM look

07/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I replaced the OEM cassette/radio in MY 1999 Toyota Corolla with this unit. It really brings the car into the 21st century. No cassettes to store, not even CDs. I can store 50 albums (or playlists) on a single postage-sized chip and never need to take the chip out of the unit. Friends can bring their USB jump drive (or SD) to play their music, or just plug in their mp3 player into the AUX jack.
I use a micro-SD chip with an SD adapter. The maximum size chip is supposedly 32 Gb. However, another limitation is 999 songs. You will probably hit that limitation with an 8Gb chip before the size limitation.
The one thing I can say did not meet my expectations is the radio doesn't keep as consistent of an FM frequency as I would expect (I haven't really listened to AM, but it does work). I am going to confirm that my antenna is completely plugged in, but I'm pretty sure it is.
The unit is much more powerful than my OEM unit, so it sounds great (a big improvement) even with the original speakers.
In my car, the unit looks like it is OEM, which I love. I don't want one with lots of flashing lights that looks like I installed a video game.
The price ($40) simply can't be beat.
Lots of wires to hook up. Buy and use an adapter for your car's wire harness. All soldering can be done outside the car. I'm not a fan of crimping wires or using connectors, but it could probably be done.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Excellent Piece of Equipment!

05/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this radio! It was just like the Dual brand radio that it replaced, with the exception that it has a much better amp built in to it as well as a much larger and detailed display! The Dual was pushing only 1 of my 4 speakers. The Boss is pushing all 4 and they sound great! Can't turn it up all the way cos it is way too loud if I do! and I actually have balance & Fade controls which I was not getting with the Dual radio because it didn't have enough power for them to actually work! If you are looking to make the transition away from CDs to MP3s, this is the way to go! 1 SD card can store most people's entire music collection!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

This is a great low priced radio.

10/21/2013
By ,
SoCal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I now have three of these, one for my '90 Acura, one for my '94 Explorer, and one as my house stereo (modern radios have somewhat complex controls, like "push for three seconds then release", so I decided it would be easier to learn only one set of instructions). Both of the ones in the cars required minor modifications to the mounts but those were to be expected. I may even put one in my old truck.
These radios have a great audio range and better clarity than my ears. The radio signal pickup is better than the old radios. The AUX IN and USB ports work as advertised and allow me to listen to all my old cassettes, CDs, and IPOD. The USB won't read MP4's but I've read that that's almost universal.
This may not be the radio for audiophiles or anyone wanting to impress people with how much money they spent but it's a darn good radio for $35. We looked at the $25 radio but it didn't have AM which is needed for getting some traffic reports and emergency alerts.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Great Little Stereo - Needs Better Instructions

10/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this stereo for my teenage son's 2004 PT Cruiser that didn't have an AUX jack. Being a DIY kind of mom, I decided to install it myself...yes, a 50 year old woman CAN do these things. The stereo comes with very poor instructions and doesn't tell you about any of the additional items that you will need for a complete install. For an older car you will need a installation kit ($18), an antenna adapter ($9), a wire harness adapter ($13), wire crimp caps ($3) and some basic tools. I watched several videos on how to remove the front panel of the PT Cruiser and had it off in less than 2 minutes. Installing the stereo, which included mounting, wiring (watched another video on how to do this properly), and antenna installation, took another 30 minutes. I actually spent more time organizing music on my computer to load onto SD cards than the actual installation of the stereo!!! Just make sure you have EVERYTHING you need BEFORE you start the installation or you'll be making several trips to the auto parts store. In the end I spent less than $80 for something that would have easily cost $150+!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Fine to get it done

10/28/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted something to make the old car a little nicer. It does that, so that's nice. I was looking for line in. The card reader is also nice. It was really cheap, so I thought if I didn't like it I could take it out. The main problem I have with it is the volume control knob is very weakly constructed. I'm afraid it will break within the year. It would cost a dollar more to have a solid knob. It's such an essential feature of the product that it makes a huge impact on my perception of its value.
I got a wiring harness and that worked. I didn't get an installation kit and I don't think I used the sleeve correctly. It doesn't quite fit in my 91 Camry correctly, maybe you can make it fit better.
I saw a mp3 player for 4 dollars at an electronics warehouse. I would recommend that with a more solidly constructed receiver with line in.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Pretty good

12/19/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Over all I think this is an OK stereo for the price. I bought in a bundle with speakers. Kind of wish I would have sprung the extra $30 for a Pioneer or other name brand. But for an entire system plus mounting kit, and wire harness I was still under $100. So can't complain.
Pros:
good price,
way better sound and stereo reception than stock radio,
USB, SD and 1/8 input are nice.
decent features.
Cons:
number one complaint The clock does not display. You have to hold the clock button for about 2 seconds to see the time. Then 2 seconds later it's back to showing radio station or song info.
cheap plastic feel,
have to press buttons hard to get them to work, almost feels like they're going to break by the time they change.
USB seems to only work for storage device, does nothing when connected to iPhone, or Android phone.
no way to skip folders on SD only option to jump 10 tracks forward or back.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

so far.. really good! :)

08/30/2011
By ,
san ysidro, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's works great, aux, usb.. i haven't tried the sd port yet, but i'm really happy with usb. In other review i read about a problem with radio volume, quote:
"The volume that you have the radio set to does NOT stay in memory. That means if you have the radio volume set to like level 6 when you turn your car off, when you turn your car back on the radio comes back on with the volume at a default level 20 blasting your ears." I didn't have this problem at all, so if you're having it, you may consider returning it..
The only problem I foud is that if you have a usb connected and you don't shut the stereo down manually it stays turn on, even if you turn off the car, the usb keeps playing, with no sound, but you can see the songs passing by.
over all it works fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Worked for about a month - pure junk

09/17/2011
By ,
Evansville, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picked it up site-to-store on 8/5, died tonight 9/17. Conveniently, it lasted a few weeks past the 15 day return policy for electronics.
It was working fine until I turned my car off and ran into the grocery store. When I turned the car on to leave, the radio was already dead. The reset button didn't help the problem at all; black screen no lights no sound. At home, I checked the fuses on the +/- and checked for bare wires and similar problems. None whatsoever, I used wire nuts and heat shrink tubing for the install along with a Metra harness adapter. I am actually kind of glad it died because I hated it. Volume reverted back to 20 every time the car key gets turned; what's comical is that it can remember your place in a song but it cant remember your volume setting.
User manual and online tech support = worthless. If the company wont give me a full refund it's going in the garbage, along with my 50 bucks. I wouldn't bother exchanging it for another one if my life depended on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Surprisingly Nice In-Dash

05/19/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My opinion only states two real cons. The instruction manual has nothing in it on how to set up the time which made figuring it out a little difficult, and the unit has no detachable face. Though it is not a CD/DVD player, it still looks like one to the wrong person and may be a problem.
Other than that I found this stereo to be beyond what i imagined. The fact that it reads SD chips just blows CD's out of the picture altogether. I can put my entire music library on a single chip and never worry about running out of memory or skipping due to vibration. Also the 200 watts of power sounds awesome. If you have an alarm on your car and/or tinted windows i recommend getting this while its cheap and the downfall of CD players bring this to be the expensive player just now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Not the best

05/30/2011
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
You can tell that it was built with minimum thought, effort and regard for user satisfaction. However for $50 it's pretty much worth the money. Neither box, nor the site mentions this, but you will get an ERR message when trying to use a memory cars that is over 4GB in size. The USB plug actually loosened up after about a week and the flash drive began to move around, reseting itself when the car goes over a pothole. The "random" button is not actually playing music randomly, it follows a pattern that is very predictable and gets annoying very quickly. The only thing that doesn't give me trouble is AUX port. Good idea for a product, mediocre execution. Rated accordingly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New Hampshire
Tell Us More
Posted 06/05/2011
The physical frailty is worrisome. On the "predictable" Random setting, please say more about what the algorithm is and what makes it predictable. Does it not ensure that a given song does not always follow another one? Would it still be annoying on a medium with over a hundred songs on it?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Best....buy

11/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works beautifully in my durango, very nice stereo for the money. Has AUX SD CARD SLOT AND USB works great...love it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Awesome product!

02/18/2012
By ,
Savannah, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading the reviews on this reciever decided to take chance and bought one. Wow!! Didn,t have any of the problems reported in other reviews. First of all it has great sound, 200 Watts and no distortion cranked up! Display is fine, after 2 weeks. Easy to use and navigates even to nested folders of my USB drive. The problem with clock display/setting is difficult because the manual is not well written. One call to tech support (no hold time) and this issues was resolved. Here's how to set the clock. While in radio mode, press and hold the clock/mode button until the clock display comes up. To set, while the clock is now diplayed press and hold the button again. Adjust the time by rotating the volume knob. Switch between hour/min with the arrow keys. The clock is not the default display in any mode. To see the time simply press and hold the clock button > 2 sec. Cannot believe the value for the price. Considering buying a second unit as an MP3/WMA player for the house. It has RCA out jacks in the back! No more CD's to clean or replace if scratched. No more CD player lens to clean. Just great digital music at an even greater price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Stay away

11/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The power and speaker wires look like they were melted together.if you turn the volume all the way up it kills like it went into protective mode.Will never buy car audio from Walmart again
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Good product

11/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the money it is a good product. I would recommend this highly.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

I had no problems installing this,plays well.

01/09/2014
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good value for the money especially when there's no AM-FM Stereo Radio in a older car & a more costly radio may attract thieves. It plays FM Stereo very good & the (USB Flash Drive "thumb-drive- storage" - that you can purchase separately to compliment this radio) plays even better. It has a "loud" setting that will satisfy most rock & roll fans sans additionally buying & installing a external amplifier. No "Off" switch is included, just simply turn the volume down to zero (no load) and it turns off fully when you turn the engine off. I enjoy the fact that there's not a CD player to break and I'm enjoying downloading Music I enjoy off my laptop to "USB Flash Drive" and then plugging the "USB Flash Drive" directly into the radio for hours of trouble free music. I feel now that CD's are obsolete, thereof. I am impressed over the small amount of money I spent on this Radio. And I feel that I can recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

good for the price

11/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wish it had a clock otherwise perfect!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Love it!

11/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Installation was easy (so says my husband), the sound is clear and I am so happy!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Unreliable Bargain

11/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After installed (and I have done this like 60 times before), the unit will not hold memory. Very disappointing for a brand new never-opened head unit.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

good stereo for the money

08/10/2012
By ,
hurricane, utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a decent stereo considering the price. It sounds decent, though you don't have much control over the sound just bass and treble. It has rca jacks in the back which I hooked up to my sub, but it doesn't have sub out control. I like to turn the bass off my other speakers and put it all on the sub, can't do that with this stereo. It says it has 50 watts per channel, compared to the sony in my other car, it's not as loud. If you don't have to have super loud, super clear sound it works good. On other reviews they had problems with the usb starting from the first song everytime which I did until I changed mp3 player, then it worked correctly. I didn't have the problem of it coming on at 20 volume level like some said, it was just where i left it when I turned it off. I like the sd card which is the only way I use it now. It starts playing quicker and right where I left off. I like the display, it's not obtrusive just continues to scroll through artist, album, title, song number and time playing, buttons are easy to control, because there's not alot to control. really for the money it's a good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Volume DOES Stay in Memory

09/30/2013
By ,
Avon, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My radio does remember my last volume setting so it turns on just where I left it. For what I paid for this radio and four speaker package, I can't believe how nice it sounds. Much better than the factory system in my Camry.
FM quality is great, and MP3 playback through the SD card is stellar as it is through the USB input.
Audio input through the sub-mini jack is very low gain, which means volume is low for playback unless you have a really strong amplifier on your external player. Another problem with low gain is alternator noise during playback. No noise on SD card or radio.
Buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 230 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next