Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Boss Audio Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Boss Audio Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

The Boss Audio 612UA In-Dash Media Receiver can play MP3 tracks from other media players and iPods. The device comes with an SD memory card port for storing media files conveniently. You can also play files from other media devices on this MP3 compatible solid state receiver with a USB port and a front-panel AUX input. Furthermore, the unit features a PLL-synthesized tuner with 30 preset stations. The control panel on this USB/SD AM/FM stereo receiver features an active black mask display with backlit control buttons for easy operation. With the ID3-Tag display, you can identify the title, track number, artist and genre of audio files. The balance and fader controls, along with separate bass and treble settings, let you enjoy great digital music. This digital media AM/FM receiver features a quartz digital clock as well.
Average Customer Rating:
3.91 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(312 Reviews) 269
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
131
4 stars
106
3 stars
26
2 stars
14
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation83%257 out of 311reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
110 Questions | 204 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
131
4 stars
106
3 stars
26
2 stars
14
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

No more cassettes OR CDs, powerful, OEM look

07/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I replaced the OEM cassette/radio in MY 1999 Toyota Corolla with this unit. It really brings the car into the 21st century. No cassettes to store, not even CDs. I can store 50 albums (or playlists) on a single postage-sized chip and never need to take the chip out of the unit. Friends can bring their USB jump drive (or SD) to play their music, or just plug in their mp3 player into the AUX jack.
I use a micro-SD chip with an SD adapter. The maximum size chip is supposedly 32 Gb. However, another limitation is 999 songs. You will probably hit that limitation with an 8Gb chip before the size limitation.
The one thing I can say did not meet my expectations is the radio doesn't keep as consistent of an FM frequency as I would expect (I haven't really listened to AM, but it does work). I am going to confirm that my antenna is completely plugged in, but I'm pretty sure it is.
The unit is much more powerful than my OEM unit, so it sounds great (a big improvement) even with the original speakers.
In my car, the unit looks like it is OEM, which I love. I don't want one with lots of flashing lights that looks like I installed a video game.
The price ($40) simply can't be beat.
Lots of wires to hook up. Buy and use an adapter for your car's wire harness. All soldering can be done outside the car. I'm not a fan of crimping wires or using connectors, but it could probably be done.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Excellent Piece of Equipment!

05/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this radio! It was just like the Dual brand radio that it replaced, with the exception that it has a much better amp built in to it as well as a much larger and detailed display! The Dual was pushing only 1 of my 4 speakers. The Boss is pushing all 4 and they sound great! Can't turn it up all the way cos it is way too loud if I do! and I actually have balance & Fade controls which I was not getting with the Dual radio because it didn't have enough power for them to actually work! If you are looking to make the transition away from CDs to MP3s, this is the way to go! 1 SD card can store most people's entire music collection!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

This is a great low priced radio.

10/21/2013
By ,
SoCal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I now have three of these, one for my '90 Acura, one for my '94 Explorer, and one as my house stereo (modern radios have somewhat complex controls, like "push for three seconds then release", so I decided it would be easier to learn only one set of instructions). Both of the ones in the cars required minor modifications to the mounts but those were to be expected. I may even put one in my old truck.
These radios have a great audio range and better clarity than my ears. The radio signal pickup is better than the old radios. The AUX IN and USB ports work as advertised and allow me to listen to all my old cassettes, CDs, and IPOD. The USB won't read MP4's but I've read that that's almost universal.
This may not be the radio for audiophiles or anyone wanting to impress people with how much money they spent but it's a darn good radio for $35. We looked at the $25 radio but it didn't have AM which is needed for getting some traffic reports and emergency alerts.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Best for the Money!

05/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my Boss 612UA almost a year ago, and I couldn't be happier with it! It's small and light because there's no CD player so it's very easy to install, The settings are easy to use, and there's a great range for bass, treble, etc., and the blue display lighting looks great at night. The volume is more than enough, it goes from 1 to over 30, but even on the highway 25 is enough, especially with the bass turned up. Others have had problems with the volume setting being too high at startup, but mine always defaults to 15, which is fine. It plays my SD card music beautifully, very clear, never a problem from song to song. When I first got it, I didn't think I'd be able to search for a specific album, but here's a tip: When you move your music onto the SD card, do it in folders (think of them as albums) by artist or type (like Rock, Reggae, etc). When you do that, if you want to find something, just press the 1-10+ button and hold it for a couple seconds, and it skips to the next album (or press the 1-10- button next to it to go to previous albums) . I've got about 14 albums on my SD card, and what I really like is that it plays everything, or random, or I can choose my album, and there's never any hassle at all. Believe me, when I sell this car, this stereo is going to my next car!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Great unit for the price!

02/12/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great unit for the price. It will be a bit basic compared to higher end units, but it puts out about as much wattage. One thing to know as per the manual that I don't think is listed: It can only handle up to a 32 gb sd card or usb. A couple things about it that may be not so good: It is really bright at night as it does not have a dimmer( not orange dimmer wire to hook up) (and I mean bright!), no always on clock display ( you have to hold down src/disp for 2-3 seconds and it will show up for a few seconds). I may have to figure out how to paint over the blue side lights by the volume knob or something but oh well. It does sound great however and I really like the sd card and usb options, I have most of my songs on sd for it now and works well. I do wish you have more control over how to find songs, It basically plays through them back to back like a cd tracklist and hit next, and no pick and choose songs, but you can press the #5 or #6 buttons to go between folders. Overall, it is a great replacement unit for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Pretty good

12/19/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Over all I think this is an OK stereo for the price. I bought in a bundle with speakers. Kind of wish I would have sprung the extra $30 for a Pioneer or other name brand. But for an entire system plus mounting kit, and wire harness I was still under $100. So can't complain.
Pros:
good price,
way better sound and stereo reception than stock radio,
USB, SD and 1/8 input are nice.
decent features.
Cons:
number one complaint The clock does not display. You have to hold the clock button for about 2 seconds to see the time. Then 2 seconds later it's back to showing radio station or song info.
cheap plastic feel,
have to press buttons hard to get them to work, almost feels like they're going to break by the time they change.
USB seems to only work for storage device, does nothing when connected to iPhone, or Android phone.
no way to skip folders on SD only option to jump 10 tracks forward or back.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Surprisingly Nice In-Dash

05/19/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My opinion only states two real cons. The instruction manual has nothing in it on how to set up the time which made figuring it out a little difficult, and the unit has no detachable face. Though it is not a CD/DVD player, it still looks like one to the wrong person and may be a problem.
Other than that I found this stereo to be beyond what i imagined. The fact that it reads SD chips just blows CD's out of the picture altogether. I can put my entire music library on a single chip and never worry about running out of memory or skipping due to vibration. Also the 200 watts of power sounds awesome. If you have an alarm on your car and/or tinted windows i recommend getting this while its cheap and the downfall of CD players bring this to be the expensive player just now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Worked for about a month - pure junk

09/17/2011
By ,
Evansville, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picked it up site-to-store on 8/5, died tonight 9/17. Conveniently, it lasted a few weeks past the 15 day return policy for electronics.
It was working fine until I turned my car off and ran into the grocery store. When I turned the car on to leave, the radio was already dead. The reset button didn't help the problem at all; black screen no lights no sound. At home, I checked the fuses on the +/- and checked for bare wires and similar problems. None whatsoever, I used wire nuts and heat shrink tubing for the install along with a Metra harness adapter. I am actually kind of glad it died because I hated it. Volume reverted back to 20 every time the car key gets turned; what's comical is that it can remember your place in a song but it cant remember your volume setting.
User manual and online tech support = worthless. If the company wont give me a full refund it's going in the garbage, along with my 50 bucks. I wouldn't bother exchanging it for another one if my life depended on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

so far.. really good! :)

08/30/2011
By ,
san ysidro, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's works great, aux, usb.. i haven't tried the sd port yet, but i'm really happy with usb. In other review i read about a problem with radio volume, quote:
"The volume that you have the radio set to does NOT stay in memory. That means if you have the radio volume set to like level 6 when you turn your car off, when you turn your car back on the radio comes back on with the volume at a default level 20 blasting your ears." I didn't have this problem at all, so if you're having it, you may consider returning it..
The only problem I foud is that if you have a usb connected and you don't shut the stereo down manually it stays turn on, even if you turn off the car, the usb keeps playing, with no sound, but you can see the songs passing by.
over all it works fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Good item would recommend it to anyone

05/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like it works fine and very useful for the vehicle I put it in.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Not the best

05/30/2011
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
You can tell that it was built with minimum thought, effort and regard for user satisfaction. However for $50 it's pretty much worth the money. Neither box, nor the site mentions this, but you will get an ERR message when trying to use a memory cars that is over 4GB in size. The USB plug actually loosened up after about a week and the flash drive began to move around, reseting itself when the car goes over a pothole. The "random" button is not actually playing music randomly, it follows a pattern that is very predictable and gets annoying very quickly. The only thing that doesn't give me trouble is AUX port. Good idea for a product, mediocre execution. Rated accordingly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New Hampshire
Tell Us More
Posted 06/05/2011
The physical frailty is worrisome. On the "predictable" Random setting, please say more about what the algorithm is and what makes it predictable. Does it not ensure that a given song does not always follow another one? Would it still be annoying on a medium with over a hundred songs on it?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Great value!

05/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great little stereo - inexpensive to buy, easy to install, wonderful to use!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Great Little Stereo - Needs Better Instructions

10/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this stereo for my teenage son's 2004 PT Cruiser that didn't have an AUX jack. Being a DIY kind of mom, I decided to install it myself...yes, a 50 year old woman CAN do these things. The stereo comes with very poor instructions and doesn't tell you about any of the additional items that you will need for a complete install. For an older car you will need a installation kit ($18), an antenna adapter ($9), a wire harness adapter ($13), wire crimp caps ($3) and some basic tools. I watched several videos on how to remove the front panel of the PT Cruiser and had it off in less than 2 minutes. Installing the stereo, which included mounting, wiring (watched another video on how to do this properly), and antenna installation, took another 30 minutes. I actually spent more time organizing music on my computer to load onto SD cards than the actual installation of the stereo!!! Just make sure you have EVERYTHING you need BEFORE you start the installation or you'll be making several trips to the auto parts store. In the end I spent less than $80 for something that would have easily cost $150+!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Great!

05/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For what we needed it worked out great in an older beat up truck. Didn't want anything to fancy but yet the updated usb plug and aux. cord.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Works as advertised, with just 2 glitches

01/22/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an excellent radio, especially for the price. It feels good; it looks good; it sounds good; the receiver works great on both FM and AM bands; and it plays audio files well (including WMA files). So why do I only give it 4 out of 5 stars? First and foremost, after being powered off, it does not remember when I was in “random” mode when playing an audio file source. This is a big deal because it upsets the whole pseudo-random sequence in which music is played. It does remember exactly where within a music file it was playing, but misses the other equally important fact. Secondly, it has a “spectrum analyzer” display, which shows a graphic pattern that bears no relationship to the music. This can be a considerable driver distraction and there appears to be no way to disable it, or the generic car image in the center of the display. This is an unnecessary “feature” that does nothing other than detract from the product quality. Apart than those 2 things, I haven’t been able to fault this radio. It’s a shame that two things that could be so easily fixed escaped the attention of product management to spoil an otherwise flawless product.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Great!

05/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works perfect in my little Subaru
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Great receiver

05/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this receiver. Works great and is a good value. The only thing that I don't like is the fact that it doesn't display the clock unless you hit and hold the button. Other than that I wouldn't definitely recommend it for a friend.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

good stereo for the money

08/10/2012
By ,
hurricane, utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a decent stereo considering the price. It sounds decent, though you don't have much control over the sound just bass and treble. It has rca jacks in the back which I hooked up to my sub, but it doesn't have sub out control. I like to turn the bass off my other speakers and put it all on the sub, can't do that with this stereo. It says it has 50 watts per channel, compared to the sony in my other car, it's not as loud. If you don't have to have super loud, super clear sound it works good. On other reviews they had problems with the usb starting from the first song everytime which I did until I changed mp3 player, then it worked correctly. I didn't have the problem of it coming on at 20 volume level like some said, it was just where i left it when I turned it off. I like the sd card which is the only way I use it now. It starts playing quicker and right where I left off. I like the display, it's not obtrusive just continues to scroll through artist, album, title, song number and time playing, buttons are easy to control, because there's not alot to control. really for the money it's a good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Aux input won't work

04/29/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After only 2 months of using the device the aux input broke only the right side of the speakers would turn on when on aux but the stereo would play on both when listening to radio.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Boss Audio 612UA - MP3 Compatible Solid State Receiver, AM/FM Receiver, USB/SD

Great product

04/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great so far : )
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 270 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next