Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hefty Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Hefty Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

This Hefty 13.5-Gal Trash Can is ideal for people who value quality and style in a receptacle unit. This trash can will look wonderful in any home or office. Its bold red color will liven up the interior of any space and make it easy to find when someone needs to throw something away. This practical swing lid trash can makes it easy to keep hands clean. The lid swings through when you push your trash through the center and automatically swings back to the closed position, making it a very hygienic alternative to open trash cans. Functional and attractive, this garbage can be used with 13-gallon tall kitchen trash bags for added convenience. Use any brand you like.
Average Customer Rating:
4.239 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(276 Reviews) 228
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
181
4 stars
43
3 stars
16
2 stars
9
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation87%239 out of 275reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 49 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
181
4 stars
43
3 stars
16
2 stars
9
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Brightens up the Kitchen

12/20/2012
By ,
jamaica,ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the way it looks in the kitchen. Its tall enough and has a shin e look to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

I never thought I would love a garbage pail!

12/02/2013
By ,
Upstate, N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this garbage pail. It is the perfect red (apple or red cherry red) that matches my kitchen decor. I was concerned seeing the review complaints about the trash can condition. However, perhaps the complaints made workers more aware of the condition, because mine was received in very good condition. There were some very slight scratches and little dirt, but I could barely notice when inspecting it. I LOVE that the swing lid is constructed in such a way that when swinging back or front, does not hit the wall. Also, a light tap and it opens and closes perfectly AND it fits so well in the small area that I can fit two there now. Well, I will definitely buy a 2nd one for recyclables.
I really can't believe I am writing a review about it (Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red). I really love the look, functionality and the construction of it suits my needs so well. By the way, 13 gallon trash bags, fit in it perfectly!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kansas city, MO
great idea
Posted 12/07/2013
thanks for the photo now I have a better idea how it looks...
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

good for the money, BUT..................

09/22/2014
By ,
san francisco
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
for 14$ and change, this is good value, BUT the red is a muted tomato red, rather than a cherry red
which would have added a bit of LIFE to a kitchen, AND the transit packaging by mfg. is just plain tragic, so ALL cans will be scraped and scratched (I looked at every one), not overly noticeable when in the home, but you'll just have to live with imperfection, AND I opted for a switcheroo, going for the flat-top spring-load, so my cats have a landing pad for watching me prepare breakfast......the spring-load SOUNDED LIKE TROUBLE, but upon inspection, it looks pretty simple.....the plastic lip that holds the tension will probably wear eventually, but if the lid is closed and held down before releasing the spring-loaded grabber, I'm guessing the can will last as long as you'd want it to......worst happens, you buy another at this low price.......either the swing top or the spring load seemed to be equal, just a matter of preference.....I've seen these identical cans selling for 49$ and more......at THOSE prices, I'd be unhappy.......at 14$, I'm HAPPY.......AND I also got a smaller cherry-red (different mfg.)......THAT'S what I'm talkin' about!!!...... for plastic bag recycle......too bad it didn't come in the taller size!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Very messy

06/16/2014
By ,
NYC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Opening on top of lid keeps tapping food.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Cute can, good purchase

05/11/2012
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a cute can. It is larger than most, but still the perfect size for the tall kitchen garbage bags. Actually it is the best fit for the bags I have found yet. The bags fit snugly over the edge, so there is no slipping! Yes, as other reviewers stated stuff can get caught in the handle of the lid, but after a while you get used to opening the can wider, and then this doesn't happen, plus if it does, it is easier to clean than if there was a handle attached. I only gave appearance a 4 because as is with plastic, there were a couple of spots where the red was not as bright, but it is really only noticeable by me. No one else seems to notice it. The price is spectacular! And it is fun to have a sleek red garbage can in my kitchen. I also received it very quickly, well boxed, easy to unpack. There was a sticker on it, but it was easy to remove in one piece with patience, and on mine anyway, did not leave any glue residue. This was a good purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

hefty swing garbage pail for the kitchen

06/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's perfect the color the size the Price. Fabulous. Fast shipping. Thanks walmart!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Please with it

06/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Iike it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can,Red

06/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my trash can the color is perfect my husband loves how the lid swings great product will buy again. Thanks Walmart
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

We love our red garbage can

06/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the color, and its ease of use
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Red

06/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This can is selling for 24.00 $$$$ on other sites.I pick this one up for 13.00 dollars here at Walmart good value.13 gallon tall trash backs perfect fit for this can.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Waste receptacle

06/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product. Well made and just what I needed for my shop!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

red kitchen trash can

06/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my red trash can..slowly but surely I am changing my kitchen to have all red accent peices
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Love the color!

11/11/2013
By ,
Louisville, Ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The color of this trash can is what attracted me to buy it. All of my appliances are in red, and I wanted a garbage can to match and this fits the bill in terms of the color. However, the size is much smaller than I expected, and it does fill up fast as a kitchen garbage can. I do like having the lid on the garbage can so my dogs don't get into it, however the downside to that is I eventually have to remove the lid once the garbage reaches the top, so I can fit more garbage into the can. Overall, I do enjoy having this in my kitchen because the color really pops, and I did purchase it more for the color.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Great trashcan!

06/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good color! Matches my kitchen décor nicely! :) Works well. Well worth the money!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

red garbage can for kitchen

08/08/2011
By ,
Rochester Hills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value and shipping
does have the spot on handle that collects dirt
two lighter spots on it
still looks good and better than the expensive metal ones
the color is so much nicer than what is in the stores
which is black, white or silver and boring
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ogden utah
broke and discolored within a month
Posted 01/21/2012
i bought this can to match my apple kitchen and was so excited when it got here it was beauitful well my excitment was gone fast with a few day my grand daughter hit it with her PLAY doll stoller and it became disclored i firgured oh well she must of hit harder than i thought (she is all of 20 pounds and only 2 years old) and i could live with that a little color mark i just turn it around and than i lid broke that i can't live and took it off my husband brought it back in the house it okay no one will notice but i noticed it drove me nuts so i bought a differen one different style but it goes bad i will be returning it it was to much money for a few weeks of pretty
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

nice trash can

05/03/2011
By ,
Central Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love the color, but wish it were a little taller. Also wish the indent for the handle on the lid wasn't there. It tends to catch crumbs, making it look gross and cause for constant cleaning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Good value for a great price.

10/17/2011
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
And I just love the Red color. It's just what I'd been looking for.
But there is one negative about it. On the lid there is a groove/handle where crumbs/food/ whatever teneds to get stuck. If it were an actual opening, they would just fall through into the can. But I can live with it because of the color. Did I mention that I love Red.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Meet Expectations

05/01/2011
By ,
Camilla, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product a couple weeks ago. My kitchen is in apples and this matched perfectly. The color was very pleasing. I am very pleased with this product. It looks so good I don't even want to put any trash in it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Handy and neat

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This adds a pop of color to the kitchen while keeping it neat and clean. No ugly trash open to see. The lid swings freely and is easy to take off when emptying. The regular tall kitchen bags fit perfectly and no space is wasted. The price was good and am liking having the trash covered. I would recommend this product highly.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

love my red garbage can!

09/23/2014
By ,
NYC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cheap and good value. strong and sturdy. Cannot imagine the lid mechanism breaking as some say. I had some kind of a big office trash bin and put bags in it in my kitchen. My back is bad so I wanted something higher so I don't have to bend. Bags fit right over the top and around the edge snugly, a breeze. I sometimes keep it open during the day and shut it closed at night. A good value, cheap and a fun purchase to spruce up my bachelor pad lol.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 229 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next