Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hefty Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Hefty Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

The Hefty Swing Lid 13.5-Gal Trash Can is a high quality, stylish trash can, perfect for home or office use. This practical trash can makes it easy to keep hands clean. The lid swings through when you push your trash through the center, and will automatically swing back to the closed position, making it a very hygienic kitchen trashcan. Functional and attractive, this red home wastebasket can be used with thirteen gallon tall kitchen trash bags for added convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.323 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(198 Reviews) 150
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
133
4 stars
31
3 stars
13
2 stars
7
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation89%175 out of 197reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 39 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
133
4 stars
31
3 stars
13
2 stars
7
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Brightens up the Kitchen

12/20/2012
By ,
jamaica,ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the way it looks in the kitchen. Its tall enough and has a shin e look to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

I never thought I would love a garbage pail!

12/02/2013
By ,
Upstate, N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this garbage pail. It is the perfect red (apple or red cherry red) that matches my kitchen decor. I was concerned seeing the review complaints about the trash can condition. However, perhaps the complaints made workers more aware of the condition, because mine was received in very good condition. There were some very slight scratches and little dirt, but I could barely notice when inspecting it. I LOVE that the swing lid is constructed in such a way that when swinging back or front, does not hit the wall. Also, a light tap and it opens and closes perfectly AND it fits so well in the small area that I can fit two there now. Well, I will definitely buy a 2nd one for recyclables.
I really can't believe I am writing a review about it (Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red). I really love the look, functionality and the construction of it suits my needs so well. By the way, 13 gallon trash bags, fit in it perfectly!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kansas city, MO
great idea
Posted 12/07/2013
thanks for the photo now I have a better idea how it looks...
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Cute can, good purchase

05/11/2012
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a cute can. It is larger than most, but still the perfect size for the tall kitchen garbage bags. Actually it is the best fit for the bags I have found yet. The bags fit snugly over the edge, so there is no slipping! Yes, as other reviewers stated stuff can get caught in the handle of the lid, but after a while you get used to opening the can wider, and then this doesn't happen, plus if it does, it is easier to clean than if there was a handle attached. I only gave appearance a 4 because as is with plastic, there were a couple of spots where the red was not as bright, but it is really only noticeable by me. No one else seems to notice it. The price is spectacular! And it is fun to have a sleek red garbage can in my kitchen. I also received it very quickly, well boxed, easy to unpack. There was a sticker on it, but it was easy to remove in one piece with patience, and on mine anyway, did not leave any glue residue. This was a good purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Love the color!

11/11/2013
By ,
Louisville, Ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The color of this trash can is what attracted me to buy it. All of my appliances are in red, and I wanted a garbage can to match and this fits the bill in terms of the color. However, the size is much smaller than I expected, and it does fill up fast as a kitchen garbage can. I do like having the lid on the garbage can so my dogs don't get into it, however the downside to that is I eventually have to remove the lid once the garbage reaches the top, so I can fit more garbage into the can. Overall, I do enjoy having this in my kitchen because the color really pops, and I did purchase it more for the color.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

PERFECT FOR MY KITCHEN

03/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PRODUCT MET MY EXPECTATIONS. FAST DELIVERY. GREAT COLOR. VERY DURABLE. EXACTLY WHAT I ORDERED.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Love it

02/20/2014
By ,
Brooklyn ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm in love with this trash can have to say I been looking all over for a red trash can cause everything in my kitchen is red and i have been looking all over for a red trash can couldn't find one anywhere I was looking at few on amazon and thier was kinda pricy so I check out Walmart and I think I was in heaven that day when I came across this trash can I didn't even look at the rest I just wanted this one thank you guys love this store
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Useful product

02/28/2014
By ,
Hartford, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product is very sturdy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Great economical trash can.

02/26/2014
By ,
Maugansville, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really good product. It functions really well and looks really nice. It also shipped really fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Just what we were looking for

04/14/2014
By ,
cincinnati, oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spent a long time searching the web for just the right trash can for our retro kitchen. Not into "motion detetection" or wanting or needing anything fancy gadget... just a GOOD basic, well made garbarge can in RED to go with our 40's/50's kitchen where red is a color that goes along with that theme.
Have been using it for several weeks and can report NO problems what-so-ever... perfect dark red... almost impossible to find anywhere else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Love it, but lid is rubbed a lot so dull.

04/20/2014
By ,
T
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Happy with the unit, but upon arrival the lid is rubbed a lot, so looks old :(
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Good trashcan, but delivered in bad condition.

11/13/2013
By ,
Yuma, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The trashcan is good but it arrived at the store in bad condition. It was severely scratched and dirty. The label on it looked old and faded. If the trashcan would have arrived in new condition, I would have given it a high rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Disappointed

04/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I received this trash can. It had scuffs all over the top. I assume that's because it was stuffed inside the trash can itself... I don't plan on returning it because it's only a trash can and I love the color. I was disappointed in the scuff marks and they don't seem like they can come off.
Product Attributes:
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

My new Trash can !

04/15/2014
By ,
R.I.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it ! The tall kitchen garbage bags fit perfact !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

great trash can

11/18/2013
By ,
va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The red color is perfect, goes well with my apple decor in my kitchen. Made very sturdy. Love the lid, it fits the can nicely.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Good features.

04/14/2014
By ,
North San Diego County
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not as dark of red that I was expecting but otherwise good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Nice Product

04/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its only been a couple weeks of using it so far but its perfect for my kitchen. Love the color, size and swing lid and the price was a steal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

A decent garbage can

04/10/2014
By ,
Bronx, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent garbage can. I use it in my kitchen and it does its job.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

very nice trash bin.

04/09/2014
By ,
prineville, oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This looks very nice. It's a little wide but that's ok. Very good quality & sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Added pop of color

12/12/2013
By ,
Kernersville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an added pop of color to my kitchen. I love the can, but it seems as with all the other reviews, it has scratch marks on it. I can live with it, but it would be nice if they could make a can that won't get these little scratches.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Nice Can

04/04/2014
By ,
Sonora, Calif.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Had to return two of these! Too many scratches on surface. I had them sent to store and went to pick up twice. Both times scratches all over item. Bad packaging.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 151 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next