Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hefty Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Hefty Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

This Hefty 13.5-Gal Trash Can is ideal for people who value quality and style in a receptacle unit. This trash can will look wonderful in any home or office. Its bold red color will liven up the interior of any space and make it easy to find when someone needs to throw something away. This practical swing lid trash can makes it easy to keep hands clean. The lid swings through when you push your trash through the center and automatically swings back to the closed position, making it a very hygienic alternative to open trash cans. Functional and attractive, this garbage can be used with 13-gallon tall kitchen trash bags for added convenience. Use any brand you like.
Average Customer Rating:
4.302 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(222 Reviews) 174
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
149
4 stars
33
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation88%194 out of 221reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 41 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
149
4 stars
33
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Hate the Swing Lid

09/29/2012
By ,
Boyertwon, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Whoever would have thought I would have a complaint about a Trash Can? But I do. I DO NOT LIKE the swing lid. It makes the opening into the trash can too small so I actually have to take the lid off when emptying food containers, vacuum cleaner etc etc into it. The lid also keeps me from being able to fill the trash can all the way up as I usually do. The lid then gets stuck in the leftovers and soils the outside of the lid. So I am now waiting for the other red trash can I ordered to arrive. Very dissapointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

I never thought I would love a garbage pail!

12/02/2013
By ,
Upstate, N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this garbage pail. It is the perfect red (apple or red cherry red) that matches my kitchen decor. I was concerned seeing the review complaints about the trash can condition. However, perhaps the complaints made workers more aware of the condition, because mine was received in very good condition. There were some very slight scratches and little dirt, but I could barely notice when inspecting it. I LOVE that the swing lid is constructed in such a way that when swinging back or front, does not hit the wall. Also, a light tap and it opens and closes perfectly AND it fits so well in the small area that I can fit two there now. Well, I will definitely buy a 2nd one for recyclables.
I really can't believe I am writing a review about it (Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red). I really love the look, functionality and the construction of it suits my needs so well. By the way, 13 gallon trash bags, fit in it perfectly!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kansas city, MO
great idea
Posted 12/07/2013
thanks for the photo now I have a better idea how it looks...
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Very messy

06/16/2014
By ,
NYC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Opening on top of lid keeps tapping food.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Cute can, good purchase

05/11/2012
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a cute can. It is larger than most, but still the perfect size for the tall kitchen garbage bags. Actually it is the best fit for the bags I have found yet. The bags fit snugly over the edge, so there is no slipping! Yes, as other reviewers stated stuff can get caught in the handle of the lid, but after a while you get used to opening the can wider, and then this doesn't happen, plus if it does, it is easier to clean than if there was a handle attached. I only gave appearance a 4 because as is with plastic, there were a couple of spots where the red was not as bright, but it is really only noticeable by me. No one else seems to notice it. The price is spectacular! And it is fun to have a sleek red garbage can in my kitchen. I also received it very quickly, well boxed, easy to unpack. There was a sticker on it, but it was easy to remove in one piece with patience, and on mine anyway, did not leave any glue residue. This was a good purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

nice bin for the price

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is good fits average bags. Flip lid is a little cumbersome but considering $50+ for metal bins this is a bargain
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Excellent purchase.

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tried for a very long time to find a RED trash can to fit in with the decor of our kitchen. This Hefty Swing Can fits perfectly! Our only ONE complaint is that we wish a supermarket plastic bag was wide enough to fit the top as we put one over the regular 13 gal tall kitchen bag, and tie it off as soon as it is full. We are quite happy and satisfied with our purchase! Cannot beat the price and durability.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Goes good with red

07/20/2014
By ,
Webb City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks good with the rest of my red articiles in my kitchen
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

excellent

07/21/2014
By ,
Corning, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Hefty Swing Lid Trash Can

06/15/2014
By ,
PITTSBURGH, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would have given it higher stars, BUT there were booy foot prints all on the front looks like someone was using it to stand on
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Love the color!

11/11/2013
By ,
Louisville, Ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The color of this trash can is what attracted me to buy it. All of my appliances are in red, and I wanted a garbage can to match and this fits the bill in terms of the color. However, the size is much smaller than I expected, and it does fill up fast as a kitchen garbage can. I do like having the lid on the garbage can so my dogs don't get into it, however the downside to that is I eventually have to remove the lid once the garbage reaches the top, so I can fit more garbage into the can. Overall, I do enjoy having this in my kitchen because the color really pops, and I did purchase it more for the color.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Can't go wrong!

07/15/2014
By ,
pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Good value for a great price.

10/17/2011
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
And I just love the Red color. It's just what I'd been looking for.
But there is one negative about it. On the lid there is a groove/handle where crumbs/food/ whatever teneds to get stuck. If it were an actual opening, they would just fall through into the can. But I can live with it because of the color. Did I mention that I love Red.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

SO SHARP, I PUT IT IN MY HOME OFFICE!

07/10/2014
By ,
central CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the push lid for ease of use.
The color, red for me, is shiny and cheerful....
Got it for my kitchen, but I use it right next to my desk in home office.
(I got Great Value, 13 gal. drawstring bags.)
Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

wonderful

07/12/2014
By ,
newbedford mass
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
grand kid proof
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

trash can

07/06/2014
By ,
MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
exactly what we wanted!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Good trashcan, but delivered in bad condition.

11/13/2013
By ,
Yuma, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The trashcan is good but it arrived at the store in bad condition. It was severely scratched and dirty. The label on it looked old and faded. If the trashcan would have arrived in new condition, I would have given it a high rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

great trash can

11/18/2013
By ,
va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The red color is perfect, goes well with my apple decor in my kitchen. Made very sturdy. Love the lid, it fits the can nicely.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

red garbage can for kitchen

08/08/2011
By ,
Rochester Hills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value and shipping
does have the spot on handle that collects dirt
two lighter spots on it
still looks good and better than the expensive metal ones
the color is so much nicer than what is in the stores
which is black, white or silver and boring
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ogden utah
broke and discolored within a month
Posted 01/21/2012
i bought this can to match my apple kitchen and was so excited when it got here it was beauitful well my excitment was gone fast with a few day my grand daughter hit it with her PLAY doll stoller and it became disclored i firgured oh well she must of hit harder than i thought (she is all of 20 pounds and only 2 years old) and i could live with that a little color mark i just turn it around and than i lid broke that i can't live and took it off my husband brought it back in the house it okay no one will notice but i noticed it drove me nuts so i bought a differen one different style but it goes bad i will be returning it it was to much money for a few weeks of pretty
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

Meet Expectations

05/01/2011
By ,
Camilla, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product a couple weeks ago. My kitchen is in apples and this matched perfectly. The color was very pleasing. I am very pleased with this product. It looks so good I don't even want to put any trash in it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hefty 13.5 Gallon Swing Lid Trash Can, Red

nice trash can

05/03/2011
By ,
Central Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love the color, but wish it were a little taller. Also wish the indent for the handle on the lid wasn't there. It tends to catch crumbs, making it look gross and cause for constant cleaning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 175 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next