Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony STR-DH520 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver, 700 Watts

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony STR-DH520 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver, 700 Watts

Step up your home entertainment experience with the Sony BRAVIA Str-Dh5207.1 3D Receiver. This receiver lets you experience 3D cinema in your living room. The Sony AV receiver is compatible with Blu-ray 3D movies, video games and other 3D content. It delivers 7.1 powerful channels of sound and allows up to six HD connections. You can connect your PlayStation system, Blu-ray disc player, and more HDMI capable devices to this receiver to enjoy superior quality HD video and audio. You can experience incredible and irresistible sound quality while you watch 3D sports, movies and games from connected 3D devices. This 3D pass through receiver allows you to control select Sony BRAVIA devices with a single remote, thanks to the BRAVIA sync function. The advanced Blu-ray disc audio decoding delivers to the Sony BRAVIA Sync receiver accurate and crystal clear sound. The Audio Return Channel eliminates cable clutter as it sends the audio to the system through the HDMI cable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.288 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation85%50 out of 59reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony STR-DH520 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver, 700 Watts

Very Good Entry level Home Theatre Reciever

04/26/2012
By ,
Clearlake Oaks, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Been eying several Sony recievers at Crutchfield. Was wondering why my local Walmart didn't carry home theatre recievers. Now mind you this reciever was sitting on a shelf in the box and although there were pictures on it I couldn't tell just by looking at that, the shortcomings of the reciever. There are only two. One the HDMI passthrough will automatically change the digital decoding on the reciever to match the television speakers. My speakers are stereo, and therefore if I use the HDMI passthrough all the setting revert to LPCM(high quality stereo). I can't imagine just using the built in speakers over the HT speakers that I just reset to having all sound go through the sony. The other dissapointment was the exclusion of Automatic Sound Calibration.....they list it in the manual for just Australia, and Singapore......
But I would only use that as a templete.
The sound is wonderful and there are so many settings that it is a great value for 228$ plus tax.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Sony STR-DH520 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver, 700 Watts

Awesome sound

09/30/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to hook up. Great sound. Interfaces automatically with my Panasonic 3D BluRay player and 55" LG 3D LED HDTV which reduces the need for a remote. Easy to tweek and customize settings for any individual taste. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 3 for Sony STR-DH520 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver, 700 Watts

Sweet Stereo

01/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My God.
The first time I cranked out Dolby HD-DTS surround sound from this badboy, I nearly wept. I'm not sure what I was listening to before, but the difference was astounding. So rich and complete.
Get a powered sub to really complete the range.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Review 4 for Sony STR-DH520 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver, 700 Watts

nice, cheap and easy to use

05/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an entry unit that performs like a lot higher end receiver. may be missing some of the bells and whistles (audyssy processing etc.) but the power output is great and it really livins up any set of speakers. Definatly worth upgrading and is a million times better than the pioneer 3d model for 179.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Review 5 for Sony STR-DH520 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver, 700 Watts

Great receiver

04/09/2012
By ,
CO Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The receiver is awesome. If you're looking for a very easy to set up and easy to use product with great features, this definitely meets those qualities. The price was great (Bought on sale for 194 pre tax) and I have had no issues. Using a collection of Pioneer floor-standing, bookshelf, and center speakers with a powered Pioneer Subwoofer. It is definitely enough to irritate the neighbors at its peak. Don't use the 7.1 or 3D yet, but I figured in the future I might.
Some tips: You will need a powered subwoofer as line-out is your only option for the sub. If you have issues with "Protect" on your receiver, you most likely have a short in your wiring, and you need to make sure the different sides of your speaker wires don't touch when connecting to a speaker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Sony STR-DH520 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver, 700 Watts
03/21/2012
By ,
Middleburg, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had a previous Sony surround system for over 10 yrs that went out. Instead of buying a whole new system I just bought a receiver and kept the speakers i had from the other unit. Works perfectly!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 7 for Sony STR-DH520 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver, 700 Watts
01/24/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great sound, easy to set up, the price is right.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 8 for Sony STR-DH520 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver, 700 Watts

Great receiver

04/17/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Receiver is great. Meets all my expectations, but price was too high for this receiver. The add walmart.com displayed was confusing, thought I was getting speakers together with it, but it seems I misunderstood the add. Surely I would recomend this receiver to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 9 for Sony STR-DH520 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver, 700 Watts

Great Sound

04/10/2011
By ,
Winston-Salem, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Challange to set up. Poor operator instructions. Disappointed the remote does not operate the TV, still need two remotes. (I do not have a cable box or dish). The receiver has great sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 10 for Sony STR-DH520 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver, 700 Watts

OK Receiver for price

11/24/2011
By ,
Colorado Springs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An okay receiver for the price. One item I was disappointed in about this receiver that isn't explained in the item description is that the subwoofer output is only compatible with a powered subwoofer. The system I replaced with this receiver was able to output to either a non-powered or a powered sub. The speaker system I currently have uses a non-powered subwoofer so it looks like I'll have to buy a new subwoofer if I want to keep this receiver. The only reason I replaced my old receiver is that it wasn't 3D compatible.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for Sony STR-DH520 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver, 700 Watts

Great value

11/30/2012
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I replaced an older A/V receiver with this and I am happy. All of the HDMI inputs were Great!! Set up was easy. Instructions could be better and I wish the on screen set up would work with other brands of TV. While not an audiophile I am pretty picky and it sounds great. The unit itself is rather plain looking but gets the job done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Sony STR-DH520 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver, 700 Watts
12/05/2012
By ,
Newton, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Good sound quality. A LOT of speaker options: Type of listing;concert;arena;jazz etc.;to speaker combonations. Recommend using HDMI cables to connect other components if possible. For me. taking a bit of time to understand how to use all the options this unit offers. But I'm not at all disapointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Sony STR-DH520 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver, 700 Watts

Easy set-up, Great deal

06/29/2012
By ,
hart, mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The set-up was very simple,plus was a very good deal.I'm disabled and use this most of the day every day, and the sound is fantastic and the sound can be adjusted by your other remotes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Sony STR-DH520 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver, 700 Watts
07/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Me and my husband are really happy with the sony dh520. we recommend it to anyone who loves music.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 15 for Sony STR-DH520 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver, 700 Watts
12/10/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I never got to use the product, it was defective out of the box. The unit would send no audio or video through hdmi out. Disappointing for a name brand product.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-9points
Review 16 for Sony STR-DH520 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver, 700 Watts

STR-DH520

12/11/2011
By ,
Longmont, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's an ok receiver however, I should have chosen a Pioneer. The remote tv/dvd functions only work with Sony products and there is no networking.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-6points
Review 17 for Sony STR-DH520 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver, 700 Watts

Trouble with Dish Network

01/27/2013
By ,
Pocatello, ID
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this unit to replace an ailing Onkyo with HDMI issues. When I removed the old Onkyo and hooked up the Sony, my Dish Network 722k receiver froze. When I disconnected the HDMI, the Dish rebooted fine. Every time I connected the Dish with HDMI to the Sony, the 722k would crash. The Dish unit works fine with the old Onkyo and connecting directly to the TV. Went through two of these receivers to try to isolate the installation problems. Same issue with both units. I suspect the Sony's HDMI "control" feature is problematic with all makes of equipment using HDMI.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Sony STR-DH520 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver, 700 Watts
03/25/2012
By ,
Easley, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great, easy to install and operate
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Sony STR-DH520 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver, 700 Watts
12/04/2011
By ,
Albany,GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product meets or exceeds all expectations
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Sony STR-DH520 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver, 700 Watts

JUNK!

12/31/2011
By ,
Sidney, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a piece of junk. None of the parts come with it to get the thing going. The speakers that I ordered as part of the bundle didn't even come with the cables to hook it to the AV receiver. If you don't have an HD TV AND a HD cable/satellite box, you can not hook it up to this receiver. Do not, DO NOT waste your money on this junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-41points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Your description shows that it is not JUNK
Posted 11/28/2012
1. It sounds like you were unaware that speaker wire is not included with the receiver. It NEVER is included with a receiver so that does not make it junk. No other receiver will come with speaker wire.
2. It has an HDMI output, component video output, and composite video output. I don't really think I need to elaborate but you could definitely use this with an SD TV. Maybe you should have consulted the manual. There may be a way to select the video output.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next