Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Polk Audio Polk Audio SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater with Wireless Audio Subwoofer, SoundBar

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Polk Audio Polk Audio SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater with Wireless Audio Subwoofer, SoundBar

Enjoy uncompromised sound quality with the Polk Audio SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater. It gives you a simple, clutter-free, wireless way to enjoy dynamic, three-dimensional in-home surround sound audio for your favorite TV shows, movies, music, and video games. The surround sound system includes a slender sound bar that connects to your television home theater with just one cable, plus a separate subwoofer for incredible bass impact. The powered subwoofer can be placed anywhere in the room and it makes a convenient wireless connection to the sound bar - no messy cables to run across your floor. Plus, the Polk Audio SurroundBar speaker system has built-in amplification, so you won't need a surround sound receiver. It even learns the volume and mute commands of your existing remote control. You easily can mount these Polk audio speakers on the wall using the keyhole slots and experience theatre-like sound quality right in your home.
Average Customer Rating:
4.274 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
22
3 stars
10
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation84%80 out of 95reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
22
3 stars
10
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Polk Audio SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater with Wireless Audio Subwoofer, SoundBar

Great Surround Sound, Minimum Equiptment

11/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had purchased this for my husband. He plays PS3 games and had the T.V volume up pretty far. I was actually wondering if our T.V speakers would survive another day? I'm very happy to say, the T.V speakers are doing fine. Thanks to this system, he has the T.V volume all the way down now. This Home Theatre is great! We have a nice size living room and still, you don't have to turn the SurroundBar up that much at all! Not to mention..I HATE seeing wires hanging out all over the place. Well...that's not an issue with this system. It's wireless!! Just plug it in! I decided to also purchase an entertainment system from Walmart. So, as you can see in the pictures...the SurroundBar sets right underneath the flatscreen. Basically, blending right in. I like that a lot! The Subwoofer sets nicely in it's own cubby. So, GREAT surround sound, minimum equipment.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Polk Audio SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater with Wireless Audio Subwoofer, SoundBar
06/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product greatly improved the sound coming from my TV. I thought the problem with my tv speakers was just that they weren't very loud. Once you plug in the wireless subwoofer you realize that TV speakers are missing a lot more than just volume.
I play a lot of video games on my TV and it's amazing how the speaker seems to create sound almost all around me. In a multiplayer game I can hear my teammates walking next to me, even though there's no speaker there!
Wiring is as simple as two power cables and one audio cable. The hardest part was finding the place in my TVs menu to turn the internal speakers off.
Programming my TV remote to control the speaker volume is only slightly more complicated that saving radio stations in my car stereo.
All in all this is the easiest way to make a huge improvement in sound. Now my TV sounds as good as it looks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+51points
Review 3 for Polk Audio SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater with Wireless Audio Subwoofer, SoundBar

Decent for $200 BUT Certainly Not Worth $349

07/25/2011
By ,
Sweet Home, AL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My main gripe is my TV only has optical audio out. This system has RCA jacks ONLY. Had I done a little research I would have found that out. So, I had to hook it up to the Blu-Ray and now I only use it when the Blu-Ray is on. So, for the majority of the time, when just watching TV, I still use the speakers on my LG TV.
All that said it is still a decent deal for $200. I could have taken it back, but kept it because of how cheap the price was. And one of the main things I wanted it for was to listen to Pandora and other apps through the Blu-Ray. And it is good for that.
I would recommend this to someone only if their TV has RCA Audio Out and you are just looking to supplement the TV speakers...and the price would be $200 or less. Many newer TVs may not have RCA Out. So, check your TV BEFORE you purchase this and make sure you know what you are doing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Review 4 for Polk Audio SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater with Wireless Audio Subwoofer, SoundBar

Excellent sound, easy install

06/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the sound from my Polk Soundbar / Home theater system. I improves the viewing experience from my Samsung HDTV by giving me rich, deep sound. I particularly like the wireless sub woofer. I have it placed in an opposing corner of the room and find I can dial up as much, or little bass as I want. I was also able to program the remote on my satellite system to control the sound bar as well as the Samsung TV. And since my satellite gives me digital music as well as video, I can sit back and listen to awesome audio when I want a change of pace. All-in-all a great addition to my home entertainment experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+34points
Review 5 for Polk Audio SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater with Wireless Audio Subwoofer, SoundBar

Not much bang for not much buck!

07/31/2011
By ,
Fort Bragg, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was my first experience with a sound bar. The quality of sound was far better than came directly from the TV (flat screen Samsung). It might have projected sounds around to seem to be coming from other directions if I had explored it long enough, but in a couple of days I could not sense it.
My major problem is that it only has two analog inputs and no output. To use it at all, I had to use component connections from my BluRay player, sending the sound to the bar, not the TV. That meant my 1080i capable TV could only be used at 720. My second problem is that I had to get down on the floor and put my ear to the base-box to tell that it was working; that with it turned up to max. I thought about returning the TV to replace it with one with sound-out, but the problem was actually with the lack of connections on the sound-bar. If I could have fed the HDMI to the sound-bar, passing it through to the TV via HDMI, that part would have been fine. I would still have been disappointed in the base.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 6 for Polk Audio SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater with Wireless Audio Subwoofer, SoundBar

For The Price You Can't Beat This!

07/05/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After getting burned with a Vizio VHT510 soundbar with wireless woofer(volume LEDs went out after 3 days) Walmart was very excellent service(full refund).
So I thought I would try this Polk SDA Instant Home Theater.This is Polk's analog hookup(RCA plugs,white and red only) SurroundBar with Wireless Subwoofer that we have used a little over two weeks.
I can report that I am very impressed with the sound that is coming out of this setup.There have been reports of low volumes coming out of this soundbar,but if you think the volume is low,Polk has designed this soundbar to have 3 gain settings on the soundbar to select from to correct this.
This soundbar with wireless subwoofer definitely improves the volume and quality of the sound of the program you are viewing,we think we are at the movie theater.
This unit also came with a remote that we did not need because we were able to program the soundbar for our Vizio M550SV 55 inch LED HDTV(which we also bought from WalMart,excellent price) remote to control the sounbar,it's a great feature.
So I would recommend this product to anyone who is not pleased with their HDTV's lack of sound and volume control.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 7 for Polk Audio SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater with Wireless Audio Subwoofer, SoundBar

I highly recommend Polk Audio's Surroundbar & Sub!

04/07/2011
By ,
Vallejo, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I’m the first to review it on Wal-Mart, I’ll try to be detailed and informative so others can decide if this is the right soundbar (surroundbar) for them.
SOUND QUALITY/PERFORMANCE & FEATURES = 5 of 5. I have absolutely NO complaints about the audio quality of the mids and highs on the surroundbar. This reminds me of a 2.1 speaker set up, meaning the surroundbar acts like two floor-standing speakers with a subwoofer. Many will be disappointed that there’s no Optical Audio Out feature, but this is described as SDA (Stereo Dimensional Array). I interpret that as meaning it won’t replicate a true 5.1 surround system experience, but a 2.1 sound experience is still very good and much improved over the stock speakers that come with LED/LCD and Plasma HDTVs these days. I could not find an Audio Out on my tv, so I plugged the Analog Audio Cable directly into the blu-ray player which is probably better anyway since it’s directly connected to the source. Allow a few hours for the break-in period, although it sounds great right out of the box. Subwoofer is down-firing which works well if it’s a downstairs set up with hardwood floors. But for those who want to use it in their master bedroom (like I did), you’ll have to turn up the bass volume at least 75% due to carpet flooring even though I put right next to my bed. As for the sub’s power, it’s more than enough to fill a bedroom or living space of an apartment or condo. I tested it downstairs and it’s still sufficient to fill an average-sized family room in a house, but the sub feels a little underpowered for a large room. I recommend increasing the sub up to 90% max volume. The sub feels balanced, not over-powering and very convenient that it’s wireless, so it easily can be placed anywhere with a power outlet nearby. If you prefer more *thump* for a subwoofer, this IHT (Instant Home Theater) may not be for you (you may be better off buying a soundbar and sub separately). As for the surroundbar, it has no digital display (not a good idea Polk Audio), so it’s tough to tell what level volume you’re at, just gotta play it by ear until it’s loud enough for your taste. Still, this isn’t a major setback, just more of an inconvenience.
MISC. NOTES: Size is compact for a soundbar (31.75” x 4.5” x 4”). I like the matte finish (vs. glossy finish), less reflective surface is preferred since I placed it in front of the tv. Surroundbar does have some weight to it, so make sure it’s properly mounted on the wall. Otherwise, it has rubber feet and sits very close to the surface. If you prefer some height to it, use the two stands included, that’s what I’m using. It has rubber lining on the stands, so it’s secure and won’t slide off easily. Be aware that it may block the remote sensor if placed in front of the HDTV. Another minor inconvenience if not mounting the surroundbar onto the wall. Some soundbars are very short in height and don’t pose a problem in blocking the remote sensor, but the sacrifice is smaller speakers and possibly less sound range quality. I found that Polk Audio’s surroundbar to be a good combo of size, not too tall that it blocks the tv screen and not too long that it exceeds the length of the tv or would interfere with other equipment placed nearby (i.e. cablebox, blu-ray player, etc.). The equipment is securely packed in the box, no damage or missing parts when I opened it. Also, syncing the remote to the surroundbar is a chore. Sure it looks easy on the video that’s on Wal-Mart’s Polk Audio ad, but I’ve repeated it several times on my Sony blu-ray remote and have run into syncing problems (i.e. I’ll press Volume Up to sync and afterwards volume goes up fine, but it won’t turn volume down). At least there’s a compact remote control that comes with it for convenience which I’ll probably end up using.
Overall, I would rate this product “5 of 5” stars. Remember, this was meant to be an easy IHT sound system with less cords and quick set up out of the box. If it lacks the connections and sound range (this is stereo with analog audio plugs) you’re looking for or if you prefer heavy bass during music or watching movies, I’d recommend looking elsewhere. BUT…if you prefer high quality and sound balance in a compact set up with very little cords to deal with and on a budget (vs. buying speakers, receiver and subwoofer separately), then I would HIGHLY recommend Polk Audio’s Surroundbar SDA IHT. Plus, if you shop around, Wal-mart is about $50 - $100 less vs. other online stores, that’s why I bought it on their website. Plus, having a physical store nearby to return/exchange is very convenient, too. Thanks for taking the time to read this review.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+209points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
levittown,pa
thanks
Posted 09/01/2011
i know more about the item before i even recieve it , n i even took notes , i sure i will ear it s i am hooking mine up n yes u r correct reguarding the prices i have looked all over and this in the best price i could find ndt it oin clearence right now so they are going ery fast
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Polk Audio SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater with Wireless Audio Subwoofer, SoundBar

worth EVERY cent!

07/30/2011
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the past month and a half we've been searching for the right home theater system to accompany our 42' TV. FINALLY, perfection has been achieved! :D Beautiful, clear sound! Makes you feel like you're watching movies in the theater all over again! Bass is adjustable, something not featured in other systems we looked at. I recommend watching 300, Lord of the Rings.. anything epic when you first connect it. Prepare to fall in love! If you're thinking about buying, stop thinking and just buy it! You WILL NOT regret it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 9 for Polk Audio SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater with Wireless Audio Subwoofer, SoundBar
08/28/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beware that this sound bar will not hook up directly with many newer model hdtv's as they use optical output for sound.This setup does not have the option for optical input. This means that you will have to run sound directly from the source i.e. dvd,xbox,cable box. Other than that very large inconvinence the product is a decent sounding system for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 10 for Polk Audio SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater with Wireless Audio Subwoofer, SoundBar

Just short of my expectations.

11/19/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This system sounded very good. I had no problem with the wireless subwoofer interfering with my home wifi. The sound bar itself was a little bulky for me. But, the most important aspect was the sound output level. I always think of the future when I purchase anything and the Polk soundbar did have a maximum volume level it would play movies at before the digital amps would start to clip. So, I would say it would be great for any size bedroom (large or small), but if you ever wanted to use it in good size living room, it just won't play load enough without clipping. After I tested the Polk soundbar, I decided to order the Sony HT-CT150, 3.1 Soundbar. The subwoofer is not wireless, but it has three HDMI inputs, one coax and three optical. The max sound output was higher than Polk and Sony made it where it wouldn't clip, even at max volume. The subwoofer driver was actually 1" smaller in diameter than the Polk, but the enclosure was larger and had great base. After trying both, I kept the Sony and returned the Polk to my local Walmart store. It is ashame that no stores around me carried either one of these soundbars. Also, just for clarification, I am not one of those die hard Sony fans. I have had problems in the past with Sony customer service and the only TV in my home (five total) with a dead pixel is a Sony Bravia. I was able to mount this soundbar with only two small pieces of velcro on top of a 32" Philips LCD in one of our guest rooms. This TV is on a swivel mount angled towards the bed. It would have been impossible to do this with the Polk due to its size. I didn't even think of doing this until I saw how much lighter and thinner the Sony soundbar was. The warranty is longer on the Polk.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
 
My Product Recommendations
Sony Virtual 5.1 SoundBar, HT-CT150
4.5 out of 5(23)
 
 
 
 
 
+5points
Review 11 for Polk Audio SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater with Wireless Audio Subwoofer, SoundBar

Excellent sound and usability.

12/22/2011
By ,
University Place, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased a higher-end Samsung LCD LED flatscreen TV and needed better sound than can be provided by the built-in speakers.
I first went with a Samsung HW450 soundbar/wireless subwoofer thinking that it would work perfectly with the Samsung TV. That was not the case. The speaker volume required a separate remote control and could not be controlled by the TV remote or Comcast universal remotes.
I returned it to where I bought it and ordered the Polk from Walmart based on reviews.
It sounds even better than the Samsung AND the Polk soundbar actually learns the remote control codes from one's current remote control! Thankfully I'm back to a single control that can control everything very simply.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Polk Audio SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater with Wireless Audio Subwoofer, SoundBar

Great Simple

06/22/2011
By ,
Painesville, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with the sound that comes from this. The wireless bass is as great feature. Put it anywhere (I put it behind the viewing area) and it adds so much to the sound. Easy to install, easy to program the Direct TV remote and now they included a Polk remote just in case.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Polk Audio SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater with Wireless Audio Subwoofer, SoundBar

Can"t be beat for the $.

08/25/2011
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is wonderful. It out performs the speakers on my 46" Samsung 8500, LED TV hands down.
Only con is that there is not a volume level display on the tv screen. it took a few trys to sync to Verizon remote but all is well. This system is set up in a very small TV room 9 1/2 ft x 10 ft and the sound quality is excellant. It could blow you out of the room. For the $, this system is right up there with the "Bose System" $$$ in my finished basement. Granted I am not an Audio expert but I would reccomend this to anyone that can not afford nor want to spend for a much more expensive set up. The wireless sub woofer sounded great on GI Joe, Star Trek, The Expendables, Saw VI and From Paris with Love.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Polk Audio SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater with Wireless Audio Subwoofer, SoundBar

sound is great

11/05/2011
By ,
Bay City, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this sound system for 1 month and have had no problems. the sound is pretty good with the bass making it well worth the money. As far as i can tell the wireless sub wolfer does not interfear with my wireless network. I am Happy with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Polk Audio SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater with Wireless Audio Subwoofer, SoundBar

Excellent value for the money.

08/26/2011
By ,
Long Island, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are a real audiophile, this is not enough for you. For my needs, this was a fine alternative.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for Polk Audio SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater with Wireless Audio Subwoofer, SoundBar

Polk hits home run!

06/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome sound! Worth every penny. Easy set-up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 17 for Polk Audio SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater with Wireless Audio Subwoofer, SoundBar
08/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EAsy hookup, sounds great. Great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Polk Audio SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater with Wireless Audio Subwoofer, SoundBar

Excellent sound and base

11/05/2011
By ,
Plant City Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had the Sony soundbar and could not control our Toshiba volume. Not very good sound.
This soundbar with the wireless subwoofer is great. The base is outstanding and you do not get that muffled midrange through it. Just clean hitting base. Very satisfied,,,, definately the finest sound and base for the money. Sounds like a high end unit. Programming the remote is a little funny, but works well once you understand the directions. And is really almost too simple, you find yourself trying to out guess it. Not an issue though. And once programmed all your other remotes also turn the soundbar off and on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Polk Audio SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater with Wireless Audio Subwoofer, SoundBar

Great system with really easy set up.

12/17/2011
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a sound bar for my bedroom and this one caught my eye. The sound range is better than most of the others for sale on walmart.com and the price was right.
This is a bare basic system but all I wanted it for was to plug in my phone or ipod and listen to music. The bass is great and adjustable for your personal preference. The sound even at very low volume is very clear and doesn't muffle. Polk audio is know for great affordable speakers and they are living up to that reputation.
The set up took me about 20 mins, including mounting it on the wall and was very easy.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Polk Audio SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater with Wireless Audio Subwoofer, SoundBar

Polk Instant Home Theater

08/30/2011
By ,
South
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This item was very easy to hook up to my Sony flatscreen tv using the instructions. However it did take some time to find out the best adjustment for the subwoofer and turn down the tv speakers. I really don't know if I ever got the tv speakers off but at least I was able to reduce the tv sound and raise the sound of the theater system. I think it does improve the sound of the normal tv program some, and on certain types of movies it is outstanding. My Sony remote was easy to adjust to all settings with this system.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next