Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sevylor Sevylor QuikPak K5 Kayak

Sevylor Sevylor QuikPak K5 Kayak

The Sevylor QuikPak K5 kayak is a 1-person inflatable kayak with a grab-and-go backpack storage system. The 1000-denier polyester bottom is laminated with 24-gauge PVC. This Sevylor inflatable kayak has a 250-pound weight capacity. The Sevylor QuikPak K5 kayak also offers a large storage area, multiple D-rings and bungee lacing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%15 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sevylor QuikPak K5 Kayak

Looks great, easy & quick to inflate but sluggish.

08/05/2014
By ,
Ocala, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have only used it once and felt it was sluggish, but, I may not have inflated it enough. The hand pump was quick and easy to use and the directions for assembling the seat and the inflation process were pretty clear. I will buy a better paddle, the hand grips were very uncomfortable even with gloves on. There is not a lot of room inside the kayak when inflated, but it fells very secure. I was able to store my lunch and a small dry bag in the front, but I am only 5ft 3. The seat is pretty comfortable when properly adjusted- the adjustment was trial and error. I plan to use it this weekend and inflate it fuller. Fully inflated it fit inside my Buick Enclave. It was not too heavy to carry to the launch site fully inflated. I am hoping some of my friends get inflatables so we can leisurely kayak together and not try to keep up with the hard kayaks. The storage space behind he seat holds a lot.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sevylor QuikPak K5 Kayak

Great Kayak and rather comfortable!

09/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Myself and 2 of my friends have purchased this kayak and we all love them. I find it so far to be rather rugged as I use it at the lake where I have my boat and I got in and out on rocks along shore line and it is holding up nicely. It is quick to inflate with the hand pump and deflates withing seconds.
The PADDLE as most mentioned when I did my review is rather cheaply made and breaks easily. I do recommend getting another paddle right away and remember when doing so that this kayak is considered a wide body. (longer paddle needed).
I have not tried putting mine back into the backpack but both of my friends have done so with theirs and said it was rather easy especially after trying a couple of times.
Overall this is a great kayak and especially for the money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sevylor QuikPak K5 Kayak

K5 kayak is a great alternative

05/18/2014
By ,
Vancouver BC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I researched a number of different inflatable kayaks online , both on Canadian and US websites. In Canada the lowest price was $650 CDN /////... on walmart.com it was 265.00 USD ( 50 % less with exchange even if I did have to drive 75 miles to get it in the US ) .. great bargain and a terrific alternative to conventional kayak . Relatively easy to inflate .. used it to fish with , as well as paddle around a fairly calm lake .. I am only 5'8" / 172 lbs.. felt a bit snug sitting in the kayak.. not a lot of extra leg room .. so not sure how well it would suit a taller person. Packing it up was a bit of a chore ,, but after a few tries got it folded up nicely to fit back into pack .. Very convenient for transport.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sevylor QuikPak K5 Kayak

love it

09/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so happy with this inflatable. It's light enough for me to lift by myself (65 yr old female) and easy to inflate. I love that it folds up into a back pack and can be taken to alpine lakes. It's easy to fold up just be sure all the air is out of it. I am not a white water rafter so I don't know how it would do there but for flat water and slight current it is great. The drip skirt is wonderful in keeping me dry. The paddle separates into 3 parts and felt secure once it was tightened together. There are two parts that secure the paddle together and those parts are also where you hold it while paddling. That is the only thing I don't like about it because those hurt my hands. They need a soft wrap around them but that would make them too big to fit my hands. I'm going to figure something out with that because I LOVE this kayak.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sevylor QuikPak K5 Kayak

Definately a great buy at Walmart, good value, fun

08/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this because I no longer have a SUV or even a large car. I have had cheap inflatables but this doesn't really compare. It is solid, strong, the denier shell is excellent. I watched YouTube videos on set-up, breakdown and was comfortable with what I saw.
It arrived quickly, read the few pages on care/set-up (like making sure you blow up the chambers in the correct order) and the ideosyncracies of Boston valves (yes, read about them). It set up in a few minutes when I practiced in my basement; and deflated and packed away in a few more minutes. The pump works great; fast and easy, I was considering buying a different one but not anymore.
First time using it, once I put the pac on the ground, I was ready to paddle away in less than 5 minutes. 2nd time using it, the same.
Performance: it is very stable as it is wide but you will sacrifice speed. First day I fought the current to point of exhaustion. 2nd day, I decided to reposition myself more to the center of the cockpit versus all the way back. WOW, what a difference while fighting an even stronger current. I'm 5'10", positioned the seat as far forward as possible, less an inch or two. My feet were positioned better, knees bent properly and sat up straight. This kayak will easily fit someone well over 6'2". The boat floats nicely, tracks great in a river current and breezes (does have a skeg and fin rudder).
The paddle, well, I did not even try it. Its on the shorter side, does not have soft grips so consider buying another and use this as a spare.
Have fun, I am!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sevylor QuikPak K5 Kayak

Overall, very pleased

06/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second inflatable kayak, purchased as an upgrade from a Challenger K1. It's still in its first season, so I can't address how it will hold up over time. There are definite pros, and a couple of cons.
The pros:
Perfect size. I'm 5'7", and this kayak gives me more than enough leg room. I haven't used the spray skirt, since I'm a bit uncomfortable with being closed in, so can't speak to that. The seat is comfortable. The width of the kayak seems perfect; not too wide, but not too narrow. Stability seems very, very good, at least on rough lake water and with significant motor boat wakes. Inflates quickly, deflates reasonable well. I love the fact that there's canvas on the outside. The skeg is permanently affixed, which is, overall, a pro. Having had removable skegs fall off other boats, it's nice not to have to drill a hole and run a line to keep from losing it.
The cons:
Why, oh why, use a flimsy little valve like that for the floor? Set it back a bit and use a valve like the other two. Using the backpack as the seat is a clever idea; however, now I see why people have had issues with tears in the floor: one side of the zipper of the backpack/seat is exposed and touches the floor. You sit on it, in fact. So it only makes sense that it could abrade the floor. The problem was easily solved with a couple strips of Velcro, but it shouldn't have to be tweaked by the consumer.
Don't know if it'll ever fit back into the backpack. It hasn't been worth the time/effort to find out yet, but I don't have really high hopes. Nor do I think I'd long-term store it that way (over the winter, for example) anyway. There's the slight con, in my mind, of the affixed skeg.
Other than that, and the canvas covering being on a little crooked (yes, I'm very nit picky about things like that), it's really a great kayak. The pros (at least so far; we'll see how that valve holds up) far, far outweigh the cons. It's definitely a purchase I'm glad I made.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sevylor QuikPak K5 Kayak

Fantastic product

08/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What a great product!! It does everything that it claims it will. The paddles, however, are garbage, which is fine because everything else is excellent. Blow it up, get yourself some good paddles( ours were $30 extra) and go HAVE FUN!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sevylor QuikPak K5 Kayak

Great Kayak for someone just starting out

08/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was my first kayak that I have purchased. Its easy to inflate, which I was not expecting. I recently had broke my back and had to have surgery to repair it, so I was nervous about the kayak being comfortable enough for me and it really is, I have no problems being in this kayak for hours. My only complaint would be that I wish it was easier to put back into the backpack once its deflated. i havent figured out how to get it back in the bag but can fold it up enough to store in my coat closet. Overall, good purchase for something fun and reliable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sevylor QuikPak K5 Kayak
09/23/2013
By ,
Dana Point, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love our QuikPak K5. We purchased three and we're glad we did. Easy to inflate and easy to deflate. Fifteen minutes max. Don't over think it. Our family takes them out through the harbor and into the open ocean. Handles a good swell very nicely. The paddles are perfect if you put slide the end all the way into the connectors. We found that gloves work well to prevent the ridges from making your hands sore. Great bang for your buck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sevylor QuikPak K5 Kayak

Great for limited storage and easy transportation.

03/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought it a few weeks ago, it arrived a week before it was projected to arrive. I have taken it out on a relatively large lake a few times and it is really easy to set up, really smooth on the water and has the speed of a regular kayak and turning ability. It is about the same for exiting and entering the kayak as an non-inflatable one. It is better to have someone help you get all the air out of it when packing it up though, it is do-able with only one person but is easier with two.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sevylor QuikPak K5 Kayak

Pretty much as described. Good value.

10/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kayak is great for lake and river paddling. It tracks well in the lake and is stable in the rivers. The backpack feature makes it great for hiking into lakes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sevylor QuikPak K5 Kayak

Nice quality and fun boat

08/19/2013
By ,
Littleton, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At this point I have only taken this kayak out on a lake. I have not tried a river. It is nice for an inflatable and has some really great features like the spray skirt and the storage area. It inflates and deflates easily. I have to get better at packing it up as a back-pack, but I think it will be good when traveling. At 35 pounds, it is not light to carry, but the paddle and pump holders help to keep everything in one place.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sevylor QuikPak K5 Kayak

Unusable product

06/04/2014
By ,
PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall, the kayak looks like what I was expecting. What concerns me is that there is a specific PSI recommendation for each of the three inflatable bladders for the kayak. The pump that comes with the kayak, however, does not have a gauge, so one must be purchased prior to using the kayak. We were at 5 different sports stores that feature kayaks, and NONE of them have gauges that would work. The manual states that one of the primary issues with the kayak is over-inflation, so it would make sense that a gauge would be included, especially when a low-pressure gauge is so critical to the use of the product! To date we have not yet found a product to satisfy the product requirements, so the kayak cannot be used! This situation is QUITE dis-satisfying!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sevylor QuikPak K5 Kayak

Awesome

09/22/2013
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
6'2" and no problem. Quick, easy, and super comfortable. Threw it in my '95 Camaro and spent 2 hrs on the Buffalo River right out of the box. Extremely satisfied. Can't wait together back out!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sevylor QuikPak K5 Kayak

Great

07/29/2012
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product and it was delevered before the exspected date.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.