Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Rival Rival Hand-Held Garment Steamer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Rival Rival Hand-Held Garment Steamer

Average Customer Rating:
2.077 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation31%4 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rival Hand-Held Garment Steamer

piece of garbage

05/09/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This thing is a piece of garbage. Bought it on a whim. I get more steam in my shower then this thing. Doesn't give out a steady amount of steam. Tried it on 2 tops. It took 30 min to steam a top.....and it was XS! Still didn't get out all the wrinkles. BE to the WARE..don't buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+22points
Review 2 for Rival Hand-Held Garment Steamer

Gets the job done

11/02/2011
By ,
Holly Springs, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was a little sceptical with using this product because there were so many bad reviews on here about it but my friend recommended it so I decided to give it a try, after all, I could take it back if it didnt work. I used it on a pair of jeans and a cotton shirt. I plan to use it on formal dresses for my pageants. I noticed that the water takes a little bit to come out but you just keep pressing the button and it starts coming out pretty strong, I would put it really close to the garment to make sure the wrinkle comes out. It got my wrinkles out nice. My clothes werent horribly wrinkled so it worked fine for me. It does get a little heavy after a while but if youre quick and you pull the garment as youre steaming it should be ok and make sure its hanging up. I havent used the iron part yet. Oh and I noticed that the water filled up quicker than what the max line on the cup says so pour slowly so you wont get it on the counter like I did, oops!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 3 for Rival Hand-Held Garment Steamer

works fine for me

07/19/2011
By ,
IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it for my student to take to college and tried it myself. It works just fine. You can iron small things with it or steam. I used steam on silk and cotton fabrics, no wrinkles,fast and easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+8points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
pageland sc
Works Great
Posted 09/02/2011
I steam tons of shirts and slacks with mine and have no problems
0points
Customer Avatar
maryland
works great
Posted 08/13/2011
When I first tried to use the steamer, I though it was broken. No steam but very hot. I was getting ready to unplug it and pack it up when... WOW! Bursts of steam as I continued to push the button! I steamed (and ironed) a silk skirt that was full of wrinkles. The pressing attachment worked perfectly for the edges. I work in retail and have used professional steamers. This little gadget is not far off.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Rival Hand-Held Garment Steamer

It's a no for me....

06/09/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I’m not stark raving mad as I write this like some are but I will give you a quick bullet list.
-Very little steam after holding button for over 30 sec.
- It never “shot” steam like others I have used in the past.
-The steam (when there was some) just kind of floated up and not out.
- Semi awkward and not really light.
- In nutshell very unhappy with product. Going to get the Conair one listed online. It has great reviews.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 5 for Rival Hand-Held Garment Steamer

Piece of junk!

05/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Absolutely a piece of junk! More steam comes off the sewers in Manhattan than this thing. Never gets hot enough to make steam. Don't waste your time or money. Mine is going back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Review 6 for Rival Hand-Held Garment Steamer

Good For The Price

11/02/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I travel for a living and needed something very portable to get the wrinkles out of my clothing. I find this to work perfectly for the task. A larger water tank would be nice, but would obviously make it less compact so I can live with refilling it frequently.
I like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 7 for Rival Hand-Held Garment Steamer

This steamer is a waste of money

11/02/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This steamer is a waste of money. I bought it 6 months ago because I was going to bring it for travelling. When I got home I made sure I follow all the instruction before I tried it on one of my clothes. However it didn't work well. It took a while for the steam to came out and when it came out it was weak and inconsistent. I thought I didn't use it right so I read back all the instruction and it still didn't work well. I was very dissapointed however I couldn't returned it since I lost my receipt. So I just stored it in a hope that I could use it for something other than clothes like for my bed or sofa. However two months latter when I got back from my travelling this thing just stop working. I just wished that I wrote this review earlier.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Review 8 for Rival Hand-Held Garment Steamer

You get what you pay for

09/17/2011
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought the steamer because I have a bunch of work clothes to clean on a weekly basis, but don't really have the time to iron. I thought I'd give this thing a try since it was $20. Well, it worked nicely on my tshirts and cotton polo shirts, but didn't seem to do much on my button downs and slacks.
I didn't notice any flaws with the one I bought, but I wasn't very pleased with it for the following reasons:
- I could only do about 2-3 shirts before I had to fill it up again.
- The flow of steam seemed to be sporadic and weak.
This product might be good for someone who travels often, but it just doesn't hold enough water and doesn't produce enough steam for your everyday laundry needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 9 for Rival Hand-Held Garment Steamer
08/22/2011
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just purchased and tried it out.
As soon as this item cools off I'm on my way back to the store. Waste of my time, money and effort! It melted the plastic and leaked profusely. For $19.00 I guess I got what I paid for. Good concept, poor choice of construction and performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 10 for Rival Hand-Held Garment Steamer

Created an account just to warn you...

03/05/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I made a galiant attempt at steaming my work shirt. After 15 minutes (and 4 refills later) my shirt was soaked and looked abysmal.
The steamer spewed steam intermittently for about 1/2 of the time. It also spewed hot water 1/4 of the time and did nothing at all the other 1/4.
At one point I got out the ironing board hoping to use the steamer like an iron. It was then that I realized that if I just used the iron, I would have been done 10 minutes sooner.
I would strongly advise you to run as far away from this steamer as fast as you can!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 11 for Rival Hand-Held Garment Steamer

Handy Steamer

03/03/2012
By ,
Dierks AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to steam some new drapes that had creased fold marks all over them. It has an attachment for creasing, and it worked great! I did find that filling it with water, turning it on, resting it in its very own cradle attachment and waiting about 10 minutes for it to fully heat seems to work best. It is too large to carry when traveling, but otherwise I am quite happy with it. It was very inexpensive, comes with several attachments and works quite well. A good bargain overall.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Rival Hand-Held Garment Steamer
02/29/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Truly disappointing- PERIOD. My Rowenta steamer broke down after 3 years, so I ran to Walmart and could only find the Rival. When I got home to steam some clothes- NOTHING. I pressed and pressed and waited and waited and NOTHING. Ok, maybe an occasional, minimal dust of steam, but not enough to address a wrinkle. The unit heated up quickly and the plate was hot, but no steam. It's going back in the morning.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 13 for Rival Hand-Held Garment Steamer

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY

03/18/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought this to steam my husbands work shirts. plugged it in, got hot when started steaming all i ended up with was a wet shirt. it spit water all over the shirt. needless to say this thing is going back to walmart ASAP!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points