Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 5.5-Amp Electric Grass Hog String Trimmer

Black & Decker Black & Decker 5.5-Amp Electric Grass Hog String Trimmer

Nothing gives a neat look to your outdoors than a trimmed lawn. The Black and Decker 5.5 Amp Electric Grass Hog String Trimmer is designed to give you comfort and safety while trimming your garden. It is electrically powered and features an automatic feed system that helps you trim grass with ease. Because of this automatic feed system, you will not find the need to bump your trimmer or push any button when you feed the line of the trimmer. The automatic feed trimmer causes less wear and tear and helps you perform perfect and non-stop trimming. It also features a cutting swatch that trims the grass evenly giving your lawn a neat look. The lawn power equipment has handle snaps that help you hold the trimmer comfortably when you mow your lawn.
Average Customer Rating:
4.484 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(159 Reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
116
4 stars
28
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation90%143 out of 159reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 179 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
116
4 stars
28
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 5.5-Amp Electric Grass Hog String Trimmer

Works GREAT!

06/17/2011
By ,
Reno, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The electric grass trimmer I bought last year just up and died on my (grrrrr). So once again I hit the on-line reviews to decide whether to buy gas, electric or battery and then to pick one. I already have a battery-operated B&D, but it's quite old, not too powerful and the battery only lasts an hour. "Quite old" is the key - it has lasted through many seasons. So I took a shot at this electric B&D, encouraged by reviews but worried about the string feeding. WOW! Once I got going and actually read the directions about loading the string cartridge, I couldn't have been more satisfied! This trimmer is lightweight, works fantastically (I trim approximately 1/2 acre of weeds), feeds line properly, and I think it's well worth dealing with the 100' cord! Thank you Walmart and Black & Decker!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+98points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 5.5-Amp Electric Grass Hog String Trimmer

So far, so good

12/19/2011
By ,
Orange County, SoCal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this item and have used it twice, the first was for a pretty intensive round of yard work - my old trimmer died after 30 years and I took the time to carefully research various products. After three weeks with no trimming or edging, the new machine got a good workout. I bought this model because of the customer ratings and my own experience with B&D products. It's light and powerful and easy to handle and works very well. It remains to be seen how it will perform over time, but most of my B&D tools have been very durable. I don't know how long a line spool will last but there's plenty of line left on the spool after the first two uses. Replacements are reasonably priced at two for $9.95 and it's also possible to replenish the spool with bulk line.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 5.5-Amp Electric Grass Hog String Trimmer

Just about worthless.....

04/21/2013
By ,
Western NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this almost a year ago, I saw it got such great reviews so I decided to give it a try instead of a gas powered one....this trimmer is worthless, unless your entire yard can be done in <15min. I charged the batteries as the instructions said to but even with a full charge it won't even do 1/2 my front yard. My yard isn't even that big but it takes me days to do it all because the battery runs out in about 15-20min with a full charge, then it won't cut anything, just push it down. Then I have to take the time to change batteries, wait 8 or more hours for the other one to fully charge....and about 3-4 days later or more I can finish the yard. I don't see how this got such great reviews. I am going to get a gas powered one so I can actually finish my yard in 1 go. It is not worth the hassle of short battery life and looooooong charging time. Just get a gas powered one, it will end up cheaper when you compare 1/2 a tank of gas to the electricity it takes to charge these batteries.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
-30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Toltec Arizona
B &D 5.5 ELECTRIC trimmer
Posted 11/22/2013
I believe you're barking up the wrong trimmer post....These review post are for the ELECTRIC GH610 model. Not the Battery operated one!
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Black & Decker 5.5-Amp Electric Grass Hog String Trimmer

Yard helper

05/22/2011
By ,
Churchville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this product to be easy to use. I used to own a B & D yard trimmer in the past and I liked it a lot, so purchasing another one was easy because the old one was a great help to me in order to maintain the yard. It's easy to use and works great, not complicated at all, easy to reload the string again when it runs out and the weight is good for me, and I also like the telescopic handle
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+124points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
05641
black and decker 5.5amp eletric grass hog string
Posted 06/06/2011
just want to know if it comes with its first spool of string
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Black & Decker 5.5-Amp Electric Grass Hog String Trimmer

Awesome!

05/19/2012
By ,
DeRidder, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a single woman with a huge yard! I have tried gas trimmers and battery operated trimmers and have very bad luck with them. I can never get the gas one started and the battery one dies to early and doesn't have a lot of power. But today I broke down and bought this trimmer and it is awesome! It has plenty of power to trim my overgrown yard. The only reason I gave it a 4 is because the extension cord keeps falling out of the plug on the trimmer so that is an easy fix with some DUCK TAPE! and I will be off and running again. I am very pleased with this long overdue purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker 5.5-Amp Electric Grass Hog String Trimmer

Good and powerful

06/18/2011
By ,
Mountville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was thrilled with the performance of this trimmer. It ran so fast I had to be careful at first not to trimm to the bare ground!! I found it to be convenient to use and handy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 5.5-Amp Electric Grass Hog String Trimmer

Does all it should

03/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. What truly sets this apart from other weed eaters is the power. It is the item that matters most (5.5 amps). I was able to cut down huge weeds. It actually worked so well I did the ENTIRE yard with it. I almost don't need a regular mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker 5.5-Amp Electric Grass Hog String Trimmer
03/05/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it. Replaced loud gas trimmer with a battery operated one that didn't hold a charge long enough to finishe my job. So I got this grass hog and it works better than all my past trimmers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 5.5-Amp Electric Grass Hog String Trimmer

Nice trimmer and good value

06/16/2011
By ,
VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very silent when compared with the gas trimmers. The power cord hook to prevent dislodging is a nice touch.
I would have preferred a shoulder strap as that would have made using it for over 10 minutes easier. I am in reasonable physical shape but using it for more than 10 minutes gets tiring.
Its not very good at being used as an edger as you are never able to know exactly where the string will draw the line.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
E. Taunton, MA
Never going back to rechargeable
Posted 05/14/2012
I had an old Worx rechargeable that never was able to handle my full yard in one charge. I assume the lithium battery is better, but I find that the bother of getting out the extension is balanced by the added power and not having to wait for recharges.
It is powerful and yes, I think a shoulder strap would be nice. As far as the edger goes, I fund it works very well, but looking at the pictures just now I notice how the wire guide is designed to sit on the edging or in my case along the edged grass. I thought the wire guide was only used as a plant guard which I always thought was useless. I see now that edging will be even easier.
Very pleased.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Black & Decker 5.5-Amp Electric Grass Hog String Trimmer

Great the first 3 months

08/06/2012
By ,
WV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I loved this trimmer the first 3 months that I had it. Then it just broke weeding grass. It started smoking and the reel didn't spin. It has a 2 year warranty. Couldn't return it to Walmart because they only accept returns the first 30 days for outdoor tools. Had to take it to a Black & Decker authorized repair center. The closest one to me is 40 miles away. Not worth the drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker 5.5-Amp Electric Grass Hog String Trimmer

Weak...then broke

08/13/2014
By ,
Mesa, AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This weed eater was pretty weak right from the start. It did trim grass but took several passes. The line that comes out is very short which made for very slow work. After owning it for less than a year, it broke. A small plastic piece related to the spool feeder, and after searching the web it looks like its a common problem and that piece is on back order. Would NOT recommend, is being continued by Home Depot.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 5.5-Amp Electric Grass Hog String Trimmer

Bad Thing

04/11/2013
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my annual spring cleaning in my large yard. It worked great for the first year, though it was a bit slow to cut through the larger weeds with thick trunks. When I brought it out the next year to clean out the winter growth of weeds and dense grass, it would not switch on. I persisted and it finally switched on, but when I was in the middle of doing the yard, the switch died. Despite my insistent encouragement, it simply would not come to life again for me. I had unfortunately lost my receipt, so I was not able to get economic satisfaction. I am a low-income person, so I am now stuck with having to groom my yard using a hand-held set of clippers; a task which is about to kill this elderly woman. If you can afford to gamble, go ahead and try this puppy. If not, seek another solution to your garden problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 5.5-Amp Electric Grass Hog String Trimmer

So nice

05/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently had a bout of the "cheapsies" and bought a cheapo Weed Eater brand trimmer for $29 at the local Wal-Mart. Twenty minutes of use later, I took it back and ponied up the extra $20 for this trimmer. All I can say is that is has been night and day and I can finally use a trimmer whose automatic line feed actually works. Can't say enough good things about this trimmer. Super easy to assemble, the trigger is fairly sensitive so you don't feel like you have to have a deathgrip on it to keep it running, and it is a pretty effective edger. I even have hard to reach places to trim, and this just gets in there and gets it done. Really is worth the money in my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 5.5-Amp Electric Grass Hog String Trimmer

Black & Decker 5.5 Amp Electric Grass Trimmer

09/08/2011
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little weed eater. The automatic line feed system works great. I know some people have had some problems with it, but I haven't. The metal guard for edging is amazing and allows for perfectly straight lines. This electric weed eater has more than enough power to get most jobs done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 5.5-Amp Electric Grass Hog String Trimmer

Great!

06/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fast ship, lightweight, easy to use. Actually kind of fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 5.5-Amp Electric Grass Hog String Trimmer

grass trimmer is great

04/29/2012
By ,
bismarck mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this after my previous grass trimmer stripped out the connection bolt. Thisgrass hog is wonderful. It cuts thru light brush like butter as I used it on my quarter acre brush yard. It fed out line perfectly, not overfeeding it at all. It's powerful and easy to use. I'm in love!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 5.5-Amp Electric Grass Hog String Trimmer

Great Trimmer for a Great Price

05/19/2012
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Trimmer and it is very powerful and easy to manage. My lawn mower got stolen couple days after I purchased this product and since I didn't have the time or money to purchase a new one and my yard was starting to get out of control because of all the rain we've been having, I used this for all of my large front and back yard and it worked perfectly. It is very durable and easy to handle I don't do yard work that often because I burn very easily and am always busy with other things but this trimmer makes it fun and effortless. Just make sure that when you buy an extension it will extend to your whole lawn area (I needed a 100ft cord) and that it fits to the trimmer's outlet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 5.5-Amp Electric Grass Hog String Trimmer
03/31/2012
By ,
Victorville, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this weed trimmer. I have a big area to trim and love the fact that this has a large spool of trimmer line so I don't have to keep replacing the line so often. So far it has worked great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 5.5-Amp Electric Grass Hog String Trimmer

Wonderful product!

05/20/2012
By ,
Boise, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We read tons of reviews on different trimmers and couldn't find anything that people liked until this one. This trimmer exceeded our expectations. Fabulous product at an amazing price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 5.5-Amp Electric Grass Hog String Trimmer

Died the second time I used it.

05/18/2012
By ,
Millington, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I chose this model electric trimmer based on the good reviews. This worked wonderfully last week when I used it for the first time. This week, it died part way through edging my small front yard. Walmart refunded my money with no hassles, but I would prefer to have a trimmer that is more reliable. I should have checked the reviews at other online sites and saved myself the bother of having to return th
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 138 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next