Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for JVC JVC Gumy Headphones, Blue

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

JVC JVC Gumy Headphones, Blue

JVC Gumy headphones represent an innovation in comfort, fitting the ear with a unique curved housing. The large 0.53" (13.5mm) neodymium drivers in these blue earbuds deliver a superior listening experience for all music lovers.
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation75%15 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for JVC Gumy Headphones, Blue

I LOVED it!

04/27/2011
By ,
ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned these for a couple years and one of my headphones just barely blew out. That totally surpised me because I set my music full blast nearly every day. I'm very very VERY pleased with these earbud/headphones. I found that the left earbud fit in my left ear perfectly,but I often fought the right ear. That could be that my ears are weird, but they stayed in pretty well. I'd say they stayed in 90% of the time. I have tied the cord and knotted it and it's still in GREAT condition. I'm looking to buy another set so I can use my left side again. :)
The cord was colored as well as the ear buds, so the purple matched my iPod perfectly. ^_^
5/5 Review!
Very good quality, especially for such a low price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+45points
Review 2 for JVC Gumy Headphones, Blue

Great way to express yourself

06/14/2011
By ,
OKC, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can only use a few kinds of headphones; some fit my ears funny and others hurt my ears. These gumy earphones have been a favorite for a long time. They fit my ear perfectly and still don't bother me even after wearing them for two or three hours at a time. My favorite color is blue and i'm not afraid to express that and with these headphones (along with every other thing I own) I think I get that across.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 3 for JVC Gumy Headphones, Blue

Highly recommended!

07/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the ONLY brand of ear buds I will buy. They are inexpensive and come in a variety of colors. They always last me 2+ years with almost daily use. I have had several colors (black, sea foam green {which I think have been discontinued, sadly}, this blue, and red) over the years. I have a tragus ear piercing so I find it more comfortable to put the L bud in the R ear and vice versa. This brand is the most comfortable to do so.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 4 for JVC Gumy Headphones, Blue

Very Good headphones

10/20/2011
By ,
Decatur, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are the best headphones I have ever owned for the price. They are very loud but can also be very quiet. If you are looking for great headphones in this price range I want you to buy it. I love it!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Apple iPad 2 with Wi-Fi (White, 64GB)
5 out of 5(10)
 
 
 
Apple iPod Touch 64GB
4.7 out of 5(146)
 
 
 
 
 
+4points
Review 5 for JVC Gumy Headphones, Blue

Exellent for price

08/02/2012
By ,
Willow spring
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have spent 50 dollars for some headphones with quality the same if not worse than this. For now on i will buy these.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Review 6 for JVC Gumy Headphones, Blue

nice for price

05/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gift for one of the kids as a replacement ....they love the cool colors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Do Not Recommend...
Posted 11/30/2011
Recently, my little brother and I both needed a new pair of headphones for our iPods. Mine had completly fallen apart- with wires showing and frayed ends all over. My brother lost his. We chose this brand because I had gotten these before and they looked comfortable with many colors to choose from to match our iPod Touch cases. We bought them and immediatly took them out and plugged them in.
They worked great, until that one day when my right earbud blew out! I was browsing YouTube and had just finished a video. When I played the next video, the right bud wouldn't work. I thought nothing of it at the time, but I was never able to fix it. I have found that if you stop the video, unplug and replug your headphones, they start to work again. I tried over and over, but it never worked.
When I finally complained about the pain in my left ear from only the sound coming out of the left bud, my brother said that the same thing had happened to him! It's really a shame that we spent twently dollars on earbuds that don't even work properly. If you want to save your money, please buy a different brand of buds or request that these problems be fixed before all of your money is wasted on headphones that shouldn't even cost eight dollars in the first place!
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for JVC Gumy Headphones, Blue

they stay in my ears!!!!!!!!!!!

10/25/2012
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
finally, headphones that sound good and stay in your ears! Enough said.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for JVC Gumy Headphones, Blue

AMAZING PRODUCT

03/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found these earphones when my girlfriend gave them to me as an anniversary present. The sound is perfectly equal in each ear- not annoyingly quiet in one and insanely loud in the other. Plus the gel on the outside edges is really comfortable and I've never had an issue with these hurting my ears. They fit perfectly in my ears and they last a long time.(Mine were accidentally run over)
The cons are only that the L and R for the labels rub off after a few months..and that's basically it. I've dropped these in a puddle and wiped them off and they STILL worked. I'm amazed by this product and it's the only one I use now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for JVC Gumy Headphones, Blue

Great Bass

03/19/2012
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I checked several headphones' frequency response before buying these. The Gumy's had one of the best bass response (16hz) of any inexpensive set. Most headphones go between 20hz on the low end to 20,000hz on the high end.
Once I got them home, I put on a song that was very bass heavy, and it sounded great. I recommend these for folks that want a little more umph in their low end sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 10 for JVC Gumy Headphones, Blue

Good value!

11/06/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've bought this brand a couple times--the first time they stopped working altogether within the first couple months; I'd had a second for about 2.5 years and one side stopped working in the last couple weeks of that time. Considering they cost less than 10 bucks, I'm not at all disappointed! Sometimes the buds fit a little wonky, but it's not terrible. 4/5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for JVC Gumy Headphones, Blue

Cheap, Portable, Good Sound for the Price

05/24/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my first set of these two years ago. I was specifically looking for a set of earbuds that I could just stuff in my pocket when I went to work so I could use them on my break without having to grab them out of my locker or my card, which I would have to do with my nice over-the-ear headphones.
I was not disappointed - and this was actually a surprise for me, because I've always had problems with earbuds fitting into the shell of my ear. They're not squishy, like you might expect from the name, but they're coated in his soft plastic I can only describe as feeling velvety. Now, everyone's ears are shaped differently, so they might not be the most comfortable for everyone, but I've worn mine for hours at a time without any problem.
The quality is also very good, especially for such small buds. I've used them with multiple devices, including my phone, my old Creative MP3 player, and my Nintendo 3DS. I haven't run into any issues with volume or quality. In fact, they sound almost as good as the high-end 5.1 Logitech speakers I have for my gaming PC!
They can take a beating, too. Like I mentioned, I tend to just stuff these in my pocket when I'm not using them. The cable is coated with a plastic that doesn't tend to stick to itself, so it's relatively easy to untangle.
I'm finally having to get a new pair. Not because the speakers blew out (though a friend of mine said hers actually "popped" in her ear after she'd had them for a few years), but because the bendy piece of plastic that covers the cord near the jack has come loose and will now slide up and down the cord. I could probably live with it, but after two years I figure I'll just drop the $8 for a new pair in a different color, just to change things up. I'm definitely sticking with this brand, though; I tried out a pair of iFrogs, because they looked nicer, but the quality was terrible in comparison! I actually returned them right away and went back to my broken gumies, heh.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 12 for JVC Gumy Headphones, Blue
11/25/2011
By ,
Rochester, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I don't use these myself, bought them for my husband since we share a lot of devices. He said they were comfortable and had decent sound. I had to replace his old ear buds which were those cheapie foam covered ones that came with a device.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-3points
Review 13 for JVC Gumy Headphones, Blue

"Gumy means hard plastic, I guess"

05/21/2012
By ,
Central New York State
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Wouldn't you think that gumy means soft and, well gummy. Not so with these ear phones.
I bought these because the run-of-the-mill ear pods hurt the inside of my ears. Thinking gumy would be so much more comfortable than hard plastic, I purchased these. They are uncomfortable and their asemetrical shape makes them difficult to fit with foam covers.
Sound quality is fine and they are blue, but they are hard not gumy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Review 14 for JVC Gumy Headphones, Blue
07/10/2012
By ,
Sacramento, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not only did these hurt my ears, they were barely able to fit into my ears, my ears arent very small and they hurt, gummy is not the right name for this. My boyfriend said these hurt his ears too and his ears are bigger than mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
-3points
Review 15 for JVC Gumy Headphones, Blue

Sound is bad , and ear bud blow very quickly

01/29/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first received these headphone I loved the color then when I used them they have to much base which makes them sound really bad.Also after about 3 weeks after receiving them one ear bud busted, and now very disappointed ....
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 16 for JVC Gumy Headphones, Blue

BASS

01/04/2013
By ,
STL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality -- BRILLIANT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for JVC Gumy Headphones, Blue

not soft as u would think!

11/25/2012
By ,
raysal,wv
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not very good for in ear use!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for JVC Gumy Headphones, Blue
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5