Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for eZip Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter, Black

eZip Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter, Black

The Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter in Black is built for the young and adventurous. It has a deck for standing, as well as a removable seat for long rides. This battery power scooter has a top speed of 15 mph, as well as powerful rear and front disc brakes, so you will be safe as you kick up the dust in your path. The front suspension fork of this black electric scooter offers a smooth ride. The EV rated advanced battery on this Currie electric scooter offers plenty of power to travel short distances. It comes with foldable handles, so you can easily store it in a car s trunk. The lightweight battery scooter has a sleek, cool design you ll love to show off to your friends and family. It also features low-profile Street Slick tires and charger port in the frame console. With a weight capacity of 260 lbs, the Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter in Black is ideal for ages 13 and older.
Average Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation100%31 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 83 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter, Black

EZip 2011!

07/08/2011
By ,
Owings Mills, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ride this scooter to work Monday thru Friday 4 miles each way, 8 miles total. This scooter rides against 4 hills, horribly paved sidewalks, wind, rain and my body weight of 220 Lbs. This scooter's impressive! I enjoy standing up while riding. Standing gives more of a thrill to the low mph. It takes me 20 minutes getting to and from work. I pass by bicyclists, runners, and walkers especially up hills. If I could upgrade the scooter any further I would increase the speed/power to 25 mph, add a speedometer and an mp3/radio with speakers. I've already mounted an mp3 player/radio and speakers to the scooter, but it would be nice to have an upgrading option by the manufacturer or a manufacturer. Besides these upgrades, this scooter is awesome!
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+174points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter, Black

Don't Hesitate to Buy the EZIP 1000

10/14/2013
By ,
Mesa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this scooter because I wanted transportation to and from work that didn't require a license, registration, gas, or insurance. I make the 8-mile trip (4 up and 4 back) five days a week and it works great. When I get home, the scooter's still got plenty of juice and takes about 4 hours to recharge. I'm a 55 year old woman and weigh around 180 pounds...this scooter has no problem sailing along at around 12-15 mph. My commute is pretty flat (Mesa, Arizona) and mostly sidewalk/pavement. It takes me 20 minutes to travel 4 miles. This thing has plenty of power and it's no kid's toy, though my teenage daughter enjoys zipping around on it. She was surprised at how fast it goes. It has only a reflector on the back, so I purchased a really good blinking red light that attaches below the seat and a bright led light for the handlebars because it's dark when I leave for work. This is great for commuting and loads of fun to just ride around on. I would definitely recommend it. I also purchased Walmart's 3-year warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter, Black

Excellent!

08/29/2013
By ,
Colton, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product. It is well built. The suspension handles my neighborhood terrain well. I am 6'2" and can stand or sit with good range of motion in either position. I've parked my car and am saving tons on gas. I use this to get to school and for basic errands around town. Also fashioned a milk crate onto the rear deck which makes for easy carrying of groceries when I only need a few things. The power on the ezip is sufficient for handling bridges and hills even with a crate full of groceries. Many people have stopped and asked about it and I've only had it a couple weeks. Its great for getting around locally. I wouldn't recommend this for long range since the battery has a short range, gives me about 10 miles per charge. Buy it! Great for college students and for anyone living where basic necessities are within a 5 mile radius. No problem from local law enforcement, just treat it like a bike and follow local biking rules and your good. Buy it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter, Black

AWESOME SCOOTER

10/03/2011
By ,
OHIO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are very few reviews for the Ezip 1000 so I thought I'd give one. This scooter is soooo much fun. It's a monster of a scooter and I really think it was made for men because it looks masculine to me. (Being a woman, I wish it came in a girly color.) It feels solid and seems to be made of quality materials. Because of it's weight I need another person to help lift it. The photo doesn't do it justice, wish you could see it in person, it's a sharp looking black. I agree with the manufacturer that it's for ages 13 and up. I weigh 195 lb. but it doesn't struggle at all getting me up the hills. The motor feels powerful and seems like I'm going alot faster than it's top speed of 15 mph. Some people don't like the fact that it doesn't free wheel but I prefer that it doesn't for safety reasons. It does coast down hills, just not as fast as free wheeling. I bought mine from another web site before Walmart added this item to their site. Darn, I paid more, wish I had waited. This is the lowest price I've seen anywhere. If you get a chance to test ride this scooter I think you'll be hook.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter, Black

this Scooter is fun !

12/20/2013
By ,
93030
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried to buy this EZIP 1000 direct from the manufacturer but they had no stock. Walmart shipped the next day. I was unaware until recently how much premium product is available online.
The scooter price was $200 less than the factory store.
I advise everyone to look at Walmart online.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter, Black
06/28/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love ths thing! I put it together in about ten min. I am a large man. 260# It has no problem start to stop handling my weight. It is a very quiet ride. Very comfortable as well. Over all a solid product.
Thanks-
Dave
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter, Black

Love the ezip 1000 got a lot of get up and go

01/01/2013
By ,
Kapolei
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ezip 1000 is a no brainer, I get on and go, no sweat and their in no time flat. No gas needed, need to pick up a basket to put my groceries in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter, Black

Best Scooter!

03/27/2013
By ,
asdf
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally bought a Razor Metro electric scooter from the Amazon.com site. Don't get me wrong about Razor and Amazon.com, they are great companies. For what I was looking for; this Currie Ezip 1000 watt Electric Scooter does everything and so much more than I need. So, the first week I bought the Metro scooter, it caught a flat and before that it only went for about 40 minutes and would die - then it was right back to the wall plug with the thing > I only got about five to ten rides from the Metro before I had to return it. Fortunately Amazon.com and Razor warranty their products; I got a full refund and Amazon.com gave me a 40 buck credit for my troubles, and I paid no return shipping.
BUT, this Currie 1000 scooter; it is the beez neez. It does everything the product says it will do. The battery time and ride is great. Like every product anyone buys, there is always room for improvement. But, I got such a great deal on my scooter here, how could I resist buying it? It was on sale the week I bought it, so I got a 100 bucks off, for starters. The Metro scooter is the same size and same weight as the Ezip 1000, but the Ezip goes waaaaay farther in miles. With the Metro I could not even get to my local Walmart and back. With the Ezip, I can get to my local Walmart and go more miles to my local post office, and then back home. Plus, this scooter has plenty of great features that make it a real pleasing experience. It is light enough that it can be picked up and carried through the store in a cart. Safety is all here b/c the scooter does not go over 15mph. That is not real fast at all, but b/c of the speed and size of the scooter; it is considered a bicycle under the laws here in Florida. So, with a light on front, and a light on back ... this ride can be rode on the sidewalk wherever I go. It is also road ready, for riding in the bicycle lanes. No more worries about Road Rage. I am closer to the view on the scooter.
The downsides or improvements needed to this scooter are: I would like to modify this scooter so that it goes faster and will also have a freewheel in the motorized back of the scooter. A freewheel should allow the scooter coast freely, and not rotate the motor when no throttle is being used. That's really about it. The issue with throttle and mileage range is, and I had to ask Currie Customer Service about this; if the throttle is being used fully during a ride - like full throttle - then the range is decreased and cut in half. With half throttle, the range of the scooter is what the product specs states here on Walmart.com and on Currie's website. I also read somewhere there are some modifiers that can be used to make the scooter go faster; measured gears that can be used to do that. The battery pack in this scooter is great. I would like to replace the pack with a lithium iron battery pack, so that I can get 15 to 20 miles, instead of 8 to 10 miles on a charge. Lithium battery would cause the charge time to decrease, for more rides. Lithium batteries are expensive but they weigh more than twice less than the lead battery pack in the scooter now.
For the price and value to product here, this scooter is truly an awesome thing to have. I get a lot of compliments and looks about this scooter, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter, Black

Perfect for our needs

08/30/2012
By ,
Oklahoma but RVing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I purchased two (2) of these EZip 1000 Scooters for getting around in campgrounds, parks and our AZ winter home. Fits our needs perfectly. Perfect for zipping to friends homes, getting mail, going to meetings. We enjoy ours alot.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter, Black

Fast Good Looking , Powerful takeoff

02/21/2013
By ,
stpete florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is as Strong a scooter you will ever need , I have the best scooter in World , I was yelled at by kid on bus , NICE Scooter , the power of this scooter might be a lil much for someone inexperienced , had slight scratch on deck when delivered , I will not complain about that , not a deall killer, THIS SCOOTER IS AWESOME feb 2013
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter, Black
03/27/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This scooter is fast and furious had a motorcycle and didn't take it on the road because of crazy drivers. I drove this around the block at the same speed as the motorcycle and it was more fun without all the loud motorcycle sound. just a fun form of transportation to the store or red box lol....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter, Black

scooter

04/10/2013
By ,
spring hill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this scooter is the best i have bought buying it from the manufacturer was 699 where wal mart had it for 399/ assembly was easy . scooter has alot of get up an go. wife is thinking about getting one to puyt around town with verses using the car./ thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter, Black
04/04/2013
By ,
Redlands Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good bargain for the price. Speedy and has lots of power even with 230 lbs
Would recommend it to everyone, mainly adults or over 16. Very classic scooter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter, Black

good scooter needs better battery

09/19/2012
By ,
Capistrano beach
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The battery is ok, I think it's perfect for girls, or guys that don't care what they drive. I got 9 miles and about 12 mph on a full charge after breaking it in the way, as book says. I'm returning my currie 1000 for "super turbo elite 800" I found that "super cycles and scooters" had the best scooter on the market (check out "you tube"), Better battery,speed ,distance, and design . Be careful there are a lot of scooters that look like "super cycles scooters" but read the reviews on them you'll see the difference. Oh yea the super turbo elite is about 200.00 cheaper
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter, Black

Great Scooter

01/10/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased 2 of the Currie EZIP 1000 scooters and 1 Currie EZIP 750 scooter.
They are well made and run great. Easy to assemble too.
I see the price has increased $200.00 since I purchased the EZIP 1000 but it is still worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter, Black

Good scooter

09/10/2013
By ,
Wallingford, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good scooter. Down side is the seat is very uncomfortable. I bought a Cloud Nine seat and that solved the discomfort. Doesn't have fenders, a bike shop took care of this too.
I weigh about 180 lbs. and the scooter carries my girth easily. Riding on grass, gravel, or dirt trails uses more battery power and will reduce the distance on a charge. Steep hills on tarmac are OK, but steep hills on dirt trails will cause an overload and automatic shut-down, requiring a reset of the off-on switch. Overall it's very good and I'm pleased with the ezip 1000.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter, Black

Great electric scooter for the campground

04/15/2013
By ,
Washington State
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall functionality of the Ezip 1000 is great. Folds up just fine and scoots about the campground very well, Rather would have a thumb drive instead of a twist to drive the motor similar to what ATV's have for better steering. Otherwise, a real nice value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter, Black

Great Product

03/25/2013
By ,
Sellersburg, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I bought 2 for us and/or our two sons to use and we love them. Not sure yet how far they will go for us on a charge but so far they seem to function well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter, Black
03/31/2013
By ,
lynchburg va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in a city w a lot of hills and have found that if u baby it and go real slow u can still get from point a to b,i ,ve only used it 3 times so time will tell((this is why I did not give it 5 stars )) but for now I am very pleased w/this product and when I called customer service they were very helpful and more than willing to work w/me in fully understanding my new product,,fyi I have a 50 cc Honda gas powered scooter
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Currie EZIP 1000 Electric Scooter, Black

9 mile range, modest hills, 150 lb rider

05/16/2013
By ,
Washington area
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in an area with modest hills, not San Francisco hills or Colorado mountain hills but not Phoenix flats either. I weigh 150 lbs and tested the ezip 1000 on a route that included 2 short steep hills (~0.2 miles each) and the rest a mix of 50% rolling hills and 50% flat. I got 9.1 miles out of the battery according to Google maps. The last half mile was slightly downhill and the scooter was going very slowly by that point. When I got off the scooter, however, the battery showed full charge and twisting the throttle caused the scooter to zip forward. Therefore, I think a very light person (~100 lbs or less) could get 12 miles out it, or if the scooter were ridden in a very flat location.
The scooter is heavy (~75 lbs) and the back wheel does not spin freely when the motor is off. Therefore, it is hard to get up stairs, and even down stairs to some degree because of the low ground clearance. It is not like a heavy bicycle where you can lift and push the handlebars and the tires will sort of roll up the stairs. You almost certainly will have to lift the whole thing and carry it up the stairs. I'm thinking of building myself a little ramp and then throttling the motor to help me get it up the incline since there is juice left in the battery when I get off.
I DOCKED 1 STAR FROM THE REVIEW FOR THE FOLLOWING: You must charge the battery inside the scooter. Although the battery pack (made up of three 12v batteries wired in series) is contained in a nice sturdy canvas bag with a handle allowing you to remove the pack from the scooter floor pretty easily, the connector at the end of the battery does not connect to the charger connector. The battery wiring connects to wiring inside the frame which runs internally up to another connector embedded in the stem. It is THAT connector which couples to the charger. I suppose I could dismantle it to get the connector out but I'm worried about voiding my warranty. When I bought the scooter, I thought I would be able to lock the body outside and carry the batteries into my home or work to charge them. However, I have to bring the entire scooter inside my home to charge, and I am not allowed to bring it inside at my work, so I can't charge the batteries while I'm there. According to one customer service rep at Currie, I can get the connection adapter but she was shifty about how to get it. Another customer service rep at Currie, a guy, tried to convince me that there was no such adapter. If Currie won't provide a simple connection adapter so I can charge my batteries inside, I'll try to get one from Radio Shack or online, but I think it's annoying and inconvenient that they don't simply put one of these connector adapters in the box. It can't possibly cost more than a couple dollars and probably much less than that.
****
All said, this scooter is a GREAT VALUE FOR THE MONEY. Just keep in mind the limitations to make sure that it will fit your needs.
****
One more note: On the 2 steep hills, the motor stopped completely. The power draw was momentarily too high. In both cases, I released the throttle, turned the power switch off for a second, then back on. When I resumed throttling, the motor started right up and got me the rest of the way up the hill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1 2 Next