Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Step2 Step2 Little Dunes Sand Box

Step2 Step2 Little Dunes Sand Box

This Step2 Little Dunes Sandbox is designed to be a fun addition to just about any backyard. It features a classic design and a neutral color so it will blend in well with traditional landscapes in residential outdoor living areas. This Step2 sandbox is made of textured, durable plastic and is built to last. It comes with a handy top to help keep rain, animals and debris out. Molded seats on two sides provide comfy places for kids to sit while playing. This kids' outdoor sandbox can hold up to 150 lbs of sand. It comes fully assembled and has a compact footprint that can fit in most play areas. The Step2 Little Dunes Sandbox is made in the USA and designed for children who are 1-6 years of age. Sand play is an open-ended activity that encourages imagination and experimentation while it introduces children to basic math and science concepts. Pair this Step2 sandbox with a water table (sold separately) for even more outdoor fun.
Average Customer Rating:
3.74 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
22
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation72%36 out of 50reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 40 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
22
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Step2 Little Dunes Sand Box

Cute, but smaller than expected

04/20/2011
By ,
Wilkes-Barre, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got this sandbox for my son's 1st birthday. Very cute, but much smaller than it looks in the picture. We were going to buy one of the turtle ones, but they looked too small. Opted for this one because it looked bigger, but not really the case. He'll get use out of it, but I have a feeling he'll grow out of it pretty quickly. Definitely not room for more than 2 toddlers, and that would be pushing it...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Step2 Little Dunes Sand Box

Okay for maybe one.

04/12/2011
By ,
Missouri
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a cute little sandbox, but there is definitely not much room for multiple kids to play in it. (as you'll see in the photo I'm going to attach.) That part was probably my fault, looking at the picture, instead of the actual measurements. I agree with what someone else said about the lid coming off easily also. Also, I thought the plastic seemed a little flimsy for a Step2 product. Maybe this would be good for one little one to play in it, MAYBE two. I'm not sure it was worth the money though, as now I'll have to go out and buy another sandbox to go with this one.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Step2 Little Dunes Sand Box

small but fun

04/26/2011
By ,
rhode island
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
when i ordered this product for my 3 yr old i was expecting it to be a lot bigger then it is. I actually thought about returning it for a week before i opened it and used it. after looking into other sandboxes this was a good deal and most of the other ones are pretty small too. I am glad i set it up. My son has a great time in it and doesnt think it is too small. i did get 200lbs of sand in it. the lid needs a weight on the top to keep it down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Step2 Little Dunes Sand Box

Sand box

03/28/2011
By ,
Waycross, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product is what I anticipated. Would be greatly improved with the addition of some sort of latching device to keep the top from blowing off. Top takes off in just a moderate wind without the addition of a weight to the cover.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Step2 Little Dunes Sand Box

Nice, But too small

03/27/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This sandbox was nice with a great lid to cover, but way too small for my 3yr old son. He received it for his 3rd birthday from grandparents. When he went to sit in it, there was not enough room for him to sit and actally dig in the dirt. We liked the look of it, but it was just way to small.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Step2 Little Dunes Sand Box

On the small side

06/12/2014
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This sandbox is pretty small, but I was expecting that after reading other reviews. It passes my kids' standards, so that's all that matters. The lid works very well; we had pouring rain for a few hours straight, and when I opened the lid the next day, the sand was still completely dry.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Step2 Little Dunes Sand Box

Good sandbox for toddlers

05/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Free shipping and it came two weeks earlier than expected, which was great. My only complaint is that it is small, but so are all those Step2 or Little Tykes plastic sandboxes. So unless you are willing to shell out several hundred dollars for a nicer wooden sandbox, just expect that it will be small and that your kiddo probably won't be able to use it past 4-5 years old.
My almost 3-year-old son was really excited when it arrived and played with it all afternoon and the next day. So although being small, I think it will still get a lot of use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Step2 Little Dunes Sand Box

Nice Sandbox

03/15/2011
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's spacious enough for a kid to play in there. It is a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Step2 Little Dunes Sand Box

Kids love it

01/19/2012
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a surprise for my grandkids. They came with me and my wife when we picked it up at the store. They were so excited when they saw it in the box.
I must say that the associates also joined in their excitement. Both the associate at the pickup counter and the two associates at the garden center, where we also bought bags of sand, were great.
The kids use the sandbox every day and enjoy every minute. The cover is a great thing too, since we have three cats. The cover is also good for keeping out the Florida rains, other wise it would be a swimming pool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Step2 Little Dunes Sand Box

loved it

05/03/2011
By ,
Imperial,MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought it for my two year old grand-daughter. She loves it. Nice size. two corner have seats for her to sit. I would have given all 5 start if there was a way to latch top on for storage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Step2 Little Dunes Sand Box

Good sand box

06/06/2011
By ,
KS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My son love this sand box although its not as big as it shows in the picture. I bought 150 lbs sand and it barely fits.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Step2 Little Dunes Sand Box

Good product

04/07/2011
By ,
Oakland, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I appreciate the lid because there are cats in the neighborhood. Good sandbox when kids are small.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Step2 Little Dunes Sand Box

Not that great

07/04/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The sandbox is very small. It barely fits my two year old. I returned it to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Step2 Little Dunes Sand Box
10/09/2013
By ,
LaGrange,Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very small. Not one of the better sandboxes
Returned it
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Step2 Little Dunes Sand Box

Good for the money, but small

07/16/2011
By ,
Roseville, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My kids really enjoy the sandbox even though it is small. I think it may be half the size of the turtle or crab sandbox and I was not expecting it to be THAT small. We have it sitting next to the fence so the wind has not been an issue yet (with the lid flying away) even though we tend to live in a windy area. I'm sure we will have to put a heavy brick or stepping stone on top during the winter to keep it in place.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Little Tikes Turtle Sandbox
4.8 out of 5(8)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Step2 Little Dunes Sand Box

Great toy

06/27/2012
By ,
Toms River
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandchildren love the sandbox.The Toms River store was awesome too.They helped me load my wagon&insisted on helping me to my car.I had also purchased the water table at the time too.I didn't ask for help,cause I knew I didn't have $ to tip them.I told the girl who checked me out that&she insisted on helping me herself.I wish I would have got her name.She really went above&beyond....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Step2 Little Dunes Sand Box
06/06/2011
By ,
West Des Moines, Iowa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's an ok sandbox but it is pretty small. When I measured the space I was going to put it in I didn't take into account that the sides of it have seats and thicker plastic sides. So the space that you actually put sand in isn't very big at all. My son is 20 moths and he likes to sit right in the sand and it would be hard to fit another child in it too when one is already sitting in it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Step2 Little Dunes Sand Box

Too small and Leaks

04/14/2013
By ,
Evensville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my two sons (ages 2 and 13 months) for Christmas. The lid is totally useless. It blows off in any wind and if it rains it fills the sandbox up with water. Plus for my two toddlers its WAY too small. They can't both sit in the box and play with toys. Looked great in the picture, but its useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Step2 Little Dunes Sand Box

DO NOT BUY THIS

05/03/2012
By ,
Warren,PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I agree with the other reviews this was smaller than I thought it would be. Of course, I could have read the description a little better. The main issue I have with this is the lid does not prevent the sandbox from filling with water when it rains.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Step2 Little Dunes Sand Box

not happy

08/02/2012
By ,
Massena
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was NOT happy with this product when it came in. It's much smaller than it appears in the picture. I would not recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next