Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Teac TEAC MC-DX50I, Ultra-Thin Hi-Fi Shelf System with iPod Dock and Subwoofer, Refurbished

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Teac TEAC MC-DX50I, Ultra-Thin Hi-Fi Shelf System with iPod Dock and Subwoofer, Refurbished

The Teac 2.1 Channel Hi-Fi System with iPod Dock will be a hit with music lovers. The system has a built-in iPod dock, which enables you to connect your iPod to the device to listen to your music easily. Once connected, the system charges your iPod automatically. This refurbished stereo system also has a slot-in CD player, and a digital AM/FM tuner with 20 preset channels. It has an ultra-thin design which makes it convenient to be used as a wall-mounted system. TEAC MC-DX50I stereo shelf system includes a remote control, AM antenna, power cord, aluminum NXT speakers with active subwoofer and NXT exciter. The stereo system features one video output and one composite video output. This Teas hi-fi system is an all-in-one design, so you can enjoy all your music from one device. Get the most out of your favorite audio with this refurbished stereo system.
Average Customer Rating:
4.13 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation85%46 out of 54reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for TEAC MC-DX50I, Ultra-Thin Hi-Fi Shelf System with iPod Dock and Subwoofer, Refurbished

Great Value!

05/18/2011
By ,
Menomonie, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was in the market for an inexpensive iPod stereo system and came across this product. I wasn't sure what to expect, since it was refurbished and much cheaper than other brands, but I was AMAZED at the sound quality, the simplicity of the design and overall style, not to mention it was shipped within 48 hours of being ordered and arrived only three days after I purchased it. I'd recommend this product to anyone looking for an affordable but high quality stereo system.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+32points
Review 2 for TEAC MC-DX50I, Ultra-Thin Hi-Fi Shelf System with iPod Dock and Subwoofer, Refurbished

five stars

03/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its loud and has pretty good base.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 3 for TEAC MC-DX50I, Ultra-Thin Hi-Fi Shelf System with iPod Dock and Subwoofer, Refurbished

Nice stereo for the money.

06/08/2011
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a slim form factor stereo with a remote control for my office. I like the small footprint. The two side speakers are separate from the main unit for remote mounting. The FM reception was not the best in my office and I had to strategically place the FM wire antenna. I do not use AM, so I cannot comment on the AM reception capabilities. The stereo comes with a separate sub-woofer. The two speakers plug into the sub-woofer, and there is a DIN connector cable between the main unit and the sub-woofer. Then you plug the sub-woofer in the wall which powers the whole system. The speaker cables and control cable are all approximately 6 feet long. While I was not looking for enough bass to blow out my neighboring office mates, I must say that I'm a little disappointed in the performance of the sub-woofer. It provides little more than a good 5 inch speaker would do. It's not really worth the additional bulk that it adds, but it's okay. I plugged in my iPOD nano, but I haven't really used it very much. I have found it difficult to navigate the iPOD menu via the stereo (directly or via the remote). Even though the unit I purchased was listed as refurbished, it arrived in like new condition. Overall, I am very pleased with the stereo for the money I paid for it.
Pros: Small footprint, nice looking, fair amount of remote control features, decent price.
Cons: Sub-woofer doesn't really put out a 'big' sound, navigating the iPOD menu is difficult.
Overall: Nice office or desktop stereo for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 4 for TEAC MC-DX50I, Ultra-Thin Hi-Fi Shelf System with iPod Dock and Subwoofer, Refurbished
03/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unbelievable sound!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Review 5 for TEAC MC-DX50I, Ultra-Thin Hi-Fi Shelf System with iPod Dock and Subwoofer, Refurbished

Good sound but

05/23/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice product, good sound but I had to return because description says plays MP3 and it doesn't. I just waisted my time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Review 6 for TEAC MC-DX50I, Ultra-Thin Hi-Fi Shelf System with iPod Dock and Subwoofer, Refurbished

wanted more

03/20/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After I hooked up the system, I loaded my ipod and dialed up an album anticipating a great sound. The quality was less than a simple boom box and the volume was dissapointing. I changed the bass and treble settings and still sounded tin like. Pass on this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Review 7 for TEAC MC-DX50I, Ultra-Thin Hi-Fi Shelf System with iPod Dock and Subwoofer, Refurbished

Love at first sound....

08/26/2011
By ,
Paso Robles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is amazing, and the refurbished price was $40 cheaper so my wallet is even happy too. I've never owned a subwoofer, and wow what a difference it makes in the sound quality. Now whenever I'm in my room with this sound system it is ALWAYS on. The only downside is that it's sort of bright at night unless you power the whole system down. Just turning off the power button still leaves a lot of light, and the 'dimmer' option is still bright. Although none of this is a deal breaker, I love the system!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for TEAC MC-DX50I, Ultra-Thin Hi-Fi Shelf System with iPod Dock and Subwoofer, Refurbished

workedfor one day!

08/01/2011
By ,
maryland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this unit and was very impressed at first and even recommended it to freinds, but the CD player quit working the second day I used it.
I liked enough that I amy order another and see if i just got a bad one,but there is some reason tha thse untis are being offered cheaply at mulitple sites - including Amazon.com. Why is there sucha large supply of these available you ahve to wionder.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 9 for TEAC MC-DX50I, Ultra-Thin Hi-Fi Shelf System with iPod Dock and Subwoofer, Refurbished

Hi-Fi Shelf System

07/05/2011
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A very basic stereo system. The subwoofer is 4 inches and does produce some bass but can't compare to other systems that have larger subwoofers. The overall volume level from the ultra thin speakers is just sufficient for a small to medium sized room for an audience of 4 - 5 persons.
This is certainly not a party equipment.
The CD player and the blue-light panel is impressive. There is no DVD or MP3 playing capability in this system.
The system comes with an AM Radio antenna. FM antenna was not in the box. Must buy it separeately.
Overall, its a very basic type of stereo that you can buy for kids room.
The product is from Japan, however it is made in China.
The plastic body parts are of good quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for TEAC MC-DX50I, Ultra-Thin Hi-Fi Shelf System with iPod Dock and Subwoofer, Refurbished

It's OK

06/06/2011
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for the living room in our cabin. It works well and the sound is typical for a stereo at this price. The subwoofer definitely helps give the Teac a bigger sound.
This is not a stereo for a big room, so if you need that, I wouldn't purchase this model!
Like I said, it's OK....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Review 11 for TEAC MC-DX50I, Ultra-Thin Hi-Fi Shelf System with iPod Dock and Subwoofer, Refurbished
03/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No hassle whatsoever operating this beauty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 12 for TEAC MC-DX50I, Ultra-Thin Hi-Fi Shelf System with iPod Dock and Subwoofer, Refurbished
06/26/2011
By ,
El Paso, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit was easy to set up but it took some work to figure out why there was no sound. The prongs on the cable from the subwoofer to the main stereo can bend easily and once I got them back to normal position it worked very well. The sound is good and the unit does not take up a lot of room. It is even easy to hook up a televsion to enhance the TV sound. Good sound and a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 13 for TEAC MC-DX50I, Ultra-Thin Hi-Fi Shelf System with iPod Dock and Subwoofer, Refurbished

An Unfortunate Experience

03/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ended up having to return this item. Ordinarily, when I have purchased a refurbished item, I have had fairly good luck. This time, however, I was disappointed. I liked the look and physical feel of the product out of the box. I never actually got to listen to it, so I am not able to comment on sound quality. The main power is routed through the sub-woofer and connected via cable to the center console. The power light on the sub-woofer did come on, but the rest of the unit did not receive power. I wish it had worked.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 14 for TEAC MC-DX50I, Ultra-Thin Hi-Fi Shelf System with iPod Dock and Subwoofer, Refurbished

Junk In a box

08/18/2011
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this unit for work to place inside my tool box and what a waste of money. Speakers are small and flat which delivers bad sound. The bass box everything connects to is big and useless as it produces very little bass. Over all sound quality is poor at best. After twenty minutes of use the right speaker went out. I switched the speaker wires to check everything before returning and found out it was the bass tube that was bad somewhere in the internals. I returned this the same week i received it. You get what you pay for is more then true. Don't waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 15 for TEAC MC-DX50I, Ultra-Thin Hi-Fi Shelf System with iPod Dock and Subwoofer, Refurbished

This product is absolutely great for the price!!!!

06/11/2011
By ,
Royse City, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a birthday give for my daughter, I was really worried that it was going to end up really cheap quality but thankfully it really delivered everything as advertised and more. My daughter was extremely excited when she saw it, it was really easy to hook up and everything worked super smooth. She absolutely LOVED it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for TEAC MC-DX50I, Ultra-Thin Hi-Fi Shelf System with iPod Dock and Subwoofer, Refurbished
09/30/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had it for about three days. I just hooked it up today, and the subwoofer doesn't even work! Which is a problem because all of the power is routed through the subwoofer! Called tech support, the guy asked me if I tried it in different outlets, and I said yes. Then he said I had to return it. Incredibly mad right now...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 17 for TEAC MC-DX50I, Ultra-Thin Hi-Fi Shelf System with iPod Dock and Subwoofer, Refurbished

Terrible Unit

10/01/2011
By ,
Amery, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unboxed it, hooked my iPod up to good song that pounds hard, what I hear come from this unit is hollow and empty sounding kind of like the olde time radio. No bass what so ever. The highs were good but that's all you could hear. Tested on rock, rap, r&b, and country, all sounded very empty..
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 18 for TEAC MC-DX50I, Ultra-Thin Hi-Fi Shelf System with iPod Dock and Subwoofer, Refurbished

i love it!!

10/03/2011
By ,
okc, ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I checked out the reviews and was kind of leary because it was a "refurb" but was pleasantly surprised. If I didn't know it, I would have thought it was brand new. It looks and sound great. Bought for my bedroom and thinking about getting one for the living room. I love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for TEAC MC-DX50I, Ultra-Thin Hi-Fi Shelf System with iPod Dock and Subwoofer, Refurbished

It Is What It Is

10/16/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since buying a Ramsey FM30 FM Stereo Transmitter every room in the house needs an FM receiver.
The Teac MC-DX50i Micro Hi-Fi System is a perfect fit for the kitchen, as it fits on the shelves above the sink; sub-woofer and all.
Very happy with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for TEAC MC-DX50I, Ultra-Thin Hi-Fi Shelf System with iPod Dock and Subwoofer, Refurbished

My wife Loved this gift for Mothers DAY!

06/13/2011
By ,
Trenton, michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife loved this gift for mothers day, she uses it with a Ipod touch. She has it in a 10 x 15 workout room and the sound is GREAT. the only trouble she has is using the remote control, you have to aim it just right, or it does not work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1 2 Next