Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Eclipse Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain

Eclipse Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain

Bring warmth and style to your room with the Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain. The blackout window panel completely blocks out all light in a room when closed. The Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain also insulates and contains warmth during cold months to your room. The energy saving curtain is much preferable for its cost effective heating and cooling solutions. The room darkening curtain can be hung in your bed room or living room, and even in your office cubicle windows.
Average Customer Rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(3366 Reviews) 2882
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2,036
4 stars
813
3 stars
218
2 stars
130
1 star
169
Customer Recommendation89%3,001 out of 3,362reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
202 Questions | 1,338 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2,036
4 stars
813
3 stars
218
2 stars
130
1 star
169
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain

Does the job but is NOT blackout

08/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'd read the reviews so I knew these were NOT blackout like the title says. And the reviews are right, they do dim the light but are definitely NOT blackout. However, considering floor to ceiling curtains are hard to find in a reasonable price I still agree these were a good buy (especially when you buy them in a bundle of 4 like I did).
I love the look of tab back curtains, so I sewed thick ribbon peices on the back to make tabs on the back. (see photo) Now they look pleated when hung. Otherwise, the rod pocket is very tight and it was almost impossible to slide the curtains open and closed.
Also, like other reviewers noted, the backs are coated in like a plastic coating which is uneven in spots and shows more light through (see photo). Again, not high quality curtain but for the price its what I expected.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain

Very pleased with product, great value

03/03/2014
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 3 of the 42x84in. black panels. Fast shipping with the free shipping from Walmart for spending over $50, ordered on Tuesday got here Friday. I think the quality is very good. I did read past reviews one which said the curtains were pretty much ruined when washed. Mine did come with care instructions for removing creases which involves putting the panel in a dryer along with a clean damp cloth, tumble dry on low heat for approx. 20 minutes, immediately removing then hanging panel. So I may try that but won't be putting them in the washer. I hung mine right out of their package (which was also a nice plastic case with a zipper so you could reuse them for storing they curtains if ever necessary) and I am extremely pleased with how they look their name doesn't lie they do blackout my room keep the light out great. It has been freezing outside and they are helping now to keep my heat in and the cold out, and I live on a busy street and the noise has been reduced from the traffic and people outside. I would for sure recommend this product to others, since I was this pleased I am going to order more panels for the rest of my house!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+172points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain

Excellent in Every Way!

05/29/2011
By ,
Burbank, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These eclipse curtains are not only great looking, with a semi shiny patina that affords them a sense of subtle elegance, but they are entirely efficient in keeping your home's temperature moderately regulated. I put these in my South Florida apartment, which has 2 windows and a 12 foot sliding door that face west...which means it exposes my place to the hottest, most intense sun heat of the afternoon. Prior to installing these, I could feel heat radiating 2 feet into my apartment from the windows and door. The carpet was hot to the touch. After installing these curtains, however, my apartment has been significantly cooler in temperature and the sun-blocking capabilities give my place a hotel room type of feel. I opted for the chocolate brown color to contrast my light beige walls and they look real classy. All my visitors have noted their elegance and the price for these is right. I bought similar curtains about 2 years ago for a seasonal place in Southern California and I paid $40 a panel for those- same brand. These are remarkably priced for the value, cheaper here on Walmart than Amazon. You'll love them!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+269points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Texas
I love it.
Posted 04/12/2014
I purchased this for the 5 windows in our living room. And it works great , it darkens the room and keep the room cool. It does'nt smell like some complain about and no problem at all.. can't beat the price. I ordered 12 pcs. of them. The quality is great, I just love it and glad I did order and thinking to get more in different color for other rooms. Thank you Walmart.
+1point
Customer Avatar
deepsouth usa
better than expected
Posted 12/07/2013
we added blackout shades inside and now have a complete solution for both winter and summer will save much in both heating and cooling bills and give privacy, good price
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain

Great curtains

06/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The curtains really make a big difference in the room. I bought these for my daughter's room and they truly keep out the light. I'm sure she will appreciate having these curtains in her room, especially on those days she wants to sleep. Great price too.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain

Brightens my room without the sun

09/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered the ivory. They don't allow the sun in but the color is a bright ivory and they seem to open up the room. I can't say how they help with energy saving because I haven't had them long enough to get a electric bill. I just wanted to replace my dull sage green crepe panels and this was a great improvement. These are much heavier and I did place them in the dryer with a damp towel for 10 min. right before hanging, which removed the wrinkles. Great buy! I'm very happy with these.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain

Pleasantly surprised!

08/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decided to change color scheme in the bedroom so I needed new blackout curtains, purchased these because they seemed to be the best value. I ordered them in stone blue, and the curtains are actually darker than they appear online. Almost like a dark denim blue color. But I like it!! The weave of these give a really great texture and a very subtle pattern.
My window is about 70" inches wide. I bought 3 panels and it filled the space fine for my taste. For windows this size, I'm guessing most people may want 4 (or more) panels for a pleated look.
These block out WAY more than my existing curtains. I've included a couple not-so-great pictures.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+618points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Brooklyn ny
What will be the regular measure
Posted 05/06/2014
What will be regular measure for a regular bedroom
0points
Customer Avatar
Manchester, Ga
Great Review
Posted 10/05/2013
Thanks for this review and photos. These appear to be just what I need for a small but bright bedroom. I like the darker blue for the bedroom, and will order the olive for the living room. Really appreciate you taking the time to show how effective the black out is.
+3points
Customer Avatar
California
Great Review!
Posted 03/21/2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. I especially appreciate that you even took the time to include pictures! It's great to be able to see actual items in real customers' homes. Thanks again!
+6points
Customer Avatar
augusta,ga
Posted 10/06/2012
thanks so much for including pics. was going to order the blue, but your pics show a much different color than what is advertised. great review!
+7points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 7 for Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain

I painted mine (pics)

05/12/2014
By ,
Carlsbad, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had these for about a year now. They work great to block out light, but the color I got (Latte) was just begging to be painted or something. Very boring and also had the look of canvas. So, I hand-painted a Japanese inspired branches and flower motif. Before and after photos attached. I used acrylic paint.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain

jUST WHAT i WANTED

07/21/2013
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These drapes do block out the sun. I hung these with the loops that attach to curtains. They seen to hang better with the attached curtain round loops that pinch the drape at top. I love these. I actually ordered the black 54" long for two long windows off the kitchen in eat in area. They look very nice and the price is great.. I also ordered the 84" long for the family room in Spice color
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+97points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain

blackout varies

05/16/2011
By ,
Aurora, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Yes they blackout but...
I bought 3 panels. One panel is clearly darker than the others although they are all the same color purchased: latte.
Very disappointing. I don't want to have to keep buying & getting them home to see which matches then return the others.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+114points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
suggestion
Posted 12/13/2013
if you don't want to keep buuying them to get them home and find out they are the wrong shade of that color then maybe try taking one panel of the ones you already have, to the store with you to match up the colors so you arent wasting your time
+1point
Customer Avatar
Central Indiana
easy solution
Posted 05/15/2012
Take the curtains you plan to keep to the store and match them up there! I have done this to get the right shade of thread, yarn, etc. It works! I always keep my receipts until I am well-satisfied, but if you don't have your receipt, have the door greeter tag them to prove you aren't trying to steal them. I have never had any problem, I just carry them in in a Walmart bag, do my thing and go!
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain

Really nice, not wide enough for big windows

03/12/2013
By ,
San Bernardino, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have huge windows in my house, plus sliding glass doors that I wanted curtains on. I ended up putting these with the see-through panels in the middle and they look fantastic. They also block heat and sun well, but they aren't super-fancy or anything.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain

I LITERALLY HAVE SAVED HUNDREDS ON UTILITY BILLS.

01/17/2014
By ,
Charlotte, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have high ceilings so I had to order the 95" online and they paid for themselves the first winter of use. I even put some over my front and back doors since I have a french door in the back and both doors have transoms which let in too much light in summer, plus it keeps the drafts away in winter. The only problem I had was when I washed them. I washed them according to the instructions but some of the backing of the panels peeled off. I had to exchange them for new ones. I found that if I removed the curtains from the dryer when the panels are still wet-to-damp solves that problem, plus hanging them right away when they are damp will remove any wrinkles. I originally got these for my baby's room a few years ago since he was a light sleeper and it still works well at keeping him asleep longer. We have a new subdivision being built closeby and these curtains help to remove all constructiob noise.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain

CURTAINS DO NOT SURVIVE A WASHING

06/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I washed as indicated - cool water, gentle cycle. When I took them out of the washer, the thermal backing was all stuck together. The curtains were stuck to themselves and to each other. Big hunks of backing are now missing from the backs of the curtains. DO NOT PURCHASE unless you plan to never wash them.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain

Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain

10/13/2011
By ,
murrells inlet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, we've went through 3 different brands of blackout curtains, that didn't truly block out the light. Now to the Eclipse Samara Blackout Curtains: Wow, They really do the job! Good heavy material; they are "not" thin, flimsy, good quality. They really do block out the sun! My son has his room above the garage and his window gets the morning-midday sun and we were looking for some "real-deal" blackout curtains. His room has actually dropped 10 degrees (i.e. he has a digital thermostat in his room) and truly blocks out all the sun/all light from his room. He now wakes up cold and shivering. I purchased 2 panels and I would not hesitate to buy them again. I am happy with the price and quality; he is happy with the all sunlight being blocked from his room and being much cooler, too.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain

Smelly, painted-on backer peels off in wash!

08/18/2013
By ,
Richmond, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased these for my toddler's room, as his two big windows face due west. They did a great job of blocking out the light... until I washed them. As soon as I opened the washing machine I knew something was wrong. It smelled like I opened a fresh can of paint. As I pulled out the first panel, I realized it was stuck to itself anywhere the "blackout" backing was exposed. As I began to pull it apart... the painted-on rubbery backing started to peel off as well. There are now giant splotches with no blackout material at all. TERRIBLE quality. If you are determined to buy these, don't EVER plan on washing them. Please. I washed them with one or two other items that now just smell of wet paint. They are all going in the trash.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+128points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain

Eclipse makes better curtains for blackout

09/04/2013
By ,
Some where beyond the sea.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have other eclipse curtains that are all fabric and I love them. These are good if you do not have direct sunlight on them. They do smell out of the package but after three days outside that smell is gone. I don't have a problem with slide as I paired them with the mainstays wrap around rod. Overall worth the price, but if you have direct sunlight and want the true black out go higher end. I don't plan on washing these but if I do I would never dry lined curtains in a dryer no matter what the manufacturer says.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain

Good deal & nice looking

12/07/2012
By ,
Fife Lake, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought, in the store, 2 of these panels in the sangria for my drafty bedroom window. That was 4 yrs ago and the curtains are still doing what they should. They have been washed (gently, and hung to dry) several times and no issues. To me the sangria is a little darker than in the pic but that works for me. (burgedy-ish?) At less than 10 bux a panel you cannot lose.! These are kinda heavy though....wimpy curtain rods may have issues (I had to to re enforce mine after a few years)
For a little extra drama I added some burgendy sheers. I plan on ordering more soon for the rest of my windows as they do help with cold drafts in the winter.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain

good curtain; great price

05/27/2014
By ,
north carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are pretty curtains that look good & block light. It makes my bedroom so dark in the morning. Yes, you have a little light peaking in from the sides, but that's with any curtains. My only complaint is that they smell! I was afraid to wash them because of the complaints of the backing coming off. 1st off, the backing on my curtains is a pinkish color to begin with, not white like one person said, at least on my red curtains it is. I didn't pay attention to the expresso backing. I purchased the red & expresso curtains. I washed the expresso curtains on gentle cycle, cold wash, little bit of 7th generation detergent.... they came out great. No problems in the backing peeling or coming off. Don't notice the smell anymore. I have yet to wash my red curtains though, so I can't say yet if they turn out as great :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain

Perfect!!

08/06/2014
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the Espresso Brown. Hung them up on my patio doors since I get full sun in the afternoons. Perfect. They block the sun completely. Pretty deep chocolate brown. Very glad I ordered them.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain

wonderful

02/07/2012
By ,
philly
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i needed new curtains and blinds but after looking around for a while I decided to go for just the black out curtains. For many reasons one I wouldn't need to get blinds and the sun is always beating down on our living room windows so it's always hot in here summer with ac running and winter. And with my husband with migraines half the time it's always too bright in here. So I went for these two for each window and so far they look so nice. They don't quit lay like they do in the display picture but they do look nice much better than what i had. Great price too!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Eclipse Samara Blackout Energy-Efficient Curtain

Winter, I'm ready for you.

09/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these with winter in mind. I love a darkened room and these do the job plus it keeps any window draft out. Getting my home ready for the long winter having these, is a breeze ....no pun intended.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 2,883 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  145 Next