Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Daisy Daisy Powerline 880 .177 Carbine Air Rifle with Scope

Daisy Daisy Powerline 880 .177 Carbine Air Rifle with Scope

Hit your target with the Daisy Model 880 BB Carbine Air Rifle with Scope. The forearm of this rifle features a 4 X 15 rifle scope that offers excellent precision. The rifle can shoot with BBs as well as pellets with a velocity of about 800 ft/s. The multi-pump pneumatic action further increases its performance. The air gun is made of hollow molded wood grain stock, which makes it light yet sturdy. The steel barrel adds to its durability. The Daisy Air Rifle is ideal for beginners due to its safe cross bolt trigger block mechanism. The Daisy Model 880 BB Carbine Air Rifle with Scope is an impressive gun. It can hit targets at a distance of up to nearly 300 yards.
Average Customer Rating:
4.015 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(133 Reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
42
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation83%109 out of 132reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
45 Questions | 258 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
42
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Daisy Powerline 880 .177 Carbine Air Rifle with Scope

Sometimes you get more than what you pay for

10/01/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off: to get optimal accuracy get a laser boresight and zero in the scope at 25 yards to really get the accuracy and power of this rife to work for you.
I purchased this at a local walmart for the purpose of dispatching pigeons at my mothers house (she just got a new roof after Sandy and there are more flying rats ruining the new shingles and skylight than you can count) and i wanted something inexpensive i could just leave there for when i visit. Using standard pointed hunting pellets with 4-5 pumps i have humanely taken 6 pigeons at a distance of 60 to 75 feet. *they dropped like rocks* It is a VERY accurate pellet gun....BB's are all over the place do not even bother using them.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Daisy Powerline
Posted 01/27/2014
Have purchased three of these rifles through the years. They are great for training young shooters in gun safety, maintenance, and the basics of shooting. My first gun was a Daisy and I have enjoyed a life long love of the shooting sports. My sons followed suit and now my grandsons are enjoying the sport.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Daisy Powerline 880 .177 Carbine Air Rifle with Scope

Great Rifle, Bad Scope

07/26/2013
By ,
Princeton, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recieved my Daisy 880 rifle with scope today (7-26-13). I've had this rifle years ago and this one didn't disappoint me either. The only thing that was a disappointment was the scope. When I could get the crosshairs in focus the background/target were so out of focus that I could hardly make out what I was shooting at. When I got the target in focus the crosshairs were so blurry that I could hardly see them.
My advice? Go ahead and get the rifle by itself then purchase a scope of better quality. I have an old Tasco 4 power that I'm going to put on it tomorrow. I've used that scope on my Marlin Model 60 .22 rifle and it worked great. I've purchased a variable, more powerful scope for the Marlin and will use the Tasco on the Daisy. It's the same size both in power and physical size as the Daisy scope so I don't see any problems with it.
As for the rifle, I liked the one I had years ago and I like this new one as much. The old one didn't die either I just sold it to my sister.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Daisy Powerline 880 .177 Carbine Air Rifle with Scope

Great rifle for a Great price

04/19/2013
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to plink in the backyard. This is a great little gun for that, it would also be nice for varmint control for say up to 30 yards, maybe more. I have only used it as a pellet gun, no BBs but it does take BBs also - more control with a pellet. It is quite enough for backyard use.
2-3 pumps is more than enough for indoors, 4-6 pumps for out door plinking, and 10 pumps for game & varmints. The scope is workable and good for the price but it would never hurt to upgrade in the long term. It's favorite pellets are the Crosman hollow points and pointed rounds. It's least favorite are the Destroyers. At 10 pumps it will put a hollow point into a 1/2" piece of plywood and will poke out the back end. I would say this is NOT a kids gun unless you would be willing to give them a 22LR.
All in all I am happy with this gun. I would buy it again if I was to do it all over. It is a nice in between rifle - better than a Crosman 760 pumpmaster but less than the break barrel rifles, but cost is more like the pumpmaster
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Daisy Powerline 880 .177 Carbine Air Rifle with Scope

Great for backyard target competitions! Was amazed

06/08/2013
By ,
Pataskala, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this gun for a few years, and I gotta say, I am still impressed with it every time I pick it up. The accuracy is consistent, and I can hit cans nearly every time even at 100 ft. The pump feature is both amazing and a total drag. It's nice because you can choose how much pressure to put behind your shot. I do 15-20 pumps when hunting crows/rabbits/squirrels, and I've killed every one that I've hit. The negative to the pump feature is the amount of time and energy it takes to pump (especially when target shooting) and the noise of pumping (relevant to hunting). I used the scope for a short amount of time before realizing that it would not stay sighted. So I do not use the scope accessory except for a low-zoom telescope. Overall, I love this gun. I've probably put thousands of rounds (both BB's and pellets) through this thing, and it still kicks like the first day I got it. Minus the poorly crafted scope, I consider this a GREAT BUY!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Princeton, MN
Re: Great for backyard target competitions
Posted 07/27/2013
15-20 pumps? You do have a Daisy 880, right? Doesn't it say that anything over 10 pumps will damage the rifle? How long have you been using 15-20 pumps?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Daisy Powerline 880 .177 Carbine Air Rifle with Scope

Works well!

04/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these to teach my twin boys how to shoot and handle guns safely. For $45, I have to say it shoots very well! The scope, with it's 15mm objective lens, is not much good in dark conditions, but in decent light, I can shoot pellets nearly through the same hole at 10 meters shooting from my hind legs! Don't bother with BBs, they spray all over the place, but this rifle/scope combo is amazingly accurate with pellets and not picky about which brand or type of pellets. Hard to beat for 45 bucks. One tip: flat-nose type pellets are much easier to load under the scope than the pointed ones. They don't have as much tendency to flip backwards when you put them in the loading port.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Daisy Powerline 880 .177 Carbine Air Rifle with Scope

One Small Regret

08/18/2013
By ,
Hemet, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've owned the 880 for about 15 years. The "bolt" has a raised area at the barrel end that broke off so now it won't release the mechanism that allows it to fire. I am contacting Daisy about getting a replacement bolt. As another reveiwer wrote, I was getting dime-sized groups at 50 feet with the small, flat-nosed Daisy pellets with open sights. Those pellets apparently are no longer available. I have noticed a drop in accuracy with pointed, hunting pellets. The gun has plenty of power when pumped 10 times and is adequate for hunting small game. I have noticed a decrease in accuracy over the years which may or may not be attributed to damage to the rifling caused by shooting BBs. I would not recommend shooting BBs with this gun because of that. If you want to shoot BBs get a BB gun ;) Overall I really like this gun and originally I had purchased a rifle made by "Brand C." The 880 proved to be much more accurate. Having said that I also own a Brand C pump-powered pistol that is extremely powerful, accurate, and reliable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Daisy Powerline 880 .177 Carbine Air Rifle with Scope

Works well but has one fatal flaw (military bkgd)

05/23/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This works amazingly well with 6-10 pumps. At 10 pumps with a target at 20 feet away, this is rated to put several BB's within an inch circle. Pellets would make it more accurate. Very easy to adjust screws(people have complained they move a little but if you put the cap back on tightly, it's doable) to sight in the scope. Very good for beginner and fun for experienced shooters. HOWEVER if you look at the picture, you will see ONE screw holding the stock to the middle part of the rifle. IF that screw goes loose(and it WILL eventually)- it affects the aim.
The stock is plastic, and the screw gets stripped(I have tried bolting even) the butt rest and the hand hold will tilt 1-2mm. This is small, but when shooting 20 feet, it throws off the aim a good 6 inch. SO for experienced shooters, I just apply downward force to make it tilt one way all the time. Only lasted about 100 shots before screw got too stripped. This was only with 6-10 pumps per shot with bb balls. I would suggest you invest a little $ into a sturdier stock.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Daisy Powerline 880 .177 Carbine Air Rifle with Scope

Holds up great

07/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this rifle, the all black version, sitting in a closet for years, and has moved from Jersey to Florida and back again. Took it out recently to teach my 10 year old in depth safety and shooting skills. Set up a range in my backyard and with the first 5 shots I had 10 rings centered. There IS some waggle up and down with the plastic stock, but with holding it down all the way and resighting, it is easy to overcome. Certainly got my moneys worth with this air rifle. Have been using BBs for now, but will be moving to pellets quite soon for him. Scouts taught me to shoot and the US Army honed it. Now, with this rifle, my youngest is following right along.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Daisy Powerline 880 .177 Carbine Air Rifle with Scope

Not the old quality but perform as such. . .

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not the quality of the older models. A little too much plastic but over all a great air gun. Many say the scope is no good, I disagee. I have no problems with it, works great and dead on accurate at 40 yards with no problem once you get it to start hitting the target, zero's right in after that accurately. Daisy should step it up a bit quality wise in my opinion as for a wood stock and upping the price 15.00 or so, it will still sell. Not the old quality but the performance is there no doubt. Beats any Crosman in this price range in accuracy, power, etc. With the right pellet it will deliver penetration and pack a nice punch for small and large game up to Raccoon size. Not bad Daisy but bring back that good old quality. . . . .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Daisy Powerline 880 .177 Carbine Air Rifle with Scope

Excellent Value

06/12/2012
By ,
Charleston, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a varmit gun and foldly remembered the Daisy Powerline 880 I had as a boy. It was a decision to go with either the Crossman 760 or the Daisy 880 and I decided on the Daisy and am pleased so far. Both airguns are well made and have good reputations, but I decided on the Daisy mainly because it has a rifled barrell and is rated with a higher fps. I was leary of the Daisy because of some of the critical comments some reviewer made, but am pleased with my purchase. The gun appears to be well made and is very accurate without the scope. I agree with the reviewers that said the scope is a piece of garbage and you're better off either buying a better scope or not using one at all. I don't have particularly fat fingers and it can still be a bit of hassle loading the .177 cal pellets, but nothing that can't be overcome. The bottom line is I would recommend this airgun for those needing a varmint gun or to introduce kids to weapon operation and safety.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Daisy Powerline 880 .177 Carbine Air Rifle with Scope

Great overall value and shooter

07/28/2012
By ,
Port Orchard, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first 880 had an issue with the cocking mechanism and the magnet had shot out the front. Pellet grouping with the daisy variety pellet pack yeilded decent groupings at 1-1/2 inch @ 20yds. Most shots not over 3 pumps due to limited space. Recommend crosman premier hollow or domed and RWS Wadcutter. BB accuracy not great however loose grouping at 3-4 inches @10 yds. The new replacement rifle cocking is straight to the rear and crisp as opposed to the first one which i noted the handle would go into the rifle at a funny angle. I noted new one to sound like a tuning fork after shot? and seem stronger pump for pump comparison. Recommend trigger mod as taking the slack up to break point is annoying. Overall great value and best in its price group. Recommend better scope,good pellets, and break in procedure listed in other review.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Daisy Powerline 880 .177 Carbine Air Rifle with Scope

VERY good for the price.

09/17/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picked one of these babies up for my son a few weeks ago. He's a small scrawny kid and he was wearing himself out cocking and shooting my Crosman Fury break-barrel springer. This one is easy for him to pump. Shoots way better then we have a right to expect for a $39 gun. Straight out of the box, as soon as I sighted in the scope, I was shooting dime sized groups at 20 yards (seated rest) with Crosman Premier Hollow points.
The trigger was a little stiff at first, but crisp, not bad for an airgun at all. I bent the handles of three tablespoons & hung them on a wire in the back yard. My boy sits and drills them nearly every time from 50 to 60 feet. He's put over 2,000 rounds through it already, no problems. He LOVES his pellet rifle!
Nobody comes close to Walmart's price on this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Daisy Powerline 880 .177 Carbine Air Rifle with Scope

Awesome pellet gun

12/26/2013
By ,
Anderson, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to teach my 9 year old son to target shoot. I took it outisde and sighted in the scope from 25 feet. I was amazed at the accuracy of the pellet gun. It also has a rifled barrel which makes a huge difference with accuracy. My 9 year old had never shot before. He took five shots standing with no rifle rest and got 2 bullseyes and 1 below the bullseye and 2 shots about 6 inches off bullseye. He was really excited. This pellet gun got him off of his tablet and ps3 for most of the day.
We later stepped it up and starting shooting fom 50 feet out and this gun was still very accurate.
This review was written after 1 day of use. I cant comment on how reliable this gun will be in the long run. We put about 200 rounds through it today with no issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Daisy Powerline 880 .177 Carbine Air Rifle with Scope

Nice gun but very noisy

07/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had this air rifle for about three weeks not a bad gun
pros seems to be pretty accurate firing the weapon is pretty quiet
cons cocking the weapon and pumping it very noisy it alerted rodents instantly
also the handle for cocking the gun feels weak other than that I still like the gun
now let's see how long it will last
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Daisy Powerline 880 .177 Carbine Air Rifle with Scope

Great Value

08/07/2011
By ,
AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoots great group, about a dime at 50 feet. Important thing is to break it in properly. using pellets, shoot 10 times with three pumps, and then shoot another 10 times with 5 pumps. Afterwards, you shoot with up to 10 pumps and it will be very accurate once you attach the scope and sight it in. scope is easy to sight in as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+495points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Princeton, MN
Great Rifle
Posted 07/10/2013
I had one years ago and it shot great. Better with pellets than BBs though but it stands to reason. Thinking of getting another one and didn't know anything about breaking it in. Mine shot great groups but breaking it in sounds logical.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Daisy Powerline 880 .177 Carbine Air Rifle with Scope

Great air gun.

07/14/2014
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a real good air gun ,it has the power we were looking for and works great for our purpose.I would recommend it to friends. It even came with a scope .I think it was a real good bargain.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Daisy Powerline 880 .177 Carbine Air Rifle with Scope

excellent gun for beginners& expierienced shooters

11/11/2011
By ,
sugarloaf, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is an excellent variable pump rifle, if you are looking for power and accuracy, you just found your gun. this is a very extremely accurate gun that i personally have literally shot thing in half with. i highly recommend this but keep in mind it is not a toy so shoot safely
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+189points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Clarkesville,ga
great gun
Posted 06/17/2013
This was my first air gun i ever had and it a great gun for it's price great accuracy and power
it kills small game and rabbits but it want kill with bbs use pellet to kill and bbs for practice.
With this gun you have to shoot a little under at your target and you will get a perfect kill.
if you lose your scope you can order a 4x15 scope from Walmart or CrossMan.com the only
problem I had was the plastic on the side and the screws can come out but you can prevent that by watching them and screwing them in every day
0points
Customer Avatar
cool
Posted 09/14/2012
this gun sounds very extremely awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 18 for Daisy Powerline 880 .177 Carbine Air Rifle with Scope

Great BB gun

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accurate out of the box, great price
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Daisy Powerline 880 .177 Carbine Air Rifle with Scope

VERY ACCURATE WITH PELLETS, not so much with BBs..

01/08/2012
By ,
Menifee, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BB shots can vary up to 3 inches at 10 yards, however pellets are DEAD ON with this.
I kept getting random 2-3 inch variance with BBs at 10 yd, so I thought I'd try pellets. Pellets hit dead on every shot, every time, because of the rifled barrel and the pellet spinning.
I have had this for about a year and BBs are more accurate with the same model that is over 10 years older. I have shot hundreds more BBs through this newer one, so the barrel might just be worn a bit, but with pellets I have no drop, or variance.
AWESOME with pellets!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Daisy Powerline 880 .177 Carbine Air Rifle with Scope

Great power and accuracy for the price

03/08/2012
By ,
Gardner, Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gun for a beginner - plenty of power and accuracy. I bought two for my twin boys and both have lasted through the first month - that is saying something. They have shot over 2000 rounds of BBs at targets in my backyard and continue to shoot daily. Well worth the money for the enjoyment they are having with the guns.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
georgia
good gun
Posted 03/11/2012
i shot this gun at my friends house love ths gun smothe pump and deadly if hit in right spot i wood recmed this gun to anybidy it is good
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 119 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next