Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Backyard Discovery Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Backyard Discovery Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

The Backyard Discovery wooden swing set will make your backyard the central location of the neighborhood with the abundant array of activities for your children and their friends.
Average Customer Rating:
3.512 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(203 Reviews) 195
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
61
3 stars
25
2 stars
17
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation73%143 out of 197reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
48 Questions | 85 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
61
3 stars
25
2 stars
17
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Amazing!

11/11/2013
By ,
Katy, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After many months of shopping around, i came across this playset, it gave us the best bang for the buck. It took about 2 days to put it together with the help of 3 people, after many hours of hard work it was all worth it my kids love it. Make sure you separate everything before assembling it will make things run so much better, the instructions are very straight forward.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Good Value for the money!

05/16/2012
By ,
Caroline, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This set is not to shabby for the money, considering there are sets at the other big box stores for double the price for about the same thing - this one will do just fine. TAKE YOUR TIME when setting screws to prevent cracking. I looked at the directions twice the night before costruction which helped a ton. Just as other reviewers have stated before...seperate and pile all the lumber into piles according to their number - saves ALOT of time. As for the clubhouse - i put a 2x4 underneath to provide extra protection for the floor. and please please follow and COMPLETE directions in order - or it will slow u down - (learned from experience) :) the directions are straight forward if you take the time to read and look at which way the boards are positioned. and..the kids love the wave rider!! I spent week looking for a playset at all th online and sotores in my area and I am pleased I went with this one at this price!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Louisiana
Posted 06/18/2012
Just curious, what did you put down under the swingset?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Good Value for the Money!

02/28/2013
By ,
Pflugerville
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did a lot of online "looking" before deciding to purchase this playset. I read the reviews (even though many of them offered nightmare scenarios), but decided to go with this one, hoping I wouldn't have any missing boards, parts or damage. Once I received the notification to pick it up from the store (site to store service), I loaded the 2 boxes in my vehicle with the help of a store employee. (By the way, the boxes are approx. 2' x 8' each and weigh about 185lbs and 165lbs). I give you this information because I was unable to find it anywhere.
Once home, I did an inventory of all the hardware and wood. To my surprise, everything was there! All the boards were in perfect condition, no splits and no cracks! I only had 2 boards that were missing the stamp label, but it was easy to figure out which ones they were. I suggest getting extremely organized before starting any assembly on this project. I placed all the boards in alphabetical order and this helps out a lot! Also, get a separate table to organize all the bags of nuts, bolts and screws you will have. I also suggest you have a good drill with several batteries charged up and ready to go. You will need patience and no timeline to get it done. The assembly directions are OK, but have a few discrepancies that just don't make sense or add up. If you have any mechanical know how at all, you will see this for yourself, but it's not bad, just follow the directions step by step and be patient. Even though the directions suggest it's a two person project, I did it alone and took my time. After all said and done, I'm happy with the purchase. It a came out great and the kids love it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Awesome swingset for the price!

08/06/2012
By ,
Wylie, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This swingset looks as nice in person as it does online. I researched swingsets for months (literally) for my 4 year olds birthday. I found one elsewhere very similar to this but the shipping was $300 (and they didn't carry it in the store#! I was so dissappointed, but then found this one that looked very similar at walmart.com- and the shipping to the store was free! We got it in 1 week and set it up in one day. Mind you, it took all of the 12-16 hours to put together. We had 3 people working on it for 16 hours #we also had to work around leveling the backyard issues, which added additional time#. The directions were relatively clear, a few times we had to skip forward to see what it should look like, but other than that it was fine. I was worried about not having all the parts #I've ordered from Walmart before and didn't always get all the parts) and the only thing we were missing was a small bag of screws that we picked up at the hardware store. My kids LOVE this swingset and it looks great! We had no problems with putting it together- made sure it stayed level the entire time and had to make adjustments to the ground to do so... but it turned out beautiful. We added a little edge around the base with rubber bark, in order to not scuff the wood when weed wacking and to make mowing easier. The other main complaint I saw was the boards being too thin. For under $1000 all swingsets are made with thinner material. You have to spend 1500-2000 in order to get 4x4 boards all around. Like I said, for the price, this was the best swingset we could find. I've even attached a picture!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Good Value for the Money!

02/28/2013
By ,
Pflugerville
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did a lot of online "looking" before deciding to purchase this playset. I read the reviews (even though many of them offered nightmare scenarios), but decided to go with this one, hoping I wouldn't have any missing boards, parts or damage. Once I received the notification to pick it up from the store (site to store service), I loaded the 2 boxes in my vehicle with the help of a store employee. (By the way, the boxes are approx. 2' x 8' each and weigh about 185lbs and 165lbs). I give you this information because I was unable to find it anywhere.
Once home, I did an inventory of all the hardware and wood. To my surprise, everything was there! All the boards were in perfect condition, no splits and no cracks! I only had 2 boards that were missing the stamp label, but it was easy to figure out which ones they were. I suggest getting extremely organized before starting any assembly on this project. I placed all the boards in alphabetical order and this helps out a lot! Also, get a separate table to organize all the bags of nuts, bolts and screws you will have. I also suggest you have a good drill with several batteries charged up and ready to go. You will need patience and no timeline to get it done. The assembly directions are OK, but have a few discrepancies that just don't make sense or add up. If you have any mechanical know how at all, you will see this for yourself, but it's not bad, just follow the directions step by step and be patient. Even though the directions suggest it's a two person project, I did it alone and took my time. After all said and done, I'm happy with the purchase. It a came out great and the kids love it! See attached pictures.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

HOURS OF FUN FOR A GREAT PRICE!!!

09/12/2012
By ,
Culpeper, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this swing set as a birthday present for our two year old and he LOVES it!!! Who are we kidding, we love it too! Be sure to dedicate several hours to building it though. It took us every bit of 13 hours to put it together. The best advice I can give is to lay out all of the lumber and hardware first. Take an inventory of every piece. Laying the lumber out alphabetically will really help with the building process. Of course, as soon as our son started having the time of his life on the swing set it made the 13 hours totally worth it. It really is a great set for the money. I had done research for months and similar sets were at least $100-$200 more than this one with less activities. We are very pleased!! Great swing set!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Richmond, TX
Price
Posted 01/06/2014
Hi, if you don't mind me asking how much did you pay for the set. I saw it on a Black Friday deal, but it was sold out. It is now $700. Wondering if its worth it. Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Very Happy GrandKids

05/20/2012
By ,
Cleveland, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Swingset for my GrandKids and they love it! The description says it's for kids UP TO 10 years old but it is more appropriate for younger kids. I love that it's made of Cedar because it matches my deck. I didnt want a metal set again because they just don't last like they should. My 4 year old GrandSon spends alot of time playing on it, the only downfall I can see is that you must use the anchors or it will be tipsy. It was fairly easy to put together, theinstructions were very clear and easy to follow. It took me 2 full days to put it together...I did most of the work by myself and only needed help a few times for the larger items and raising the roof!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

It's a nice set...

06/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We looked at Sam's and Costco and we like this one. It took us 22 house to put up and I can say it wasn't bad a all. It's a reall cute set.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

A Must Have for Your Backyard!!!!!!

04/04/2011
By ,
Bristol, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband & I just bought this swing set for our 4 kids for there Birthday's (all coming up in May). The kids love it and range in age's 10, 7 (twins), and 1. I think this is the biggest bang for your buck when looking for a great swing set for kids. I also modified it just a little and turned the space under the fort into a sand box! If you have 1 or 10 kids this set is perfect!
I will add one more note it says it takes 12 hours to put together and it does if only two people. I recomend trying to get a couple of friends to help and sorting all the piece's into piles before you start.
I have added a picture with 2 of my kids playing hope you enjoy!!!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+208points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mn
sand
Posted 08/04/2011
we want to put a sandbox underneath as well how much sand did u use?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Great Value

12/11/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Granted, we completed assembly today, and I can't speak to the long-term durability of the set at this point . However, I have been impressed thus far. The parts were packed impeccably. 1 piece of wood was received broken (easily glued) and we were missing 6 bolts (which we remedied at the local hardware store for less than $3). My Dad and I assembled everything in 14 hrs. Don't let installation issues dissuade you from purchasing this unit. The little mongrels (2 and 5) were released upon this thing for several hours, and it's still standing. Seriously, there were no wood splits, the hardware was right on. The set appears to be sturdy. We'll see.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Looks good in backyard, but poor structure.

05/16/2012
By ,
hemet, ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It took me, my husband, and teenage son 1 full day (11 hours) and two half days to finish this product. While putting the product together, boards kept splitting while drilling. Some of the instructions were unclear because it did not clarify which bolts or nuts go where. We had to take boards off a few times in order to finish the subsequent steps, so that was frustrating. Overall, the product looks good, and is perfect for my three year old. However, I have an 8 and 9 year old that can swing on it, but when they get in the fort, the structure wobbles. It looks good in the backyard and the kids love the waveboard, but I am not happy with the overall quality, It needs stronger wood. We will be reinforcing the floorboard and bench seat. (the bench bends under my 3-year olds wieght). I would have rather spent more money and got a better set.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set
04/25/2011
By ,
LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughters love this swing set, one daughter 2yrs old & one daughter 13yrs old. My husband put it together all by his self and stayed in a good mood. He took his time and read all the instructions and followed them. It took him all together about 14 hours to put it completely together. He did some work on Sat. and finished on Sunday. I am very satisfied with our swing set!!! And just to let you know I compared Walmart,Lowes and Toys r us swing sets and read all reviews. I choose this one because u get alittle bit of everything for your money. There is only 4 bars on the monkey bars and the play house is small but its enough for all playing and pretending. I recommend starting with the wooden swing sets at age 2 and you will recieve your money value out of it. They can grow with it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

AWESOME!!

08/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this set for my 2 year old son and he LOVES it!! Didn't have any missing pieces and was easily put together by my boyfriend and his brother. Directions were easy to follow and it did take about 16 hrs for them to complete it. Overall it was worth every penny!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

After a few years, it is still strong and standing

04/03/2013
By ,
Woburn, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this set a few years ago for our grandchildren and they love it. Even now they are older and still climb all over it and have a great time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Recommended

06/05/2012
By ,
fitchburg, ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for our 2 sons almost 9 and 5. Picked up site to store to save the $200 shipping charge.
Took my husband (a carpenter) and I 9.5 straight hours to build. Everything went smoothly and we are very happy with the quality of the swingset.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

My kids love it

05/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not only is this swing set beautiful but my kids love it! It's very time consuming to put together but the directions are clear and the parts are already labeled. My only issue with this swing set is that the wood splits easily. Other than that it's a great swing set.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Central Valley CA
I couldn't be happier
Posted 07/12/2011
This was a great investment for my child. It was very difficult to put together.. I had 6 men and 2 teenage boys, working for 6 hours. I read all the reviews before I made the choice to purchase this one. We had a big bar-b-que and family get together; we made it fun...Best of all my daughter loves her new swing set.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Kids love it but a pain to put together.
Posted 06/15/2011
The 12-16 hours with 2 adults is a joke. We had 3 adults and it took us 24 hours to put it together. The instructions have many typo's. Some of the pictures are not clear where there should be gaps. The bench should be built before the counter wall or you will have to unsrew portions of the wall to get the bolts to fit. You also have to make the holes for the ladder to attach to the clubhouse even though it shows predrilled holes. The ladder split and the bench supports split even with pre-drilling. Kids love playing on it though.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 17 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

love this swing set!

06/11/2012
By ,
edmond, ok
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great swing set for the money. It is a lot of work to put together but it is totally worth it. I recommend opening all the boxes and sorting through all the pieces and organizing all the hardware. I did this the night before my husband and I put it together.... saved ALOT of time (and arguments) :)
Some of the screws were cheap and our drill/ electric screw driver was too powerful so we had to screw in some using hand screw drivers and an electric one that had less power.
-follow the directions step by step...it will save you time and you'll know it is secure.
-dont over screw- pieces can split.
it takes two people at least! My husband and I started around 9:30 A.M and finished about 8 P.M.
I heard that wal mart will put the sections together for free and you just have to find a way to get it home. ( I wish I would have known this before!!)
Good luck!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Everyone should get one!

05/28/2012
By ,
Big Fork, Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well, after reading the reviews that were posted, My wife and I were a little worried because a lot of them were very discouraging and we had already purchased it and were waiting for it to arrive. We reccommend that you lay all phases out in order, took about 2 hrs. All the pieces were there and no cracked or bowed boards. Even had 3X the amount of hardware. Assembling it was not real easy and it took my friend and I about 8 hours from start to finish.
We have 3 kids...5, 8, and 10. Seems to be sturdy enough and they absolutely love it. We had shopped for a swing set for a while and for the money and the rollback price you can't beat it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Great set, but be careful of rain while building.

06/21/2011
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome playset. We just finished today after four days of building (about 16 hours, some by myself, most with my wife, she rocks!) so yes, it does take as long as advised to build.
All of the parts were marked, some difficult to read, but you can figure them out by size and holes. Directions are decent, especially if you have done prior "build it yourself" items.
A word of warning. Do not let boards get wet while you are building. They hold some water and get wider!!! We left them out in a rain shower overnight, and the next day, we had trouble installing boards on the sides and floor of the playhouse area. They are designed to fit snug even when dry. When they get wet, they do not fit. I had to cut the end boards, which is no picnic, as some are nearly 4 feet long.
The kids played on it today, as we finished the slide, and they are in heaven! This set is well worth the price, even the higher $799 price. Hopefully we'll get an allowance markdown now that it has dropped $100.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Good for the $

04/15/2012
By ,
North Haven, CT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My kids love swings, that part is a bit small and the upper play house is small too. Otherwise it is a very nice looking play yard that has everything but a rock wall. My daughter loves the monkey bars and glider, she just turned 4, my son is 1 1/2 and loves going up the ladder to the play house and sliding down. If you have a little one too, don't forget to purchase a baby swing. Another good bonus was that my husband, who has never done this before, put it together in two full days by himself, not bad. It has only been up for a week, I hope it holds up for a few years, the wood seems a bit cheep.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 196 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next