Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Backyard Discovery Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Backyard Discovery Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

The Backyard Discovery wooden swing set will make your backyard the central location of the neighborhood with the abundant array of activities for your children and their friends.
Average Customer Rating:
3.507 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(272 Reviews) 256
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
86
3 stars
33
2 stars
26
1 star
44
Customer Recommendation73%193 out of 266reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
56 Questions | 91 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
86
3 stars
33
2 stars
26
1 star
44
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Not worth the money!!

03/30/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After receiving this swing set I had to download the instructions because there was NO instructions in the box. and the slide pieces were wrong. I called the manufacturer and they sent the right part. Which was awesome. But the overall quality of the swing set for the price is not awesome. If I had it to do over I wouldn't pay that price for this swing set. So NOT worth it!!!!!!!!!!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set
This review is fromBackyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Swing Set (box 1).

great product questionable packaging

01/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product.... You need to be handy with tools to assemble and have patience. This is not a one or two hour toy assembly.
The packaging is horrible. First shipment was to the store....boxes were destroyed and we rejected that shipment for fear of missing parts. Second shipment came to the house.... A little better but individual parts had to be uploaded off the truck one by one!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set
This review is fromBackyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Swing Set (box 1).

Great Swing Set

01/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received two boxes laid out all the pieces as per instructions not a single piece missing, wood was in greats shape. Read previous reviews so was a little concerned about missing pieces, instructions, and difficulty of assembly. None of these turned out to be a problem. Set took basic tools and skills and we dedicated about 10 hours for assembly. Finished result was excellent, and size for our backyard was perfect.
Suggest removing instructions reading them first, laying out well marked wood pieces, and hardware package and follow directions. Would purchase set again.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set
This review is fromBackyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Swing Set (box 1).

wooden swing set

12/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
so far the swing set is coming along with getting it up. Alot of pieces of wood and crews, etc. Anxious to see it completed
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set
This review is fromBackyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Swing Set (box 1).

MONTPELIER PLAYSET IS UP!

12/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well, it took a good bit of time to get this thing put together. I'm pretty handy and did most of it by myself. We have a 4.5 year old and a 2 year old and we got this for them for Christmas. It's a decent playset. I don't think I could've built something from scratch that is as cool for the money. Yes, the wood is a little flimsy, but it's not intended for adults. My wife, 110 lbs, was able to get in it no problems. It's solid, big and quite impressive. I'm hoping my kids will enjoy this for years to come. All-in-all it was a great purchase. The directions could have been a little more clear, but if you're patient, you'll figure it out. Only 2-3 hiccups in the directions out of about 300 steps (not kidding).
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

DO NOT BUY

09/22/2014
By ,
Great Falls, MT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is horrible. In the first week, the door ripped off. The screws are not long enough for the wood and the wood splits when the screws are screwed in. I have owned it for a year now. Screws have fallen out of the monkey bars, the surf board, and the wooden slats. The only place this playset will be going is in the trash. Don't waste your money on this garbage.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Don't waste your money on this one!

09/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please take this to heart, don't buy this product! Both myself and my fiance have construction and framing experience and it took us over 25 total hours to put together. The instructions were horrible and several of the boards were difficult to read numbers/letters and some were missing their labels all together. This product was very frustrating to put together and once complete, we had to buy more materials just to add to it to make it more durable and secure.
We wish we would have just bought our own materials and did it ourselves or maybe found one that was more durable and had better instructions.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

make sure you have all your pieces

08/28/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i was missing some bolts and screws and also some wood too....make sure you look at the pictures very carefully in the instructions...they are hardto read
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Cheap quality

08/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We got it installed last year (9/2013) and falling apart already. Surf board broke. very cheap quality.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

All hardware was missing

08/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The play set looks great and my grandson loves it. BUT, when the pieces were being sorted out, the hardware was missing. It was disappointing because we were ready to set it up that weekend and had to put it off until the hardware was received and people to set it up were available. On a positive note, the hardware was received quickly and construction began the following weekend. The play set was just about finished when we realized the hardware for the wave runner was also missing. At present time we are waiting for that hardware to arrive. Overall, it is a nice play set, but poor packaging.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

all went well except

08/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the only issue we had with this set was after hours of putting together the clips that hold the swings were not there . my husband was upset after all the time he put into this the thing my daughter loves the most and will spend hours doing . could not be put on because the clips were not there . other than that well worth the money spent .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Not happy with quality for price

07/29/2014
By ,
Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this item and it lasted little over 3 months before the weld on the surf board snapped off on the top and the beam that holds the swings had a split all the way across the whole board. The hinges on the door broke off within the first week of setting it up. The set up was quite a process but we knew that going into it. My concern over all was the weld and the split, other than that I would have said it was a decent product but I don't feel like the quality is very good.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Garbage swingset! Everything is cheap!

06/19/2014
By ,
Cedar City, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am thouroughly disappointed with this product. It is cheap wood so the entire playhouse leans because the supports are 1"x4" which are not large enough to support the playset, they clubhouse door fell off when the kids closed the door because you have screws going into to 1" of wood to hold it onto the hinges. The surf board swing is fun but it comes apart because the connect designe allows the bolts to wiggle loose and fall out after a short while. The slide is cheap. I am very disappointed with this and would recommend Costco or a metal swingset.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Overall I got what I paid for, and am happy.

05/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I picked this play set due to the features, and overall appearance. I was a bit worried about missing parts as this sat in my garage for two months while i was waiting on the weather to warm up. I was very happy to find no missing or broken parts.
I did 95% of the assembly by myself it took roughly 18 hours to complete. During the first step i split a board a little bit. From then on if there wasn't one i just drilled a pilot hole, and never had another issue. The finish product on level ground with the included anchors installed is plenty sturdy. I'm 6' and about 220 pounds, and I've spent a lot of time in the club house during assembly, and it seems pretty sturdy once fully assembled. The bench is probably the only part I don't care for, but if it breaks it will be easy to replace with better materials. I'd say this should last my two year old a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Kids love it!

05/09/2014
By ,
Deland, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a previous wood playset I purchased a couple of years ago from Sears, I was hesitant to buy one again without expecting to pay over $1000 for something durable. I went for this one after reading a lot of the reviews I felt it was worth trying. Picked up site to store and began building around 930 AM and at about 7PM I have about 95%of it done(just the ladder and bench seat left). Directions weren't too bad but I did have to scan a head a page or two to make sure I had pilot holes in right place. Compared to my previous wood playset this one is of much better quality and design. When it's all said and done what really matters is my kids. Their verdict is that they love it! The little house has enough room to hold my 6 and 2 year old. P.S. I had no missing pieces like a few other reviews have mentioned. I ordered end of April 2014 and picked up May 9th. I think this might have been the last playset I ever purchase and/or build. I expect this to last until my kids outgrow it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Disappointed.

04/15/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Let me first start off with saying, my sons love this swing set, especially the awesome surf board.
However, the wood quality is cheap. We split so many pieces putting the screws through it, the screw heads for the door, kept falling apart. Overall, we were very disappointed in it.
Fast forward, after a week of hard play time....it's now swaying more than it should. It's honestly scaring me for my kids to even be on it because when they swing high, it looks and sounds like it's going to break in half.
Save your money and go buy one made from something better than maple.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Illinois
Swaying
Posted 04/21/2014
My husband recently put ours together for our son. Ours was starting to sway as well after a couple of weeks of light play (the weather has been too rainy to play on it). According to him, the directions say that due to the swing set settling, you will need to tighten the screws every couple of days (at least for awhile). He tightened ours up....no more swaying.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

My 2 Year old loves it

04/03/2014
By ,
Pinckneyville Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a 2 year old and he loves it. A Storm came day later and picked up the playhouse and tossed it an broke the wood easily and the slind. We actually were missing the bolts to hold down the playhouse so it was unfortunate. We our currently trying to get all the damage parts replaced under the warrenty. The Door stopper is not that great. The wood is very fragile putting it together. so be careful. Overall this playhouse is really fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Great swing set for the value.....

12/28/2013
By ,
mesa Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the finished product great set for the price but be warned it took 17 hours to build lots of parts and you should read one step ahead so you don't have to undo something over to get it right...our set had one missing board and a few split boards so we ordered a replacement set to get the missing and split boards...kids love it and it looks great...takes at least 2 people to put together and a 3rd person should be getting the next step set aside so when the 2 men are ready for the next step they have all the needed peices all ready for the next step. If you don't have patients dont buy it.Also on the roof slats on all of one side of the predrilled holes were 4" off so we put the arches on the playhouse first then added the roof slats and drilled the one side with the predrilled holes first then we drilled new holes on the other side that was off 4" but it still is awesome you can't beat it for the price....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

awesome swing set

12/03/2013
By ,
ogden, ut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had this set since spring. My son and the neighbor kids love it. I am very happy with it and it was a great deal. I think I bought it in sale for $550.00
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Amazing!

11/11/2013
By ,
Katy, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After many months of shopping around, i came across this playset, it gave us the best bang for the buck. It took about 2 days to put it together with the help of 3 people, after many hours of hard work it was all worth it my kids love it. Make sure you separate everything before assembling it will make things run so much better, the instructions are very straight forward.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 257 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next