Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Backyard Discovery Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Backyard Discovery Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

The Backyard Discovery wooden swing set will make your backyard the central location of the neighborhood with the abundant array of activities for your children and their friends.
Average Customer Rating:
3.512 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(291 Reviews) 275
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
89
3 stars
35
2 stars
30
1 star
46
Customer Recommendation72%205 out of 285reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
63 Questions | 96 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
89
3 stars
35
2 stars
30
1 star
46
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Very disappointing....

05/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After two summers we gave this play set to a family with toddlers. I bought it for my 4 year old daughter at the time, and swinging by herself the entire tower would wobble excessively. The play set was properly leveled and staked.
During the first storm after installation the wind blew the tower door completely off! Also, in the 1st year the surfboard broke at the weld point. Customer service did replace it, but the new one broke at the same weld point in the second year we had it.
If your kids are very little this may be o.k., but this unit is not sturdy. If you want longevity this is not the unit you want. This time I bought a kit with 4x4 & 4x6 foundation, sometimes you get what you pay for.
. . .
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Cool design but flimsy

05/17/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The swing set design is awesome and my son has a lot of fun on it. One major problem is the fact that the wood splits very easily. It just seems fragile for a swing set.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set
This review is fromBackyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Swing Set (box 2).

Lots of work and thin wood

06/29/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Directions very confusing. Thin boards and they split very easy, make sure you have a drill bit to help with this. Took us two days with help. Missing pieces. The swing Set looks very good and my son should love it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Nice swingset for the money!

05/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had researched, extensively, swingsets from various stores. We wanted something for our 3 year old son that had several different play options on it and this one fit the bill perfectly...swings, monkey bars, clubhouse, and slide. We also wanted a quality set but didn't want to spend thousands of dollars. We settled on this set and were and are very pleased. We have had the set up since last October and it's held up well. It did take some time, of course, to put it all together. My husband primarily did it by himself and it took him 4-5 evenings to finish it completely, but was not hard, just time consuming. He did find the instructions a little hard to understand and once he sorted all the pieces, he relabeled the wooden pieces so they were easier to read. Our son has enjoyed many hours of play on this set and I expect he will get many more. My only wish is that the boards that make up the foundation are just 1x4's and not 2x4's...I feel like this would make it more sturdy, but would probably also make it cost quite a bit more. I plan on powerwashing, staining and resealing it this fall as to make sure it lasts even longer. All in all, a great set for the price....you will not be sorry with this set. And Walmart had the cheapest price on this particular set that I could find anywhere else. Enjoy!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Good swingset

05/07/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This swing set is really nice and my kids love it. During the construction, we noticed some parts were mislabeled though. It took 4 adults about 2 days to put this together. There needs to be more stakes to tie it down with around the swings instead of just 2. We put 3 there and 3 under the fort area. The bench is not very good so we didn't even put it up. All in all though, it's a nice swing set and my kids love it so that's all that matters. I would recommend this!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Looks great, a bit small

05/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good for 3 year olds to maybe 6. My 8 year old is too big for everything but the swings and boogie board
Took me 18 hours by myself to build it, be sure to lay out all the parts in piles first, big help.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set
This review is fromBackyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Swing Set (box 2).

REAL REVIEW

06/17/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My kids love this swing set. My kids range from 2 to 9 and can all play together as it is billed to hold 1350lbs at one time. All of the products parts are well built and sturdy. All the parts are pre-drilled and labeled. The labels are stamped on and sometimes hard to read and sometimes placed in 2 different places between the 2 boxes. It took me and my father 16 hours to put it together. (We had to take many breaks as it was in the mid-90's both days) We had all the bits and drivers that made it so quick (they supply bits necessary if you don't have them you just have to look for them). The book says it takes between 18 and 20 hours to do it.
Now,for the instructions. The instructions are very vague. They show you a picture of what needs done but they are horrible. My wife was the instruction reader for this project. Sometimes we all had to look at them to make sense of it. My wife is college educated and my father does this type of stuff for a living.
So, to sum it up, if you want a good product and have amazing patience this is for you. It could also be for you if you pay someone else to put it together. If not just pass on this.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set
This review is fromBackyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Swing Set (box 2).

much time but well worth the effort,

06/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nothing matches the smiles and laughter from our grandson.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set
This review is fromBackyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Swing Set (box 2).

Great set!

06/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took a few days to assemble but well worth it! Its a huge set amd the kids love it!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set
This review is fromBackyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Swing Set (box 2).

Impressed for the Price

06/11/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice playset. Put together by myself in about 12-14 hours. Can be done solo.
Few split boards, but nothing major.
I would buy again. My two year old loves it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set
This review is fromBackyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Swing Set (box 2).

Not impressed with quality or the purchase

06/05/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Took much longer than the anticipated time to put it together - numerous things wrong with the pieces during install process, the way it had it anchored was sufficient, etc. Suspect it will not hold up to use for long. If we had a do-over, we would buy a kit/directions with the swings/slide & buy lumber ourselves
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set
This review is fromBackyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Swing Set (box 1).

Lengthy Assembly

06/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My boys love it! High quality and beautiful cedar color, but it took 2 days to assemble!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set
This review is fromBackyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Swing Set (box 2).

Don't bother looking...

06/03/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very cheaply made...would not recommend.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set
This review is fromBackyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Swing Set (box 2).

Love it.

05/31/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kids love it. Worth every dime.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Very Disappointed

04/06/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was VERY excited to put this playset up for my kids….only to be very disappointed. The quality was awful. It is extremely light weight and unsteady. I live in Kansas and it is incredibly windy here and there is NO way that this playset would survive any storm. I received boards that were cracked and warped. The picnic top was so cracked and bent that we couldn’t even install it so I have a bench but no table. I would not recommend this or buy it again. If I’m going to spend that much money I would rather it be good quality and be able to last for years and get my money out of it! The only reason that I am giving it two stars is for the cuteness of the clubhouse. It has a little door and bay window and the cuteness factor of it is worth the two stars!
Recommends this product? No
From BYDSales04/20/2015
Thank you for letting us know. We value your feedback and if there is any way we can help improve your experience, please contact our Customer Service Department at 800-856-4445. They are available 7 days per week. Replacement parts can also be ordered through our Customer Service Department. BackyardDiscovery
From BYDSales04/20/2015
Thank you for letting us know. We value your feedback and if there is any way we can help improve your experience, please contact our Customer Service Department at 800-856-4445. They are available 7 days per week. Replacement parts can also be ordered through our Customer Service Department. BackyardDiscovery
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Extremly Disappointing

04/03/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After days of research comparing different swing sets at different stores (both online and local) my family determined that this would be the best purchase especially with the positive reviews. It was to be delivered by the end of March which would allow for my family to take the proper time to assemble and complete before my niece's 3rd birthday party. The swing set was delivered late (the night before the party - the delivery company was not helpful or friendly) but our family was determined to put it together for tomorrow's party. We opened the boxes and there were NO instructions - we had to look online for the manual and print the 72 page document on our inkjet printer. We started organizing the pieces and there were so many pieces BROKEN (I lost track of counting). Obviously we are unable to put the swing set together and the entire family is extremely disappointed. Hopefully our attempt to resolve this problem is a better experience but, based on our current situation, I am very skeptical. Wish us luck! (This is the very first time we have had such a bad experience purchasing a product from Walmart.) Buy this swing set at your own risk!
Recommends this product? No
From BYDSales04/20/2015
Thank you for letting us know. We value your feedback and if there is any way we can help improve your experience, please contact our Customer Service Department at 800-856-4445. They are available 7 days per week. Replacement parts can also be ordered through our Customer Service Department. BackyardDiscovery
From BYDSales04/20/2015
Thank you for letting us know. We value your feedback and if there is any way we can help improve your experience, please contact our Customer Service Department at 800-856-4445. They are available 7 days per week. Replacement parts can also be ordered through our Customer Service Department. BackyardDiscovery
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set
This review is fromBackyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Swing Set (box 2).

my son loves it .so does my grandson

05/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a great thing for your child to play on and enjoy
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set

Not worth the money!!

03/30/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After receiving this swing set I had to download the instructions because there was NO instructions in the box. and the slide pieces were wrong. I called the manufacturer and they sent the right part. Which was awesome. But the overall quality of the swing set for the price is not awesome. If I had it to do over I wouldn't pay that price for this swing set. So NOT worth it!!!!!!!!!!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set
This review is fromBackyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Swing Set (box 2).

kids love it

05/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great swingset. My kids love it. Instructions could have been better. There was some guessing on little things. But otherwise it was ok.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set
This review is fromBackyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Swing Set (box 1).

Well Worth Review Must Read

04/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are in the market for a playset for your little ones look no further. This place it is very difficult to assemble but well worth the value and the quality you receive. When you first receive your two boxes be sure to inventory each item on the check list provided. Keep your inventory list handy, you may need it throughout the building of the playground set. My boys (ages 1 &3) love this
Owners Manual Step Update
-monkey bar assembly step 2 calls for part e78. Please note there is no e78 on the inventory sheet. I have called and verified with customer service that E4 is actually an updated version of E78. Part number W101733 not W102370.
Recommendations:
-keep an extra drill battery on the charger.
-when building the fort it is best to lay the base on the side you are working on.
-keep ALL screws in the bag and stick to one step at a time.
-keep your manual handy (in the event you are missing or need a replacement, backyard discovery has awesome human customer service)
-keep drill bits by your side
If anything else comes up I can try and update here.
Advice
My husband and I tackled this project together. It's best to work together. It looks scary at first and especially when it's all laid out, but it's not as bad when you go step by step.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 276 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next