Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Westinghouse Westinghouse 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , TX-42F810G

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Westinghouse Westinghouse 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , TX-42F810G

The Westinghouse 42" 1080p 60 Hz HDTV has pre-set and custom video modes for an exceptional viewing experience. Watch digital broadcasts with the built-in ATSC/QAM tuner. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Westinghouse 42" 1080p HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.156 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(90 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation82%74 out of 90reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Westinghouse 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , TX-42F810G

Disappointed

02/26/2011
By ,
Lebanon, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was very excited to get this t.v. home. Was a great value for the money. This packaging didn't look damaged, but when we got the t.v. out of the box, there was not a spot on the screen that was not shattered. It was very disspointing. Our store does not carry that many t.v.'s or anything else for that matter. So we had to drive to a different town that does, to replace the t.v.. Was not worth the hassle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Review 22 for Westinghouse 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , TX-42F810G
02/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceptional viewing experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 23 for Westinghouse 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , TX-42F810G

Westinghouse TV

03/13/2011
By ,
Oakdale, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV recently sight unseen on the website. I was alittle nervous since I didn't get to see the picture on it first. I had been shopping around for a couple of months. I am so pleased this TV has a beautiful picture. It comes packaged very securely. It is clear with great color. It was easy to set up and program. It accepts our satelite remote. I thought the price was good since these TV can be quite costly. We are very happy with this TV and can't wait for football next fall. You will not be disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 24 for Westinghouse 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , TX-42F810G

Great HD Picture

03/25/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wonderful picture quality and great features (for instance, the settings for best viewing depending on the "room lighting" - bright room, med, dark) on this MOST reasonably priced flat panel! Only problem we've found is the sound quality (out of the television's speaker), which I think is found in a lot of flat panel's (personally) easy fix, just add your own sound system and this television is a really great value for the money! Can't beat the picture quality at this price for a 42" flat panel!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 25 for Westinghouse 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , TX-42F810G
03/18/2011
By ,
phila.,pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I jus got the tv las Fri.thru site 2 store.It took btn.7-10 business daysIt seemed 4 ever.We had 2 do some adjusting.Everything still isn't right.The picture seemed like it was on wide-screen.I was on the phone with customer svc.,explaining 2 them about the pic,while my husband was fooling with the remote,them he got the full screen.Now we have 2 work on the remote,we only can turn the tv on & off.& we use the direct tv remote 2 turn the channels.the vol.is very loud,pic beautiful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 26 for Westinghouse 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , TX-42F810G

Great price, less than great product

05/14/2011
By ,
Loganville, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Our budget did not allow us to spend any more on a tv, but I really wish it had! There is a slight delay when pressing buttons and even more so once we programmed the universal remote. The picture a the top of the screen goes out, but only a very very thin line. We chose to keep it and ignore the defect rather than the hassle to replace it. Otherwise the picture quality and sound quality are good. Not sure how long it will last, but will buy different tv once this one goes out!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for Westinghouse 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , TX-42F810G

damaged

03/22/2011
By ,
New Albany
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The TV come in the other day and I didn't notice anything at first then I saw a big tear in the box on the screen side but couldn't tell if anything was wrong. So today when we got the TV out of the box still couldn't see anything wrong until we turned it on and there it was a crack in the LCD right where the box had a tear. Now we got to take it to Walmart get our money back in order to get another. The shipper needs to be more careful when handling something like this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 28 for Westinghouse 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , TX-42F810G

Great Deal

03/18/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this tv for over a week now. So far, not any problems. It has really surprised me what a great tv this is. The speakers are great! you have to turn it way down in order to hear anything else. I may not have to get a surround sound system!The picture is great! I really wanted to get a LED, but they are more expensive. I am glad I got this one, because it is as good. Like I said, great deal for the price. And believe me, I shop around to get the best for less!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 29 for Westinghouse 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , TX-42F810G

not a good choice

03/25/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
As soon as we set the tv up, it would not turn on. It took 15 min to get it to turn on and now we have to leave it on all the time because if we turn it off we would have to spend 15 min unplugging and tryin to turn it back on. The picture and sound quality are not what I expected. I will be returning the tv to the store and buying one off the floor as it took about 2 1/2 weeks to get to the store and it got delayed in transit.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 30 for Westinghouse 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , TX-42F810G
02/06/2012
By ,
San Antonio, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the TV four hours and the picture screen went black for about 3 minute, then came back to a full picture. This continued all day and part of the next day (at least once every couple of hours). The TV had sound this entire time but I want the visual to HA. HA. I will never purchase a Westinghouse TV again. I return the TV and purchased another brand and have not had any problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 31 for Westinghouse 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , TX-42F810G

Great Expectations

05/04/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not only did my order arrival before the due date (which was great) setup was very easy and I am very pleased to say. This is a great buy for those that are looking for an afforable flat screen television. I researched my purchase before buying and by far Walmart offered the best deals on a LCD HDTV... I would highly recommend this Westinghouse flat screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 32 for Westinghouse 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , TX-42F810G

only one BIG problem

03/22/2011
By ,
Barnesville, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An excellent tv all around. Except ours, once you turn it off does not want to come back on unless you unplug it and then plug it back in :( I'm really sad that i have to return it! And you'll definately need a surround sound system, the built in speakers arent the best. but the picture and extra features are amazing! For the price one of the best!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 33 for Westinghouse 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , TX-42F810G

Horrible TV

05/20/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This TV had to be replaced twice and now a third time. The TV picture will go out and not come back on until you turn the TV off and back on again. This happens randomly. After 10 minutes or 5 hours. I am calling Wal-mart again to return it. Wal-mart has been great through this process though. That is the only thing that makes this experiance ok.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 34 for Westinghouse 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , TX-42F810G

Westinghouse "42"

04/02/2011
By ,
Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very nice set for the price. The only negative thing is the sound. It sounds like a small radio. No matter how you ajust you can't change the sound. So what I did was turn off the sound in the set and reroute the sound thru a stero with speakers. Problem solved. If my daughter didn"t like it so much I would have taken it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 35 for Westinghouse 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , TX-42F810G
03/11/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i bought this tv because of the price, and it works fine, but, i will probably throw this in my daughters room and go out and physically look at some more tv s. for some reason it looks the same on all settings, 480i, 480p, 720, and 1080. the picture is fine and works fine, i just thought i would get a better picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for Westinghouse 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , TX-42F810G

Wouldn't Turn On

03/05/2011
By ,
Dayton, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was excited when I first bought it because I thought I was getting a great deal. However after only one day of use the TV wouldn't turn on unless you uplugged it first, waited 10 seconds, then plugged it back in. Not worth it. I took it back and got a 42" Vizio instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for Westinghouse 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , TX-42F810G

great product

04/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product for the price,picture is clear and alot of input ports(3 hdmi).I like having the ability to hook a pc to it.The only small issue I have with it is the sound is alittle tinny but I rarley use the internal speakers as I have a surround system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for Westinghouse 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , TX-42F810G

westing house 42 inch tv

04/11/2011
By ,
altomonte springs,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its amasing i had a westing house for years.Amazing qualityI just got this one and i'm so satisvied. i was reading the reviews.Alot of people said that the sound quality wasn't good but its amazing.Its a great deal for your dollar.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for Westinghouse 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , TX-42F810G

worth every cent

05/13/2011
By ,
port orange,florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i've had this tv for a week . so far so good. little lines on top of picture in standard screen. when i disconnected cable, they disappeared. i guess it was the cable.m, but didn't happen on my other tv. i am completely satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for Westinghouse 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , TX-42F810G

Purchased for my daughter

03/19/2011
By ,
Pueblo, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for my daughter in Virginia from WalMart online. Delivered within a couple of days to their local Walmart - no shipping and she LOVES the TV. Couldn't have been easier or more reasonably priced for such a great TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 67 total reviews