Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright, UD70220

Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright, UD70220

Get the total package when it comes to complete home cleaning with the Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright. It features a wide cleaning path with five multi-height adjustment settings to clean all floor types quickly and easily. The bagless dirt cup design with cyclonic technology offers the benefit of better pick-up with less filter maintenance&not to mention the bottom-empty dirt cup allows you to dispose directly into the garbage and never have to mess with the dirty contents again! The Dirt Devil Total Vision is also equipped with a deluxe stretch hose and full set of attachments that offer cleaning flexibility from floors to couches to ceilings and draperies!
Average Customer Rating:
3.786 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation74%93 out of 125reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 76 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright, UD70220

Sweeper is a belt hog

12/01/2012
By ,
ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would recommend spending a little more and getting something better. If you dont mind swapping out broken belts every couple of times its used then your good. Going to have to buy stock in belts for this piece of junk til we can get something else.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright, UD70220

Best bang for MY buck....so far!

07/19/2011
By ,
cape coral, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just purchased and assembled this unit. Was so impressed with it's features, weight and suck power that I ended up doing the entire home which is 75% tile. It worked wonderfully, effective and efficiently changing from one height to another. It did not throw the overflowed kitty litter on the tile anywhere, except sucked it right up into the canister! it adjusted in a jiffy from one carpet level to another, then easially back to the lower level for the majority tile. I think that in the future i will leave the setting on number 3...midpoint, because it has tremendous suction and gets all the dirt off the tile and I can go directly over and on to the carpet. I can't begin to praise enough for the wirling hand wand/brush. The suction is so great that it turns the hand attachment brush like CRAZY and still will suck the pile out of the carpet.
Can't tell you about durability because I have owned it less than a week, but it seems well constructed thus my expectations are high.
WHAT A MACHINE FOR ONLY 60 BUCKS!
A great value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright, UD70220

Absolutely Horrible. Do Not Buy

03/20/2014
By ,
Johnstown, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used this vacuum for 2 months. It is worthless. The hose falls off every time you push the vacuum. The suction power is really bad. You are better off picking the stuff up with your hand. When you finish vacuuming all the dirt falls out the bottom in a pile on the floor. I have emptied the cylinder, cleaned the filter, but nothing helps. This is a pathetic vacuum and a waste of $59.96. I have contacted Dirt Devil and am waiting for a response. Do not waste your money on this vacuum.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright, UD70220

Excellent at first

04/04/2014
By ,
Conover, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read the reviews and they were mostly good. It was easily available at a reasonable price. I used the vacuum 4 times with no problem. It was light weight, easily maneuverable, and picked up really well. I didn't like the short attachment hose but it Had extension hoses so I didn't have to work hard to clean the baseboards. On the fifth time I used the vacuum, I was almost finished cleaning and turned it off while moving a table. When I went back to continue cleaning, it didn't turn on. I thought the plug had slipped from the wall socket. That wasn't the case it wouldn't turn on. Make a long story short, it did the same thing the next time I used it. Not sure what happened, but if took it back before getting stuck with a relatively new vacuum. Loved it when it was working but not sure why it didn't turn on those couple of times.
So yes I would recommend but with hesitation.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright, UD70220

This One is a WINNER

12/10/2011
By ,
Winston Salem, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now keep in mind I just got this little red beauty one day ago and have only used it one time in my home but I am so pleased with it. It is very light weight for me and really sucks up the dog fur and "stuff" on my carpet! It took me just a few minutes to put it all together, so if I can do it anyone can do this. Then I vacuumed my whole house. Love it. My old Dirt Devil I've had for many years is still going strong, but I just decided I had better get a new one before my old one bit the dust. They both are great vacuums but the major difference is weight. I clean homes to supplement my income and my heavy vacuum was getting to be too much for me to haul about. But this new one will not present that problem! The dust cup does fill very quickly but shoot!...that is what we use a vacuum for isn't it? I don't mind stopping to empty it. Rather do that than to look in the collection cup and not see any results. If you are on the fence with this vacuum, I'll say go for it. I really love my new vacuum....well, as much as one can love a vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright, UD70220

Worst vacuum ever!

03/31/2014
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have had this vacuum for 6 months and I would have replaced it sooner but I was saving for a new (and different) one. My child's pretend play vacuum picks up more dirt than this Dirt Devil one. Horrible suction. I have to vacuum over the same spot several times before it picks up the dust. The suction tube on the side stopped working after 2 months. The vacuum always blows out dust to leave a trail of debris, making vacuuming pointless. This product is a joke! If anyone knows of a better vacuum, please let me know! Thanks
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright, UD70220

Excelelnt Value

06/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall, this vacuum is excellent. As a new mom and pet owner, I have become more concerned about cleanliness than ever before. I have hardwood floors throughout my house and in the past, I would primarily use the vacuum to clean along baseboards and furniture. The suction is surprisingly very powerful and picked up well on bare floors. I will no longer need to sweep with a broom first! The Turbo Tool works great on furniture! All of the pet hair came up after one pass. The Total Vision is very lightweight and easy to maneuver. The hose is long enough to reach baseboards, backs of closets, etc. My only suggestion would be a slightly longer hose. The headlight is a nice bonus as well. Lastly, it is nice not having to replace bags - this will save time and money. Excellent vacuum for a range of needs and an appealing price! Please note, I am a participant in a user study.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright, UD70220

Forget this product if you have pets

02/19/2014
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have 1 dog that sheds moderately and this vac could not handle it. It clogs and I have to take the whole thing apart after every vacuum, including taking the hose off and the filter out. It makes house cleaning a pain.
It is easy to empty, but overall the worst vac I have ever owned.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright, UD70220

Great at the price!

04/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit is lightweight, and works well *
Assembly needs a critical eye to make sure you connect the hose to the filter inlet properly, and the catch there seems "weak", but it does hold well when installed correctly.
Normally, the "rinse-able" part of the filter is only the foam that rests atop the HEPA unit. I also rinse the HEPA filter, gently, no brush, with water and tapping it face down in the sink to loosen and knock the dust out. Be sure to let it dry fully before putting it back into the machine. fast air across damp HEPA material can tear it apart!
It would be nice if Wal-Mart would carry the HEPA filters so I could have one to use while the other dries! OR even to be able to replace it when the filter finally clogs, and they will! The more it gathers, the better it works as a filter, but it also heats the motor up!
I have cats, and carpets. It picks up LOTS of dust, cat hair, and the DE I put on the rugs to kill any fleas.
* IT WORKS WELL provided you keep those filters clean!
I vacuum at least twice a week. I wash that pre-filter foam after each use, when I dump the bin. I also check the brushes for thread tangles (I sew) to keep it running well.
My allergies are not as bad since getting this unit.
I agree, the hose comes off at times, the friction fit is a bit loose, but a twist when putting it onto the base unit helps.
A note to those who say it stops working- Likely you need to clean that filter, when the filter stops, there is no air flowing across the motor and it overheats! Call it a safety device to shut off when it gets hot!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright, UD70220

Horrible Vacuum - Total Vision Dirt Devil

04/18/2014
By ,
SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This vacuum was a waste of my time & money. First, the attachments do not want to stay on the vacuum and would fall off each time I used it. Then after I had it for about 10 days it completely died; it would not turn on. We don't wear shoes in the house and have no pets so my carpets are very easy to clean which goes to show just how bad this vacuum is.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright, UD70220

Powerful & Great Features

06/01/2011
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used the Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright as part of a user study and was very impressed. Here are my thoughts:
Pros: Great Power - I was surprised as soon as I turned it on with the power and suction. I have mainly hardwood floors and it had no problem picking up hair and dirt from bare floors. It has a wide base to clean a larger surface area, which is also nice.
Features - I really appreciated the height setting so I could move quickly from hardwood to area rugs and get the same cleaning power. I feel like this is a necessity if you have hardwood floors with area rugs. My old vacuum only had one setting and I dreaded vacuuming the rugs because the height was too low and I'd have to really push and pull it through the rug. Light Weight - Glides easily on carpet and hardwood. Very easy to use and carry. Attatchments - Attachments are easy to use and are great for cleaning baseboards, couches, etc.
Con: Not necessarily a con for everyone, but because it has such a wide base, it's not ideal for small spaces. And because of the height settings, if you're vacuuming a thicker carpet, the vacuum height is obviously going to be higher, so it's not as easy to fit under furniture. However, one of the attachments acts as a mini vacuum- with wheels and bristles - and worked great under all furniture, so I didn't find this to be much of a problem.
Overall, I'd highly recommend this vacuum. Great price for power, excellent features and ease of use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright, UD70220

Great! Very Light too!

05/31/2011
By ,
Jasper, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Dirt Devil Total Vision is a very light weight vacuum and very easy to use. My favorite feature is the HEPA Filter that does not need to be replaced. All you need to do is rinse it under water to clean! That is so nice since many times filters can get pricey to replace and hard to find at times.
Over all I am very impressed with the vacuum. I love all the attachments in which I did use while cleaning my husbands car. We did a huge landscaping job and used his SUV to haul away all the root balls. It made a mess in my husbands car. Using the Dirt Devil Total Vision, I cleaned that messy car up. The only issue I had with the vacuum is that since it is a lighter vacuum it kept falling over when I used the hose attachment. Other that that issue, I love the vacuum. Very easy to use and lite enough to carry up the stairs too, which is great since my old vacuum is very heavy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright, UD70220

Lightweight Vacuum

06/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice, lightweight vacuum. It glides nicely over carpet - so nicely that my five-year-old who wanted to help was easily able to push it across our living room. The pick up was good as well. I had just vacuumed three days prior to my first use of this and there was a significant amount of dirt in the canister. The canister was easy to empty and the assembly was very quick.
I tested this product as part of a user study and was very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Las Vegas
WISH I READ THE REVIEWS FIRT
Posted 03/29/2014
Easy to assemble but worthless as a vacuum. I had some confetti on the floor and it wouldn't even pick those tiny flecks of paper up. Barely any suction. Will probably send it back.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright, UD70220

So far so good

05/22/2011
By ,
Los Angeles, Ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this vacuum BEFORE reading the 2 negative reveiws, and I must admit, I wanted to return it, but instead decieded to take a chance and use it.
First of all the vacuum is so lightweight, I couldnt believe it. I have had a Dirtdevil "Vision" for over 13 years, and it soooo HEAVY, but has swivil casters to make it 'EASIER" to handle, but lugging it up and down stairs takes a weightlifter! This new "total vision" is so much lighter to handle.
I was apprensive purchasing an upright now that I have tile floors, due to the kicking around of small rocks and dirt, but cant afford a canister, and it did it a little, but not much...It works great on my area carpets, picking up dog and cat hair. As far as its durability, Ill let you know...Ive only used it once, and can confidently say "so far so good"
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright, UD70220

Powerful and lightweight!

10/01/2011
By ,
Pikeville, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just replaced my old Dirt Devil Swivel Glide (bagged) model with this one. I am very surprised at how powerful the suction is. It's lightweight compared to my old vacuum and other cyclonic vacuums I've tried. As for being loud... No way! My Swivel Glide was sooo much louder. I did clean the container twice the first time I used it. However it was full of hairy and dusty fluffy stuff. Obviously my old vacuum was only getting the big noticeable stuff. But this one never tried to quit or lost any suction power. Also, it has brought back the pile of my carpet! With any bagless vacuum you HAVE to empty the container and clean the filters! If you expect only to empty it when it's full you don't need a bagless vacuum...I have had this one for about a month and use it 3 or 4 times a week. I empty the container after every use and have not had to clean the filters yet. Besides, I don't want to look at a dirt filled vacuum tank everytime I go into the closet. The only reason I didn't give this model 5 stars is... It really could use a 5 foot longer cord and if it had swivel wheels it would be PERFECT! I do miss the ease of swivel wheels. I have a family of five and we own a cat and dog. This vacuum gets everything up. It really picked up alot of animal hair that the old vacuum had left behind. I cringe at the thought of my kids playing on the floor with all of that stuff being down there. I've also noticed that my a/c filter hasn't got so much dust on it now!!!
Pros: Suction, Ease of Use, Size & Weight, Design
Cons: Cord Length, needs swivel wheels
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright, UD70220

The Little Vacuum That Could, Unbeatable for Price

08/18/2013
By ,
Ennis, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this when my husband was between jobs and we NEEDED a vacuum. We have 6 kids, including a new baby, so I use my vacuum probably more than most. I vacuum about twice a day, sometimes more. We have a large home that is almost entirely carpet, and I use the hose/ tool for the "sweeping" also. I cannot praise this vacuum enough. Even though we can now afford any vacuum now, I have NOT purchased a new one. This vacuum puts up with all the abuse my family can dish out. I have run it for probably 30 min at a time with no problems. I love the filter because honestly..... wash it, dry it and it works like new!! I swear this vacuum just wont give up! We've had it for a few years now and little pieces are starting to go # plastic break etc.# but the motor and vacuum as a whole is still going strong. I will not be getting rid of this until it just gives up.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright, UD70220

What do people expect?

01/28/2012
By ,
Stanton, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a low end, affordable vacuum, otherwise it would cost 2 to 3 times as much. With that being said, it is simple, easy to use, and has tons of sucking power. It empties out easy enough, and if it breaks I will either return or get it repaired. That is why Royal offers a one year warranty. I would not recommend this vacuum if you have over 800 sq ft of carpet, and if your expecting something to catch all the pet hair without clogging, might try a shop vac. If you want a bag-less monster vac, take a serious look at the LG Compressor, a Panasonic, or worse a Dyson. Actually Bissel has one of the best all around uprights made, but it will run you 150.00 or so. Not sure what we can expect for 60,00, other than a vacuum that works decent, is simple, and pulls the dirt out of the carpet.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright, UD70220

Great vacuum, except for that slipping belt

05/30/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I should have paid more attention to the reviews...or at least the ones where people had actually owned/used the vacuum enough to justify writing a review.
I've had this vacuum 4 months, and I have to put the belt back on it every single time I use it. That's not exactly an easy task, either--there are 6 screws holding the bottom on--these all have to come off before you can put the belt back ON the beater bar. It seriously takes longer to do this than you get to vacuum.
I've had enough. I just want to vacuum--not repair my vacuum every day. Sorry, Dirt Devil, but you dropped the ball on this model.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright, UD70220
01/09/2012
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love using the dirt devils and I would reccommend them to everyone. I really like the Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic upright,. UD70220 and I hear they will no longer make this model. I really hate they are going to discontinue making this model. I sure hope they don't I reaaly love this. I clean houses for a living and this works really great for these jobs. Please don't stop making this model.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright, UD70220

Repeat buyer

12/28/2013
By ,
Escondido
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I moved and left the vacuum so I went out of my way to but the same one since I know how awesome this vacuum works. Best bang for your buck. I have pets and it does well cleaning up after them.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 116 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next