Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Otterbox OtterBox Commuter Series Carrying Case for iPod touch 4G, Black/Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Otterbox OtterBox Commuter Series Carrying Case for iPod touch 4G, Black/Black

OtterBox has designed and created the commuter series carry case that will go beautifully with your iPod touch 4G. The Otterbox Commuter Series Case for iPod 4G is a slim and sleek model which allows you to slide the device into your pocket or purse with ease. The carry case comes with a silicone middle layer, and provides silicon plugs for all the ports, such as the charging port and headphone jack, to keep them free from dust and other particles. The protective film safeguards the sensitive screen of the iPod from scratches and tears. The outside of the carry case is designed with a polycarbonate shell material to provide protection against bumps and shocks. The carry case also provides free access to the camera and side buttons on your iPod 4G.
Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%15 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for OtterBox Commuter Series Carrying Case for iPod touch 4G, Black/Black

Very reliable and protective

02/22/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this product online& came 2 days later. It was little bit of a hassle to put on, but after that it worked great!! I love how it covers the headphone jack because it can keep from water damage happening.----Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+41points
Review 2 for OtterBox Commuter Series Carrying Case for iPod touch 4G, Black/Black

Great case

03/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well this product was very easy to get my ipod into. Infact im using it to write this review. The otterbox case is durable and the screen cover worka like a dream. U gotta tap ur screen just a tad harder than normal but once u get used to it ull never wanna b without it.. Great value for a great case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 3 for OtterBox Commuter Series Carrying Case for iPod touch 4G, Black/Black

Awsome

03/12/2011
By ,
Felton,DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this case so much it came with so many nice accessories like screen shield and body protector (: Best case ever bought
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 4 for OtterBox Commuter Series Carrying Case for iPod touch 4G, Black/Black

A little pricey, but a great product!

06/19/2011
By ,
Cumberland, Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already had a soft rubber case, and a hard plastic case. I like these just fine. But I got worried about a hospital stay. Since it was major surgery, and I thought I might be groggy, I decided to buy the otterbox commuter. I did not want to spend that much, but it bought me peace of mind. I didn't drop it off the high bed to put it to the test, but it's construction includes a mix of the hard and soft cases. And it is designed in such a way that there is absolutely no way it would pop off the itouch on impact. Most of the damaged itouches i've seen have fallen on the corners, and the screen have cracked. The corners on this ottterbox consist of a hard case outside with rubber casing underneath- probably the best you could hope for. Comes with a screen protector, which fits great with the cover (I have been unable to use my screen protectors with some of the cheaper cases, which is a problem. I like to upgrade, and a perfect unit sells much faster than a blemished one.)
Overall, if you don't mind spending about $20.oo on a case for a $200-$400 item- go for it! If you're really clumsy, you might want to spend a few more dollars, and buy the chunkier defender model. If I upgrade to the 64g, I plan to do just that, lol! Happy Walshopping!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 5 for OtterBox Commuter Series Carrying Case for iPod touch 4G, Black/Black
09/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good case to offer some protection. Even comes with a screen protector. I dont think it would protect from a really hard or high drop but seems to work really well for everyday slips and tumbles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 6 for OtterBox Commuter Series Carrying Case for iPod touch 4G, Black/Black

Feels safe to take it anywhere!

09/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The thing that you will immediately notice once you get your new otterbox case on your "i" device is, how secure that it feels. The case itself feels like a well made product that will protect your investments for a long while. $20 now, could save you $250 later. I highly recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 7 for OtterBox Commuter Series Carrying Case for iPod touch 4G, Black/Black

Absolutely love it!!!

08/08/2011
By ,
Muncie, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for an iPod case that would have considerable protection yet be light weight but not flimsy like the slip on iPod cases. I finally found the product that exceeded my expectations! I love love this product! It comes with it's own screen protector and is light weight but will prevent damage if I drop my iPod. It keeps dust and dirt out of the headphone jack and the power jack.
Before I aquired this wonderful case I had a mirror screen protector on my iPod. I liked the mirror screen protector so I left it on and put the OtterBox case over it. And it works perfectly! So I still have the mirror effect and am able to use my iPod with no problems.
The case is a little bulky but it is not bothersome. The case is just a little expensive but completely worth it!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for OtterBox Commuter Series Carrying Case for iPod touch 4G, Black/Black

Nice!

08/16/2011
By ,
Hilo , HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good protection and nice grip.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 9 for OtterBox Commuter Series Carrying Case for iPod touch 4G, Black/Black

very good except for one thing

10/26/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 13 year old son's Ipod. He put it on himself but never got the screen right. It does protect it very well even if he has dropped it or splattered liquids on it. The only thing is the screen has bubbles under it. It should not have been so flexible and stick on. Still, it works and was a good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for OtterBox Commuter Series Carrying Case for iPod touch 4G, Black/Black

Protects iPod well

05/03/2012
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sturdy, already dropped iPod and case survived as well as the device itself. Very pleased with product and highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 11 for OtterBox Commuter Series Carrying Case for iPod touch 4G, Black/Black

Tough case for my 9yr old

06/13/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome case. Easy to put on and tough for my 9yr olds iPod. I've bought other cases and none match the quality and protectiveness of this case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for OtterBox Commuter Series Carrying Case for iPod touch 4G, Black/Black
06/06/2012
By ,
Greer SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not a perfect fit but works OK and looks good.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for OtterBox Commuter Series Carrying Case for iPod touch 4G, Black/Black

Good

04/29/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Doesn't fit my iPod exactly right but still good at protecting it.
-1point
Review 14 for OtterBox Commuter Series Carrying Case for iPod touch 4G, Black/Black
06/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think its the best of all the protectors out there...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-3points
Review 15 for OtterBox Commuter Series Carrying Case for iPod touch 4G, Black/Black

Disappointed

05/19/2012
By ,
Farmington Hills, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The device does not fit the iPod correctly at all. It was flimsy and I returned it right away. I bought a Griffin Armored Survivor case.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Ratings-Only Reviews for OtterBox Commuter Series Carrying Case for iPod touch 4G, Black/Black
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5