Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Better Homes and Gardens Better Homes and Gardens Garden Grove 5' x 8' Area Rug

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Better Homes and Gardens Better Homes and Gardens Garden Grove 5' x 8' Area Rug

Place this beautiful Better Homes and Gardens Garden Grove 5' x 8' Area Rug in your entry for an appealing welcome for all of your guests. The Better Homes and Gardens Garden Grove 5' x 8' Area Rug adds texture and beauty to any home. With its marine backing, this classic rug is also designed to stand up to outdoor use. The green and white design pattern blends well with most interiors to give an elegant look. Made of 100% nylon, the marine backing carpet with loop construction is durable and does not snag easily. It's easy to maintain and clean. Use it to turn your deck or patio into a comfortable and inviting living space.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation83%10 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Better Homes and Gardens Garden Grove 5' x 8' Area Rug

JUST PERFECT!

03/25/2011
By ,
the South
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently redecorated our living room and I really wanted a green patterned rug that would pull together the traditional architectual elements of our space (hardwood floors, crown molding, elaborate trim around the windows and doors) but also compliment our new sofa and chair (which is a bit more modern) and reflect our funky style- which is alot to ask of a rug! LOL! I bought one from another store and the dog ended up picking a hole in it with her nails besides the fact it ended up being too modern and not funky enough. We've had this rug for about a month and it has held up quite well to the dog, four cats and our toddler! It does not show pet hair or dirt, it does not snag (and our dog's nails are a durability test for snagging stuff!) and it is HUGE for the price! The other rug I purchased that I disliked was the same price but much smaller. PLUS the backing on this rug is unlike any I have ever seen- it is some type of black outdoor fabric (yes, it is an outdoor rug!) but it does not slide underfoot (the dog can jump off the couch and take off and the rug will move but neither myself, my husband or our toddler have tripped or slipped on it) AND with the non-rubber backing it is PERFECT for reslient floors (you can't use rubber-backed rugs with resilent flooring and we intend on replacing the flooring soon!).
The colors are much richer and bolder than in the picture- the green that covers most of the rug I would call a bright grassy green or like a shamrock green- bold but not neon or too bright. (If you are familiar with the BHG Citrus Blossoms bedding- the darker green in it is the more dominant green and the lighter green shadows it.) There is also a neat medium-lemony shade of yellow in the flowers on the rug that you can't really see in the picture. I have gotten tons of compliments on this rug and it is more than worth the price! It did take longer to lay flat on the floor (like three or four days) but I attribute that to the fact that we have a very light MDF coffee table on the rug which didn't do much to hold the rug in place while it smoothed out and the fact that it isn't rubber backed so it didn't really "grip" the floor once we laid it out.
Don't pass this rug up! IT ROCKS!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 2 for Better Homes and Gardens Garden Grove 5' x 8' Area Rug

Great Outdoor Rug

05/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Didn't have any trouble picking this rug up at the store (it isn't heavy at all). It looks like it will be perfect for my front porch under two rockers I recently bought. I'm adding a pic but this is right after unrolling it so it isn't laying completely flat just yet. Great rug!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
rock hill
Horrible outdoor rug
Posted 06/09/2011
This rug is actually beautiful, and I loved it but... It is not an outdoor rug.. The rug will not dry when it gets wet. It will stay puddled for days unlike rugs that are woven for outdoor areas. The first time it rained, I had to roll off the water, and then I had to take it up and drape it over my trash can to dry. It took 5 days. And let me tell you, it smelled terrible even after it dried. So, I figured I would give it to my sister because she has a completely covered area. So, I gave it to her. Last week she called to thank me for the lovely rug but was I ok with her throwing it away because it smelled like dead fish when it got the least bit damp. The entire area smelled even after it was dry. And of course I do not have the saran wrap it came in but I will be returning this as I cannot even use it, even indoors now that it smells funky. I even tried to get it cleaned and it still smells. I am ashamed to bring it back because of the smell! Very disappointed. This rug would be awesome indoors I am sure as it is beautiful for sure. But that was the point, to have a beautiful rug outdoors, completely wasted $50.00.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Better Homes and Gardens Garden Grove 5' x 8' Area Rug

Recommended!

09/06/2011
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carpet was perfect for our screened in porch. It nicely matches the Bertter Homes and Garden furniture set that we also purchased. The green is somewhat bright, but cheers up the room; not obnoxiously bright. Quality seems reasonable so far. No issues with the rug.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Better Homes and Gardens Garden Grove 5' x 8' Area Rug

Great value for outdoor rug!

06/13/2011
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice large-sized outdoor rug. The color is a vibrant bright Spring green, with light green/yellowish small flowers in the centers of each part of the pattern. It has a sturdy rubber backing that helps with traction and keeping water off of your deck. The price was more affordable than others I found of similar size, which were going for about a hundred bucks each; and this was HALF that!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Better Homes and Gardens Garden Grove 5' x 8' Area Rug

Quite stylish for the price!

06/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This rug provided such a nice "finishing touch" to my outdoor seating area. It's a good-sized rug for a conversation area, and the colors are vibrant and lovely. It's only been rained on once, but it dried quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Better Homes and Gardens Garden Grove 5' x 8' Area Rug

Great Outdoor Rug

07/10/2011
By ,
McKinney, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was surprised at the quality of the Rug. It feels nice and thick and looks great on my Apt balcony.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Better Homes and Gardens Garden Grove 5' x 8' Area Rug

Great Outdoor Rug

09/09/2011
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This matches the Better Homes and Gardens conversation set I bought for my outdoor patio. I love the colors and have received many compliments on it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Better Homes and Gardens Garden Grove 5' x 8' Area Rug

Very attractive rug

08/29/2011
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The rug color brought the outdoor color of grass to my deck. I was afraid it would be a gaudy color green but it wasn't. Rug is not good for being exposed to the elements. Mine got wet and it takes a while to dry.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Better Homes and Gardens Garden Grove 5' x 8' Area Rug
05/16/2011
By ,
Bremerton, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rug looks great with the furniture. Hopefully, it will be able to handle the weather (frequent rain) and other elements.
So far, very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 10 for Better Homes and Gardens Garden Grove 5' x 8' Area Rug
06/13/2011
By ,
Arlington, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The color is not as pictured. I thought the rug would be a light lime green but much of it appears to be dark green. The rug felt soft and the texture is nice but I returned it because the color did not match my expectations. The price $50 is excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Review 11 for Better Homes and Gardens Garden Grove 5' x 8' Area Rug

Lightweight and poorly packaged

05/09/2011
By ,
Beaver Dam, Az
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm an experienced Walmart shopper both in the store and online. Last season I got a a beautiful faux wicker patio set with sage green cushions online and I recently found an outdoor rug which had similar color. When the rug came it was tightly wrapped around the middle of the roll with a non stick plastic. After trying for several days lying it flat, it showed no improvement so I wrote the Mohawk factory. After trying the advice they gave me it still was not entirely flat. In the meantime I picked the only choice that was left in the right color and ordered it noting that it was made by a different company. It was so much more satisfactory that I am returning the Mohawk product with the approval of the site associate and keeping the replacement which I will be happy to rate as a great choice. The cause of the problem in my opinion is the packaging. Mohawk claimed that they package according to Walmart's specifications when I told them about it. The rug's light weight and thin backing cannot withstand the too tight band. PS I love online shopping!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 12 for Better Homes and Gardens Garden Grove 5' x 8' Area Rug

Unfit for the purpose for which it was sold

06/16/2011
By ,
Central Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is supposedly an indoor-outdoor rug, so we put it on the deck when it was delivered. We had two days of rain in the following week; after the rain, we waited two more days then checked the rug to see if it was dry. It was (a) full of water, and (b) stuck to the deck. The black backing had adhered lightly to the wood floor, and we had to be very gentle to get it off there.
Since we needed to dry it -- and because we didn't want it to stick to the deck railings -- we draped it instead over our new outdoor furniture (BH&G products which we like VERY much). This seemed safe because FORTUNATELY the furniture was shielded by protective covers which we had bought from the Cover Store. All this is new stuff, you understand, because we finally were refurbishing our deck. Anyway, after a further two days, we checked and the rug was dry. But the black backing had the rug stuck like glue to the furniture covers. This time gentle handling did no good. The backing stuck to the covers and nothing we did could loosen it. We finally just pulled it free. It left a mess of black rubbery substance everywhere it had touched the new furniture covers, and in several places, the nap itself had been pulled free and left tiny holes in the rug. We were appalled and heartbroken. We dragged it into the shed, and there it remains.
If you plan to use this rug for anything but light INDOOR traffic, I would suggest you move on to consider a different item. Sold as an indoor/outdoor rug, this piece was exposed to two days of rain and four days of sunshine, both of which are standard issue outdoor situations. Neither was handled well by the product, and somehow they combined to create an ugly, destructive condition.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+6points