Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft Refrigerator with Freezer

Black & Decker Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft Refrigerator with Freezer

The Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft Refrigerator with Freezer is the best choice to keep your food fresh and your beverages cold. This compact refrigerator freezer is perfect for dorm rooms, offices, and game rooms. The adjustable thermostat helps you maintain the desired temperature in the refrigerator. Whether you are storing a left over pizza or keeping the vegetables cool and fresh, the Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft refrigerator with freezer can be of great use in smaller room setups. The door storage of this adjustable thermostat refrigerator can hold 2 liter bottles. This refrigerator comes with recessed door handles for easy accessing. The freezer compartment is provided with ice cube tray and the interiors have slide out wire shelves for convenient storage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.495 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(380 Reviews) 304
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
259
4 stars
84
3 stars
16
2 stars
8
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation94%359 out of 380reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
84 Questions | 136 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
259
4 stars
84
3 stars
16
2 stars
8
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft Refrigerator with Freezer

Nice fridge for the price

08/29/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have had the fridge for little over a week. So far I'm loving it. It arrived earlier than expected.in perfect condition. No dents even the box was in good condition. It took 24 hours for the temperature to regulate, once it did it cooled well. 7 freezes everything 6 is sufficient for my needs. Mine is located in my upstairs loft and It runs so quietly I forget its there until I see it. Having this fridge saves me late night trips downstairs to the refrigerator. I love it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft Refrigerator with Freezer

Good Buy

02/09/2010
By ,
Oklahoma, USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this after returning a 3.2 size because it wouldn't work. After only 24hrs of it being plugged in it froze a entire gallon of tea. It does not have the built in soda holder so you can use the whole door. I have this in my bedroom and the only con I see is that it is a little noisy but I only notice it when it is extremly quiet in my house, like at night. The sound would not deter me from buying another one just like it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+169points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft Refrigerator with Freezer

This fridge is great!

09/24/2013
By ,
Tallahassee, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this little fridge for my office. It fit under a desk perfectly. It is so quiet that sometimes I wonder if it is working. But open the door and everything is ice cold. I put yogurt on the drip tray directly under the freezer at setting of 4 and the yogurt froze. So I had frozen yogurt. I turned it down to 3 and it is now keeping my yogurst ice cold without freezing. The only worry I had was at first because the sides get pretty warm when the unit is on. But after a couple of weeks I relaxed and now I know that is just the way it is and not a defect. I have to say that at the price of $79 during back to school this unit is a fantastic find and bargain. I can't be happier with it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft Refrigerator with Freezer

Great Product

04/14/2014
By ,
Lincoln, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted an inexpensive frig for my garage and this Black&Decker was just the ticket. Priced right and very nice quality. Packaging was good, arrived with no damage, worked great right out of the box. No set up required other than setting temperature at owners manual recommended setting.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft Refrigerator with Freezer

Very cold compact refrigerator...

07/10/2010
By ,
Freeport, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this unit on Tuesday. So far, it is really good. It looks bigger from the outside than I thought it would. It gets really cold just like a full-sized refrigerator would. It freezes everything on the top shelf below the freezer. It is relatively quiet. I do hear the sounds the manual says I would here, but they aren't very bothersome. There are a couple of negatives I found: the top shelf in the door isn't deep enough to hold soda cans without having to bend the bar; the freezer - I wish it were the full width of the refrigerator, and, sometimes it doesn't freeze uniformly. I have had to move the ice tray that came with it around to get it to freeze all sections. But that could be because I didn't give it enough time to freeze completely. I'm going to fill the ice tray tonight and check it in the morning to see if it's totally frozen. I've only had it 4 days now. It's a cute little refrigerator and adds to the decor of my bedroom. If anything goes wrong, I will add it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft Refrigerator with Freezer

Good Product

08/14/2014
By ,
Albany
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had my fridge for about 3 weeks now and I am very happy with it. It took a good 24 hours for it to cool down, and even longer for the tiny freezer compartment to freeze ice, but it's nice and cold now at about 3.5 on the setting. I put some lunch meat right under the freezer compartment and it froze, so that is by far the coldest place in the refrigerator. I have soda and milk on the door and that is cold as well. This size does not hold a gallon of milk, like some of the others, but the door holds a half gallon.
I have no complaints at all. It is pretty quiet, but you can hear it when you are in the same room with it...It's not distracting at all. It's a little bit bigger than the cube sized fridges, and it really holds quite a bit. Everything I need it to hold actually.
I have read some complaints about shipping, and damage. But my package came in perfect condition, and there is not a scratch on the refrigerator itself. It shipped super quickly, within a few days. Much earlier than predicted
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft Refrigerator with Freezer

Quiet, flexible & roomy interior at a great price

04/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my elderly father's room in a care facility. It's so quiet that we were able to place it near his bed without disturbing him at all. The interior is very roomy, and I like that there aren't fixed slots for soda cans--which he never uses--so the space can be used for various sized containers.
Minor negatives are (1) Walmart shipped the wrong color (ordered black but received white), but still only charged us for black which is $10 less than the white, so we kept it, (2) the back corner arrived dented, but it's against the wall so it's not visible and doesn't affect performance, and (3) the door can be reversed even though there are no instructions how to do so -- holes are already drilled in the door and on the bottom of the unit on both sides -- but holes are not drilled on the left side of the top of the unit, so you have to do that yourself.
Overall though, it's a great value for a nice little fridge.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft Refrigerator with Freezer

Black & Decker 2.7 cu Ft Refrigerator with Freeze

11/11/2013
By ,
Irvine California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this refrigerator on line and it was promptly delivered a day earlier than promised. Off to a good start. I actually bought this refrigerator for my office which is upstairs in a two-story building. There is no elevator. I decided to pull it up the stairs using a hand dolly Just as I was nearly to the top, the box came off of the dolly and rolled down several store to the landing. I was sure the mechanical unit would be broken Even the directions say, if tipped on its side stand it up right and wait 24 hours before plugging it in. I was so anxious to set it up I ignored the warning and plugged it in anyway. The refrigerator works fantastic. Be careful not to turn the temperature to real cold because it will freeze. I did this and found several bottles of water all frozen or nearly frozen - so this refrigerator works fantastic. I've now owned this for one month at the time of this writing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft Refrigerator with Freezer

Parts damaged, though box was perfect.

09/23/2013
By ,
SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The refrigerator appeared to arrive in great condition - no damage to the box or anything. No dents on the outside of the fridge either. But, upon inspecting the fridge, I discovered that the top metal door hinge had been severely bent so that the door could not close or seal. The electrical cord, which should have been fine as it was wrapped up inside the fridge, was also damaged and bent. I had it delivered to my office so that I would not have to transport the fridge from a parking garage so it's not worth the challenge of returning. I was able to take apart the fridge with some tools, and hammer and bend the damaged metal pieces with a pliers back to functional condition. It's probably best to open the fridge in the store, or immediately upon arrival, even if the box appears undamaged.
We will see how the remaining components hold up as this is the first evening the fridge has been plugged in as it took a long time to make the repairs.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft Refrigerator with Freezer

Attractive, quiet, efficient. So far so good.

08/29/2013
By ,
Washington, DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compact refrigerators like this are only manufactured by a few companies, and virtually all of them are notorious for quality problems -- leaks, broken fans, noisy compressors, etc.
This Black & Decker model is built by Haier, and for what it's worth, the one I received appears to be solid as a rock.
It's just been a few days, but it operates very quietly, and refrigerates pretty evenly. With the temperature dial set at level 3, the freezer compartment stayed under 32 degrees, and the temperature around the rest of the refrigerator ranged from 37 to 40 degrees. Not bad at all. This little refrigerator looks great, too.
I chose this model over others because WalMart had an outstanding deal, and because I think this 2.7 cubit ft size is perfect. It holds a lot more than the tiny 1.7 cu ft models, but it still has a small footprint, and it's even short enough to fit on a countertop. By contrast, the 4.3 cu ft and larger models significantly taller -- as tall as the typical kitchen countertop -- overkill for most bar, dorm, or office use. I really like the 2.7 cu ft size.
So far so good. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft Refrigerator with Freezer

Quiet & fits under my desk!

09/07/2013
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this fridge for my office. I am very picky about noise, and I am impressed about how quiet this fridge is. Sometimes you can hear the motor turning on, but the noise level is so low that you barely notice it. It is not the super tiny model (i.e. 1.7 cu ft), which makes it much more spacious, with one more full shelf, however it still fits under my desk. I also like the black color, which is very discrete. On the medium setting, the fridge is cold enough (and I live in TX) and you can have some ice cubes and keep ice cream in the freezer compartment. I wished the door was better designed, like the Igloo brand, that has a can holder, and is designed to fit much more things. I cannot rate the item durability, since I have only owned it for a couple of weeks. My spouse has ordered the same for his office! Although it is not on sale anymore, Walmart's price is a very good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft Refrigerator with Freezer

Great for the office or family room

02/01/2010
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this In Store, and it was only $99.00. It is well built, lightweight, and will Freeze everything you put in it if you turn it down to low! ! It's very quiet. I has a compressor that turns on now and then, but it's very quiet. The freezer portion located in the top right part, could be a little bigger, but it will hold a couple of ice cube trays or a couple of TV dinners. Storage in the door, and 3 shelves.. will hold 48 12 oz cans or bottles of soda, with room for probably that much more... lots of room..
I've read some bad reviews on small units like this one being noisy, not keeping things cool, etc.. If you want something that is good quality for the money, that is quiet, reliable, and has lots of room... You need this !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+125points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft Refrigerator with Freezer

What a Deal!!

12/06/2010
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a small, inexpensive fridge to make my "living situation" more practical. There were so many models with so many different features and sizes and I was clueless. I was "almost" scared away from purchasing this fridge because what mamma used to say - - "If it seems to good to be true, it probably is". Well, in this case, mamma was wrong. This fridge is everything I had hoped it would be. Perfect size, fantastic price and oh so quiet. Thanks to all the Walmart product reviewers who took their time (following their purchase of this same unit). You guys' reviews helped to steer me in the right direction. I owe it to them and to you, the shopper contemplating the purchase of this fridge to give it the high marks that it so deserves. A great unit and a great value. Thanks Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft Refrigerator with Freezer

Got A Lemon

06/03/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was a great little fridge up until about a week ago, then it quit working at only 8 months. Bought the extended warranty, but since it is less than a year old, I have to use the factory 1 year warranty. This is the bad part, after calling B & D, I was referred to another company that deals with their small refrigerators. The only way I can get a replacement is to drive 120 miles (one way) since there is only one place in the state of Georgia that can do the exchange. The reason I bought it at Walmart was for the convenience of not having to travel very far to get it. So, based upon my experience, there is no way I would recommend buying B & D brand mini fridges. By the time I buy gas, a meal & have to miss part of a work day, I will be better off just to junk it...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/27/2013
Wait 5 more months then take it back to walmart and use the extended warranty
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft Refrigerator with Freezer

Excellent value

01/29/2011
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This small refrigerator is well built and has significantly more space than the 1.7 cu ft models. It has ample space for, for example 3 half-gallon bottles of juice and milk, six soda bottles or cans, a dinner plate with food, four yogurt cups, and a jar of jam, plus space in the freezer (with a door) for small ice cubes and a couple of boxes of food, all at the same time. The refrigerator and freezer cooled initially overnight, and since then has run very quietly. Features are limited to one temperature control. The shipping packaging was excellent, a layer of plastic bubble sheets around the unit inside one box, and a second layer between that box and the outside box. Instructions for using the refrigerator are good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft Refrigerator with Freezer

Excellent Fridg

07/26/2010
By ,
Nickerson, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this fridge to use in my pop up camper. It is terrific!!! This works so much better than loading ice chests and having to dig through ice to find what you want! This fridge kept everything ice cold! I plugged the fridge in a couple of days before leaving and then packed it up in the back of my car. We traveled a little over an hour to our campsite and everything was still cold. You can't even hear it running during the night. When not camping I use it in the garage and it has done awesome! I would highly recommend this one!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft Refrigerator with Freezer

Great Little Fridge, Good Value

09/04/2014
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this little fridge for about 4 months now and it works very well. It gets cool enough and keeps the cool temperature. At first I had it close to my bed but I did notice the noise at night, then I moved it just a few feet away and don't notice it at all. If I need another mini fridge I'd buy another of these. Oh, and BTW, you can write on the black one with chalk (great for kids) and the chalk erases completely and easily, no need to buy a fancy one made for writing on with chalk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft Refrigerator with Freezer

Great for College Dorm Room

09/02/2010
By ,
Chicago,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for college dorm room. 2.7 cubic feet large enough to store large water filter pitcher, canned and bottled soft drinks and a number of snacks/meals. Storage on inside of door large enough for 1/2 gallon of milk along with jars of jelly, peanut butter and more drinks. Nephew loves it as also does not take up too much floor space in the dorm.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft Refrigerator with Freezer

Great for college student

09/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a college student living in an apartment with three other people so I wanted my own fridge to keep some of my food to myself. So far it works great, I'm even able to fit a gallon of milk in it. It keeps things VERY cold so I recommend putting it on a warmer setting. The freezer is also big enough to put in a few frozen dinners or some ice cream! I also like that there's no can rack, because I don't drink soda very often, so it's great to have that room for other things. It's also quiet! I don't hear it at all when I'm trying to go to sleep. I'd definitely recommend this fridge to any college student living on their own.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 2.7-cu ft Refrigerator with Freezer

a great bargain

08/03/2013
By ,
Vt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my full size refrigerator died, I first ordered the 5 cu ft Black and Decker freezer and was pleased with it and so decided to buy this refrigerator. We picked it up the same day it was ordered. It holds a lot more than I expected, and it was one of the few that had room in the door to store 2 or 3 half gallon containers. The freezer is tiny, good only for a few ice cube trays, but not a problem for us as we had the new freezer. There is room for meat in the drip tray under the freezer compartment. It is quiet and holds the desired temperature well. The lower half of the back is open, unlike my other mini refrigerator that has a sealed back, which could be a problem if you have pets that could get in there. It does not have a light inside, but the food is at eyelevel so you can see the inside well without stooping and without a light. It came with a shallow dent in the door, but we needed it right away and so did not send it back, so I did not give it full stars for appearance. It is still a bargain compared to buying a full size refrigerator.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 305 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next